Toko Lodge & Safaris

Toko Lodge & Safaris

Game Drive am Abend
Traveller (146)
Zimmer
Room & Suite (44)
Pool & Beach (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Kamanjab
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This green "Oasis" is situated at the gateway to Western Etosha, Damaraland & Kaokoveld, and offers 14 comfortable en-suite double rooms with stunning views overlooking some 3000 hectares of Savanna. Guided day trips are offered to Western Etosha and tours to the Epupa Waterfalls, or just relax at the pool in a lush garden, enjoy walks and birding along the Dolomite Ridge. Sundowners around an open fire followed by a scrumptious meal, where after you can go on a night drive in search of the elusive 'shy' five. Camping site available (full ablution facilities) Dinners can be booked. Katenda Himba Village - interesting 1 hour activity to experience the beautiful Himba Tribe
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

D2695, Kamanjab Namibia
160Reviews7Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 54
  • 29
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
51MES wrote a review Mar 2020
Bordeaux, France
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst being an older lodge there is a quaint charm.
The rooms are well sized but without air conditioning.

The water is heated per room by fire.

There is a great outlook from the terraces and pool.

The food Is good but not outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Times Self Catering Apartments wrote a review Jul 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Most wonderful time we had in a long time! The accommodation is spacious and comfortable! The view amazing and the food scrumptious! We were received and treated very well! The himba village is very interesting and the night drives exciting! Definately worth going to!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kruger2Kalahari wrote a review May 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 wonderful nights at Toko Lodge. The food, service, view from the lodge and ambiance were all superb but the highlight for us, being wildlife photographers, was getting to see and photograph our first ever aardwolf! And we ended up seeing five different aardwolfs on 2 night drives.

The Galton Gate is now open to all visitors, not just people staying in Etosha, so Toko Lodge is ideally situated to provide easy access to Galton Gate and provide exciting night drives where you could see any of the rare creatures, such as aardwolf, aardvark, pangolin or porcupine.

Thanks to Nico and Karola for being wonderful hosts who went the extra mile for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Groundroller wrote a review May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely superb lodge - our favourite of of our two week trip to Namibia.

The night drive was one of the best I've ever done with an Aardvark and 15 Aardwolfs the highlight. If you love wildlife you should go to this lodge!

Great food, great host and a great place generally.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hugh C wrote a review Mar 2016
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice restful lodge situated high up on the side of a hill. Wonderful cool breezes blew through the lodge with the windows open and screens in place at night. Good food and service Wi Fi available in most areas for $ NAB 10 / £0.50 / day. Convenient for visiting the Hamba Village in the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: rooms on the hill above the pool have better views and cool breezes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin M wrote a review Apr 2017
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for three nights after having spent several nights in Etosha. While the park accommodations in Etosha were not very good they at least are close to the animals.

Now I normally do not write unfavorable reviews because any place can have a bad day and my one time stay might not accurately reflect what normally occurs at the Lodge. However, the issues I had, I believe are a basic problem of poor management caused by an absentee owner. We were told that the owner does not spend much time at the Lodge and instead relies on local staff to run the operation.

Of major concern is the lack of any cooling ability in the room. The room did not have any air conditioning. That is fine; however, the room did not even have a fan. The room got extremely hot and remained hot during the night making sleeping nearly impossible. The generator running at night also was very noisy. I do not know how one can make it quieter but the noise was an issue.

The other issue was their advertised night drives. That is why we chose to stay there. One night it was cancelled without prior notice and we later found out that there was a local party and that it appears that the staff chose to go to the party instead of doing the night drive.

So be it, more importantly, the people who did the night drive were not experienced or professional in conducting the drive. When animals were spotted, instead of stopping to allow views of the animals they just continued to drive up, scaring the animals and preventing good photographs. Anyone can drive around in the dark with a spotlight but it takes at least some training to gauge how close to an animal a truck can get before the animal is going to scurry away. Now I generally do not have a problem with just driving around at night with a spotlight, but when I am paying money for a night safari, I expect those who are running the night safari to have some training.

The food we had was fine, the location was nice overlooking the valley, the pool was fine and the staff friendly but not apparently trained in hospitality which leads me back to the absentee owner.

Based upon its short comings I cannot recommend Toko Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rob s wrote a review Sept 2016
Wallasey, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Lodge 11/09/16 Had a great time. The lodge is perfect, and as its name suggests rustic in a beautiful setting. Ideal stop for western Etosha. However I can't pay a big enough compliment to the hospitality and friendliness of Nico our host. We had a puncture on the way up from Cape Cross and he rang our hire company for us and arrange a replacement to be delivered no later than 9am the next day.
His mum, dad and brother where visiting when we stay and they all made us welcome with good humour and party atmosphere at dinner. His mum made us all a meat pot over an open fire which was to dye for. We are going back to Namibia in 18 months and will definitely stay here again. Nico thanks for everything and have the Hemskoppi ready
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlieWindhoek wrote a review Aug 2016
Windhoek
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were travelling in the Kaokoveld without internet and so missed the Toko Lodge advisory that the booking had been changed (a day before!). We drove all the ay there only to be told we were booked at Oppikoppi in Kamanjab (happily, as this was much nicer!). 66 kms later though!

Too appears to be dysfunctional and not coping. Avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viola H, Manager at Toko Lodge & Safaris
Responded 31 Aug 2016
Dear Charlie, thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately we were not aware of a booking made for you by your agent, and we were also only informed on short notice to relay the message that you were accommodated at OppiKoppi. This was a mistake made by your booking agent and we feel quite sad that you had to react in such a harsh way. Should you however come to this beautiful area again, we would love to show you the whole lodge (which we believe you did not see) and let you enjoy our hospitality and hopefully be able to give you a great experience to change your opinion about Toko Lodge. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly at +26467330240 should you feel the need to talk to us in person. Kind regards Karola & Nico
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sidachr wrote a review Mar 2016
Struer, Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Toko lodge and safaris is er very nice place to stay. Our room, in fact two rooms, were big and wonderful decorated. The staff was very nice and helpful and the "chief" Nick told us a lot about the area and its people. The eating was well prepared and nice. Emanuel, one of the staff, took us to the himba village near by. It was very interesting to meet the women who lived there, and Emanuel was a very good guide!
The lodge has a nice swimming pool and from the area outside your room there is a wonderful view.
We would so much like to come back. Thank you for a plecant stay!
Hans and Lis, Denmark
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Birder57 wrote a review Oct 2015
Tampa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rustig means restful, an appropriate part of the name of this lodge. It was wonderful, located at the foot of a high hill, in the semi-arid Namibia landscape. The rooms are excellent and very attractive with good views of the landscape. The reception area is as well, and the food is wonderful. The staff were all friendly and genuinely glad we were there. I would have stayed longer if we could have.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view. WiFi is per person, per day.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from mfuwe
Isle of Man, United Kingdom48,663 contributions549 helpful votes
For some reason Trip Advisor has treated this under Toko Lodge whereas you state Kamanjab. Toko does have campsites but I don't know how many. We used the lodge. Breakfast was fine. You are well placed for a straight run up to Opuwo or Ruacane from there. alternate campsite is opposite Galton Gate into etosha. Used to be Hobatere but new name now. Hope this strange answer is of assistance.
Answer from Manfred Hans B
Jupiter, Florida2,121 contributions432 helpful votes
I believe the writer means " TRIPS " it's a typo..... I have not been to Epupa Falls.... I looked at the Lodge website and don't see a day trip listed to Epupa Falls.... I would send an eMail to Karola or Nico the owner's of the Lodge ( very pleasant people ) and I am sure they will answer you.... enjoy your trip, the lodge is great , so is the staff and the Himba Village on property.
Swakopmund, Namibia2 contributions
Dear Ian, thank you for your questions. First of all, yes, there is a "reliable" Service/Gas Station in Kamanjab (24 hours) otherwise in Outjo, Opuwo or Khorixas. The stretch from Kamanjab to Opuwo is also a tarred road meaning that it is only a small stretch of approx. 19 km that is gravel road but easily accessible with a 2WD. You are more than welcome to overnight at Toko Lodge and enjoy a leisurely full day game drive in the Western Part of Etosha. Please don't hesitate to contact us to make a reservation at rustig@iway.na. Wishing you lovely evening and kind regards Viola
giacomo001 asked a question Oct 2019
31 contributions31 helpful votes
Is it possible to visit the himba village if you are not staying at the lodge?
giacomo001 asked a question Oct 2019
31 contributions31 helpful votes
Kan je het himba dorp ook bezoeken als je niet in de lodge logeert?
Bev wrote a tip Apr 2019
Port Edward, South Africa100 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try get the "honeymoon" suite"
Read full review
Jaco U wrote a tip Oct 2016
Ramsgate, South Africa5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any room will do. All are unique in its own way. Beautiful"
Read full review
sonjapot wrote a tip Sept 2016
Durban, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are Large and Cool...Room 7 The Honeymoon Suite!!!"
Read full review
Hugh C wrote a tip Mar 2016
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom342 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms on the hill above the pool have better views and cool breezes."
Read full review
Birder57 wrote a tip Oct 2015
Tampa73 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have a beautiful view. WiFi is per person, per day."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kamanjab area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,425 - R 2,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKunene RegionKamanjab
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TOKO LODGE & SAFARIS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Kamanjab, Namibia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Toko Lodge & Safaris
What are some of the property amenities at Toko Lodge & Safaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Toko Lodge & Safaris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Toko Lodge & Safaris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Toko Lodge & Safaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire