We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Otterskloof Private Game Reserve

Save
Share
Knapsak River Road, Philippolis 9970 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Philippolis
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Otterskloof Private Game Reserve lies on the border of the Free State and Northern Cape along the majestic Van Der Kloof Dam - the Reserve is 34 000 acres in extent. Set in an unique part of South Africa, this jewel of the Free State awaits to surprise our visitors. Otterskloof Private Game Reserve offers high standards in accommodation, close wildlife encounters, beautiful vistas, and personal service. The accommodation is spread over 2 lodges, each with it's own character : Safari Lodge is the main lodge and offers luxurious catered accommodation in a revamped farm homestead - each room with it's own separate entrance. Safari Lodge is situated 30km from Phillipolis and can only be reached via a well-maintained gravel road.Bush Lodge is set in a reclaimed hunting outpost and offers a close-to-nature private self-catering lodge with 3 en-suite bedrooms.Bush lodge is rented out as a unit and is a 45 minute drive from the main lodge in a high-clearance vehicle.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Darts
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German
35Reviews3Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
markK184ZU wrote a review 10 May
1 contribution
We enjoyed staying at the lodge, would suggest a boma like area at the farm house for self catering, but the facilities we used where great. The managers and hosts we incredible and very helpful with everything. We were all impressed by them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Abel Erasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Mark, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards ABEL
Read more
johanita1969 wrote a review Feb 2021
Johannesburg134 contributions14 helpful votes
Beautiful location, away from it all and this year particularly beautiful after the rain. Well appointed accommodation, comfortable bed and hot shower, clean and spacious. Book directly with the host as they will go out of their way to meet your requirements. It is a bit far from the N1 for an overnight stay, unless you have an hour on arrival and departure to spare each way as the roads requires you to drive slowly. Best if you have a day or two to enjoy the outdoors, for hiking, swimming and game drives. We found the meals a bit basic, nothing special, the only area we would recommend to approval as well as the amenities in the room, which did not match similar accommodation in its class. However, if you want to sleep well in a dark, quiet, safe place, try it out. I make a point of visiting of the beaten track places, and this has been lovely.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Abel Erasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Hi Johanita - thank you for the positive feedback - we take all comments to heart and are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We are always looking at ways to improve our offering and will discuss with the Team. The Otterskloof Team.
Read more
Neil Krog wrote a review Jan 2021
Pretoria, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
We didn't want to book a place on the N1, but rather something a bit more interesting on our way back from the Western Cape. And we found this gorgeous game farm close to Phillipolis. Carina was very friendly and made sure everything was as we wanted it (both my partner and I have allergies). There is good WiFi although there is no cell signal. Really comfortable rooms. It does not add much time to your journey if you're travelling between the Cape and Gauteng and definitely worth the little extra travel time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Abel Erasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Hi Neil - thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your support - safe travels! The Otterskloof Team
Read more
maarten r wrote a review Jul 2020
Stilbaai, South Africa9 contributions
Excellent facility and first class accommodation. The food was also excellent. The farm and wildlife as well as the scenery is magnificent! Really enjoyed the hunting although we were not very successful. The game is very wild and starts running from afar. The PH and tracker really tried their best. Only negative issue was the unprofessional attitude of the manager. The lady consistently wanted to know how much beers we took and wanted to know beforehand on the last evening how much we are going to drink so that she could finalise the bills already. The PH had to braai for us the last evening as she did not want the staff to wait for us as we wanted to have dinner only at 20:00 This was the only issue that distracted from an otherwise wonderful long weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Abel Erasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Hi Maarten, Glad you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry that you had a negative experience with the manager. We take all complaints seriously and will address them internally. Regards ABEL ERASMUS
Read more
Bill C. wrote a review Feb 2020
18 contributions5 helpful votes
My first adventures in South Africa took place at Otterskloof in 2016. Returning in 2019 was like coming back home as I re-experienced some of my favorite places and favorite staff members! Whether hunting or photographing the rugged vistas and fantastic animals, Otterskloof is a must do in South Africa!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Abel Erasmus, Owner at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hi Bill, thank you for the kind words - long-term relationships like yours are what we cherish - so glad you enjoyed your visit. Regards Abel Erasmus Jnr
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StatePhilippolis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Otterskloof Private Game Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Nearby attractions include Transgariep Museum (0.2 km) and Laurens Van Der Post Memorial Garden (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Otterskloof Private Game Reserve located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Philippolis.
Are pets allowed at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Otterskloof Private Game Reserve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.