We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1165)
Room & Suite (303)
Pool & Beach (290)

About

#26 of 111 hotels in Chaweng
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Dara Samui Beach Resort, a Thai 4-star beachfront resort with the most authentic Thai architecture, strategically located along the most exciting beach on Samui - Chaweng Beach. It is a short walk to a variety of important "facilities" for every visitor - Thai spas/massage, money changers, banks, 24-hour convenience stores, beach bars, restaurants, street shopping, high end shopping and night life. We have 24-hour reception, 5 room categories, complimentary wifi access in all guestrooms - lobby - restaurant, breakfast restaurant (7am-10.30am),1 beachside restaurant (11am-10.30pm), room service (7am-10.30pm),1 freeform swimming pool (7am-7pm) with outdoor jacuzzi (10am-12pm and 2pm-5pm), poolbar (11am - 11pm), tour counter and airport transfer services. All rooms and suites have electronic key card access, rich wooden fixtures and fittings, individually controlled air-condition, private bathroom, in-room safe deposit box, satellite TV, DVD player, sofa or day bed, balcony and complimentary wifi. Due to the structure of the resort, we do NOT recommend guest with physical challenges as there are many stairs and steps - no guests elevators/lifts. Beginning 01 November 2017, the resort will be an All Adult resort with minimum age being 12 years old.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
1218Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 599
  • 371
  • 121
  • 65
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tammynbarry wrote a review 05 Aug
Wollongong, Australia35 contributions38 helpful votes
We stayed for a couple of nights in mid July. The rooms are good, nice little balcony. The breakfast was ok and the pool and location was really good for the price. The only issues were that the whole resort is looking a bit dated and could do with a bit of a makeover. And be careful if you are using the tour operator at the front of the building, we got stung
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It’s a fair walk to the main busier area but only a few baht in a song teow. Good place to rent...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Tammynbarry Thank you for staying at Dara Samui Beach Resort. Rest assured, after the pandemic, yes, there is much to do and we focus on the comfort and safety of our guests as priority. Best regards, Mark Suppiah
Read more
Frankie Travels wrote a review 01 Aug
Brussels, Belgium4 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice location. Great staff (special mention to Marky). First room was disaster (shower was not working: freezing water or burning water). Complained with desk. After 3 days, GM ( super nice ) transferred us to upgraded room. Drinks at swimming pool were overrated. Swimming pool chairs were in bad shape and towels very old. A two-star hotel, at the most
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear FrankieTravels8029 Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. Your comments have been noted. Thank you for your compliments. Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
Thomas Barber wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March and it was perfect for what we wanted and a great location, comfy beds, clean rooms and a large bathroom. The staff were always polite and nothing we asked was too much trouble for them, we asked to extend our stay by 1 night and they gave us the best price we could find. My only slight criticisms are there was a lot of mosquitoes around the balcony but I suppose that comes with the country you're visiting, the pool area isn't huge which could be a slight inconvenience if you aren't a lover of sand and don't want to lay on the beach and lastly the hotel looked in need of a bit of tlc as did most places we stayed during our trip, this in my opinion is purely down to hotels having literally no tourists for 2 years and there was work being done during our stay to bring the hotek back to life. I'm already planning my next visit to Thailand and should I return to koh samui the dara samui will be my 1st choice of hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Dear Barber91 Thank you for staying with us at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for haring your experience during your stay with us. My team and I are very grateful for your honest feedback and rest assured, we are embarking on improvements after the unprecedented pandemic that affected our industry and others globally. It will take sometime to get "back on our feet" due the the various challenges which are very challenging to overcome, we sincerely thank you and all our guests for their patience and understanding as we move forward. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you at Dara Samui again. Best wishes and stay safe always. Mark Suppiah
Read more
Ash H wrote a review Feb 2022
Melbourne, Australia1090 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
Ok for few days. But the hotel is lacking the spark. COVID really had a huge impact on them. Great location, everything within walking distance. It is also absolute beach front. Very friendly staff, good customer service. Decent size clean rooms. They don’t have a lift, you have to take the stairs. Overall happy with my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No lift
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 04 Mar 2022
Dear AshH124 Thank you for staying with us at Dara Samui. My team and I truly appreciates your support and your feedback is very important to us after a very long time due to the pandemic. Our owner will be making some improvements to get back some of the spark and we are confidant of better days (and years) ahead of us. As for the non-existence of a lift, this was already mentioned in the text of all the official websites - there are many websites these days which we are not aware of. Once again, we thank you for your support and your review and we look forward to welcoming you at Dara Samui when you are in Samui next. Best regards. Mark Suppiah, General Manager
Read more
Gordie R wrote a review Apr 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
A lot to like, especially earlier in our stay. Breakfast starting at 8 a bit problematic given many external activities are getting underway at that time. But packed breakfasts of sandwich, juice, yogurt and apple helped still start the day right. Happy hour cocktails an asset and breakfast, lunch and dinner were all good. Afternoon tea the best though. Restuarant bar area did take much longer on the saturday night, probably an hour between being seated and dishes making their way to the table. Wasnt clear that it has remained an adults only hotel as families with noisy kids appeared on more then one occasion. Aooreciate that Dara Samui will want all the business it can get at this time but if no longer an adults only hotel then do not claim to be so. Youngsters running around our dinner table and splashing us while sitting quietly in the pool wasnt appreciated. As a word of advice, seat couples away from larger groups for the dinners on the beach. And personaly i was frustrated the radio was kept on when the next door venue had live performers to enjoy. Late checkout not permitted but was made to assume there was a space where could freshen up and change before getting our flight. Had thought this might be another room so was a bit frustrated to find out it was the gents toilet near the pool. Again as with the adults only claim you may want to do a bit better on expectation management. As suggested a but of a last minute hurdle but othwise a good place to stay even if it appears tonstrugglena bit morenas it gets more busy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DaraSamui BeachResort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Gordie R Thank you very much for sharing your views during your recent stay with us. My team and I sincerely value your feedback. We had notified our business partners that we will not be operating as Adults Only resort during this pandemic. All advertising materials do not show we are Adults Only. This is because we are now relying on domestic tourism and Thais travel with their family. We will once again notify our business partners on this change which will continue to take effect until early 2022. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your meals with us and thank you for complimenting on our afternoon tea delights. My team and I have taken note on your feedback about the seating arrangements - to separate couples from families with children. As we have many diners without reservations, this will be a very challenging task but we will try our level best to find a solution to this matter. On the matter of late check-out, since our owners made a decision to resume operations with a very small crew in July 2020, we never had an issue with late check-out except recently when room reservations had soared. I would like to sincerely apologise to you for the departure experience you had with us. I have notified my Front Office team to always find alternative solutions to make the departure experience of all our guests as amazing as their arrival experience. Dear Gordie, I am aware you have already checked out but should you decide to holiday in Koh Samui again, and I hope you will consider staying with us again, please do notify me in advance. Should you decide to experience another resort, i would like to invite you to Dara Samui for afternoon tea. Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
Paul E wrote a review Oct 2020
Bangkok31 contributions42 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is in a good location, right on beach road. Walk out the back of the hotel and you are straight onto the beach. Room was pretty good, could see the beach from the balcony. Only 2 pillows on the bed (1 each) so had to request another 2. Wasn't impressed with the selection of TV channels. Only 3 local Thai channels, which didn't impress my Thai wife! Breakfast was not bad, a-la-carte service. Only 1 x farang option (American breakfast) but that was fine. Check in and check out process was smooth. Overall no real issues at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DaraSamui BeachResort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear D2217XKpaule Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with readers on TripAdvisor. My team and I are very happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us (with the exception of the tv channels). Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
Fah Thanan S. wrote a review Sep 2020
Bangkok, Thailand3 contributions
+1
We spent 2 nights in Dara Samui, The hotel is in a perfect location on Chaweng Beach, The beach is now very beautiful, clean and calm (after all the closing from covid). The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I sure will stay at Dara Samui again next time, and would recommend this hotel for any of your samui trip!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DaraSamui BeachResort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 07 Sep 2020
Dear fah_thanan Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear fah_thanan, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Tanet Lukrag (Bobby) Assistant Operation Manager
Read more
Stefan S wrote a review Mar 2020
Frickingen, Germany1 contribution
We have been here for 2 weeks during the beginning of the Corona pandemic. Even in this hard time, all the people here were very kind and helpful. A great respekt to the team. Thank you for being your guest.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DaraSamui BeachResort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Stefan_Sche Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying with us. My team and I sincerely appreciate this. Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
stevewolfcub wrote a review Mar 2020
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom130 contributions79 helpful votes
4 night stay, was upgraded to a one bedroom suite near the beach. Property is on a long narrow plot stretching from the beach to the main drag. There's a lot of stairs all over the hotel, so not suitable for the less able. Walking distance to central Chaweng, either along the beach or the road. Hotel about 20 years old but well maintained, rooms are comfortable and spacious, with balconies. Rates are good value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DaraSamui BeachResort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear stevewolfcub Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dara Samui Beach Resort. Your description is all accurate with the exception of "20 years old" - we are 14 years old :-) :-) Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
welove2travel123 wrote a review Mar 2020
southwest ontario68 contributions62 helpful votes
We stayed here for 8 days after visiting Bangkok for 5 days. Chaweng Beach is a great area to shop and eat, and this resort is right on the main strip. The staff here are the highlight. A special shout out to Art, who was always trying to make sure we were taken care of. The staff bend over backwards to help you and to make sure you have everything you need. The rooms need some updating, and the view to the empty lot beside is unfortunate. However, even if there wasn't an empty ugly lot, you would be looking at the side of a building. This is just because of the way the resort is set up, so i can't fault them for this. The pillows also need replacing and they only provided two upon arrival. They are either very hard or lumpy. We asked for two more and they weren't any better. The beds are firm, but i prefer that. The breakfast had lots of choice, but most of the hot items weren't very warm. They do have made to order omelets though. Happy hour drinks aren't too bad, we liked the mojitos. We also did the dinner on the beach, which i would highly recommend. The resort should replace the old steel loungers though. They are very uncomfortable. The newer plastic ones are better. The pool area is quite small, but staff do their best to fit everyone around it as best they can. This resort is a very traditional Thai resort, so don't expect modern, contemporary decor. Overall, this resort worked for us. With a few updates, they could definately get four or even 4.5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear welove2travel123 Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. I have taken note of your comments about the room, the pillows and the sun loungers. Rest assured we will look into making improvements. Dear welove2travel123, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$53 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dara samui beach resort & spa villa hotel chaweng, dara samui beach resort and spa villa, dara samui beach hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiBophutChaweng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dara Samui Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Classic International Suits (0.2 km), Samui Hong Kong Tailor (0.3 km), and Royal King International Suits (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baan Ya Jai, Dara Serene Restaurant, and Duomo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Dara Samui Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Dara Samui Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (12.8 km).
Does Dara Samui Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.