We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travessia Beach Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (222)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 lodges in Morrumbene
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Combine deliciously warm water and a glorious endless beach with true Robinson Crusoe style remoteness and you get Travessia Beach Lodge. Nestled between coastal palm forest and the dunes lining this part of the Mozambican coastline, this is simple luxury at its best. The lodge is easily accessible from Inhambane and Vilankulos with the added benefit of having kilometers of beach front without excessive tidal movements all to yourself. This Eco Beach Lodge is all about understated barefoot-luxury. The secluded casas have 180° sea views, spacious decks, a hammock and ensuite outdoor showers. The lodge is entirely run on solar. The lodge’s guided afternoon bushwalks introduce travellers to a picture book of rural African living. The beach invites for boogie boarding and kayaking and there are bikes available for a relaxed cycle at low tide. Diving & Snorkeling trips can be arranged. Sophisticated whilst down to earth, Travessia is for couples, families and individual travelers alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Hiking
Darts
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, German and 1 more

Location

Morrumbene 1305 Mozambique
Travessia Beach Lodge
Getting there
Inhambane Airport
36.7 km
See all flights
120Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
VSunshineYum wrote a review Jan 2024
Sandton, South Africa129 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
What more could anyone ask for : eco-friendly (no plastic, solar powered, borehole water), home-cooked, hearty and healthy meals sourced locally, beautiful and so lovely dogs, friendly and calm service, SPECTACULAR views, heavenly beach (no rocks, soft sand, stretches endlessly, fun high tide and serene low tide, large crab habitat, quiet, calming, warmest water...), soft dunes, splash pool with great views and bar service, lush greenery, so many lovely geckos, lizards, butterflies, other exotic insects, birds and mice if you're lucky enough to witness them in their natural glory... We have never been as relaxed and carefree as we were at Travessia. Essie and TK, we'll remember you for years to come.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Will be under new management as of February 2024.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anheinze wrote a review Nov 2023
Karlsruhe, Germany62 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
I had the opportunity and chance to stay 7 days at this wonderful place. The lodge is situated right on the dunes above the beach. From the warm welcome of the lodge management to the nice staff, the service was exceptional. The hospitality of this remote and absolut stunning place is outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Mozambique summer is great time to visit the lodge. Make sure to arrange transfer from airport or...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
guesnetchloe wrote a review Nov 2023
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
We had an incredible time! It's a little paradise in the middle of nature, with breathtaking scenery, a lodge that stands out for its uniqueness. The staff and managers are extremely friendly and welcoming. We've stayed in several lodges in Mozambique, but this one is definitely our favourite!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travelmum36 wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia9 contributions10 helpful votes
Visited with my family for 3 nights and it was amazing. Ben and Adele made sure everything was perfect for us. The food was so fresh and tasty and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool watching the whales breach all day.Wish we could of stayed longer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicholas F wrote a review Sept 2023
New London, Connecticut4 contributions
I was travelling through Mozambique as part of the last leg of my trip to Southern Africa last month with my travel companion Shay. Travessia had been recommended to us by our travel agent as it would break our travel by road between Vilinkulo and Maputo, where we planned to visit the town Shay's family had inhabited before the civil war. Trevessia consists of 5 lodges perched on hills between coconut groves overlooking the Indian Ocean with humpback whales playing in the distance, on the days we stayed there. Ben And Adil who manage the property with the help of their team and two dogs were brilliant - friendly, attentive and good company. The premises are beautifully designed to blend in to the scenery while offering ample comfort. I plan to return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Naumann, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Nicholas, We are thrilled to hear that you had such a good time during your short visit at Travessia and we hope that your travel companion managed to trace a bit of her family history in this area. We would love to have you back! Warm regards from the Travessia Team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flyer694260 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Our family's stay at Travessia was really lovely! We had an excellent time - relaxing in the warm weather, enjoying what is essentially a private beach and spending time in the well appointed rooms. The meals were all incredibly delicious, and the fresh crayfish was such a treat! The team was lovely and the village walk was a good experience for our young son. Note: The lodge does have two very friendly dogs who are awesome, and loved spending time on the beach with us. Would absolutely recommend and I could have easily spent about 4 days or so at this lodge!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Micks wrote a review Jun 2023
South Africa2 contributions
+1
This is the right place if you just want to relax, away from it all and be pampered. You can walk at the beach for miles, swim in warm water, body surf in the waves or just catch a tan underneath a palm tree. There is also a pool with a fantastic view and a hanging bridge for easy access to the sea! The food is fresh and delicious, never got so much seafood before. The rooms are in separate huts, very private and spaced out. And one gets brought a tray of coffee and rusks in the morning to enjoy when you get up- yeah!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Naumann, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for your amazing summary of the Travessia experience! This is really what we wanted to achieve with our overall service offering and reviews like yours prove to us that we are on the right track. We hope to see you back some time, with warm regards, The Travessia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GreatExpectations2 wrote a review May 2023
Buddina, Australia51 contributions34 helpful votes
I booked a nine night stay with Travesia Lodge via booking.com for December 2023. I made the booking in April, well in advance. The terms on booking dot com stated that a full payment will be collected 60 days prior to travel. There was no mention of any money being taken in advance, not a deposit or that a certain amount will be held on my credit card. I was happy with the arrangement of paying the full amount 60 days prior to date of travel, however, it is only May and the lodge tried to charge my credit card with the full amount. Not only did they go against the terms set out by themselves on the booking site, but the owner, Angela, also felt the need to inform another lodge of my details, which is a data privacy breach, and something which I take very seriously. I would never book accommodation where I don’t have flexibility (Covid, air travel and other fluctuating variables impact the way we book travel these days). If the lodge did intend to take money from my card seven months prior to the booking date it should have clearly stated so in the terms of the booking. I’m disappointed but not surprised. It’s winter and the hospitality industry in Africa needs money (they all seem to struggle around winter time and are desperate for money) but the manner in which they go about it is unethical, unacceptable and this unpalatable experience is exactly why foreign visitors avoid these places. They are better off catering to locals, and outlining their terms clearly and accordingly on the booking platform. For these reasons I would not recommend Travesia Beach Lodge if you are a foreigner and need some flexibility with the booking process. There are other places on Africa that is more accommodating and a better, more flexible booking experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angela Naumann, Owner at Travessia Beach Lodge
Responded 25 May 2023
As we have tried to explain in several messages to you, our policy setting with Booking dot com clearly stipulates that "you will be charged a prepayment of the total price at any time" and that cancellations until 60 days before arrival are free of charge, in which case guests would receive a refund. We have unfortunately no influence on how booking platforms chose to display terms and conditions. This policy has been in place for the 7-8 years that we are listed and we have never been accused of misleading anybody. As you know, no money was transacted on your card. Your allegation that we shared your details with another lodge is also entirely unsubstantiated and I strongly recommend you present a proof before making statements like this. On your remark on the African hospitality industry's alleged "unethical" behaviour: your booking consisted of 11 nights (not nine as you remarked) over New Years Eve. From as early as April or May, demand increases for this peak season and lodges will have to turn away enquiries for Christmas and New Year because they are fully booked. You will find that most properties request deposit payments to confirm bookings for this period to ensure that requests are serious. Our international and local guests understand that, as our track record on this page can testify.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dreamer1001 wrote a review Jan 2023
Durban, South Africa257 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
A little gem untouched by civilisation, early morning coffee with biscuits to enjoy the start of each day fresh seafood, local vegetables & fresh seasonal fruit; all prepared by Ben & Raoul, Ebu & Frans. outdoor shower looking ont the beach
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 4 x 4 road Sunblock Costume Leave your technology at home
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Architect-onthe-road wrote a review Jan 2023
Prague, Czech Republic1 contribution
We spent 1 week at Travessia Beach Lodge around the New Year. It is an amazing location in the middle of a palm grove, with a beach all to yourself. If you enjoy solitude and tranquility, this is the place for you. If you like hustle and bustle, you'd better go to Zanzibar. The lodge is not large, so it always has a family feel to it. This is added to by the lodge manager Ben and Adel, who live for their guests and make you feel at home. Part of the experience is great food, especially fresh seafood from local fishermen. We hope to return soon, perhaps for a whale migration...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Morrumbene area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,064 - R 7,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceMorrumbene
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVESSIA BEACH LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Morrumbene, Mozambique) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travessia Beach Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Travessia Beach Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Travessia Beach Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Travessia Beach Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travessia Beach Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Portuguese, and Afrikaans.
Does Travessia Beach Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.