Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack

Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack

Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (12)
Communal kitchen
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 4 hostels in Bloubergstrand
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
ABOUT US. Located in the heart of one of the worlds best Kite Surfing Spots! Enjoy the relaxed Vibe! & Chillax with us! WANT TO STAY AT ONE OF THE COOLEST PLACES IN BLOUBERG, CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA Join The Surf Shack family and stay at one of the coolest places in Blouberg, Cape Town, South Africa. For kitesurfing enthusiasts, extreme sports lovers, surfing fanatics, S.U.P, windsurfing, backpackers and travellers from all around the world. If you enjoy the relaxed way of the beach culture in a chilled out friendly environment, The Surf Shack luxury boutique backpackers / hostel is the place for you. We offer excellent service and facilities with an extra touch of comfort to make your stay with us as comfy and memorable as possible. Our place features accommodation from Deluxe rooms, Standard rooms and shared rooms depending on your individual needs. We have a fully equipped communal kitchen open for guests to use including lounge area, outside patio, BBQ, swimming pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Hiking
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Shuttle bus service
Gift shop
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch

Location

1 Stirling Road, Bloubergstrand 7441 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Cape Town Intl Airport
20.6 km
See all flights
115Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Christine R wrote a review Mar 2014
Vienna, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Surf Shack is a very nice guesthouse close to the beach (5 minutes walk) in Blouberg. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. I had a really large room and a large bathroom, all superclean. Great value for small money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Larssa L wrote a review Feb 2014
Helsingborg, Sweden
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and three friends spend our vaccacion at Surf Shack in february and we absolutley loved the place. Really nice rooms. It's very clean and nice! Friendly and helpful owner. I can really recommend Surf Shack!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vdLinde wrote a review Jun 2014
Tulum, Mexico
4.0 of 5 bubbles
LOVE this place, clean, friendly, easy enjoyable!
This year I am going back, not only to surf, but also just to sleep in this place again.
I liked the fact that at the time many people of my age where there, which made it very easy to make new friends.

:)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ndivhalenigoodnesss wrote a review Mar 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are an African person; rather not set your foot in that guest house. I felt horrible, I couldn't wait to leave. the treatment from the receptionist and other guests was absolutely horrible.
The place is dirty; but good location
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Surf Shack ... B, Owner at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Ndivhalenni We are sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hostel and that you felt like you were treated differently that was not our intention. However on the day of check in there is a form that you filled out and signed stating our rules of the house and you did not adhere to the rules and we discussed it with you to make it clear that it was not acceptable to bring other people into the house without prior notice as the room was booked for single use and no arrangements were made and there were no extra charges added to the account. The receptionist just made it clear that a house rule was overstepped and she did this in a non prejudice way and did not intend to make this a racial confrontation. We treat all our guests with respect and we also require the same respect from our guests when they stay with us and comply to our rules no matter the race, we treat everyone equally. We do hope that we made the issue clear and that you would be more considerate towards any Hotel or guest accommodation rules as these rules are in place for the safety and security for all of our guests. Madi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine O wrote a review May 2014
Pretoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing time, felt like home, with the extra touch of class, thank you to you both it was a special....looking forward to seeing you and the animal family soon again!!!!Clean rooms, awesome service-location perfect ..close to the beach. Loved the welcome feeling.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madelaine M, Manager at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack
Responded 03 Jun 2014
Thanks for staying at The Surf Shack, we enjoyed having you their and are pleased that you had such a wonderful stay..hope to see you soon again. Mads & Tjaart
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katharina E wrote a review Apr 2014
Mannheim, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best place to stay in Cape Town! Very friendly hosts, very clean room, very good facilities. Everything you need is there!
Only thing to name is: There is no bathroom door and you can bath only, there is no shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tania P wrote a review Apr 2014
Ceres, Western Cape
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay at The Surf Shack, even though we just slept there and didn't have time to have a chat with everyone. They made as feel at home, everyone was very friendly. We stayed in the Crash Pad which was a very private room with its own little stoep. The vibe was amazing. We would definitely stay there again and will tell people about our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabian Z wrote a review Mar 2014
Cologne, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The site was very nice and the people have been so kind that we felt home from the first second on. View on Table Mountain and the Blouberg Beach, right next to Big Bay. A Must see. Warmly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joel M wrote a review Mar 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice clean upscale house set up like a hotel style room with comfortable furnishings. The inn keepers were very helpful even washing our clothes for $5 US dollars.. Very easy to get to from the main road. The kitchen is shared and some rooms do not have a bathroom and are cheaper because you share a bathroom. We shared a bathroom and found the shared bathroom to be available whenever we needed it. It's a very large bathroom. Large pool and parking available at the facility. Internet is free and worked well.. Very safe area of town with homes surrounding worth a lot in value.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick V wrote a review Feb 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 4 days in the comfort of home, excellent location, friendly and hospitable and nothing is to much, to the owners well done guys you have a winner. Keep up the excellent service, will make use of your hospitality again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Follow_Me wrote a tip Sept 2018
George, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would recommend the tower for its panoramic views of Cape Town Atlantic seaboard and Table Mountain as well as privacy."
Read full review
Julian wrote a tip Feb 2017
Hamburg, Germany2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Crash pad and super dan"
Read full review
Rene C wrote a tip Aug 2016
Dana Bay, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Replace the carpets"
Read full review
Andrew H wrote a tip Jul 2016
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can get one of the front rooms - the morning view of Table Mountain over the bay. Lots of great restaurants and pubs in the area. Sunset beach walks."
Read full review
Promising S wrote a tip May 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa65 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The private room is a real treat with a gorgeous view of the beach and Table Mountain at a reasonable rate."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bloubergstrand area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,006 - R 1,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownBloubergstrand
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SURF KITE SLEEP -THE SURF SHACK - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Bloubergstrand, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack
Which popular attractions are close to Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Nearby attractions include Board House Beach Bar (0.9 km), Boogie Bar (0.9 km), and The Shul Of Blouberg - West Coast (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Conveniently located restaurants include Homespun, The Indian Chapter Restaurant, and Catch 22 Beachside Grille & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack have airport transportation?
Yes, Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bloubergstrand.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (13.5 km), Robben Island Museum (9.6 km), and City Hall (14.4 km).
All Bloubergstrand HotelsBloubergstrand Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BloubergstrandHotels near Surf Kite Sleep -The Surf Shack
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire