South Lake Resort - Koggala

South Lake Resort - Koggala

Matara Road Kathaluwa, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
Traveller (378)
Pool & Beach (57)
Dining (54)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 27 hotels in Ahangama
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
South Lake Resort located in Koggala is just 15 minutes drive (11km) from Unawatuna and 30 minutes (19km) from the famous city of Galle making it the perfect place to relax whilst enjoying the more popular tourist destinations. The property is situated on the main Galle – Matara Road and is adjacent to the Koggala Lake with access to its own private beach with a Bar and lounging facilities. The Resort offers 20 Chalet type luxury air-conditioned rooms around a large pond and 4 chalets overlooking the swimming pool with private balconies. The spacious restaurant with it’s open kitchen caters to all palettes with either buffet meals or ‘a la carte options. The Hotel also has a fully stocked Bar and snack menu. The Resort also has a Banquet Hall with a capacity of 200 -250pax, making it an ideal venue for weddings or corporate gatherings / conferences etc.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Darts
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala

Location

Matara Road Kathaluwa, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
209Reviews5Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 52
  • 9
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Julie H wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom38 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at South Lake Resort for 2 nights with our group of 18 cyclists towards the end of our cycle tour from Jaffna to Dondra Head. We had a very warm welcome from staff and a much needed welcome drink following our cycle along the coast. Most of the group were located in rooms overlooking the pond, my husband and I had a 1st floor room overlooking the large inviting swimming pool. Our room was spacious, clean and the shower was amongst the best we had during our tour of Sri Lanka. Wi-Fi was excellent throughout the complex. The food at both the buffet breakfasts and evening meals was plentiful and of very good quality. BBQ food was available to us on the second night. The staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel is just a short walk across the road to a stunning stretch of beach and handily located for an interesting train ride to the beautiful city of Galle. None of our group wanted to leave South Lake Resort which sums it up beautifully.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beenu W wrote a review Feb 2021
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff were very friendly and the food was also delicious. The rooms were clean and we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Koggala and they also arrange visits to Madu river for a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations VC Villas and Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 09 Feb 2021
Hi..Beenu, Thank you indeed for taking time to review us and great to know you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again in near future. Regards Rasika - Reservation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angelo L wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I m at the hotel right now to rejuvenate. Pretty nice place the staff are helpful and ensuring that the guests are well facilitated. The rooms are clean and tidy. The draw backs was the fan in the room is not functioning and not supervised before we had arrived. Nevertheless these are areas that the management can improve like basics of checking the room and if all the items are in functional condition prior to reserving the premises to guests.good luck
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Наталья И wrote a review Dec 2023
16 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel with beautiful grounds, picturesque places and excellent service. The service is in English, they will help you and tell you what to do and how to do it
In front of the hotel across the road is a great private beach, which belongs to the hotel, for surfers is highly recommended, gorgeous views, soft sand.
The hotel itself has a pleasant staff that solves most issues in a matter of minutes. Delicious food, variety of products. Room cleaning is daily and very high quality. On the territory of the hotel two pools, running cute chipmunks, convenient location of the rooms
From the minuses: near the hotel there is a railroad, which can cause some inconvenience, but the trains do not go too often, so over time you get used to it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rasika Tharinda, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Sir / madam, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we always focusing on. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asanka Amarasinghe wrote a review Feb 2022
Panadura, Sri Lanka2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Food was bland and lacked any real choice.
No real amenities in the rooms (didn't have tissue box, no toothbrush, no tooth paste).
Room was quite small and the AC right blowing right on to the bed - which made temperature control very tricky.
You'd have to walk a decent distance and cross the main road to get to the beach - other than the beach there's absolutely nothing of substance to the hotel. The hotel property it self is quite small, so there's not much you can do there.

It's a massive waste of money. I'd not go there even if they paid me to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Dear Asanka, Thank you very much for the time spent on reviewing us and the comments made. However, we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We do take your comment seriously and appropriate action will be taken to improve standards and activities as you mentioned in your comment. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future to South Lake Resort. Thank you & Stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chamith D wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
South Lake Resort is an very beautiful location, nestled conveniently near both the river and the sea. The rooms are not only clear and nice but also generously spacious, equipped with all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay. The culinary experience is truly delightful, with delectable food offerings beautifully presented. Additionally, the resort offers the perfect blend of leisure and adventure, allowing guests to enjoy boat rides and relax in a well-maintained pool area. I highly recommend South Lake Resort for families, friends, and couples alike. It's undeniably worth the money for the wonderful experience it provides.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rasika Tharinda, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Sir / madam, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we always focusing on. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asiri A wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The environment was very calm and quiet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. But the Wi-Fi speed inside chalet rooms were not adequate. The pools were well maintained.

Overall, the staff was really friendly. Service at the reception desk was very good and we really felt welcome on arrival. The food was top notch (except for watalappan) We really enjoyed both buffet and set menu.

The restaurant staff was nice but I guess some of them could improve a bit on their professionalism.(nothing major)

They have a private beach, one of the most glamorous beaches in Sri Lanka. The price was very reasonable compared to the service they provided. We also enjoyed the complementary boat ride and the gaming area. However, the dart board and the carrom board need better maintenance or an upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rasika Tharinda, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 18 Mar 2024
Dear Sir / madam, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we are always focusing on. However we will definitely taking your point outs for improvements of the respective sections. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frida Y wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely stay at the resort. Sajith went above and beyond in service provision in the dining area, many thank Sajith. The room was great and beds were comfortable. All requests were attended to immediately. Left the resort with beautiful memories.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just ask what you need please and for us it was just a wonderful experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 16 Sept 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we always focusing on. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven S wrote a review Mar 2024
Pattaya, Thailand778 contributions299 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So many reviewsby people needing the assistance of the manager & staff. For what? One person said they had the manager's phone number to call 24/7. Why? Reception provide you with an information sheet. This hotel must have to deal with so many needy, ignorant, clueless people. Can't blame the hotel for having a generic response to reviews.
All the staff at reception & restaurant were friendly, well trained & helpful.
My room was clean & spacious. Wardrobe & a long shelf with minibar spirits, kettle & free water. Everything worked fine. Lighting was good. The balcony had a table & 2 chairs.
The bed had clean linens, 4 pillows, 2 cushions & provided me with a comfortable sleep. There was a power point on one side.
Breakfast was a buffet with an egg station so you won't go hungry. I had dinner one night at the restaurant having ordered yellow fin tuna which was very nice. Staff were attentive & provided excellent service.
The pool is a decent size & well maintained.
Overall, I had an enjoyable & comfortable experience at what is a true 3 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rasika Tharinda, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 08 Apr 2024
Dear Sir / madam, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we are always focusing on. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Illika P wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went there with my friends. They welcomed us with soothing sented wet towels and fresh juice.location is Superb. It has two big pools both side of the hotel.That makes more privacy and comfortable. Room was so comfy and clean.I love the way that they arrange the room it feels more romantic. You get every facilities there .Specially pillows , very soft.lot of garden area and greenery. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. Food was yummy.
Here I wanna mention the cheif Executive chef Mr Alex. He made us very yummy food and helped us a lot to make our stay a more memorable one ❤️ For the breakfast the spread was both srilankan and western. Highly recommended this hotel not only for the foreigners but srilankan as well. The rates also very reasonable. One of the most romantic nights we had there.
Here again special regards to Mr Alex (Executive chef) for the every effort and kindness to made our stay a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It has two big pools either sides of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rasika Tharinda, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear Sir / madam, Thank you very for taking your valuable time to share your experience which will be a huge motivation factor for our team. Surely I will be sharing this ,message with our team , specially with Exe.Chef. We are happy that we made you satisfied which we always focusing on. Please visit again in near future.. Thank you & stay safe. Regards Rasika - Reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dinuka D asked a question Sept 2017
Colombo, Sri Lanka59 contributions15 helpful votes
How about food and varsities...
Answer from Vcvillasandresorts
Ahangama, Sri Lanka6 contributions
Western, Sri Lanka and Asian specialties are available through out the day. Buffet is served when there is a higher occupancy. Sri Lankan and Western Breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10:30, room service is available. Fully stocked bar is also available.
Answer from Saptha
Colombo, Sri Lanka295 contributions12 helpful votes
South lake do have both buffet and Ala carte for dinner, buffet might not be available if they have a very low occupancy , both local and western food is available on the menu, I guess the pricing is reasonable, for two people it may be around 30-50USD (aprox)
Seaplane asked a question Mar 2016
Aarhus, Denmark120 contributions50 helpful votes
Is there internet? Is it free? Thx
Answer from valentyna m
Kyiv, Ukraine3 contributions6 helpful votes
free WI-FI in all rooms
Margyd_13 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Rylstone, Australia394 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"In summer, the water can be warm in the pool"
Read full review
Raahel R wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"To find restaurants and shops, you need to drive a little further from the hotel. The biggest places are Mirissa, Matara and Galle."
Read full review
Illika P wrote a tip Feb 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It has two big pools either sides of the hotel"
Read full review
Sita L wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just try this ressort. You will not regret this. The manager called Sajith was very nice and did his best to comfort us. We enjoyed a lot."
Read full review
Mohamed N wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"its a fantastic place if you are looking for a place where you can get away from the crowd, but will be surely taken care of. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ahangama area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,486 - R 2,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTH LAKE RESORT - KOGGALA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ahangama, Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about South Lake Resort - Koggala
Which popular attractions are close to South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Nearby attractions include Stilt Fishermen Sri Lanka (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stick Fisherman View Restaurant Koggala, 83 Cafe, and Fishy Fishy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does South Lake Resort - Koggala have airport transportation?
Yes, South Lake Resort - Koggala offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does South Lake Resort - Koggala offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
All Ahangama HotelsAhangama Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AhangamaHotels near South Lake Resort - Koggala
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire