We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (385)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (39)

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Sani Pass
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Sani Pass, Sani Pass Lesotho
Sani Mountain Lodge
Getting there
Moshoeshoe Intl Airport
168.7 km
See all flights
483Reviews14Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 185
  • 76
  • 31
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sarah T wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A nightmare!!!! Inaccurate directions and poor communication led to us missing our reservation, and having to hitchhike up a mountain because there was no taxi service at the border as they said multiple times there would be. They agreed to give a refund, but have been running Me around the ringer since. 8 months later and still no refund.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there Sarah, As stated in our exchange, we cannot process a refund without the necessary banking details of the recipient as requested by the bank. When all the appropriate documents have been received, the refund can be processed and concluded. We understand your frustration and look forward to resolving the matter promptly. Kind regards The Sani Mnt. Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane Doe wrote a review Jan 2024
Lower Saxony, Germany141 contributions23 helpful votes
Important to know: I stayed in the Sani Top Backpacker. During the day this place is full of people, but when all the day tourists leave it is beautiful up there. Easy to explore. I had the backpacker's for myself which was nice. The kitchen is well equipped. The only issue there was were frozen pipes and therefore no running water. But there was a filled water tank which was enough for myself. My room was small but the bed was comfy and warm; so enough for me. The staff was really nice and helpful. They helped me to figure out my route the next day as I was travelling independently and without a car through Lesotho. My evening I spend in the pub with guests from the lodge. We gathered around the fire and had a good night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: In winter, bring warm clothes and a hot water bottle if you tend to be cold at night. Although...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Hi there CrazyAsap, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the feedback regarding the frozen pipes. Given our unique location and the varying weather conditions, we try to make accommodations when mother nature is in full swing. Thanks for the feedback and we trust you had a safe journey onwards. Kind regards, Sani Mnt Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah T wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Where to start.... they gave us wrong information how to get up there. We ended up missing the reservation because they told us we could just park at the border and take a taxi from there. Now I've spent 5 months trying to get our money back for their mistake, and they continue to ask for my BANK ACCOUNT AND ROUTING NUMBER instead of refunding to my card, and say that they are unsure why I'm uncomfortable providing this information via text
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Hi there Sarah, We are saddened to hear of your unpleasant experience and we appreciate your feedback. As stated in our exchange, we cannot process a refund without the necessary banking details of the recipient. We understand your frustration and look to resolve the matter timeously. Kind regards The Sani Mnt. Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisette wrote a review Jun 2023
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival we had to complete forms for each person before being taken to our rondavel. We had booked Double rooms and two rooms were Twins so staff had to come in and remake the beds. Bar was warm and festive. Dinner was for 7pm and we eventually sat down just before 8pm. Food was good, chicken soup was very good. Salads - to me was unnecessary on an ice cold night, but others enjoyed it. The roast and veggies were lovely, sadly the pork chops were dried out but i think the problem was the bain-marie was far too hot. Breakfast was average - once again the bain-marie was too hot. Staff were friendly; For the price we paid we definitely expected a better experience, thankfully the views made up for everything else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared for very cold weather
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DHW wrote a review May 2023
7 contributions7 helpful votes
Wonderful experience. Gracious people. Good food and drink. Warm and cozy rooms. Just a great place to stay for a night or two. Wood burning stove id a great job of heating the room. Hot water, and I mean hot, tubs added to bed by staff. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
max travels! wrote a review Jan 2023
Durban, South Africa138 contributions67 helpful votes
Growing up in the area meant frequent trips up the Pass. However, this time was a little different. Surprise #1: On arrival at the entrance, you are slapped with a R50 per person entrance fee. Surprise #2: It is not deductible off your food bill. So immediately you need to R50 to whatever you’re ordering. I totally understand the probable reasoning behind this entrance fee, but it would be reasonable to assume that if one chose to eat a meal etc and not just abuse the toilet facilities, that this would be deducted off your bill. In the 20+ years of going up the Pass and to the Lodge, this was a first in terms of entrance fees. Surprise #3: Food is expensive and below average. Hot drinks aren’t hot (and yes I understand the physics of boiling points at altitude etc etc). Surprise #4: The bill. Average breakfast plus the now R50 pp gate entrance and you’re looking at some serious notes. So for a family of four, R1000 won’t leave you with much change! I think they’ve fallen well into the trap of tourism. Covid dealt everyone a blow, but making up for it through expensive food and drink is offsides. Visitors are better off packing a picnic, driving a little further and enjoying the views elsewhere (for free).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Xoliswa Ntshingila wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
Our visit to Sani Mountain Lodge was absolutely pleasurable. We received warm hospitality & the food was amazing. Will definitely be back soon to do the Sani Pass tour. We were guided and advised on what attractions to see in the area and Mme Khapa was an absolutely gracious host!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janine wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
+1
My husband and I went for a romantic getaway. The chalets were renovated since our last visit and we were pleasantly surprized. The units had lovely electric blankets and was so cosy. The sherry was such a nice touch. The staff was welcoming and friendly. Dinner was delicious and generous portions. The gluwhein is out of this world. We had a good night's rest and had a scrumptious breakfast. Will be back for our 4th visit next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 05 Sept 2022
Hi there Janine, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. You are correct in noting the renovations that were done. We strive to improve our service offering and guest experience wherever we are able to and we're delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to having you back. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marc Derveeuw wrote a review Aug 2022
Ostend, Belgium424 contributions265 helpful votes
+1
Visit in May 2022, my third time down and up the pass ( 2x MTB bike, 1 x hike) starting from Lesotho, and first time in the lodge. It must be a logistical nightmare managing this isolated place, but we were satisfied with the rondavel and the services. However we came prepared knowing how things work here. They actually never confirmed our booking, so I had to give them a call in the morning from Maseru, which was sufficient for us to head reassured to the Sani pass and find a smiling receptionist upon arrival . My guess was that credit cards might not be working, so we loaded the wallet with reliable Madiba bank notes, which was the right choice and which I recommend. Prices were OK for a two single bed rondavel, including breakfast and a three course dinner. Previously we had been free camping in that area, but in May it is freezing up there, so the lodge with the woodstove in the rondavel was more than welcome. A bit of a fright every morning because the outside gas water heater wasn't working, while in the evening it did. I guess it's a matter of properly maintaining the burners, we were offered another unit but decided to take a shower with a cup and a bucket with hot water, as I mentioned, we were prepared. I am still surprised that many people travelling from the South African border are afraid to adventure further in Lesotho, so on weekends lunch time, the place is very crowded, but evenings with the fireplace in the pub are a great mountain experience, and Vodacom Lesotho is working perfectly well up there. Overall a very nice place and nice service which matched our expectations. We are definitely coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Winters are extremely cold....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 05 Sept 2022
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear of the geysers - this is a matter we continue to monitor and improve. As always we appreciate your feedback. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul Cooke wrote a review Jul 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
Spent a wonderful night with my two sons up at the Sani Mountain Lodge. The hospitality, food and service was "world class". Thanks to the team, it was the highlight of our stay in Lesotho. I look forward to visiting again with our extended family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sani Mountain Escape, Owner at Sani Mountain Lodge
Responded 05 Sept 2022
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and more so that you'll be returning. We look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards, The Sani Mnt. Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sani Pass area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
sani top chalet hotel sani pass, sani top chalet pass
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sani Top Chalet
LOCATION
LesothoMokhotlong DistrictSani Pass
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANI MOUNTAIN LODGE - Hotel Reviews (Sani Pass, Lesotho) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sani Mountain Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Sani Mountain Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sani Mountain Lodge?
Top room amenities include a fireplace, a view of the mountains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Sani Mountain Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sani Mountain Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Sani Mountain Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Sani Pass.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sani Mountain Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.