We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haughmond

Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (10)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Haughmond 'A Modern Coaching Inn', is Shropshires newest gastronomic treat, located in Upton Magna near Shrewsbury. Seven beautifully appointed en suite rooms in a peaceful, village location. 2 of our newest rooms are ground floor and specific to those with pet travelling partners! Three bedroom self catering barn also available. This village pub serves outstanding locally sourced, seasonal food, great wines and real ales so whether you are coming for a relaxed a la carte meal, Basils award winning 6 course dinner or simply an overnight stay we would love to see you soon!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
149Reviews
68Photos
2Q+A
29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 23
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just spent one night at The Haughmond - we had a slight issue when we checked in due to a booking site, but the owner was incredibly helpful and resolved the issue super quickly. It's in a pretty and quiet location, just a few minutes drive from the National Trust Attingham Park
Read more
Will review the restaurant separately but We stayed here for just one night, arriving late afternoon. We received a warm welcome and were showed to our room. Must say first impression wasn’t great as there was a nasty smell emanating from the cellar. This was not overlooked by
Read more
Where to start? We manage a few days away a couple of times a year and after poor experience of large city hotels we decided to look for smaller country affairs and did we strike lucky with this one, (glad I ignored previous review) we arrived Monday evening and as described on
Read more
Response from MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond
Responded 08 Feb 2019
... and we will be very pleaed to see you both... I love when guests arrive as strangers and leave as friends which you certainly did! It was great to meet you both and look forward to your next Shropshire outing! Kindest regards Mel
Read more
Stayed at the Haughmond for two nights with my partner as a treat for us both to get away and relax. On arrival, we had a warm and genuine welcome, all of our questions answered and felt at home immediately. Dinner in the restaurant was nothing short of fabulous (I would
Read more
Response from MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond
Responded 08 Feb 2019
Thank you so much Vicky O for your great review of your stay with us. So good to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again one day soon Very best regards Mel
Read more
Situated in a very nice area, the main Hotel looks reasonably clean and tidy, we stayed in one of the outside rooms suitable to accommodate dogs, although the room was well appointed and the bathroom was especially nice with a large walk-in shower, it was let down by poor
Read more
Response from MMJRMB, Owner at The Haughmond
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Dear Gentlemen and Toby the hound I am very disappointed to read your review considering the conversation which we had on Monday morning. My manager called you the week prior to your arrival (as is our policy) in order to confirm any dining requirements for Sunday ... he also confirmed that our kitchen has the day off on Mondays. This is not a new thing - we have been closed on Mondays now for almost two years which is advertised on our website. You booked a table for Sunday lunch at 4.45pm which is our last food order time. You did not arrive for the table (and did not call in advance to let us know by the way!) You arrived after 6pm, in the dark as it is winter .... therefore, I agree that yes, your room was dark (as are all of our rooms at 6pm in the winter due to sunset and sunrise hours in our country) until you turn on a light.... The bed in your room was new when we opened the new rooms in October 2017. I believe mattresses are a matter of taste, many people compliment our beds, however I'm sorry that you did not enjoy yours. The heating again is new night storage heaters which are on a timer - we ensure that rooms are warm and inviting on arrival by ensuring that lamps are turned on and heating is at a maximum in order that the guest can adjust to suit. I would be interested to know what 'extra touches' you feel would improve our offering in your room - please let me know on my direct email mel@thehaughmond.co.uk. You have mentioned that you did not like our cereal containers... I have actually taken that comment on board and ordered some glass jars today so thank you for that recommendation. As far as not liking our breakfast buffet - we take head from the AA from whom we have a 4 star breakfast award... As far as being charged for the second night - when we finished our conversation on Monday morning, I recommended things to do during the day and indeed offered to recommend eateries in the evening. You then came in and left your key on the bar. Your card details left were declined and we had to phone three times to request payment. You were charged 50% of the room rate for the second night. Why would you be disappointed at not receiving something which you knew in advance we could not supply? I suggest that you do not return to sample our restaurant - you will probably start demanding curry when we are a British restaurant - again something you want which we do not supply! You are in the trade you advised - shame on you for not doing your homework in advance - if you were recommended to dine with us - why not check that you can dine on the nights you book? Mel Board
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Haughmond
Red Room
Photo provided by managementThe Haughmond
Muntjac bathroom
Photo provided by managementThe Haughmond
Red Room
Plenty of room for the dog and her bed!
Attractive "deer" decor giving a lovely countryside ambiance
PreviousNext
1234567
Hello, I don’t know the area at all & am wondering how close to Shrewsbury town centre the hotel is? Thanks.
I would say it is about 15 - 20 minutes away by car. I’m afraid I don’t know what public transport links there might be. Hope this helps
1 vote
Show all answers
How do we get there
Hi, from Petersfield go A3, M25, M40, M42N to junction 7 (M6N), M6 junction 10A towards Telford M54. Take junction 7 Wellington exit to B5061. Turn right, then left after .1ml (still the B5061). After about 6 miles, turn right onto Pelham Road and continue until you have passed over the A5. Turn left towards the school. The Haughmond is at the end of the road. Google Maps is fine but it will take well over the three hours they suggest. (Of course, you could spend 3 hours on the M25!) We only got lost twice! Enjoy your stay.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Basil and Boris, for travellers with pets, are highly recommended."
"Avoid Silka if you are over 5 feet tall although room very comfortable."
"cant imagine there being a bad room"
"The rooms are named after types of deer. We stayed in the Muntjac room with lovely views towards the Wrekin"
"Roe great. Muntjac larger. Largest room excellent with easy chairs and lovely large bathroom including bath not just shower."
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShrewsburyUpton Magna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing