We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (389)
Dining (42)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/11/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding.
Read more
Room & Suite (35)35
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Full view
Contact
Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
Getting there
Moshoeshoe Intl Airport169 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
461Reviews13Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 180
  • 73
  • 31
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anthony C wrote a review Jan 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom154 contributions57 helpful votes
Our Sani Pass trip included lunch and drinks here. The food (I had the beef burger) was very good, as was the choice of drinks available. Staff were very friendly, and the view from the top breathtaking!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Hi there Anthon, Thanks for stopping by for lunch :) We are always pleased to host and for guests to experience the service and reputation that we are renowned for. We look forward to seeing you again, and for perhaps an overnight stay? Thank you for the feedback. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
rosesanjo1 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed one night in the backpacker accommodation at Sani Mt Lodge. We felt ripped off - the place is pricy (same price you would pay for a self catering cottage in SA) for a very uncomfortable and dingy room. The lock system is such that someone can lock you in from the outside and the beds are old and very creaky. The showers are cold (despite a gas heater) and leaks extensively all over the show. The camping area outside is non-existent, it's a dirt area with building rubble. The place has many obscure rules like no picnics allowed in the lodge area (only food bought from them is allowed) which is crazy when staying for a while but even just one night. The lodge effectively hogs the whole line along the mountains so not allowing people to eat their own food there is just a
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Hi there Rosesanjo 1, We are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience and unpleasant stay. The backpackers and camping facilities have undergone improvements and renovations while still maintaining a comfortable and rugged feel much to many guests' delight, thus we are sad to hear that this was not your feeling. Sani Mountain Lodge is an eco-lodge proudly situated in a UNESCO World Heritage site, and with this distinction comes a great environmental responsibility to maintain and administer the types and amount of traffic and consumption that takes place on the property and surrounds, hence when entering the premises, all foods and beverages have to be bought from the Lodge. The prohibition to bring and consume own's own food and drink into a licensed bar, restaurant or pub is a fundamental and global business practice. We do offer hikes and sunset excursions that offer packed lunch picnics with a guide, should this have been something that was of interest to you. Furthermore, we are completely independent and self-sufficiently run, which means we provide all our own energy and given our remote location the importation of all goods and transportation costs, naturally, this will make our pricing structure different from other properties that are in close proximity to such conveniences. Lastly, we are very proud to continue to uplift and empower the community around us, some of whom are employed by the Lodge and have been for many years. Many of the activities that we offer are taken up by such locals thus making them unique and authentic experiences. Should you have felt unsafe or misunderstood the directions, this is something that will be brought up and addressed by management. Thank you for your feedback, which we always appreciate. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
Ryan F wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions
We went up Sani Pass as a day trip, intending to stop at Sani Mountain Lodge for lunch. The road up is very bad, Rocky and steep. Don't attempt the road if you do not have a 4x4, particularly in wet conditions. If you don't have a 4x4, there are mony tours that go up the pass. The view at the top was spectacular, with the whole Sani Valley visible in all its splendor. The bar at the Lodge was full, but we were accommodated on couches overlooking the lovely view. The service was good and the waiters were friendly. All of the meals that we got were fantastic, a vegetable soup with homemade bread and mutton stew with rice. Well worth the visit!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Hi there Ryan, It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your trip and your time with us. We are very pleased that you experienced the renowned reputation that we we seek to give all our visitors. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
KaTo6668 wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Keep in mind that if you are not able to reach the lodge due to terrible weather conditions and destroyed roads they will charge you 100%. They put their rules above your healthy. We never ever had such an experiance in our adventure travels across the world before.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Hi there, We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Our cancellation policy is standard industry practice, which was made aware to you in the acceptance of your booking and payment thereof. Best regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge Team
Read more
Dwaine D wrote a review Dec 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa10 contributions1 helpful vote
Another trip to this amazing location was well worth the time and effort to get there. this is a must see place in your life time. this time was different as we had food from a menu but the food was still tasty and very well prepared.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SaniMountainLodge, Public Relations Manager at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 08 Dec 2019
Hi there Dwaine, We are very pleased to have you back and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback and we'll be sure to pass on the compliments to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again, Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Lodge team
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sani top chalet hotel sani pass, sani top chalet pass
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sani Top Chalet
LOCATION
LesothoMokhotlong DistrictSani Pass
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing