Lake Clarens Guest House

The view from Rebellie
Traveller (105)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 30 guest houses in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
LAKE CLARENS GUEST HOUSE Our Main Guest House is situated next to a dam and has a lovely view over the dam and mountains. We have three double rooms, one downstairs and two upstairs. Room 1 has a king size bed and a door that goes out on the patio in front, where you can have breakfast in front of your room. Rooms 2 and 3 are upstairs. They all have the same view. The rooms are all spacious, comfortable rooms with queen size beds, en suite bathrooms, TV, under floor heating, convenience fridge and kettle with tea, coffee and milk. All bathrooms have a bath and a shower. The rooms all have a beautiful view over the dam and mountains. We have our new restaurant Street Caffe, on the premises – for great food and a wonderful view while experiencing the hospitality of your host. We are three minutes walk from the centre of town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid public parking on-site
Secured parking
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Horseback riding
Fishing
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Italian
168Reviews0Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 42
  • 19
  • 9
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WJP wrote a review May 2021
Robertson, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We (two single gents) stayed in the flatlet attached to the guesthouse which had 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds, a common lounge and kitchenette. A bar fridge was provided and had milk, fresh water, cokes and fresh fruit. Both rooms are en suite, the main only had a bath and the spare a shower. I would have preferred a shower to the bath. A braai facility is also provided in the small garden leading out the front patio doors.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beautiful views of the mountains from the lounge?patio but not from the rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theuns Van Der Merwe wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in clarens every 3 weeks due to work and for the last 3 years it's the only place i stay. The rooms are comfortable and has an old world feel to it. So quiet and has the best view when you sit down in the mornings for breakfast. The breakfast is put together in such a way that you can mix and match any tipe of breakfast that you want, from muesli and yoghurt, to chips and bacon with eggs. With a lot of choices in between. And the the freshly brewed coffee pot. Definitely one of the best breakfasts. Staff and owner is very friendly and fast with advice on what to do or see. Will keep coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mrabotha wrote a review Aug 2020
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa185 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on Saturday morning. Our room was ready prior to check-in time, great!. The staff is super friendly. All COVID protocols are followed. Although the rooms are not "modern", the service and facilities are great. Underfloor heating, bathroomtowel heated rail, etc. Great stay. Breakfast the next morning was great as well. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette P wrote a review Jan 2020
17 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
lake clarens guest house d.d.d. dirty, disgusting and dated!! Our family had the most unfortunate experience of booking and paying in full and upfront for our accommodation at this establishment. This establishment boasts a 4 star rating which we later discovered from the tourism grading board, that it has a 0 star rating. our accommodation was well below par, we discussed this with the owner who promised to reimburse our upfront, in full payment less the one nights accommodation, which he later reneged on, since we gave an honest review of the establishment on booking.com and after we received threatening phone calls from the owner, that unless we remove our review he will withhold the refund. We standby our review as truthful and our honest unfortunate experience of this establishment and the owners bullying tactics! You ask how expensive with this hotel for the poor quality of this place - WAY TOO EXPENSIVE!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms were dirty, disgusting and dated with no view and a very noisy tavern next door.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KirstyClarens, Owner at Lake Clarens Guest House
Responded 09 Jan 2020
JEANETTE P 477 I refer to your review on 4 January 2020 on TripAdvisor, as well as your review on 11 September 2019. I find it strange that you have written two reviews with regard to your stay at our Guest House, as you stayed for only one night on 2 August 2019. Your group’s booking was from 2 - 5 August 2019, but you preferred to leave after one night’s stay. In your first review you threatened to have all your friends write negative reviews of our Guest House if you did not receive your money back which you paid for your accommodation. As judged by your photo of our room 4, I am quite certain (and I do know) that guests would stay in a large double room of this nature for the price we charge of R 430, 00 per day per adult sharing, including a full breakfast at the main Guest House – which would cost R 110, 00. The accommodation is most certainly not ‘dirty, disgusted and dated’, as you mention in your review. The photograph that you posted speaks for itself. Rooms 4 and 5 are most certainly not graded 4-star double rooms, as you were well aware of. Description of the rooms, mentioning that they are not graded, and photo’s were sent to you in advance – here the price played a factor, because the three double rooms in our main guest house are more expensive. I most certainly did not ask you to remove your review on Booking. Com, as I appreciate all constructive criticism. I did not hold back your refund because of your criticism. It was because of your threats to blacken our establishment, which you are currently doing. You did not stay in our establishment near or on 4 January 2020. I want to mention that we run a training campus for students in the hospitality trade on our own costs. I would expect TripAdvisor to verify the reviews made as accurate or not. Yours faithfully. Bruce Weyer Owner of Lake Clarens Guest House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heilavh2016 wrote a review Mar 2020
Newcastle, South Africa375 contributions88 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately there’s not a lot to say that is positive. The towels were old and dirty, linnen and curtains were the same. The milk in the fridge has expired 2019 August, the fruit was old, etc.etc. There was a total lack of management and maintenance although when we complained, Nona made sure the broken hand-shower and blocked toilet was sorted as well as the towels and linnen replaced. She was n beacon of light in a otherwise very dark tunnel. What a pity. Breakfast was cold , orders wrong etc.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KirstyClarens, Owner at Lake Clarens Guest House
Responded 12 Mar 2020
TRIPADVISOR OWNER RESPONSE – HEILA VAN HEERDEN (28 EN 29 FEB 2020) I, Bruce Weyer (as owner of LAKE CLARENS GUEST HOUSE) refer to your review on our Guest House on 2 March 2020. Our towels referred to were most certainly not ‘old and dirty’ as they were bought from Woolworths only a few weeks ago. The linen is most certainly ‘not old’. The curtains are not ‘old’, but were messed on with tea by one of your members. The milk in the fridge was most certainly not expired in August 2019, as the packaging of the long life milk showed that it was packaged in October 2019 and the ‘best before date’ was July 2020. The fruit was most certainly not ‘old’, as fresh fruit is placed in the rooms before guests occupy the rooms. The ‘broken hand shower’ that you mention, was not broken – as confirmed by Nonno, the lady who cleaned the room. The toilet had been blocked by a person in your group, having used an excessive amount of toilet paper. The breakfast was most certainly not cold when placed on your table. Management cannot be held liable for the breakfast being cold due to you taking photographs of yourselves and the children. While on the subject of children, when booking you assured us that they were in fact infants And would share a mattress in our double room 2. Judging by the photo’s that you have furnished us with, the children most certainly do not look very young or small. You booked our double rooms 1 and 2 for 28 and 29 February 2020 for your family and it was arranged that the two children would share a mattress on the floor in room 2. When you were here, you insisted that the mattress be moved from Room 2 to Room 1, which my wife advised that Room 1 is meant for two adults only – not Four (Grandfather, Grandmother and two older children. Once you had left, the cleaning staff entered the rooms to find that you had removed all the sachets of tea, coffee, sugar, sugar, shampoo, body lotions, etc. including the fruit (which you mentioned ‘was old.’ We noticed that all the coat hangers had been removed from the cupboard in Room 1. When I asked at your breakfast table whether you were ‘happy’, you answered me that you were. If you were not, you could have brought this to my attention. Yours faithfully BRUCE WEYER (Owner of LAKE CLARENS GUEST HOUSE)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Verena wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful place! A little slice of heaven!! Lovely restaurant - The Street Cafe - serves delicious food in a wonderfully tranquil setting. The staff was amazing, the room was super comfortable with everything you could want (including Netflix). Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronnie D wrote a review Feb 2020
Benoni, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The decor and appointments were quaint and charming.Location was perfect for walking into town.Views were stunning and offered easy access to the Golden Gate national Park..a must visit! The breakfasts were a highlight...a large selection of delicious food and a pot of freshly prepared coffee for every table..The owner is so friendly and has loads of info to share.We had a great three night visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we stayed in the attached appartment and loved it..had its own garden and was very comfotable and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia Bergh wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and tidy and excellent service. Fantastic view and breakfast. We enjoyed our stay. Our daughter enjoyed the play park, bunnies and ducks. Next time we will bring the rest of the family and stay in the self catering unit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ned_Heds wrote a review Feb 2020
Black Hawk, Colorado11 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Classy, well appointed rooms, comfortable beds and beautiful grounds with a great restaurant on the premises. Definitely stay here if you want an authentic S African experience. Would recommend this to friends and definitely plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helena wrote a review Jul 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On route to Afriski we stayed overnight. Comfortable and exceptionally clean, easy to find with beautiful views and delicious homemade food. Our stay in sub zero temperatures were cozy and comfortable. Breakfast on the veranda was a treat. Thanks Claudia you are a star!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
WJP wrote a tip May 2021
Robertson, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful views of the mountains from the lounge?patio but not from the rooms"
Read full review
Ronnie D wrote a tip Feb 2020
Benoni, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we stayed in the attached appartment and loved it..had its own garden and was very comfotable and quiet."
Read full review
Jeanette P wrote a tip Jan 2020
17 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms were dirty, disgusting and dated with no view and a very noisy tavern next door."
Read full review
Paula W wrote a tip Oct 2019
Randburg, South Africa27 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book a room go somewhere else"
Read full review
Jeanette P wrote a tip Sept 2019
17 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"look for other accommodation!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clarens area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,342 - R 1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateClarens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKE CLARENS GUEST HOUSE - Now R 1 453 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶7̶1̶7̶) - UPDATED 2023 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Clarens Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Clarens Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Blou Donki Art Gallery (0.3 km), Anja & Friends (0.4 km), and Titanic Rock (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Clarens Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Clarens Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Clarens Guest House?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Clarens Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clementines Restaurant and Bar, Highland Coffee Roastery, and Gosto Portuguese Restaurant.
Is Lake Clarens Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Clarens.
Are pets allowed at Lake Clarens Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lake Clarens Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Lake Clarens Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bushmen Art at Schaaplaats Farm (0.4 km).
Does Lake Clarens Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Clarens HotelsClarens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ClarensHotels near Lake Clarens Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire