We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club

Save
Share
15 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (404)
Pool & Beach (91)
Room & Suite (76)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 111 in Chaweng
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Malibu Beach Resort is an intimate beachfront property offering a total of 32 accommodations, a full service restaurant and beach bar, swimming pool, and ideal central location in the heart of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui. The property is nestled amongst lush natural foliage and provides a rich environment for those seeking to escape hectic city life. The resort's decor is based on rich woods and natural tones, incorporating Thai and Balinese accents throughout the property. Malibu Beach is perfect for those looking to explore Samui's attractions and activities, or just lay out in the sun and take in the beauty of the Gulf of Thailand.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
252Reviews13Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 92
  • 31
  • 21
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kanishk patel wrote a review 21 Jun
Pune, India1 contribution
+1
Honestly my stay wasn't up to the mark at all considering what others have reviewed on trip advisor,they didn't have bell boys to take luggage, and the way to your room is a rocky surface make sure u don't have heavy luggage if ur planning to book here cause they expect us to carry all the luggage you have to your room, the whole resort felt understaffed as they only do cleaning ever 2 days which was weird , the restaurant is only good for Italian food and is a bad option for vegetarians. Now to the rooms, we booked the most premium room they had and i shall upload some images which might help you understand what it looks like. There won't be hot water if ur planning to have a hot comforting shower and also the shower is 6ft soo If your plus 6 ft you won't be able to have a peaceful shower also as u will have to bend to bathe with cold water. The rooms in general are dark and timid if you choose to have some privacy, as they have 2 huge clear glass door / window up front which accounts for 90% of the rooms light but people walking pass can easily see and look at your which was another weird thing to have if your planning to have a peaceful stay here, the wash basin is also placed outside in your room and not in the washroom for some reason💀 the keys they give you to your room are also the most weird way to entering a room in 2022 as it's a key which goes 4 ways in but only opens one way it's frustrating way to enter your room. The only reason to choose this hotel is to be near central Samui and a beach front, the pool is also ideal for kids only as one stroke and i was at the end of the pool 😂. I hope this helps certain travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Get a lot of mosquito repellent. Carry extra water as, the 2 bottles they provide won't last and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 2 days ago
Sawasdee Khub Value Guest , First of all , I would like to say Thank you for the choosing us for your stay at Koh Samui . I am very sad that we cannot complete our mission to create our guest happy during stay with us . I will take your comment to discuss with Management team for plan of Renovate in nearest future . Best Regards Management Team
Read more
Stephen G wrote a review Apr 2022
Ventnor, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was at Malibu in March 20 when Covid kicked off and was one of the last guests there. At the time no one knew how long covid would last or how big a problem it would become. My stay was pleasant rooms are good value as others say breakfast is a bit basic and coffee a no no bit the location and pool are nice. I booked and paid for my family for a 2 week holiday at Malibu paying everything upfront and was told it would be refundable when i booked at the reception if Covid was an issue. I mailed them as Thailand closed down and they offered a 365 day period to use the accommodation obviously this could not be used as Thailand was still closed for tourism. Now i have asked to stay a week and they have refused referencing their 365 day clause. No morals and given what people have been through locally it is quite disgusting. Nothing wrong with the hotel if you don’t pay anything upfront, to rip people off when they got a booking in Covid is unfathomable. Fortunately i am a former Samui resident and will take them to court with money going to local charity such as Sisters of Samui who helped feed people over the last couple of years. Please use your conscience before giving your hard earned money to people with no morals who make the decisions here. They offered me nothing just a chance to pay again and wished me a nice day! Lets hope there is some Karma
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Khun Stephen , Thank you very much for your feedback . To be honest , Resort allow all the booking during the bad Covid's situation to amend they stay period within 365 days . Let me clarify on your booking as below 23th September 2020 : We got email from you side to inform that you cannot stay with us as per Flight cancelled. 25th September 2020 : Resort was email to inform that Resort allow to keep reservation for 365 days ( Mean from 25 Sep 2020 - 25 September 2021) 25th September 2020 : You replay email back with agree the offer . 04th April 2022 : (After 365 days as per our agreement) : Resort got your email to inform the new period but Resort reply back that too late as Resort already cut of your booking and refer to the agreement 365 days. By the way , Resort also offer a special room rate . 11th April 2022 : Management team email to you for explain the situation and inform that we cut your booking on 31 December 2021 . If you contact resort before 31 December 2021 we are happy to extend your stay . On the mail we also offer 3 Free Night stay. By the way , we did not get any reply from you side . Hope above are more clear and make you understand the resort . We try our best to assist you . Regards Management Team
Read more
Hamid wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at The Malibu beach resort for a week in February 2022. The facilities are in need of some upgrades and the pool is also in need of cleaning. However, the staff are absolutely amazing and made our stay so pleasurable. The reception staff and Manager (Saa) were absolutely great as were the restaurant staff (especially Oh). They serve some great Thai food as well as delicious pizzas (which was a nice surprise). The breakfast is basic but good and again, the staff really amazing and attentive. All room service request were very quick and timely and the staff again very nice. We first visited Malibu beach resort 12 years ago and loved it. Coming back this time the island of Koh Samui was very different due to covid-19 restrictions on tourism. There is much less activity going on on the island and the beach is not well tended too in many places. However I expect this to change once travel restrictions are lifted. Overall, we had a great stay here due to the amazing people who went out of their way to make our trip nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for valuable feedback . We will take this to sharing with our team. Looking forward to welcome you again . Regards Management Team
Read more
Travel and experiences wrote a review Jan 2022
Bangkok, Thailand1088 contributions142 helpful votes
Well, I certainly think this should be more than a 3 star hotel, in terms of accomodation, location and restaurant that is on site. The rooms are great albeit the air con is a little noisy, but I loved the decor, the space and the overall room/cottage. Toiletries are available with towels, beds are comfortable and I always had hot water. I moved into two different rooms as part of the deal, and both were amazing. The swimming is great, small but ok as you are on the beach after all, and has a restaurant which has the best food, and some tasty cocktails - most staff are friendly and love to have a chat with you. The hotel is directly on Chaweng beach, and is also located directly in front of Koh Samui plaza shopping mall, so it was great for going to the shops, to restaurants and to have a great cup of coffee and breakfast. I did not use the TV, so cannot review and the WiFi was hit and miss, but I have a good hotspot on my phone which is free so it did not bother me. The hotel also has the best restaurant, great lunch and evening food, good service and excellent prices. I was made to feel welcome and the staff are really lovely both reception, cleaners and restaurant staff. Constructive feedback: 1: Breakfast is not healthy - it is your traditional thai breakfast or Traditional Thai English breakfast - hot dogs and crusty bacon. I could not eat this everyday, thus I went elsewhere. The breakfast menu does not match the exemplary food served throughout the day and night menu. 2: Coffee, my big issue. I love coffee so when I ordered it, it came in the smallest tea cups, can hardly call it a cup of coffee. When I asked the lovely waitress to top the cup up with hot water so at least I get a full cup, she simply poured into into a larger cup????? This annoyed me, so again I went elsewhere for a decent size of cup of coffee. 3: I asked for a taxi twice and twice the reception staff gave me an overpriced quote - go direct to the taxis outside, much cheaper. Overall, I would love to stay again, this is one of my favourite hotels and definitely recommend. Tip: Take mosquito repellent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent and I would recommend any of the second floor rooms for views of the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you for your valueable comment and suggestion . We will take this updte to all the staff and develop our service .
Read more
Azlan wrote a review Sep 2021
Bangkok, Thailand141 contributions43 helpful votes
Everything was great and only few step to the beach. I booked here for 4 days in terrace room. The room is simply, but comfortable with a small lovely living area. Perfect pizza at Marzano restaurant. Special thanks to Khun Ao and Chef Pu at restaurant who made my lunch and dinner more easy and convenient. Definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you for your lovely comment and hope to welcome you again in the next future .
Read more
Gauthier B wrote a review Aug 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
No need to say a lot : - cleaning every 2 days (not displays on the listing, either on agoda or booking) - poor service and rude staff, except a few people (big shout out to them) - very bad breakfast, which count for more than a third of the price (and you cannot choose to take it or not, it's mandatory). Instant coffee and plastic sausages are waiting for you. - they put A LOT of chlorine is the pool (thinking it will kill the covid). my eyes as well as my friends ones are still burning. Watch out ! - Pizza is ok ( pretty good quality and affordable). - Wifi is very low and not steady. Do not consider working from there without your hotspot. - Water pressure in the bathroom is super low. According to the lobby manager, they downgrade their services as well are they prices during covid time. Well, first time I am seeing this (about level of service). Wanna have a good tip ? Walk your way and find something either cheaper, or with a better service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you for Value comment . We will take this to devolop all the service and staff .
Read more
Marty S wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Continued my stay here many days and really enjoyed. Lovely place to stay. Staff were always very helpful especially Ying. She and other staff often help me with food service, local advice and to practice my Thai. Very friendly and helpful! Will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Manager, General Manager at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you for your fair comments. We are delighted you had a comfortable and pleasant holiday stay in our hotel. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future.
Read more
gosin44 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Surprise shock with yummy pizza!!!!. I can not even tell you, it how delicious as i expected to have lunch with other menus but a BIG pizza oven in the restaurant changed my mind to try which of course i was very happy from first till last bite, special thank to Khun Ying (waitress) the person who recommends and take care us during lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
OOOO wrote a review Apr 2021
Thailand1 contribution
เรามาพักที่โรงแรมนี้ตั้งแต่วันที่ 12 -​15 เมษา ห้องพักดี วิวสวย โรงแรมอยู่ติดหาดเฉวงเลย พนักงานที่นี่บริการดีเอาใจใส่ โดยเฉพาะเด็กๆที่ทำงานอยู่ที่ห้องอาหาร แต่เราก็ประทับใจ"น้องหญิง" ที่สุด ยิ้มแย้มแจ่มใส เอาใจใส่ คอยสอบถามความพอใจ ในวันที่เรามีทัวร์​ทั้งวันเราไม่มีเวลากินอาหารเช้าที่โรงแรม ทางโรงแรมก็จัดอาหารใส่กล่องให้เรานำไปกินด้วยน่ารักมาก . We've been at the hotel during Apr12-15 the hotel has a very beautiful scenery the room is good and also the service is ok. But we have to mention about the service of the only restaurant​ here was brilliant eapecially the girl name Ying. And also the day when we have a wholeday tourtrip we cannot have breakfast at the hotel they provide us breakfast-box too.Thank you for taking good care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Raul D wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
I totally recommend this place. Views and food are amazing (kanom jeen is awesome). The staff are very kind and friendly, especially Wint. Definitely, great place to relax and have some drinks/food. I will repeat :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
malibu beach hotel ban chalok lam
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Malibu Beach Resort
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiBophutChaweng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Which popular attractions are close to Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Nearby attractions include Paul's Fashion Tailors Samui (0.2 km), Rocky's Fashion (0.2 km), and On Street Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, Phat Burger Koh Samui, and Hard Rock Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Chaweng.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (12.2 km).