We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort

Save
Share
N 7 Piekenierskloof Pass, Citrusdal 7340 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/21
Expedia.comUS$128
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (163)
Pool & Beach (63)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Citrusdal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Escape to the breathtaking Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge, situated in the Cederberg mountains and a mere two hours' drive from Cape Town. The lodge boasts 22 hotel rooms, 16 self-catering chalets, 2 quality conference rooms, the Kloof restaurant, ladies bar and guest lounge. Wakeup to the state of absolute relaxation, personalised service and elegance. Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge is the ideal destination for business executive, the weary traveler or a family holiday.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Conference facilities
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
570Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 331
  • 172
  • 45
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kouthar W wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa12 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a quick weekend getaway to Piekenierskloof after reading many great reviews. Sadly our experience wasn't the same. The place is neat and yes, the staff are polite but overall the resort is just average. My youngest (5) enjoyed himself as this is the first core memory he will have of being on holiday but for the rest of us, it was rather underwhelming. Our rooms were lovely, spacious and clean with complimentary water and coffee which is kind of expected at a 4 star resort. Check-in is rather late and Check-out is very early, 3pm and 10am respectively. We arrived on Friday, checked-in and got settled. The boys immediately wanted to go and explore. It was too cold for the swimming pool but they do have an indoor heated pool. There is also a pool table and table tennis, 2 small trampolines for the younger kids and a small jungle gym and a 9 hole put put course. That's the extent of entertainment for the children. The resort has an on-site spa as well. Our Friday dinner was extremely disappointing, they don't have a large offering and don't really cater for anyone who doesn't eat red meat. My husband had the line fish dish which was bland, there was no flavour at all and that includes the boiled up potato it came with. I opted for the chicken schnitzel which was also very tasteless. The boys had a chicken burger and kiddies pizza which I wasn't terrible. Again, breakfast was sad. We asked for their halaal options since they claim to have that for guests but no...just no. Honestly I think all resorts should be able to cater for Muslim guests in some way. In SA it's not hard to find halaal meat and you can include a whole new group of visitors to your resort. We decided to venture out a bit on Saturday but sadly the town of Citrusdal feels so neglected and just has nothing for tourists. We stopped at De Tol Farm Deli for lunch which was so great. The ladies are super friendly and offered us the toasted chicken mayo which was yummy. The Carmien Tea tasting was another highlight for me as I love tea. Dinner at the resort went a bit better on Saturday, we tried the seafood platter which was a hit and miss. The prawns and calamari were tasty but the fish and rice were just not. We also had a chicken wrap which was nice. Dessert is limited and again, just not great. I suppose if you're a meat eater, you may enjoy what they offer but I couldn't really tell if people enjoyed it. All in all, I think if you're a couple looking for a nice relaxing weekend, you may enjoy it but I wouldn't go back as a family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The double deluxe rooms seem more spacious and have a nicer view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JChusone wrote a review May 2022
Cape Town, South Africa51 contributions7 helpful votes
This is probably one of the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The bed room smells fresh and clean, the bed linen crisp and clean, I really can’t find a single fault. The staff were all friendly and eager to assist. We went for a few days/nights of stay and the conference room was well set up and the catering was spot on. The spa! The public bathrooms were clean; and the beautiful garden. I could go on and on on how awesome this hotel and its team is. I’ll surely be coming back soon for some personal relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear chusone35 Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback and kind comments. We are excited to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope you will be visiting us again soon. Kind regards Estelle Horn, Management
Read more
Liezel V wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
There was a truck breakdown in the pass last week in the evening and we couldn't get through to Cape Town. We popped into your restaurant (which served us excellent food) and then, when we heard that the pass will still be closed to almost midnight, your friendly staff arranged that we could stay over at the hotel at a discounted price. We would just like to specially mention Malcolm at the front desk and the two ladies which served us in the restaurant. They really went out of their way to accommodate and help us and we really appreciate it. Your facility and grounds are well managed and excellently kept, but the positive, friendly attitude of your staff, impressed us the most. Well done, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Dear LiezelvZyl Thank you for your valued feedback and comments. We are thrilled to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort and you were well looked after by our team. We appreciate your support and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Management
Read more
534virginiat wrote a review Feb 2022
Cape Town, South Africa69 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We were on a Sunday drive and went pass Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort. On our way back we decided to pop in on the spur of the moment we decided to find out if there were any availability. We booked via booking.com and paid less which was awesome. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but the carpets needs a deep clean. Even though they had shampoo, body lotion and body wash, they did have toothpaste and toothbrushes available in the room. This would have been very useful seeing that we decided to stay overnight without the necessary toiletries. The place itself is stunning and tranquil. They have a pool, indoor and outdoor. Games room. Putt-putt and a wellness room. The grounds r well kept and they have chalets available for non-members Definitely a place to visit. 2 and a half hours out of Cape Town. Would definitely recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There r ample parking available. U get a ticket to paste in ur car for identification.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Dear 534virginiat Thank you for your valued feedback and comments. Kind regards, Management
Read more
Jamie wrote a review Jan 2022
24 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and I spent a few nights at the resort for our anniversary. The rooms were beautiful and we had an amazing view from our balcony. A special thank you to Malcolm, Antoinette and Chrisna. Malcolm is an absolute gem and went out of his way to make our stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Dear Jamie Thank you for your valued feedback and comments. Our staff sincerely appreciate your kind message. Kind regards, Management
Read more
disgusted wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
After settling my acc upon arrival, I was informed that the outdoor pool was out of order. With the pool being the highlight of my stay, I enquired about getting alternative dates, as I was prepared to return when the pool was operational again. The only offer made was 2 days in exchange for my 4 days that I had paid for. Cancellation with no refund was the other option given to me. After almost an hour of debating, I was offered a 1 day discount, but this was later revoked as I was deemed "ungrateful". I was told that since I was not happy, I "should not" stay. having paid for my holiday I insisted that I would stay and suffice to say the pool was available for the last 2 days of my stay. I cannot fault the rest of the staff or the general facilities, but the manager was plain disgusting. I will never return to Piekenierskloof.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear CitrusdalCT Thank you for your feedback and comments. We wish to confirm that the outdoor pool was flooded due to unforseen circumstances. Heavy rains caused the flow of muddy water into the pool. We apologise for the inconvenience to all, but we assure you that we went out of our way to rectify the problem with special efforts from our team. Kind regards, Management
Read more
Nadia O wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Resort is beautifully situated and facilities great. Our first time; check-in we arrived 12h23;checked - in and paid. Said our rooms will be ready between 13h00-14h00; when enquiring by 14h30 told our room is not ready. For being part of the Dream Resort group this destination falls short of its 4 star rating. Reception and Housekeeping need to be relooked. No porters to help with luggage. Compliments to the chef as the food was good, but one's first impression is when you step into a resort. I suggest management visit Avalon Springs to see how it is done.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Dear nadiaoB36DR Thank you for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey. We value your feedback and comments. We would like to remind you that our normal check-in time is from 15h00 and the room check-out is by 10h00. We never commit to a check-in earlier than 14h00, during high demand periods. We will however always try our best to accommodate a guest requesting an early check-in, before 14h00 but it cannot be guaranteed if there is high turnover of guests. We also cannot hand over a room to a guest if it has not been cleaned thoroughly, checked by a supervisor and properly sanatized, according to Covid 19 protocols. On the matter of porters, we do have porters available from 14h00 tot 18h00. During the room cleaning-time, they are involved with other duties on the property. Kind regards, Management
Read more
Phil H wrote a review Sep 2021
Cape Town, South Africa34 contributions9 helpful votes
We spent two wonderful nights at this 4 Star resort hotel. The Luxury valley facing suites are extremely well appointed. The Lavazza Coffee machine was a winner. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. Our only small complaint after the first night concerned the pillow which were not comfortable. I request housekeeping to provide soft pillows. When we returned that afternoon, luxuriously comfortable pillows awaited us. Great courteous service. At every point, the staff were wonderful, cheerful, smiling and only too happy to please. The restaurant and bar were well apponted. The menu was extensive in the evening, the food delivered promptly and quality was superb. Breakfasts were really good and of course presented to observe COVID protocols. This resort hotel is excellent value for money and well worth a visit. We will certainly stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: for the best views, ask for a Valley view bedroom
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Dear Phil H Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor survey. We are thrilled to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. We vaue your feedback and kind comments and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Management
Read more
HunterBloemfontein wrote a review Sep 2021
Hermanus, South Africa634 contributions83 helpful votes
Wow. Every time we go, we are again impressed. The accommodation is excellent, the service super friendly (and in Afrikaans), the views spectacular. One can hardly ask for more; every little detail, from the underfloor heating to the coffee machine, has been thought of. Fast becoming my favourite hotel in South Africa.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My favourite is room 218, but there are alternatives.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Dear HunterBloemfontein Thank you for your heartwarming and kind comments. We value your feedback and we are thrilled to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Management
Read more
margueritekortje wrote a review Aug 2021
Western Cape, South Africa1 contribution
We as an extended family looked forward to our weekend away and was not disappointed. The environment outside the resort also offers a wide array of sight seeing, road trips to dorpies close by. We scheduled our Saturday to include the Historical Village, Citrusdal, Clanwilliam and Wupperthal. Took the West Coast route back home on Sunday to experience Graafwater, Elandsbaai, Lambertsbaai, Dwarskersbos, Laaiplek and Velddrift. Bonus: the excellent roads of the Western Cape.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Horn, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Responded 28 Jan 2022
Dear Margueritekortje Thank you for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor review. We value your feedback and kind comments We are excited to see that you have explored the wonderful west coast and our surrounding towns. Kind regards, Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCitrusdal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Nearby attractions include Citrusdal Museum (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hebron Restaurant, Salome's Grapevine, and Kardoesie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.