We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
CheapTickets
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (389)
Dining (42)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding.
Read more
Room & Suite (35)35
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Full view
Contact
Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
Getting there
Moshoeshoe Intl Airport169 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
461Reviews13Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 180
  • 73
  • 31
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DocAlex1959 wrote a review Oct 2019
Kampala, Uganda12 contributions
Sani Mountain Lodge is high up In the Lesotho mountains and boasts the highest pub in Africa. I stayed two nights in a chalet and the customer service was excellent and very personalized. It was freezing cold on arrival but I found a fire going in my room and a complimentary jug of sherry to warm me up. The views from the pub are to die for and the bar and restaurant very adequate. The fresh trout in particular was very good. The lodge organized a guide to lead me to the highest mountain in Southern Africa.. a grueling 33 km hike to/fro. Despite the isolated location this lodge gives 5 star service.. a must visit for an experience of a lifetime
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2019
Hi there DocAlex1959, We are thrilled to know that we created a positive lasting memory and experience during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, which we always appreciate and will definitely pass on the feedback to the rest of the staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay. Kind regards The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
crouzers wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Traveled through Lesotho. Slept 1 night at Sani Mountain Lodge. Rondavel very well equiped. Always cold there --take warm clothes. Food was excellent. Amazing view of Sani Pass from the deck. Nice place to experiance for 1 night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 26 Sep 2019
Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sani Mnt. Lodge
Read more
KarMichael Farm wrote a review Sep 2019
Himeville, South Africa1 contribution
Brilliant over night stop for a hike up hodgsons peak. we had dinner in the pub which was great and a few drinks before sleeping in the backpackers. we had a great time and would certainly like to go back one day soon to do it again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 26 Sep 2019
Hi there, We're very pleased that you had a wonderful trip and stay with us! Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the rondavels next time :) Kind regards, The Sani Mnt Lodge Team
Read more
Kalina M wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Not many options for you if you want to stay at Sani Pass, but the management here are very inflexible when it comes to accommodating guests and switching dates. Their rates are obscene, and will not permit a change to your booking after 30-days, so we had to pay extra. Terrible service for any kind of hotel. I would recommend not staying the night here, just come for a visit as a day trip. The road is a fun drive, the views are nice. Just don't waste your money on the accommodation. It's cold and windy at the top. Yurts don't insulate very well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2019
Hi there Kalina, We are sorry to hear of the series of disappointing experiences you had whilst staying with us. Due to the fact that we are an eco-lodge and our remote location, we provide all energy ourselves and have to import and transport all goods, thus our prices may differ to places that are closer to already existing infrastructure and amenities. We do our best to accommodate our guests' requirements and needs and personalise their stay with us where possible. We always endeavour to provide our guests with remarkable service and should this not have been your experience this is something that will be addressed. Thank you and we appreciate the feedback. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge
Read more
johanvr2019 wrote a review Sep 2019
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
Please be aware that on site management are not interested in the opinion of guests or their expectations. I discussed matters that was not acceptable, and management just shrugged it off. They are not interested in your needs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Hi there Johan, We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Your feedback was addressed by Management, and it appears that there was a matter that you had discussed with the Manager, and he had explained what the cause of your inconvenience had been, which you had accepted. We are sorry that this was not to your satisfaction and we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sani top chalet hotel sani pass, sani top chalet pass
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sani Top Chalet
LOCATION
LesothoMokhotlong DistrictSani Pass
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing