Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury

Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury

Traveller (217)
Room & Suite (41)
sheltered swimming beach
Pool & Beach (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Axim
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lou Moon Lodge is an exceptionally beautiful & unique boutique beach resort in Ghana’s Western Region, an easy 2 hour journey from Takoradi. Offering a safe private swimming beach, a restaurant with world class International cuisine & premium drinks Lou Moon Resort is the ultimate get away for tranquility, natural beauty and exclusive boutique comfort. The lodge is nestled on the shore of a private beach cove offering rare protection from the ocean waves, and creating a calm natural swimming pool, safe for all ages. Relax on our beach or within the lush tropical grounds of the lodge. Walk or jog around it, or go on a seafaring excursion to meet the local fisherman, and with some luck you may even see passing whales or orcas. We also offer table tennis, beach volleyball, archery and other outdoor activities, and for the ultimate in relaxation we can arrange room service and a massage on the beach! Custom made honeymoon packages & trips to nearby tourist attractions also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Massage
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Village of Agyan, Axim Ghana
Getting there
Takoradi Airport
47.8 km
See all flights
Kotoka Airport
240.8 km
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
165Reviews9Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 47
  • 9
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
only1thebest wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater Accra, Ghana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Between two fishing villages near the border of Ghana with Cote'd Ivoire is the idealic setting for one of Ghana's picturesque holiday lodges, Lou Moon Lodge. Now, under new administration, and with exciting plans for the future this small hideaway is worthy of a whisper to those with discerning tastes, an eye for the unusual, wishing to get away from it all.

Tasteful accommodations go well with an ever changing menu of local produce, fresh fish and seafood, with just a hint of West African influence.

The keyword is RELAX. Service is impeccable and the staff is at hand but not intrusive.

Elegant, laid back, and just beautiful. Each morning felt as though our ship had just sailed into a new port somewhere intoxicating.

My Dearest enjoyed the massage sessions on the beach, or under the coconut tree near our bungalow. An honestly relaxing time away. We are grateful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nana wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lou Moon is the ultimate destination for a family vacation in Ghana. It wasn't on our list of destinations for our summer vacation until we decided to drive by for lunch. It was love at first sight, we fell in love with the coziness and the the eco feel you get. We booked for two nights stay right there and the rest is history. Amazing staff, mouth watering food, clean rooms, and the beach front was very relaxing, listening to the waves splash against the rocks. Thumbs up to the manager Douglas and his team, Ken, Oniel, Grace, Mr Prah. You guys should keep pushing Ghana tourism high.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irene Schandorf wrote a review Mar 2022
Accra, Ghana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a relaxing environment which will relieve you of the stress of work, then the best place to be is Lou Moon at Axim. Just spent 2nights there last weekend and it was amazing. Environment soo soothing with the greenery. The gentle sound from the sea waves will put you to sleep. And the food was just Fantastic. Every dish served with so much skill and passion from starters to dessert. Friendly staff made the stay enjoyable.

You can swim at the beach and go kayaking, bike riding, football etc.

And oh if you want a private pool to yourself they have one you can try with family and friends.

Room was soo clean and water pressure was better than I have experienced elsewhere.
Just take a flight to Takoradi and they will pick you up.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear Irene, Thanks for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our menu and service. Your kind words have been communicated to the team and they are really motivated by it. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Thanks and Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camilla wrote a review Jan 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights at the Lou Moon Resort at it did certainly not live up to the photos on the web-site and our expectations. Please be vary of the rooms. Were given a “hill side room” with no further information and for $320 pr. night our expectations were to be given a decent room. Instead, we were given a “parking lot” room that smelled like mold with a broken bathroom door, one window and very little space. Right next to our room was ongoing construction which did not add to the experience.

We advised the manager to not have this as a room at all and he kindly promised us to give us some compensation and work on the price. On the last day, instead of giving us discount, he said that he did something to the room instead as compensation - meaning covering up some of the construction outside, which was very disappointing for us.

Overall the food was okay and the nature beautiful. It is not up to the standards of a luxury hotel and the pricing is way too high and not worth the long trip it takes to get there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Dcamillas, We appreciate your feedback! We sincerely appreciate taking the time to share your experience and comments with us and hence, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and the nature surrounding us. I would like to apologize for any disappointments you had with regards to the room you were allocated to. Your comments have been well noted and be rest assured that we will address the challenges in order to improve our guests experience. Again thank you for your constructive feedback and for choosing Lou Moon Resort. Kind Regards, Dickson Kyere Sales and Marketing Manager 059 380 5448
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeffrey b wrote a review Jul 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my first ever review of anything on the internet, online shopping included. I've never been prompted to review anything up until now ...

I was at LouMoon with a group of friends and it was a horrible experience. I mean there are some things beyond their control eg. the filth in the sea or the fact that one of us got stung by a jellyfish. However, they could do much better with customer service.

So on our first night, there was a snake in the dining area but not to worry, we were reassured that they don't bite LOL. That night we woke up to a huge centipede crawling in our room. No big deal except I had my nine-month baby crawling all over the place.

The horrors from this zoo pale in comparison to dealing with Mr. Douglas, the manager, an epitome of bad customer service. He took every opportunity to spring up new costs despite well-documented agreements and did not hesitate to underserve. Very sad and I feel terrible for the owner. If this guy continues to work there, I'm not sure there will be a LouMoon in a few years.

Tbh just dodge the bullet and go to Maaha. I haven't been yet but it definitely has to be a better experience. I pray things change for the better at Lou Moon but for now this is my candid review.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Jeffrey, Thanks very much for taking your time to review about us. Management would want to sincerely apologize your experience was marred. Thanks and Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edwin K Baiden wrote a review Sept 2022
Basildon, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
To start with, I was a bit worried driving in a Kia Sorento 4WD to the location as the road was the Jungle type.! We thought we were lost until atlast we arrived at the gates with security checks and confirmation before enty and upon entry into the car park? Wow? all our pains on the rough road drive was forgotten. Beautiful green scenery of trees 🌳 allover. You just feel the fresh breeze of nature calling you to come come closer.
Welcome drinks was a child nice (Sobolo) LOL.
The staff were friendly from day one till we left there. Food was on point and tast soo good.
The rooms were clean with no funny smells. Sheets were clean. Stadning outside the balcony did feel like we were on the tropical Island 🏝 . If you haven't been to Jemaca or the Bahamas before, then this will give you a good tast of it with a more African twist to it LOL.
Lots of activities (check my photos attached). I could only do the Hiking, archery, and yee won a friendly table tennis game between UK and Ghana. It was epic.!
We were aware this was not a cheap place and to be fear the value for the service is about right.
Is now my getaway location and yes I would recommend it. Just take enough cash and be happy LOL.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dickson Kyere, Sales at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Dear 153kwekub, Thanks for taking your time to review Lou Moon Resort and to recommend us to other travellers. We are pleased you enjoyed our top-notch service, food, and your stay with us. Once again, thanks for choosing us. We can't wait to host you again. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacoba wrote a review Sept 2020
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Make time to go enjoy a beachside adventure or simply relax. Beach volleyball, soccer, ping pong, paddle boards, boating and more. Splurge on a massage with Gloria. Best service I have had in Africa. Better than Accra and far more beautiful. Food is excellent. The general manager Albert is focused on making customers happy. They even grilled a steak upon our request. The lamb with chutney was also delicious. Can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumaya Adams- Attah wrote a review Jan 2024
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Axim is my favourite town in Ghana and Lou Moon Lodge was one of the reasons why. The ocean was crystal blue and clean. We stayed on the Island Cape with the pool. The rooms were clean and designed beautifully. It was soo serene and seamless. I did not want to leave. The staff provided excellent service. From the entrance till we left, we were well taken care of. The food is world class and made with a lot of attention to details and class. I have been to Lou Moon Lodge more than 10 times due to this. There are tours to tourist sites, hiking, kayaking, archery, boat rides, massages etc. It is a total package. Its really great overall experience and excellent for relaxation. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joan K wrote a review Feb 2020
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a unique property in Ghana. It is very far from any major sightseeing area but, the detour, is worth the effort.
The location is superb and every aspect of the property is ravishing.
The staff is lovely and the meals were delicious.
This is a fine spot to relax for a day or two and also visit the interesting stilt village of Nzulezo.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose one of the best villas with a private pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George wrote a review May 2021
Davis, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is approx 6 hours from the capital, Accra. There are flights from Accra to Takoradi. We drove from Takoradi to Lou moon and this took about 1.5hrs. The general ambience in the hotel is great. It is supposed to be an eco resort and so we expected more than we saw. The private island is nice but only has rooms with no natural attractions. The rooms are comfortable. Food was okay. We took a boat ride and this was pretty the highlight of our trip. All in all it’s a nice place just a little overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert H asked a question Jul 2020
South Africa
Does Lou Moon have good Wi-Fi in each room
Accra, Ghana3 contributions
Yes, all rooms have WiFi including the Restaurant and Beach
Evans Darley asked a question Mar 2020
Kumasi, Ghana
Prices for a night
Lily asked a question Aug 2019
Australia9 contributions1 helpful vote
What are the prices.
Answer from Rens L
19 contributions7 helpful votes
see website loumoonlodge - room rates bit pricy but def worth it and including some meals so not so pricy after all have fun
Abena Adepa asked a question Mar 2019
Tarkwa, Ghana
How can I contact Lou moon lodge
David W wrote a tip Dec 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom18 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Really out of the way, you wouldn't know it was here unless someone told you or if you really looked for it. "
Read full review
sgkaya wrote a tip Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go if you have the chance"
Read full review
Annelies D wrote a tip Jul 2021
85 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The island rooms are worth the extra."
Read full review
Papa wrote a tip Jun 2021
4 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about WIFI"
Read full review
Joan K wrote a tip Feb 2020
Wyncote, Pennsylvania438 contributions648 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose one of the best villas with a private pool"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Axim area.
PRICE RANGE
R 10,633 - R 10,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lou moon hotel axim
LOCATION
GhanaWestern RegionAxim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOU MOON RESORT - ECO LUXURY - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Axim, Ghana)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury
Which popular attractions are close to Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Nearby attractions include Fort Santo Antonio (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Lou Moon Resort - Eco Luxury have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.