Travessia Beach Lodge

Travessia Beach Lodge

Traveller (222)
Dining (19)
our room
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 2 lodges in Morrumbene
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Combine deliciously warm water and a glorious endless beach with true Robinson Crusoe style remoteness and you get Travessia Beach Lodge. Nestled between coastal palm forest and the dunes lining this part of the Mozambican coastline, this is simple luxury at its best. The lodge is easily accessible from Inhambane and Vilankulos with the added benefit of having kilometers of beach front without excessive tidal movements all to yourself. This Eco Beach Lodge is all about understated barefoot-luxury. The secluded casas have 180° sea views, spacious decks, a hammock and ensuite outdoor showers. The lodge is entirely run on solar. The lodge’s guided afternoon bushwalks introduce travellers to a picture book of rural African living. The beach invites for boogie boarding and kayaking and there are bikes available for a relaxed cycle at low tide. Diving & Snorkeling trips can be arranged. Sophisticated whilst down to earth, Travessia is for couples, families and individual travelers alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Hiking
Darts
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

Morrumbene 1305 Mozambique
Getting there
Inhambane Airport
36.7 km
See all flights
121Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lesley S wrote a review Jan 2021
Lusaka, Zambia6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travessia Beach Lodge is undoubtably one of the best lodges we’ve visited in our 28 years of Exploring Mozambique. It’s setting on top of the sand dunes allows magnificent views of the ocean and miles of beautiful beach as well as a cooling breeze. The villas are spacious and comfortable and offer a lovely outdoor shower. The chef serves delicious meals from fresh fish caught by the local fishermen as well as a taste of the local green vegetable cassava cooked in coconut milk. The Managers Ben and Adel are wonderful hosts and together with their team make you feel very welcomed and take care of every need. Sadly we only had 4 nights there but we’ll definitely be back again and again. 5 * Lodge with 5* service , thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FunkyCichlid wrote a review Aug 2022
Lilongwe, Malawi35 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our time at Travessia! The staff are fantastic, and went the extra mile to look after us.

The location is breathtaking, and really feels wild with very few other lodges in the vicinity. With only 6 rooms Travessia is a gem.

There were whales everywhere, jumping right in front of the lodge.

The food was generally of a good standard but would suggest warming the plates to keep food warm.

I have given this 4 as there were times where the waiters English was a challenge and the checkin briefing could be better!

We wholeheartedly love the “supporting “local” but it was awkward for our waiter and us when there was not another duty manager to assist him with his English!

I think the arrival briefings could me more thorough with details about laundry etc.

I also think there are little areas that could be improved ie cookies/ biscuit/ rusk jar for between meals, some sundowner snacks before dinner etc.

Thanks for having us we loved our time at Travessia and look forward to returning one day!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ericatravels715 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fort Collins, Colorado2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot say enough good things about Travessia - we absolutely loved our time there and would highly recommend it. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach that is great for swimming or strolling. The food was some of the best we had and the service was great. It was also nice to know the lodge was using its own solar and was also positively contributing to the local community. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay at Travessia.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AngelaGermanSA, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 15 May 2020
Hi Erica, Thank you very much for your favourable response. We are delighted that you had such a good time at Travessia and managed to get to us before International travel was basically shut down by Covid 19. Please share your positive experience in Mozambique among your friends and help us in getting this amazing country on the map to increase travel to the region, once borders are open again. Mozambique needs it! We wish you all the best and may your memories of Mozambique help you brighten the day during this time of restrictions. Stay healthy! The Travessia Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GreatExpectations2 wrote a review May 2023
Buddina, Australia62 contributions38 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a nine night stay with Travesia Lodge via booking.com for December 2023. I made the booking in April, well in advance. The terms on booking dot com stated that a full payment will be collected 60 days prior to travel. There was no mention of any money being taken in advance, not a deposit or that a certain amount will be held on my credit card. I was happy with the arrangement of paying the full amount 60 days prior to date of travel, however, it is only May and the lodge tried to charge my credit card with the full amount. Not only did they go against the terms set out by themselves on the booking site, but the owner, Angela, also felt the need to inform another lodge of my details, which is a data privacy breach, and something which I take very seriously. I would never book accommodation where I don’t have flexibility (Covid, air travel and other fluctuating variables impact the way we book travel these days). If the lodge did intend to take money from my card seven months prior to the booking date it should have clearly stated so in the terms of the booking. I’m disappointed but not surprised. It’s winter and the hospitality industry in Africa needs money (they all seem to struggle around winter time and are desperate for money) but the manner in which they go about it is unethical, unacceptable and this unpalatable experience is exactly why foreign visitors avoid these places. They are better off catering to locals, and outlining their terms clearly and accordingly on the booking platform. For these reasons I would not recommend Travesia Beach Lodge if you are a foreigner and need some flexibility with the booking process. There are other places on Africa that is more accommodating and a better, more flexible booking experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Naumann, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 25 May 2023
As we have tried to explain in several messages to you, our policy setting with Booking dot com clearly stipulates that "you will be charged a prepayment of the total price at any time" and that cancellations until 60 days before arrival are free of charge, in which case guests would receive a refund. We have unfortunately no influence on how booking platforms chose to display terms and conditions. This policy has been in place for the 7-8 years that we are listed and we have never been accused of misleading anybody. As you know, no money was transacted on your card. Your allegation that we shared your details with another lodge is also entirely unsubstantiated and I strongly recommend you present a proof before making statements like this. On your remark on the African hospitality industry's alleged "unethical" behaviour: your booking consisted of 11 nights (not nine as you remarked) over New Years Eve. From as early as April or May, demand increases for this peak season and lodges will have to turn away enquiries for Christmas and New Year because they are fully booked. You will find that most properties request deposit payments to confirm bookings for this period to ensure that requests are serious. Our international and local guests understand that, as our track record on this page can testify.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amandine410 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travessia Beach Lodge, on top of having an amazing concept in terms of ecology (solar panels, recycled water...) offers a high end service and help the community living nearby.
The vibe when getting there is just perfect for a nice detox from the busy world.
Thank you again to Angela, Adel and Ben for accommodating us and welcoming us ! You're a great team.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flyer694260 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family's stay at Travessia was really lovely! We had an excellent time - relaxing in the warm weather, enjoying what is essentially a private beach and spending time in the well appointed rooms.
The meals were all incredibly delicious, and the fresh crayfish was such a treat!
The team was lovely and the village walk was a good experience for our young son.

Note: The lodge does have two very friendly dogs who are awesome, and loved spending time on the beach with us.
Would absolutely recommend and I could have easily spent about 4 days or so at this lodge!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tilly Moodley wrote a review Oct 2022
South Africa127 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an extensive resort with units built far apart, offering absolute privacy. We loved that there was the opportunity to meet Ben & Adel, together with others guests, & engage in a hearty conversation. The resort has a beautiful bridge leading guests down from the resort to the beach. Ben & Adel were great hosts, willing to make all their guests happy. The food was delicious & plated very nicely. The salad was crisp & fresh. The waiters were very willing to serve all the guests well. I enjoyed being so close to the beach. The air was fresh & crisp. It was an awesome resort to simply relax, as we had intended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you wish to venture beyond the resort, it is good to have a 4x4, although Ben & Adel do have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelika N wrote a review Dec 2020
Maputo, Mozambique75 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had some awesome days there. Absolutely relaxing, located in the dunes, sea view. We could do birdwatching from our balcony.
the Adel and Ben with their friendly and well trained staff are doing a greatjob . TThere is a lot to do, such as biking on the beach,surfing, walking,birdwatching. .. Relaxing. We also had an excellent massage.
Food is delicious, fresh fruits for breakfast, we haven't missed anything. I have a strict diet, it was fabulous how they dealt with.
Thanks again and we are coming back as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Micks wrote a review Jun 2023
South Africa9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the right place if you just want to relax, away from it all and be pampered. You can walk at the beach for miles, swim in warm water, body surf in the waves or just catch a tan underneath a palm tree. There is also a pool with a fantastic view and a hanging bridge for easy access to the sea! The food is fresh and delicious, never got so much seafood before. The rooms are in separate huts, very private and spaced out. And one gets brought a tray of coffee and rusks in the morning to enjoy when you get up- yeah!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angela Naumann, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for your amazing summary of the Travessia experience! This is really what we wanted to achieve with our overall service offering and reviews like yours prove to us that we are on the right track. We hope to see you back some time, with warm regards, The Travessia Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marta P wrote a review Jan 2021
Maputo, Mozambique3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed for 7 fantastic days! Everything was great, from Adel and Ben being great friendly hosts and all staff also very nice. The place is just a hidden treasure,
with stunning beach, amazing rooms views with a refreshing sea breeze. All meals delicious and with healthy variety, never forgetting the everyday sweet surprise! We really enjoyed our time on Travessia and the peaceful and quiet environment truly "recharged our batteries" to start a new year!!! Thank you so much Adel, Ben, Essie, TK and all Travessia team! We will be back soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Morrumbene area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,898 - R 6,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceMorrumbene
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVESSIA BEACH LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Morrumbene, Mozambique)

Frequently Asked Questions about Travessia Beach Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Travessia Beach Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Travessia Beach Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travessia Beach Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Portuguese, and Afrikaans.
Does Travessia Beach Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.