Castelo Do Mar

Linga Linga beach Inhambane, Morrumbene 1302 Mozambique
Traveller (176)
Dining at Castelo do Mar
Dining (16)
Spacious bedrooms with ensuite bathroom and tea/coffee tray
Room & Suite (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 lodges in Morrumbene
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Castelo do Mar is situated on the water's edge at Linga-Linga, the tiny peninsula that juts into the Inhambane Bay, Mozambique. Our warm Mozambiquen hospitality ensures that guests enjoy relaxing Mozambique Accommodation with 18 elegant rooms, luxuriously decorated and air-conditioned with en-suite bathrooms. Activities like Fishing, deep sea Fishing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Relaxing in our stocked library, or having fun in our games room. Our rates are inclusive of 3 meals per day and our guests are treated to exquisite meals in our Portugese restaurant. Indulge in our pristine accommodation with en-suite bedrooms, lazily choose between our activities on offer. Our beachfront lodge in Mozambique is the perfect spot for carefree Family Holidays, Corporate events, Scuba Diving, Fishing, Honeymoons and Getaways.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Skiing
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Portuguese

Location

Linga Linga beach Inhambane, Morrumbene 1302 Mozambique
Getting there
Inhambane Airport
15.4 km
See all flights
63Reviews3Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 10
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ginashmukler wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I needed a real vacation and began researching Thailand. After much research our focus shifted closer to home, to Mozambique where we were advised to look at a small resort, farNorth. The crucial positive for me, aside from being on the Beach, was that it is one of the few non thatch resorts. It looked gorgeous and exactly what we were after.
Our adventure began in Maputo, which by the way is a great city for a quick stopover. The drive from Maputo to Linga Linga took about seven and half hours but is rather pleasant and a good decompression pre holiday.
We arrived to a friendly welcome by the manager and was shown our room. (I might add it is the first time that my husband and I did not change rooms.) We had ten days of an almost perfect vacation. The resort is small and contained. The luxury sea facing rooms are large, beautifully designed with air con. The beach is exquisite, the sea warm. The food was delicious -with chefs that were beyond accommodating as far as our meal requests for both ourselves and our 6 year old daughter. Bar and waitstaff were friendly and professional. It’s outstanding value for money. We highly recommend it. We are certainly going to return to this very special place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rudolph Nöthling wrote a review Jan 2023
Randburg, South Africa4 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Castelo Do Mar is situated in the bay of Inhambane, Mozambique, but soon after your arrival, it feels like a you are on a private island!

With so much beauty, and the best sunsets I have ever seen, even the photos we took looks fake and edited!

Well, let’s start at the beginning of our awesome 7 day family adventure.
We took a flight from OR Tambo via Maputo to Inhambane with LAM airlines. All their flights were on time. The airline provides drinks and snacks on board, and it was all around a great experience flying with them.

Upon our arrival in Inhambane, a driver from Castelo Do Mar was waiting for us at the airport, and took us to the bay where our boat was waiting. After an awesome boat ride across the bay, we arrived at Castelo Do Mar, and received welcome drinks as we got off the boat.

We were taken to our stunning inter-leading rooms, with the beach a few meters away from the patio. The main room had a super comfortable king size bed and the second bedroom 2 x single beds for the kids. Both rooms had ensuite bathrooms, TV’s, Nespresso machine etc.

We were served delicious breakfast each morning, awesome lunch and 3 course dinners. Christmas day was a real spoil with music on the deck, and delicious food.

There was so many activities to choose from and all non-motorised water sports was included. (SUP boards, kayaks, paddle ski’s, sail boats etc.)

We took a boat trip to White-sands and had lunch at Neptunes in Barra, and some snorkelling on the way back. We also took a trip to Pansy Island, collected Pansy shells, and snorkelled around the island and saw loads of star fish!

The kids had fun for hours being towed behind the boat and Jet Ski on the tubes.

We want to that the owners Darin & Lisa as well as their awesome committed staff for the most adventurous experience. 7 days was definitely not long enough, and we can’t wait to return to your magnificent resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Doliveira , Owner at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 07 Feb 2023
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and your beautiful family to Castelo. We are so pleased to hear that you all had such a wonderful time. Thank you for choosing Castelo as your holiday destination and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jono M wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd time visiting Castelo and each time we come away feeling like it was a holiday of a life time. We spent 8 nights at the resort and once again loved every minute of it. I was traveling with my wife and 2 kids (6 & 9yrs) and whilst the adults enjoyed the tranquility of walking the beaches and relaxing on the sun loungers, the children had a absolute amazing time playing in the pool, beach and sea.The 8 days was pure relaxation for us as a family as the friendly staff were amazing with ensuring we were well taken care of. My son and i went deep sea fishing which was an experience never to be forgotten as we caught yellow fin tuna which we the perfect sashimi starter before dinner. We stayed in the family room which had a inter-leading room for the kids so they had their own space which was nice.

We loved every minute of the holiday and will defiantly be going back for some more sun, sand and seafood. Also thanks to the Castelo team for looking after us as their chef cooked some amazing food as i would never so no to his seafood dishes.

Until next time take it easy and see you all agin.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lots of activities so make sure you plan them upfront.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Drake, Owner at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Thank you Jono for such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleaaure hosting your beautiful family. We are so pleased that you all had such an increadible experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helene_healey wrote a review Jan 2020
Gauteng, South Africa10 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for a family holiday with 5 members of our family coming from the UK. For 4 of them it was their very first visit.

Our sense of humor was the only thing that saved the holiday, because otherwise we would have wept.

The staff were great. Management was not.

4 double rooms were booked and confirmed. They were not available when we arrived.

The rooms were lovely but no hot water in the bathroom and even though this was brought to “management’s” attention repeatedly, absolutely nothing was done. We gave up after day 3.

The view is exceptional. The service is not.

The food was delicious, but begging for a slice of bread is not.

Breakfasts were plentiful, lunch is ordered off the menu, and although the food was very tasty, if you wanted to eat at 12pm, you needed to order by 10am.

Service is excruciatingly slow.

Dinner, after a long day in the sun, as much as it was eagerly anticipated, and as delicious as it was, was a test in patience. When the desert portion served is smaller than that of a tablespoon, and a 6’5foot 23 yr old male is served the same size portion as an 8year old little girl, hunger becomes and issue. And when an extra portion is requested, the standard answer is,no.

No life jackets on the boat, no boat safety management done, and staff smoking by boat engines - a law suit waiting to happen.

No matter the view, over priced and under delivered. Not worth it.

And management was nowhere to be found.

Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LisaM10625, Director of Sales at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 23 Jan 2020
We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness of our staff. We do apologise for the General Manager who had a severe ear infection, who then had to be hospitalized. The owner arranged a ridiculously low rate to fly private chart and accommodation. You had originally booked the Cassinga suite but were not happy with with this, so an arrangement was made for you to move you into beachfront rooms after two days, as we were fully booked for the over the New Years period. We tried to accommodate you to the best of our abilities. If you could please compare your invoice to the actual Rake rates, you will see we gave you an incredible deal. With regards to the food portions, we have never had a complaint about our portion size, in fact portions were overly generous. Please contact Lisa at +27 010 020 1770 to discuss, so we can resolve the problem. With regards to the Life Jackets, they are available under the hatchers, but have never been required because we are located on a lagoon. We do thank you for your notes and we will ensure that staff have a safety briefing before hand. Thank you for your comments we are working hard to improve our services and clients experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine23147271648 wrote a review Dec 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most incredible family holiday at Castelo.

Castelo is set in a bay like area, and is quite protected from the wind. Rooms are located a couple of meters from the beach.

The rooms were large and spacious. It was a 5 star experience.

The beds were king size beds and very comfortable.

The food is incredible, you are asked what time you would like to dine and the staff Follow this like clockwork.

There are loads of activities you can do at Castelo... deep sea fishing, sunset cruises, jet ski, pansy Island and much more.

The staff were absolutely incredible throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Drake, Owner at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 29 Dec 2022
We are delighted to hear about your increadible experience at Castelo. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at our beautiful piece of Paradise.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerusha H wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Going to Mozambique for the first time, we truly had no idea what to expect! But I don’t think anything we could have imagined would’ve come close to what we experienced here at Castelo Do Mar.

From the minute we arrived, the service was beautiful. We received welcome drinks on arrival, we were escorted to our room and given the run down of the place by the manager, Laurentino, who always had the most welcoming smile on his face.

We spent 7 nights here and there wasn’t a single moment of the trip we didn’t enjoy thoroughly. Castelo Do Mar offers a bunch of activities to keep you entertained during your stay, including a sunset cruise, a stunning trip to an uninhabited island where one can snorkel and enjoy a picnic on the beach as well as fishing and kayaking to name a few.

The food at Castelo Do Mar was beautifully presented and every dish was filled with great flavour and colour! The Chef was very accommodating and friendly.

We had the opportunity to be served by two waiters during our stay here, Fernando and Helton. Both these men had continuous smiles on their faces and were happy to help in anyway they could.

Castelo Do Mar, thank you for the wonderful memories! We will be back :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Doliveira , Owner at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 07 Feb 2023
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at Castelo. Our team take alot of pride in their work so we are pleased thay it reflected in your experience. Great to hear that you enjoyed all the activities we have on offer and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aimee R wrote a review Feb 2022
17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow wow wow! We recently had the most amazing stay at Castelo Do Mar and our time there was definitely not long enough. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome by a staff member who handed us a fresh coconut each to enjoy. We were then led to our beautiful, newly renovated room which overlooked the beach and sea. The meals throughout our stay were absolutely delicious, especially the chicken and fish. We were ever treated to a romantic dinner on the beach, candles and all, with freshly caught crayfish and home-made ice-cream. It was wonderful!

The staff were incredibly friendly and very welcoming during our entire stay. We were even able to take a boat ride with their skipper to experience the sea water mangroves for a gorgeous sunset cruise.

For my first visit to Mozambique, I was blown away and cannot recommend Castelo Do Mar enough!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheri 🌸 wrote a review Jul 2021
Muldersdrift, South Africa7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I went to Castelo do Mar from the 26th June - 5th July.
We had an absolute blast, the beach is private and safe and my children had the best time. The played in the sun and in the water and we felt so comfortable at the lodge. The service from Luis was first class and the friendliness of all staff was fantastic and the help from the staff with the children was excellent. The food that we had was lovely, the different flavors and varieties of food offered was out of this world. The accommodation was clean and the housekeeping staff were so lovely…..We as a family felt like we had our own private island which was total bliss. Thank you for the great holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Drake, Owner at Castelo Do Mar
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Thank you so much. We are so pleased to hear that you had such an amazing experience with your family. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drake2017 wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I decided to take a 2 week holiday to celebrate my retirement and booked at Castelo. We stayed in the self catering Cassinga Suite. It was absolutely stunning. Very neat, modern, fully equipped kitchen as well as aircons and a gas braai. The suite has amazing sea views. We also ate at the hotel restaurant on a few occasions and the food was outstanding. The staff at Castelo are amazing and made our stay very special. We had endless fun in the sun, swimming in the pool and the sea and loved seeing the dolphins in front of the lodge. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phindile K wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to Leanne and her team for the outstaning hospitality and excellent customer service, you have an amazing and dedicated team. Keep up the good work. Uncle Many words can not begin to explain the love and attention you gave to our son thank you so so much from the bottom of your hearts. Jose you took care of us everyday during breakfast, lunch and dinner with a smile on the love you have your your work will take you places. What an amazing stay we had.... the rooms the location the food the view the tranquillity PERFECT
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Kirsty Viljoen
Inhambane Province, Mozambique2 contributions
It is possible. The drive from Inhanbane to Castelo do Mar is approximately 100km.
Answer from Kirsty Viljoen
Inhambane Province, Mozambique2 contributions
Good morning, The trip from Johannesburg or Maputo is relatively straightforward and the condition of the roads are quite good. The turn off to Linga Linga (Castelo do Mar) is 17km of dirt road which has just been graded and compacted, so access is still quite easy. If you are unsure if this, you can always drive through to Inhambane where Castelo do Mar has a secure parking area and they can transfer you across to Castelo by boat.
Answer from Kirsty Viljoen
Inhambane Province, Mozambique2 contributions
Sim, nós temos um centro de mergulho no local com instrutores PADI e mestres de mergulho que podem ajudá-lo. Você está convidado a nos contatar diretamente para mais informações. Nossos detalhes de contato estão disponíveis em nosso site, bem como nossa página no Facebook.
Jono M wrote a tip Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of activities so make sure you plan them upfront."
Read full review
John wrote a tip Aug 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa89 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All room service have sea view however ground floor units walk directly onto lovely beach."
Read full review
michelle r wrote a tip Oct 2017
Edenvale, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach front rooms have the best view - you are so close to the sea you can hear the water lapping up to the shore"
Read full review
henkneethling wrote a tip Apr 2017
Polokwane, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our beachfront room had a magnificent view!!"
Read full review
Cindyek wrote a tip Jan 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All sea facing rooms are fantastic"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Morrumbene area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,785 - R 3,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceMorrumbene
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTELO DO MAR - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Morrumbene, Mozambique) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Castelo Do Mar
What are some of the property amenities at Castelo Do Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Castelo Do Mar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castelo Do Mar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Castelo Do Mar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castelo Do Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Castelo Do Mar have airport transportation?
Yes, Castelo Do Mar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Castelo Do Mar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castelo Do Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Afrikaans.
Does Castelo Do Mar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Castelo Do Mar accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.