We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury

Save
Share
Village of Agyan, Axim Ghana
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (26)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Axim
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lou Moon Lodge is an exceptionally beautiful & unique boutique beach resort in Ghana’s Western Region, an easy 2 hour journey from Takoradi. Offering a safe private swimming beach, a restaurant with world class International cuisine & premium drinks Lou Moon Resort is the ultimate get away for tranquility, natural beauty and exclusive boutique comfort. The lodge is nestled on the shore of a private beach cove offering rare protection from the ocean waves, and creating a calm natural swimming pool, safe for all ages. Relax on our beach or within the lush tropical grounds of the lodge. Walk or jog around it, or go on a seafaring excursion to meet the local fisherman, and with some luck you may even see passing whales or orcas. We also offer table tennis, beach volleyball, archery and other outdoor activities, and for the ultimate in relaxation we can arrange room service and a massage on the beach! Custom made honeymoon packages & trips to nearby tourist attractions also available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Spa
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
152Reviews9Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 44
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Camilla wrote a review 13 Jan
2 contributions
We spent two nights at the Lou Moon Resort at it did certainly not live up to the photos on the web-site and our expectations. Please be vary of the rooms. Were given a “hill side room” with no further information and for $320 pr. night our expectations were to be given a decent room. Instead, we were given a “parking lot” room that smelled like mold with a broken bathroom door, one window and very little space. Right next to our room was ongoing construction which did not add to the experience. We advised the manager to not have this as a room at all and he kindly promised us to give us some compensation and work on the price. On the last day, instead of giving us discount, he said that he did something to the room instead as compensation - meaning covering up some of the construction outside, which was very disappointing for us. Overall the food was okay and the nature beautiful. It is not up to the standards of a luxury hotel and the pricing is way too high and not worth the long trip it takes to get there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded yesterday
Dear Dcamillas, We appreciate your feedback! We sincerely appreciate taking the time to share your experience and comments with us and hence, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and the nature surrounding us. I would like to apologize for any disappointments you had with regards to the room you were allocated to. Your comments have been well noted and be rest assured that we will address the challenges in order to improve our guests experience. Again thank you for your constructive feedback and for choosing Lou Moon Resort. Kind Regards, Dickson Kyere Sales and Marketing Manager 059 380 5448
Read more
Annelies D wrote a review Jul 2021
87 contributions24 helpful votes
Nice environment, excellent food (4 courses for dinner!), comfortable room. Buttler is added value on the island. Some points to improve: 1. Your policy states it is a quiet resort. Then please be consequent when an (adult!) guest plays loud music from his phone at breakfast. 2. The food-at-island service is great, but could get an eco-upgrade (replace aluminium foil and plastic with reusable covers (eg beewax paper?) 3. Towels have had their best (read soft) time. 4. Some tactically positioned rocks could improve access to the island 5. Leaving few more minutes between the courses will not make people impatient :-) 6. Website with terms & conditions could get an update. E.g. to make it more clear that full board is only available on festive days. We understood that the owners schedule to add 11 tentrooms (like Zaina) to the lodge, of which 4 would have a private pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The island rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded yesterday
Dear 30anneliesd, Thanks for taking your time to review Lou Moon Resort to recommend us to other travellers. The points raised are well noted and we hope to take the necessary steps to improve upon them. I sincerely hope that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back and hence enabling us to restore your confidence towards Lou Moon Resort. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards, Dickson Kyere Sales and Marketing Manager +23359 380 5448
Read more
Papa wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions10 helpful votes
I contacted reception over the phone to check availability the day before arrival and was advised to proceed with the booking procedure by text or what’s app. Over what’s app was sent a catalogue of rooms and, with only the bay view suite available, that is my selection: GHS 1710 for two bedrooms with balcony access. I arrive to find a room with one bedroom. Having just paid for two. The doors to the balcony are both broken, and open. With slow and limited assistance (or communication) maintenance is eventually called and this issue is fixed after 30 - 45 mins. However, there is no instruction regarding how to operate said doors, which seem glued shut now. Ok, no balcony access then. The room also has no wifi. This is odd for a luxury experience. The first time in fact I have ever come across it. With slow and limited assistance (or communication) the reception staff eventually bring a router to resolve the problem. Unfortunately reception staff do not know the password for the router. Ok, no wifi then. A gentleman arrives at my door to ask for my dinner order (why this wasn’t done at check in, to enable guests to rest in peace, is beyond me). I ask what the prices are, he says this is covered by the cost of the room. This is new information to me, that would have been useful to know when booking (it is also a lie). So abandoning any plans I had to work, or rest, I head to dinner. The food is amazing. I have a couple of drinks and am at no stage informed that this is a surplus cost. So imagine my surprise when I am asked the next day to pay for said drinks. Utterly confusing, unclear, and well below expectations. Morning. I slept well, the room itself is lovely. I spotted (both in reception, and on the card in my room) that breakfast is served till 1030am. Great, I’ll have enough time to have a little explore before having some food and checking out. This, again, is a lie. Fortunately I head down to have a quick coffee and am surprised to learn that the kitchen actually closes earlier than advertised and I must have breakfast immediately if I want any. Guess those plans are out of the window. Breakfast is fantastic. Fine, I’ll just have a quick look around after. I heard the island chalet is gorgeous, maybe they’ll fix the service in future and I’ll bring colleagues for a better experience. Hang on, turns out that is not allowed either. I suppose it’s all well and good - I will not be back. At no stage during my stay was an apology offered for any of the above. As any kind of service this is a cardinal sin. "Luxury" ? After checking out, on the road away fighting every impulse I have to leave an honest review publicly - the hotel contact me. Turns out the bill for the room (advertised at 1710 cedis for 2 bedrooms with balcony access) is actually 1761 cedis for 1 bedroom, no balcony, no wifi, 2* “luxury” service. So I should please leave the balance with the driver! For context that is just over $300. Overpriced in my opinion: a great location and well designed hotel with excellent food let down completely by the service (especially poor communication).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask about WIFI
See more room tips
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
George wrote a review May 2021
Davis, California19 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is approx 6 hours from the capital, Accra. There are flights from Accra to Takoradi. We drove from Takoradi to Lou moon and this took about 1.5hrs. The general ambience in the hotel is great. It is supposed to be an eco resort and so we expected more than we saw. The private island is nice but only has rooms with no natural attractions. The rooms are comfortable. Food was okay. We took a boat ride and this was pretty the highlight of our trip. All in all it’s a nice place just a little overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
j0w2015 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We splashed out to stay at one of the peninsular villas. Definitely worth it with fantastic service from all but especially out dedicated 'butler'. Food on the terrace with seas views every day. Fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
lou moon hotel axim
LOCATION
GhanaWestern RegionAxim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Which popular attractions are close to Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Nearby attractions include Fort Santo Antonio (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury have airport transportation?
Yes, Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.