We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normann Safari Bush Lodge

Save
Share
Plot 41, Silonque, Phalaborwa 1390 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (16)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (2)

About

#9 of 40 Speciality lodging in Phalaborwa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located near Phalaborwa Domestic Airport and the Kruger National Park gate makes a stay with us ideal for activities and sightseeing in our area by own car or rental car. We serve a full breakfast between 07-09:00 for guests staying in our bush lodge, but we also offer accommodation on self-catering-basis in vacation house with heated jacuzzi. Both places have a nice pool, where you can unwind, and enjoy your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
Darts
Concierge
Gift shop
Secured parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Minibar
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Danish and 3 more
29Reviews2Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
CraigGodfrey wrote a review Jul 2018
Sedgefield, South Africa35 contributions10 helpful votes
Although we had phoned and reported that we where on our way - when we arrived the unit was not ready for us and a lot of confusion as to what we had booked - even though we produced a reservation confirmation letter and the Jacuzzi had also not been switched on. The unit needs a lot of maintenance - garden furniture broken and all round needs TLC. There was not enough hot water for the 5 people to shower and we reported this but nothing improved and we had cold to luke warm water when we arrived back from a day in Kruger the next day. There where no signs in the unit that we where not to use the washing basket and that if we did our washing would be done and we would be charged for this. When we departed the next day three staff members blocked our exit demanding we pay for the laundry. We had left money in the unit but they demanded a lot more. Most uncomfortable situation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from NormannSafari, Owner at Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Responded 10 Jul 2018
Indeed it seems as if there has been a lot of disappointment from your side. Unfortunately I, as the owner of Normann Safari, was overseas, and I did not have the chance to greet and welcome you in person, or even being around, when you were making us aware of the cold water and jacuzzi. Therefore it is quite difficult to explain the reasons for your espectations not being met. I can only apologize for these insidents. The geyser for hot tap water is set 10 o'clock (usually it's hot after 1 hour) and the jacuzzi is set for 34 degrees Celcius at least 6 hours before check-in at 14:00 starts, knowing you only arrived later, the jacuzzi definitely ought to be nice and warm for you to climb in after your check-in. When you told my staff of cold water taps and jacuzzi), they had a plumber called in to check that all was in order and working properly, he insisted on everything was fine. It is such a pity that you missed reading the Zebra House Book with all the necessary and important information regarding fire precautions, alarms, and our laundry service (which of course is not for free), we don't like to plaster signs everywhere on the walls, but perhaps we should re-consider that policy. But of course it is very unfortunate that you had your exit blocked, I'm sorry for that. Re. outdoor furniture; Thank you for bringing it to my attention, I am certainly aware of the sad state it's in, unfortunately I have a very hard time to find something that lasts in the tuff sun of Phalaborwa, and is all natural /wooden. But I'm on it currently, and hope soon to be able to bring improved outdoor furniture to Zebra House's terrasse. Thank you for taking your time to review us, we remain with kind bush regards Tine Normann & Team of Normann Safari
Read more
monica228 wrote a review May 2018
United States13 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked this place so we could easily get our friend to the Phalabora airport the following day, and I loved it! I felt so relaxed there, and it was the perfect place to recharge to get going again, as we were self-driving around South Africa. It is self- catering, which was just what we needed. The hottub got me so drowsy, I slept like a baby out there - it's so quiet and peaceful. I could've stayed there for a long weekend, without hesitation. It's also easy to get to and from town for supplies or food. I can't say enough about this place, and I look forward to staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from NormannSafari, Owner at Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Responded 26 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review, what a pleasure to learn, that you appreciated and enjoyed your stay with us in the bush so much, that we might be lucky to welcome you back some day. Our vision is to offer our guests to unwind, and have a good night's sleep, and we are happy to achieve, and fullfill your expectations, thank you. Kind bush regards Tine & Normann Safari Team
Read more
anneaQ9715RQ wrote a review Jan 2018
Copenhagen, Denmark1 contribution
We were a family of 14 - grandmother, three sons, two daughters in law and 8 youngsters aged 13 to 20. We all had a most satisfactory stay. All enjoyed both the stay at the pool, excellent food and all the excursions: River safari, safaris into Krugerpark and the trip to The Draken Mountains. We are very thankful for all the help to secure the journey back for four of us via Maputo, for one Via Cape Town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from NormannSafari, Owner at Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Responded 13 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review - it was definitely a huge pleasure to host you and to show you some of the beautiful sights and nature South Africa has to offer. Bush greetings from Normann Safari Team.
Read more
elinbergs wrote a review Dec 2017
Odense, Denmark1 contribution
It was a very good journey with a lot of exciting experiences, and there was allso time to relax at the swimmingpool. The food was really good, and the service was excellent. Our room was very good, but a little bit small. Kruger nationalpark was exciting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from NormannSafari, Owner at Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Responded 04 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to review our place. It was a great pleasure to be hosting you during your 1 weeks' safari stay, and we're glad you enjoyed it. Bush regards Tine & the Normann Safari Team
Read more
tove104 wrote a review Oct 2017
1 contribution
A lovely little place where the owner along with her pesonale did everything we needed to experience South Africa with eyes, ears and taste. The frames were disability friendly, safety at the top, and the prices of drinks etc. were low. It was a good holiday, where we all learned to know each other, and we could travel home with many good experiences in our luggage.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from NormannSafari, Owner at Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Responded 07 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review, it was an outstanding pleasure to host you, and we are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Kind regards from the bush, Tine Normann and the Team of Normann Safari.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvincePhalaborwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Normann Safari Bush Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park (6.1 km) and Foskor Mine Museum (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bushveld Terrace Hotel - Restaurant, Buffalo Grill & Bistro, and Gholovan Pub & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Normann Safari Bush Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, and Afrikaans.
Is Normann Safari Bush Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.