The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast

The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast

18 Trichardt Street, Sabie 1260 South Africa
Traveller (37)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 7 B&Bs in Sabie
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly bed and breakfast in Sabie does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Woodsman, a nice option for travellers like you.

The bed and breakfast features shops and a gift shop, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Woodsman offers guests free internet access. Plus, The Woodsman offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Café La Boulangerie, which is a French restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a park, such as Horse Shoe Trout & About.

The Woodsman puts the best of Sabie at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Shops
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

18 Trichardt Street, Sabie 1260 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport
45.6 km
See all flights
Ulusaba Airport
67.8 km
See all flights
181Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 74
  • 31
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elisabeth G wrote a review Feb 2020
Mossel Bay, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For what you get you pay a very reasonable price! The rooms are very nice, breakfast is great and for dinner or lunch you will find something for everybody on the menue and the quality of food is excellent. The staff is very helpful, the service very good. We and our friends who joint us on the 4 visits can only recommend The Woodsman!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dsmith634406 wrote a review Jan 2020
Kempton Park, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As a regular visitor , I have to say that I am disappointed in the quality of the breakfast presented . Food arrived cold , and when we informed the waitress she was rude and not keen to help , shrugged her shoulders .
We also had a late dinner on Saturday evening, had the soup of the day , tasteless and seemed it was thickened with mazena , the malva desert was stale .
the room was ok , pity no extractor fan in the toilet , beds were nice , we arrived in the rain was wet , tried to dry we riding jackets with the fan heater , this did not work , we did get a normal fan however , did the job.
As for the food at the restaurant not only me but friends also vow not to return as it is a huge disappointment
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WoodsmanBnB, Owner at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Good Day Sir I as the owner remember your complaint of the extractor fan and assured you that it would be replaced. We replaced 5 damaged extractor fans. With load shedding, storms, power surges these things regrettably happen All breakfasts are freshly made and served on a heated plate. Our rooms have overhead fans, ceiling fans and some have air conditioning. You are right, not quite suitable for drying riding gear , however we have a full laundry Our manager is available from opening until 11:30PM - 12:00AM, If you had voiced your needs to have your clothing dried, we would most certainly have obliged We are here to help I am disappointed that you were dissatisfied with the Restaurants food offerings and service, I have inquired with my Managers and Staff and they have assured me that they en-devoured to please you, to no avail Most of our guests are return customers and they assure me that the reason for their return is the quality of our breakfast and pleasant and affordable stays in our Rooms Why not try our Brand new Self-Catering Suites , where you can show us how a decent breakfast is to be prepared. We thank you for your feedback, and we will certainly consider how we can improve Love Christoper Owner - The Woodsman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sales531 wrote a review Jun 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very happy with all the service we received. Rooms were nice, clean and comfy. Food excellent (we opted to braai every evening). The host Cristopher joined us in the evenings to make sure that we are sorted. And the fire in the boma in the evenings was superb.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tmathe408154 wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The bedrooms were spacious, clean & secure. There are ferns in the rooms for those hot nights. A playground for the kids. Enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. The next morning breakfast was chaotic, waited too long for our food, when it eventually came the orders were all mixed up. The owner went to all other tables with customers of his own kind, never came to ours. All in all the sleep out was great despite the owner & breakfast issue. At least the owner apologised for the service when we left.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archie9898 wrote a review Feb 2020
Kruger National Park, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We got such a warm welcome from the manager and he was very attentive throughout our meal. We had a lovely waitress and our food was delicious. We live in one of the surrounding areas and have never been there but we have now found “a gem”. We’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
omosup688561 wrote a review Jan 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Woodsman is a great place to be, they're place is neat with good friendly service from the stuff. We enjoyed the breakfast but they need to change their menu, we were there for 4 nights and was served with the same menu. Please give your clients a selection of choice to choose from not same thing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
784dominic wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay was amazing. Everything we needed and the rooms were very clean and tidy. The restaurant and bar had everything we asked for. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a group of 14 people and everyone felt accommodated. It was a pleasure staying with The Woodsman and we will see you again!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Johnjohn032023 wrote a review Mar 2023
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A short stopover while on business. Very neat, very spacious, very comfortable and very enjoyable. Dinner and breakfast facilities on the premises made it trouble-free. Included breakfast a bit skimpy.
Management should seriously figure out to run a generator for electricity for some hours during load
shedding. Will stay over again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
szwieb298502 wrote a review May 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been coming to the Woodsman for over 25 years and every time we visit there has always been continued maintenance and upgrades. It is a hands-on family run B&B which makes the difference and it shows! The Food is excellent. Breakfast is great. Wonderful friendly service. They always go the extra mile.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rstryd556325 wrote a review Oct 2020
Gauteng, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I know lockdown is the key factor financially all suffering.
Staff cleaning rooms at 3pm afternoon, NO that is returning time from experience and exploring the beautiful views.
We had a bad smell in our room and shower leaking water all over floors and plug-ins didn't work for hairdryer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Woodsman Sabie, General Manager at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Hello Ria, Thank you for your feed back. I do understand that you had a room that was leaking water,which I know was the result to electricity tripping. We are however doing the necessary maintenance on this room after the leak. I m not too sure about the smell,it may have been caused by the blockage, which in turn caused the flooding. We value all criticism as well as praise all the same. Kind regards Jolene
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
terence b wrote a tip Nov 2016
15 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wi if iffy in the room ok in bar"
Read full review
777JohanH wrote a tip Aug 2015
Polokwane16 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a room off street."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sabie area.
PRICE RANGE
R 897 - R 897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaSabie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WOODSMAN BED AND BREAKFAST - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Sabie, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Mac Mac Falls (0.5 km), Forest Industry Museum (0.4 km), and Melting Point 1510 (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wild Fig Tree, Sabie Brewing Company, and The African Elephant Restaurant.
Is The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Sabie.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Sabie HotelsSabie Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SabieHotels near The Woodsman Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire