Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Porcupine Ridge Guest House

5 Vanaxe Estate Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260 South Africa
Traveller (80)
View from bottom of garden
Room & Suite (19)
Breakfast Table
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 7 B&Bs in Sabie
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
A quiet & peaceful four star country house, tucked away in the mountains at the heart of the scenic Panorama Route, yet only 5 minutes from Sabie village and 40 minutes from the Kruger National Park, via Phabeni Gate. The friendly ambiance invites you to relax and unwind, surrounded by rambling gardens and glorious mountain scenery. Porcupine Ridge has five luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms, a cosy guest lounge, free WiFi and plenty of free safe parking. A delicious English breakfast is served in the dining room or on the large covered view verandas. Hiking, birding and waterfall on the Estate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
113Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 26
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shivan S wrote a review Feb 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night during our trip to South-Africa. The guesthouse is located near Sabie Village on a hill, this makes it a beautiful and peaceful location with a great view from the garden. The owners, John, Janet and their dog, are very welcoming and they made our stay easy and pleasant. The breakfast is also very good!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel B wrote a review Mar 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Janet and John are not only fabulous hosts, but they have a wealth of local knowledge about the area’s attractions that is worth its weight in gold. An amazing breakfast sets you up for a day of exploring this lushly gorgeous part of South Africa. Our advice is to not be fooled by any tour operators into spending only one night on the Panorama Route - it is worth exploring over a few days and Porcupine Ridge is the perfect place from which to base yourself. Could not recommend more highly!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t just spend one night - explore this area over several days and savour the experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christo147 wrote a review Oct 2018
Centurion, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners are just the right amount of talkative, makes you feel at home but not overly intrusive. Did a pleasant walk up the mountain with the owner, what a lovely view from the top. Go visit the waterfall, we did not have time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 18 Oct 2018
Thank you for your kind review. You will have to visit again to walk to the waterfall! Best regards, Janet
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thusani M wrote a review Dec 2012
Johannesburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked at Porcupine for the 28th and 29th November after seeing some good reviews on this website. The place was easy to find and we were received by John. John was warm and welcoming. It would have been great to know about the 500 to 1000m of gravel road to the guest house. When Janet came back, my wife asked why there was no TV in the rooom. She said they did not believe in TV and neither did their guests (Of course we were expecting a TV). She turn back and left as my wife was still talking, when my wife confronted her she expressed how tired she was because she was doing grocery in Nelspruit (We were also tired because we had driven from Joburg). Then she went on telling my wife how they host overseas people. I wondered if overseas people do not watch TV. We still wanted to ask for a room with a bath as we had a shower only but she had already created a hostile environment. Upon confronting her on how rude she was and that we were leaving, there was no apology, only a "goodbye" like the lady in 'who wants to be a millionnaire'. We obviosly had paid a 50% deposit of R960. We left, forfeited our deposit money and had to make a bookiong that night somewhere else. There is no way we were going to stay a night with such reception. Never have we received such reception in our holidays. The guest house is supposed to be 4 star...

Thusani and Tshepiso Matambele
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dee M wrote a review Dec 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at Porcupine this evening, my husband and I booked one of their "superior" rooms a month ago. After a 4 hr drive from Johannesburg we finally arrived at the lodge. At first an old gentleman and two Labrador dogs approched us, the man asked if we had a booking. Then a lady came towards our car wibdow and said that they were closed ..then she said she never received the hotels.com booking and that they were not expecting us. Fast fwd 2 hrs after finding option B.. Im currently lying in a very comfy bed at Southern Sun in Nelspruit. Thank God for big hotel chains, I was busy trying to support a local small business only to be forced to make a U turn at their door whislt holding a valid booking (attached). I dont recommend Porcupine Ridge Guest House, if anything, stay away from their unwelcoming and unprofessional way of doing business. Viva Southern Sun, theres always room for last minute guests, and nothing beats that smile at reception! Im not being paid for saying this, my apparently useless booking speaks for itself.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 06 Feb 2016
We were very sorry to hear you were disappointed. Unfortunately we received a cancellation for your reservation three weeks prior to your arrival. We were disappointed that you did not accept our offer of a room so you could also experience our beautiful guest house and the hospitality so many of our guests enjoy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ton1705 wrote a review Nov 2014
Helmond, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Once more I stayed in this guesthouse gem in Sabie. Janet and John are still going strong. If anything, their genuine hospitality has intensified over the years I could stay at their beautiful mountainside villa-cum-garden park. (I guess, this would fall within the definition of a full blown estate.) Breakfast on their patio is the best one can have. Friendly and cosy attended by their two labradors, you'd wish all remaining 364 days of the year would be similar.
Therefore: highest recommendation possible for this superb guesthouse. Thank you so much, Janet and John, for accommodating us!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 24 Nov 2014
Thank you Ton for your thoughtful review, we really appreciate it. It was great to see you again and we look forward to the next time! PS George and Alice asked me to point out that they are Golden Retrievers :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew L wrote a review Nov 2011
London
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The guest house is in an excellent position in a very beautiful part of the world, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. But we were a little disappointed by the quality of fixtures and fittings – broken window catches, an extractor fan in the bathroom that did not work (despite askiing for it to be fixed), a shower door that somehow managed to pour water on the bathroom floor, a bath mat that was left soaking wet in the bathroom. In other words, signs of gentle neglect. Our next port of call was infinitely superior, in tip top condition, and cost about 20% less than Porcupine Ridge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marianne144 wrote a review Apr 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful B and B! It really feels homely and comfortable and the two hosts ( Janet and John) are such warm and interesting people to chat to. The rooms are cozy and kitted out with everything one needs. The view from the outside patio is awesome! There are many beautiful and interesting places to visit nearby, or one can just chill- like I did!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Thanks Marianne! It was such a pleasure getting to know you. We really enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon. It's great to hear you felt "at home" and able to truly relax. Good luck with the diamond dot painting!! Warmest regards, Janet & John
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KenLang wrote a review Feb 2017
UK
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights and wished it could have been a lot longer. The rooms were beautifully appointed, very spacious and clean.
Janet and John are great hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the area, which they helpfully passed on.
The breakfasts were substantial and they provided a good variety of food.

The are some lovely little touches too---a greeting glass of wine, sherry and chocolates in the room. Tea making in the room, a same day laundry service.

There's no TV in the room but who would want one? Go and enjoy the views, the birding ( exceptionally good here), the peace and quiet and the conversation. These are far more important.

We hope to return , for a longer stay next time
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 25 Feb 2017
Thank you Ken! It is very kind and thoughtful to write such a complimentary review. You were all such lovely people so it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay with us and we also hope it will be longer next time. Best regards to Mel, Richard & Lynn and thanks again to you for taking the time to write a review. Warmest wishes, Janet & John.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gloria797 wrote a review Feb 2015
Milan, Italy
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful and welcoming atmosphere. Janet and John offer the best you can expect from bothEnglish and South African hospitality and are very helpful. Perfect base to visit the canyon under their capable advice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janet W, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Responded 21 Feb 2015
Thank you Gloria and Alessandro. It is always a pleasure for us to meet such truly delightful people. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back to Porcupine Ridge one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mel B wrote a tip Mar 2023
19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t just spend one night - explore this area over several days and savour the experience! "
Read full review
whatJDC69 wrote a tip Apr 2019
Preston, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only 4/5 rooms, so book early."
Read full review
Paulagoofy wrote a tip May 2018
Sandton, South Africa254 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 3 looks over the garden. There is also a bedroom upstairs."
Read full review
Robert R wrote a tip Mar 2016
Chorley, United Kingdom25 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All are very good and comfortable."
Read full review
Paul F wrote a tip Dec 2012
Liverpool36 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the 2 superior rooms had garden view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sabie area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,745 - R 1,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaSabie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORCUPINE RIDGE GUEST HOUSE | B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Sabie, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Mac Mac Falls (2.7 km), Forest Falls Nature Walk (3.4 km), and Sabie Waterfalls (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porcupine Ridge Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wild Fig Tree, Sabie Brewing Company, and The African Elephant Restaurant.
All Sabie HotelsSabie Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SabieHotels near Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire