We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle

Save
Share
10 Place du General de Gaulle, 83170 La Celle France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$195
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (225)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (38)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Travellers' Choice
Between Cannes and Aix-en-Provence, the Hostellerie is the former priory of a 12th century Benedictine abbey. The terrace in the shade of chestnut trees, the grounds with the tall cypress trees and the kitchen garden watered by the stream flowing down the mountain create a serene atmosphere conducive to rest and relaxation. The 10 recently refurbished rooms offer sophisticated comfort. The chef, by Alain Ducasse follower, we reveals the emotive cuisine showcases the produce of Provence. Professional and private events on site (seminars, banqueting, wedding).
Read more

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
10 Place du General de Gaulle, 83170 La Celle France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Marseille Airport67 kmSee all flights
Hyeres Airport34 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
446Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 310
  • 72
  • 36
  • 11
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Karolina C wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution
The hotel experience was a disaster! For a start It’s rather a 4* than a 5* hotel. The luxury touches of 5* hotel are missing and so is the service. It’s an okay place to stay for a one night if you want to have a dinner at the restaurant but not for longer. We booked the hotel because it had an Alain DuCasse restaurant but after we already made a reservation it turned out that restaurant is shut on Tuesday and Wednesday. After we got informed about that in the booking confirmation email we asked to cancel the reservation but where not allowed to cancel free of charge…. Since the hotel restaurant was shut the reception offered to book a dinner in a nearby restaurant La Craie Des Mets, sadly the food at that restaurant was very average, overpriced and served cold, what’s worst it gave my partner a very serious FOOD POISONING. He had a sleepless night lying on a bathroom floor trying to survive the night. The next day was also lost as he still didn’t feel well and suffered with pain and diarrhea. Really not want you want on the first day of holidays in France… I did expect that the staff would go out of their way to try an offer a complimentary breakfast or help me to get a refund for this disgraceful meal we had after I told them what happened. But sadly this didn’t happen to the level of service you would expect from a 5* hotel. After an hour spend in front of reception desk the hotel staff had a few conversations with La Craie Dea Mets manager all I could hear is that “it’s not the restaurant fault that my partner got so sick” Which is a ridiculous statement… How could they even decency too say something like this?! He doesn’t have any food allergy and never had a reaction like that to a seafood so the food served must have been off or not prepared well! Very disappointed with how this case has been handled… definitely won’t recommend to stay here.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominique Potier, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Madam, Dear Mister HARRIS, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Hostellerie de l’Abbaye de la Celle. We focus our efforts every day on providing our guests with a unique experience, and it appears that we did not achieve this goal during your visit. We would like to inform you that the weekly closing days of our restaurant are clearly indicated on the reservation website "booking.com" (where you have done your reservation) in the house rules tab. This is also clearly noted on our website and we have also indicated the information on your booking confirmation. At the request of our customers, we send a list of restaurants in the region from which we have always received good feedback, when our restaurant is closed. This list was attached on our confirmation but as you booked through Booking.com, you did not receive it because they do not forward all the files attached. Moreover, here is your message received after sending our confirmation : “Understood - please send the list of restaurants then and we will take a look. It’s a shame the restaurant is shut as we were looking forward to eating there! “ We asked you to receive your email address and the list was sending to you. We never receive your cancellation request. If you had asked for the cancellation we could have done the necessary to postpone your coming. We have noted that you were disappointed by the restaurant La Craie Des Mets. We have always received good feedback, we sincerely regret to your experience did not match your expectations. We take special care to listen and address the details you raise, we hope your next stay will be perfect. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again in the future. With kindest regards, Dominique Potier General Manager
Read more
Isadora545 wrote a review 03 Sep
New York City, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
Pretty place that needs some attention. The AC is set to turn into a fan when set below 21c and proceeds to have lights that blink all night, turning your room into a disco. Our towel bar fell down and our shower leaked. The breakfast was also disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominique Potier, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Madam, Many thanks for taking time to send us your comments following your stay at the Hostellerie de l’Abbaye de la Celle. We sincerely regret to read your experience did not match your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team as we are consistently working on the quality of services we provide. We hope having the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again in the future. Dominique POTIER General Manager
Read more
Safari01203202253 wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a pleasant lunch last week. Good, if not outstanding food and friendly service in a nice setting. We were on our way from the airport to stay with friends so had lunch on the way. As it was circa 38 degrees, we asked to have a swim before we carried on with our journey, (after mentioning that we were past clients, having stayed twice in the last 5 years in the hotel) but the answer was a very firm NON. It was mid week and hardly a soul about and we were an elderly couple. Sadly we will not be returning as after having spent over 200 euros, we think this is unreasonable. Totally understand if it was a busy period or that we looked as if we could be disruptive etc, but this was not the case. Surely some discretion and common sense could have been applied? Very disappointing indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from GMDucasse, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Responded 12 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments following your lunch at the Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de La Celle - Ducasse Hospitality. We sincerely regret to read that your experience at the restaurant did not match your expectations because of the swimming pool. This is a part of our hotel facility only as it's adapted to our hotel capacity for ten rooms. Thank you for your nice compliments on the food, the place and the staff. Be assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team. Yours Sincerely, Dominique Potier, general manager
Read more
Pinot1000 wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom226 contributions116 helpful votes
Had a wonderful lunch here last weekend. Have been coming here since it opened and it has always been marvellous. The lunch menu was astounding value at 80 euros and utterly delicious. The local rose at 39 euros was a real find
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from GMDucasse, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Responded 12 Jul 2019
Dear guest, We thank you so much for taking the time to publish your review further to your visit at The Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de La Celle - Ducasse Hospitalité. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch last weekend, it was a great pleasure to welcome you again. Be assured that your comments have been shared with all the team. Sincerely, Dominique Potier, general manager
Read more
TravelGuruCorrens wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom70 contributions32 helpful votes
I have visited L'Abbaye on numerous occasions and on my most recent visit, the service had deteriorated to a point where it more than overshadowed the good but expensive food. The staff were duplicitous and misleading, not explaining the specials, forgetting the petit fours despite four requests. The senior wait staff lady on duty was incompetent beyond description, rude, and indolent. The property manager reluctantly offered a digestif as a gesture, and promised to look after us "next time" - sadly there will not be a next time. Hardly an appropriate response from what used to be one of the premier destinations in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurVarLa Celle
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Which popular attractions are close to Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Nearby attractions include Secret Door (1.6 km), Abbaye de La Celle (0.06 km), and Musee des Comtes de Provence (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Cochino, La Craie des Mets, and Restaurant la Fontaine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of La Celle.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.