We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (112)
Pool & Beach (39)
Room & Suite (31)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Backyard Hotel is located on the beautiful, luscious green, central Pacific coast of Costa Rica in Playa Hermosa, just 4 kms south of Jaco Beach. This tropical paradise boasts one of the country's most well-known surfing and sunbathing beaches.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room service
Airport transportation
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Hermosa Beach, Jaco, Puntarenas 4 km south of Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa, Garabito Municipality 4023 Costa Rica
Getting there
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport65 km
See all nearby hotels
108Reviews
186Photos
7Q+A
19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 35
  • 14
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+6
We stayed at the Backyard Hotel and loved it! Clean spacious room with beautiful ocean view. Walk downstairs to Backyard Bar for wonderful breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Fun surf Contest on Friday’s and Saturday’s at 4:00. Relaxing and fun atmosphere. Loved watching expert
Read more
Response from Nick K, Gerente at Backyard Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your great comment! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Feel free to contact us anytime if you want to come back for your next vacations. Thank you
Read more
+2
Enjoyed my stay at the Backyard Hotel. This is not really a family hotel as the bar next door is quite loud. Great spot for young people wanting to hang out with friends and enjoy surfing. Rooms were clean and spacious. Accommodations work well for a small group with a
Read more
Response from Nick K, Gerente at Backyard Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2019
Thank you for the choosing the Backyard Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have surf contest and music only on weekend , however we are a family hotel. Hope you return again soon. youe are very welcome. Thank you.
Read more
My wife, 13 year old son and 15 year old daughter stayed at the “Backyards” March 25th through April 2nd and absolutely loved it. We have stayed in big condos, LARGE resorts, and 5 star hotels for our annual family spring break trips in the past, and always felt disconnected
Read more
Response from Nick K, Gerente at Backyard Hotel
Responded 17 Nov 2018
Hola Matt . Thank you for your great comment! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Feel free to contact us anytime if you want to come back for your next vacations.
Read more
+1
We stayed in the second floor which had a pretty nice view. Unfortunately the a/c unit spit all the heat out in the balcony so it got too hot to fully enjoy the view. The room is spacious but needs better maintenance. The fan looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in years and the
Read more
Let’s talk about the awesome beach, the surf contests, the great bar, and fantastic service at this hotel. Rooms are spacious. Front desk is helpful. They helped us book taxis as well as events. Awesome experience.
Read more
Response from Nick K, Director de Recepción at Backyard Hotel
Responded 14 Mar 2018
Thank you for the choosing the Backyard Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you return again soon. FRONT DESK!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementBackyard Hotel
The view from our back deck.
view from our Backyard Hotel suite
Deluxe room
areas de paso del hotel
PreviousNext
1234567
can you have local lady guests visit? if so is there a few or limit?
I don't know how much a cab is but if you are flying into San Jose it is quite far. By the way this hotel over booked me by $50.00 and still owes me the money from a false charge on my credit card. They said they would reimburse me because they knew they had pulled a fast one and were caught but have still never repaid the money. BEWARE!!!!!!! I just gave up like most people do after time and I don't have time to keep emailing them. But I would not recommend to stay here!
1 vote
Show all answers
Not sure where your hotel is. Backyard is on the Hermosa/Jaco beach area. If you are staying in costa for any length of time rent a car. Taxis are expensive and will add up quickly. I understand its cultural for Canadians to go all inclusive. My wife's family is in St. Catharines. But you will really miss out on exploring the towns, food and other things you won't see staying in the resort all day. Contact me direct at or call at 561-523-3325. I've been down many times with my wife and kids and might be able to give you some good ideas for your trip. Do you surf or just something you want to see? And the hotel was less than $100 a night in September with breakfast. Email or call. Have a great day
2 votes
Show all answers
Tienen habitaciones para personas con discapacidad?
Hola Marcela. Sí, contamos con una habitación adaptada para personas con discapacidad.
0 votes
aceptan perro pequeño
Buenos días Rosita. En el hotel no aceptamos mascotas. Saludos.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"I like #2 next to the bar but there are others that look upon the pool or beach"
"Ask for a room on the second floor for more privacy."
"Lower floor (of two) near back was close too pool and few steps from lounge chairs with ocean view. Was quiet and convenient."
"All rooms are nice. But there are 2 that face the ocean. Book those if you can."
"for us we enjoyed the lower floor ocean suite looking at the surf break and have your cup of coffee and watch wild red macaw parrots."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
backyard hotel playa hermosa
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityJaco DistrictPlaya Hermosa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing