We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Whale Watchers Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whale Watchers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Whale Watchers Inn
 Click to rate
johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which is very private, with its own parking and a pleasant garden in which there was a profusion of birds. It also had its own braai area. The accommodation was decent and spacious and the hostess was helpful and friendly without being effusive, which we like. I can note though that the pedestal fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james l
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This inn was clean and cozy. The proprietors are friendly, helpful, and make a mean breakfast. Very close to the beach. The beds in my room were particularly soft and comfortable. Easy parking. We will stay again for sure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement, positive reviews seem to be very motivating. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. All the best for the rest of 2017 & many more years. Regards,

Pretoria
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It was a lovely stay - it would have been nice if there was either a fan on roof fans in the rooms since it was very hot - especially in the front portion where sun came in. There is also no place to dry wet beech towels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 591reinhardf
Whalewatchers339, Manager at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your suggestions. I am sorry you did not ask about where to hang your beach towels. We have a large area near the main braai area where guests can hang their beach towels and any washing they might do themselves. I wish...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the beautiful Whale watchers Inn and found the owners warm and very willing to meet our every need. I would definitely go back. The room was perfect. The breakfast was delicious. It is a very short distance from the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2016

very frindley owner and big appartment, clean and good sorted. info about possibilities to make a cajak ride and where is next store, restaurant. nice view on the sea and qired surrounding. good jam to buy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erwins690
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Erwin, we so enjoyed having you stay and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you all the best for 2017.

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Although there is no sea view the beach is just a few steps away. The accommodation is good and comfortable, the unit that we had has a private braai area which was a plus for us. If you plan for self catering please carry your own items as the shops in the area are do not have a variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pureafrican
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I would certainly endorse your suggestion that should future guests be self-catering, they should bring their own items or even stop over at the Spar in Heidelberg as the shops is Witsand have only the basics.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2016

So close to beach - short walk to beach where we were blessed to see whales. Clean, comfortable units tastefully furnished with good self-catering amenities. Clair is an excellent host. No views of beach from downstairs units though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parsh300
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we have lost a lot of the view we once had from the ground floor unit as a result of the growth of the bushes on the empty plot in front of the unit you had. We are waiting for the authorities to...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Thanks for a great stay in your lovely guesthouse. Thank you for being so accommodating with your ever changing plans. The rooms are lovely and I enjoyed being able to walk down to the beach and go fishing. The fresh breakfast scones remain a highlight of our stay there. I would highly recommend this place for anyone exploring witsands and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruggedchris
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sending in such an encouraging review to Tripadvisor. We so enjoyed having you stay with us and your attitude of appreciation of all we did for you just encourages us to give of our best where we can. Best wishes for the future. Regards,

Reviewed 18 October 2016

There is no sea view from the place...although the hosts were very nice...n even shifted us to a self catering unit...bt we felt misled due to the fact that 'sea facing' rooms only had a road facing room which looked out to the buildings in front...some linen were dirty n stained...but the lady of the house gave us very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuvam C
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

I am very disappointed and surprised to read this guest's negative review especially as this guest had written in our visitor's book "Lovely!" with both his and her names. This guest had not requested a self-catering unit and had booked a ground floor en-suite room which has a balcony from where there is sea-view. On seeing the room did not...

Kleinbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you for taking such good care of my team and me! Helpful, friendly and very accommodating...Claire and Johnny understand how our fieldwork is structured and are always so amazing with our plans that chop and change with the weather, literally! They have looked after us for countless years and their hospitality makes the Whale Watchers Inn feel like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith T
Whalewatchers339, Owner at Whale Watchers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Meredith. We so enjoy having you and your team stay with us year after year and realize that we are very privileged that you choose to come back to us each time. We wish you and your team all the best and trust that next year will be a surprisingly bumper year for the whale counts.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witsand
1.7 km away
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
26.8 km away
Malagas Hotel
Malagas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malagas
89 reviews
35.5 km away
Skeiding Guest Farm
Skeiding Guest Farm
#1 of 7 in Heidelberg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Aan de Kanal Guest House
Aan de Kanal Guest House
#3 of 4 in Heidelberg
6 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whale Watchers Inn - Witsand - is your perfect half-way stop between Cape Town & Knysna. Situated 100 metres from the beach of San Sebastian Bay (The Whale Nursery of S.A.) & Walking distance to the mouth of the Breede River. Offers 5 B&B rooms & 5 serviced self-catering units with fully equipped kitchenette area. . Wheelchair friendly, children welcome, Credit cards accepted, Free Wifi, Garden/Braai facilities. Activities : - Kite Surfing, Swimming, Fishing, Boating, Birding. Come and enjoy true old fashioned hospitality away from the pressures of our modern day living ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whale Watchers Inn

Address: 6 Protea Street | P.O. Box 118, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Price Range: R669 - R1 101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Watchers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Whale Watchers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whale Watchers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms upstairs may have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Pureafrican, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea views from balcony rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 943mariusl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was in the upper story Southern Right room with a view to the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles davidcY4284XQ, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is a choice of rooms with differing views and locations.”
 of 5 bubbles 209basils, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Select a first floor room with balcony for the best sea views. Avoid the self-catering family unit which is dated and needs refurbishing.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsO7881DN, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5