We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel direct offer!$200 Resort Credit
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (802)
Pool & Beach (189)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/06/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from St. George's Caye Resort
Updated 20/06/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
St. George’s Caye Resort is a secluded adults-only paradise located on a secluded private island paradise, just seven miles from Belize City. Accessible only by boat, St. George’s Caye feels miles away from everyday life thanks to its cozy cabanas, breathtaking views of the Caribbean, and friendliest servers in Belize. Divers, anglers, honeymooners, and those looking to just get away from it all will find everything they desire at St. George’s Caye Resort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Adults only
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Darts
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:$200 Resort Credit

Location

Full view
Contact
St. George's Caye Belize
Getting there
Philip S.W. Goldson Intl Airport25 kmSee all flights
Belize City Municipal Airport14 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
446Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 74
  • 23
  • 14
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mrs_tk wrote a review May 2022
Sioux Falls, South Dakota30 contributions16 helpful votes
We visited St George's for lunch while staying at a different short term rental at Therapy Cabins nearby. We kayaked over and the lunch was hot and was of excellent flavor with many hot sauce options. The drinks were cold and the service was friendly. We were impressed with the grounds and the obvious care they take of the property. We would definitely return to the Caye as we thought the island was a substantially better location than Ambergris and Caye Caulker. Especially the opportunity to swim in the ocean without a mass of sargassum and to be protected from the wind, no matter which way it was from since getting from the east side to the west side is just a short stroll. This is a great place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jaimee Cleghorn wrote a review Nov 2020
4 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We arrived into Belize on Oct. 25, 2020. Our airport transfer driver, Cornell, was super friendly, and showed us the interesting sights on the way to the dock. It was really neat to hear about the history of Belize, the Belizean culture, and historical sights. Once we arrived at the dock, our bags were loaded onto the water taxi and we were on our way to the island. The boat operator was very kind and helpful. Once we arrived at the dock of St, Georges Caye, we were greeted and our bags were taken to our cabana. We went to the office to check in and get our keys. Jeanine (spelling incorrect) was so kind and helpful. She went over our activities that we reserved with us and guided us back to our cabana. We arrived a bit late for lunch, but they did have plates made for us and they were promptly delivered to our room. Delicious! The cabana was beautiful. We had one of the over the water cabanas. Perfect for viewing the amazing Belizean sunsets. I can't say enough about the staff that worked during our visit. Edison was so kind and fun to be around. Oliver, was helpful, funny and also very kind and fun to hang around a chat with. The Scuba guides, Freddie and Jose were amazing. Very vigilant on keeping an eye on a first time diver. The fishing guide, Bones, was very good at knowing the exact place to go catch the best fish. What an amazing haul of fish they caught, If you plan to go fishing, please ask for Bones. He will not disappoint you. The chef cooked impeccable meals. I had things I had never tasted before. Everything was delicious. Alex was a wonderful server and attended to every request. The massage therapist is amazing and you will be so relaxed when you are done, the stress just melts away, Everyone that worked during out stay, Oct 25-30, 2020, was amazing! I will definitely be back. I feel like I made friends with the staff and look forward to seeing them again. Would love to meet Tim the owner. He went above and beyond to help make our dream vacation a reality. Thank you to everyone that helped make our stay unforgettable! Y'all are amazing! I can't wait to see you again! If you are considering a vacation, please check out St. George's Caye Resort. It will not disappoint you! I felt very pampered and well taken care of. Thank you to everyone! See you again, soon! Chris and Jaimee
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Views from over the water cabana were beautiful, especially at sunset. Nice cold AC, exceptional...
See more room tips
6 Helpful votes1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 03 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. We are thrilled that you had such a great time, Chris! We love our team as much as you do. Sounds like you were able to experience many of the great opportunities available at Saint George’s. We feel blessed to be stewards of this amazing property, and to be able to share it with our guest family.Can’t wait to see you again!
Read more
lynne p wrote a review May 2022
Hobart, Indiana430 contributions123 helpful votes
My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary at St. George's Caye Resort. We did a lot of research before choosing this one, and we were not disappointed at all. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful, picturesque, fun, relaxing, private vacation, this IS the one to choose. We landed at the airport, and we were promptly picked up by Cornell. Then It was a short van ride to the boat. You were able to have water or beer for the ride - nice touch. When we arrived at the island, Michelle and Oliver were waiting at the dock in a friendly/welcoming manner. They briefed us on everything. It wasn't long until we had our free rum punch for the day (one is given to each patron daily). There were no more than 28 visitors at the resort while we stayed, so not crowded at all. For your water pleasure, there are 2 sides of the island to swim on plus a saline pool. There's also SUP's (Stand up paddleboards, kayaks, hobe cat sails, snorkel accessories) for free use. You can walk the small island to see other residences, but it is very quiet there. If you request, someone will take you out on the hobe cat sail (a/k/a catamaran). Uris was awesome in command and took us out a few miles and we saw manatee. We stayed in an above ocean hut. It was perfect size with a/c, two chairs/table, shower, closet, safe and mini fridge, and comfy bed. COZY! Outside of our hut was a porch w/a lovely hammock, 2 chairs/table, but most importantly the BEST view ever (of the Caribbean w/fish, dolphins, etc.). I do wish (and other woman there echoed my sentiment) there was a shelf inside shower stall for holding toiletries (which by the way are given to you and awesome shower gel). WHAT a way to wake up! Juice, tea, coffee (your choice) is delivered every AM (FRESH), by 6 AM - nice treat. On the island, we did see igunas on or near trees, lots of hermit crabs and lizards - how cool is that! We canNOT say enough about the attentive staff ... before AND during our stay! Extra shoutouts to Jahnene, Oliver, Cornell, Elmer, Melvin, Jose and Uris who went above and beyond! Everyone answered my emails quickly to help me w/questions re booking, COVID insurance, COVID tests, etc. Jahnene gave me so much info and never seemed bothered when i reached out. She is truly a gem! While there, everyone was smiley, professional and friendly! You had a question, they found the answer. They made sure you had THE PERFECT time. Before the trip, I had a specific financial question and I was impressed and surprised that the owner himself called me to answer me - so pleasant. We met the manager while we were there and he was pleasant and proud of his staff. The lodge is the main hub (building) where you eat, drink (at bar), small gift shop (wish had more), deal w/office staff, and have a massage. The massages were amazing by Vanessa - relaxing and professional. The drinks that Elmer and Melvin mixed up were so fun and delish. These gentleman know their cocktails and make them perfectly. They have an extensive offering of fruity fun vodka/rum cocktails, plus a special drink of the day. I got to have one made special by Melvin in a coconut - how fun! I also tried a green drink and a blue drink. The food was delicious and filling. For breakfast, you have a time frame of 2 hours to eat, and several choices. For lunch and dinner, it is a set time (12:30 and 6:30 respectively) and a set meal. You get an appetizer, soup, entree w/veggies and bread, plus dessert. I only wish you had an alternative choice automatically offered for seafood as I'm not a seafood eater (tho I did try twice, lol). I did ask once to have grilled fish substituted and i was accommodated politely. The chocolate cake, arrachera street tacos, chicken parmesan were favorites of mine. You can take excursions off the island. You are taken by boat and then by van and sometimes boat again (like when we went to the Mayan ruins). Cornell was our fantastic driver to/from the boat ride for the ruins. He also was our private tour guide for the cultural excursion to the Rum Distillery, Zoo and Souvenir Store. He is a font of knowledge w/a great easy going personality. He goes out of his way to explain things and teach you about the Belizean culture. I recommend these excursions. The zoo has some very unusual birds and animals. We came across a HUGE iguana (who is not a zoo resident, but was passing thru) that startled us all, lol. We saw the national bird ... Toucan. While on the ride to the ruins, the guide was Jr. and he pointed out so many birds and plants. The ruins are spectacular (do wear comfy clothes and closed toe shoes). The gentleman giving the tour at the rum distillery was friendly and informative. Everyone who took us on these tours was polite, friendly and very knowledgeable. I wish we could've done the zipline/cave tour, but we didn't know ahead of time that tours were only on certain days. IN other words, one cannot just choose what day they want to do any excursion. Each is offered on a certain day. I wish that was published on the tour guide list offering. It tells you the synopsis of tour and pricing, but doesn't say there are specific days of week they are offered. This is a place where you can truly escape from reality. There's NO wi-fi except in lounge, and I chose not to use mine period. It was great not to text, phone, etc. for 5 days and escape. You can sit in a hammock and read a book, try water activities, go on excursions, have a fruity cocktail by the pool, take a leisurely stroll ... choice is yours. We met some really nice people from other places in the U.S. and from Canada. My only suggestion ... a little TLC is needed (replacement or additions) w/some of the furniture, etc. Some of chairs in lounge have no pads. Some wooden furniture needs some painting. Not enough lounge chairs by pool or by oceanside (in front of lounge). Would be nice to have some pool floats, etc. also. Again, this is PURE beauty ... restful and relaxing. I could NOT believe we were actually there celebrating our 35th, and so glad we made the choice. If you want to go Belize, go to St. George's Caye!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Above ocean hut, on the end, #1 or #6
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 20 May 2022
We think you get a gold star for the most elaborate review ever!! WOW - We are so totally thrilled that you had such a great experience at St. George's Caye! You touch on so many points that we strive to succeed at and exceed guests' expectations. We do also appreciate your feedback about more information on excursions, and we are currently revising our activities book and will take that into our creative process. Thank you again so very much for making our day with this rave review!! We will share it with our team too! Cheers again to you on your 35th and maybe we will see you back for your 40th (or before) :)
Read more
Courtney Smith wrote a review May 2022
Savannah, Georgia3 contributions
I cannot say enough amazing things about this resort and its staff. We had a group of 10 for a birthday vacation and this resort exceeded expectations. Before we even arrived in Belize, Jahnene was so helpful during the planning process. Everything was organized and communicated very well. Once we arrived, the staff were so friendly, we truly felt like we were family. The food was delicious, and any time we needed a menu change, they were so great about creating a meal we would love. We stayed in 5/6 overwater cabanas which had a gorgeous view of the sea. Although rustic, they were comfortable and we woke up every morning to our personal selection of beverages. The saltwater pool and hammocks around the property were both perfect ways to relax and soak in the sunshine. We also enjoyed the San Pedro and Cave Tubing excursions. There is also a spa that some of the ladies loved! I did not do this personally but everyone who did said amazing things! This place is truly paradise and a perfect way to escape the normal fast paced and crowded vacation spots that many are used to. Thank you to all of the staff who made this such a unique and wonderful experience!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 07 May 2022
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled that you are so pleased with your stay, and of course, that you have become an extension of our island family! We are smiling ear to ear with joy of your remarks and thank you so very much for spending your time with us! Hope to see you in the sun again soon!
Read more
Kelly S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
"Paradise " definition! an ideal or idyllic place or state! So relaxing and comfortable with super nice staff !!!!. Everything is clean and great food ! Made new friends to share many cocktails with! Love the bar! We fished, read multiple books, kayaked, swam! So what could be more relaxing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sunrise @ beach front cabanas-Sunset @ over the water cabanas
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Thank you so very much for this. How fun to read the true definition, and it's so spot on. We love the joy in your review and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Cheers and hope to see you in the sun again soon!
Read more
the_woman_n_black wrote a review Feb 2022
Lenexa, Kansas39 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We came to St. Georges with a group of 8, following our wedding and a few nights at a different resort at Ambergris Caye. I think going to two resorts back to back provided a unique perspective. I noticed things that I don't believe would have been as apparent. Members of our group stayed in the Overwater cabanas as well as the Ocean front cabanas, which I will give descriptions of below. Overall, I think we all enjoyed our experience at St. Georges. It felt like an awesome boutique hotel. The main building as well as the cabanas were built from beautiful mahogany wood, and had a very cool rustic feel. The grounds were well kept, with tropical landscaping and sand which was raked daily. Birds partied in the mangroves off the dock in the evening and a parade of hermit crabs came up to shore every night. They also have a very large iguana that seems to just live on the property. St. Georges certainly provided the feeling of escaping the modern world and getting off 'the grid'. There are no TV's in the rooms and the wifi can only be used at the main lodge. The resort stretches from the east to the west side of the island, allowing you to see the sunset and sunrise over the ocean depending on which side your room is on. There is a very strange weather pattern on the island which causes the east side (beach front and restaurant) side to be quite windy and the west side (over water bungalow) side to be very still. It was very unique and interesting walking from one side to the other, feeling like you were suddenly in a completely different environment. The trip to and from the mainland was very easy. St. George's had their own private vehicle transportation as well as their own boat to take you from the airport to the resort. The boat was in good repair and was covered. A padded seat on the boat would have been nice though. We came at a very windy time, which made for an incredibly bumpy boat ride. Upon arrival, we were met on the dock with rum punch and a quick and easy check in process. The office staff were all very friendly and helpful. They also assisted in booking excursions and made the process very easy. The water on the bungalow side was a bit strange because of the lack of wind and it was also VERY quiet. The rooms were quite close together, which meant that you didn't feel like you had much privacy. Likewise, on the other side, the Beach front rooms were also close together, but because of the wind, trees, and shrubbery, it felt more secluded and it didn't have the eyrie silence. The overwater cabana view, depending on which room you were in, might have been primarily of the room on the other side of the cabanas. Also, the cabanas were bookended by two docks, so those sort of obstructed the view of the ocean. Don't get me wrong, it's still a beautiful view, it just didn't have the most secluded feel to it. If I had to do it over, I would have chosen to stay in one of the beach front rooms, which also offered nice views and seemed a little more private. I think we all found our bedding experience to be different. Some of us had good mattresses and others did not. I found our mattress was so hard that if I tried to lay on my side, it was bruising my hipbone (yes, I bruise easily, but it was a seriously hard mattress). The rooms were all wood. In the overwater cabana, the ceilings were wood, with a thatch roof. The beachfront rooms did not have wood ceilings - they were only thatch. Each room was equipped with a good quality a/c unit. The bathrooms were not overly luxurious, but not bad. We did however have a couple of plumbing problems. Upon checking in, we had a leaking toilet - the floor was wet around the base. One of the other couples with us had a toilet that was overflowing. I will say that the problems were promptly addressed once I let them know. The restaurant was on the second floor, overlooking the ocean on the windy side of the island. I would suggest coming prepared for the potential of a windy dinner - have the ability to tie back your hair and come with something to layer in case it's cool. At the restaurant, they provided a flexible breakfast menu as well as a fixed lunch and dinner. Each day, the lunch and dinner option was posted in the morning. I understand it's a very small number of people to serve, so in the interest of keeping food waste down, they have limitations. I do wish they had two options to have chosen from. Even if it means you would need to put your order in earlier in the day, I think this would have been a nice add on. We were only there three nights, so we might have just been there at a bad time, but we weren't all that impressed by the food. The first night they had blackened snapper, which I personally found to be very good, but it was spicy. So spicy that multiple people at our table couldn't eat it all. This wouldn't be a problem, if it weren't the only food option. The second night they served bad lasagna. No one liked that lasagna - really bad. The meals were all 4 courses - appetizer, soup, main, and dessert. They didn't feel like cohesive planned meals - for example, we had a meal of guacamole, potato leek soup, lasagna and a banana split. The meal on the third night was good, it was a pork dish. The fact that we had very little seafood was also a bit disappointing. Perhaps had we stayed a few more days we would have seen more - I understand we were there during an unseasonably cold and windy front, which might have impacted their ability to catch fish. I think we all found breakfast to be very good. The one comment I have is that there is nothing sweet on the menu, which I know I sometimes crave in the morning. They do have a note on the menu that if you don't see what you want to ask. I requested fry jacks with caramelized bananas and cinnamon. It was very yummy and I would absolutely recommend the resort try adding something like that to the menu! The water they served was the purified water from the island. No one in our group complained of any issues and it tasted very good. Each morning, they would drop off coffee, tea, or freshly squeezed orange juice outside your door, depending on your preference. A small complaint that we had was regarding the restaurant staff. They weren't the friendliest bunch of people. Not that they were rude or anything like that. It just seemed like everyone was having a bad day. At times, the servers seemed confused. They don't automatically take drink orders for lunch or dinner. If you flag them down and ask, they will go get you something, but it was not assumed that they would get your drinks. Also of note, they do not serve breakfast cocktails - no mimosa or bloody mary. The bar staff is not there until about 11:00, which I can understand, but I also think it's not that hard to make bloody mary premix or mix OJ and sparkling wine. As for the bar they had a huge drink menu - perhaps 30 cocktails listed - and the menu offered no description of the drinks. Every time you ordered, you had to ask them what was in the drinks with exotic names like "Parrot Piss", "Blue Hole" and "Dirty Banana". I have no doubt that half of the attitude of indifference coming from the bartender was related to having to explain what Parrot Piss was to every single visitor to the resort. All of their cocktails were very sweet - lots of rum, vodka, and juices. Of course that's what most people look for when on an island vacation, but at a certain point it is nice to take a break from those sugary drinks. There are very few alternatives available. They only serve a couple of beers - Belikins. I believe they only offered two different red wine options and two white wines. They had some tequilas and whiskies available, but no cocktail menu options that I can recall aside from a margarita. Outside the resort, the island had a number of private rental properties and homes. I don't think we saw a single person on the island other than the people at the resort. Coming to St. Georges felt like being on your own private island, even though there were other properties. I will say that some of the properties were in rough shape, and we found that when we wandered too far from the resort, that the local dogs were there to let us know we should turn back around. Ironically, when walking to the other side of the resort, we were greeted by a friendly dog that walked along with us for about 10 minutes. Because it was so uninhabited, you would find handfuls of massive sea shells, and coconuts that had been laying there long enough that they were sprouting leaves. We took a couple of excursions - snorkeling as well as the Lamanai ruins. Both were great experiences. When traveling to the ruins, the resort has their own transportation taking you to the tour operator (which starts at the river, inland an hour or so). I would highly recommend the Lamanai ruins! We had also traveled to Xunantunich at our other resort and found Lamanai to be a much better experience. Snorkeling from St. Georges is great as well. St. George's is really close to the reef, so it's a pretty quick boat ride to get out to the snorkeling location from the resort. That being said, don't expect to snorkel right off the shore. There's nothing to see in swimming distance. If you're not interested in excursions, there are many complimentary activities. We went out on the catamaran to a sandbar out in the middle of the ocean. They had a captain come out to show us how to use it. It was a blast! They also have kayaks, windsurfing and paddleboards available. They offered fishing (at a cost of $5 per day), which you could do right off the docks. One of the couples with us saw a manatee while paddle boarding and on the catamaran. Random review comment - In the bar area, they have a puzzle game; after some research, I now know it is called Pentominoes. It's a wood block puzzle that you will find it easy to waste half of your vacation trying (and failing) to put together. All of us went into the gift shop ready to buy one of these beautiful hand made wood puzzles and all of us left disappointed. St. Georges, you need to find someone locally to make these so you can sell them! All drinks, food, gratuities, excursions, spa treatments, and items from the gift shop were put on your tab for checkout at the end of your stay. I think my biggest complaint about our whole stay was the way the billing was done. Personally, I had been tipping drivers, the boat captains, tour guides, the spa personnel, etc. I think the only tips I wasn't providing were for the bar and wait staff because I understood those were settled at the end of our stay. When we received the bill, they had suggested gratuity based on the whole cost of the bill. I believe they had calculated 15%, 20%, and 25%. Now, having tipped all of the appropriate staff everywhere but the restaurant, it meant that if I provided a proper tip to the bar/server staff, that the tour staff got double the tips, or on the other hand, I adjust it for what I've already tipped ant the bar/server staff potentially gets stiffed. This method of tipping also makes me question if St. George's makes sure that third party tour operators receive their portion of the tips paid out on the tab. In the end, I paid around an 18% tip, which is unusually low for me, but I felt deceived in the way it was billed. I think all 4 couples agreed in this confusion. I would recommend St. Georges figure out a way to be more informative on their gratuities policy upfront. We also found that the bar tab was not correct. Some of us seemed to have more items than ordered while others had less than ordered. The item I purchased from the gift shop was not added to the tab (which I informed them of). All and all, we had a great experience, and I would recommend St. George's to anyone looking for a quiet, secluded getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Thank you so very much for this thorough review, and outline of your experience! We are so glad that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do try to accommodate special dietary needs and also preferences for more or less of things, so when you return, just let us know those desires and we will do our absolute best to deliver your requests. Also, just an update, we have taken your feedback and are reviewing our gratuity communication so once again thank you very much for this review, and we hope to be of service to you in the sun again someday soon!
Read more
contradancer wrote a review Feb 2022
asheville, nc448 contributions142 helpful votes
The cabins are very close together. Almost all of them face the sea. We liked being on the east side since I awaken early and liked to watch the sun rise. The "overwater" cabins face the west and are also close together. The sea is full of seaweed, making swimming unattractive. But there is a salt water pool and lots of equipment to enjoy the water: paddle boards, canoes and kayaks. We went out on the Hobie Cat (sailboat) with Uris who was a great captain. The staff did a good job. The food was great and plentiful. Each person got his/her own plate, so we had more than we could eat. The impression is that there is nothing else on the island, but actually we walked along the shore and there were lots of other buildings, some in good repair, some not. We also stumbled upon the residences of the staff which looked like what is provided for migratory workers in the U.S.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are very glad that you enjoyed the resort, island, and pool. It sounds like your stay was full of sun. Sargassum is a seaweed that is natural to the area. This floating seaweed can be a problem in the whole Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico. It is very unpredictable, but we are lucky because it affects us less than other resorts in Belize. When the floating vegetation visits our Island, our staff can keep it moving past us with the natural current, so it doesn’t collect on our beachfront, and do our best to manage this natural resource that is vital to the sea life. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and wish you well in your future travels!
Read more
Amanda J wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I have never written a review before, but oh man! I had to after staying at this resort. If you are looking for beautiful nature, a relaxed, laid-back atmosphere, amazing food, wonderful, kind staff, the best massage of your life, and truly the best place to escape with your partner—this is it! We stayed for a whole week, did the cave tubing excursion (super awesome, do it!), hung out at the beautiful pool (with views of the ocean from both sides), walked around the island, laid by the beach (the hammocks on the dock are super fun), my husband went fishing in the flats, tried almost every drink on the menu (Elmer the bartender is so fun!), went kayaking and SUPing (saw a crocodile and dolphin!) and truly had one of the best vacations of our lives. We stayed in both the over-the-water bungalows and the ocean-front ones. We preferred the ocean front. They have the thatched roofs inside and were a little bigger. The food was perfect. I liked that there were no options and it was a set menu for lunch and dinner. Honestly, every meal was good and sometimes you just need a break from making any decisions, you know? Wifi works in the main building, but I almost wish it didn’t! It was great to unplug and just be in the moment. But I did forget to bring a book and the wifi was strong enough that I could download a couple to my phone. We will be back. Honestly have nothing negative to say. Suggested packing items: - bug spray, there are lots of bugs in the evening. You won’t see them or feel them, but they will bite you. Trust me, first night, put on that bug spray - speaker, we liked having music for the beach/pool - playing cards/games for in the evening. There are no TVs here, bring some things to do in the evenings. We found a deck of cards at the resort and played some drinking games with other couples, but you may want to bring your own in case it’s been misplaced - relaxed, comfy clothes. No one cares what you wear. Seriously, do whatever you want. I wanted to dress up a bit for dinner, but many didn’t. Whatever you want to wear is totally fine
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Hello Amanda!! Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave your FIRST review!! :) We are thrilled that your experience was all we would hope it would be for you, from adventures to hospitality, it sounds like you truly had a blast and we couldn't be happier about that! Thank you again for sharing this and we can't wait to see you in the sun again someday!
Read more
Raquel O wrote a review Jan 2022
Dallas, Texas28 contributions
+1
What an awesome experience! I lucked into this vacation last minute with my friend Kimberly and wow am I happy I said "I'm in!" From the van ride with Cornell to the dock, the boat ride with Andy to the island, the tour with Anderson, unpacking in our awesome Cabana, to the great 4 course meal served by Jose, waiting for us to cap off a day of travel, this 8 day vacation started out nicely. The staff was wonderful. Oliver gave us the rundown daily. Alex made sure we were signed up for daily events. I loved that they learned and used our names quite frequently. They were pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were comfy thanks to Estella, the meals were wonderful, the drinks by Elmer and Melvin were perfection and they were also great DJs.. You can go the route of planned activies each day that take you away from the island or relax with unlimited fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming (you name it). My favorite parts of it all were the amazing staff, the drink Dirty Banana, the Saturday night barbq and THE HAMMOCKS!!! I layed in one every single day. And who can forget our Blues night convo with the manager Barry. Some of the best music and best Stories. St George Caye owes me nothing! Even though is an amazing places for honeymooners or couples in general, It was a wonderful vacation and makes a great girl's trip. That's what we did!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for this heartwarming review! We focus on everything that you have outlined in this review, so we are so glad we provided the level of service that we hope to for every guest. We tend to think that our island has something unique or "magical" and you captured all of that in your stay. Thank you again and be well!
Read more
kbo22 wrote a review Jan 2022
Grapevine,2 contributions
+1
This is my second visit and definitely will not be my last. Everything about this resort is wonderful and the staff go above and beyond to make you feel special. Thanks to all of them!!! Freddie, Andy, and Javier made sure I had an amazing dive experience. Cornell was a great guide and made sure every adventure was fun and informative. Oliver, Alex, and Anderson made sure I had everything I needed and never left me with any questions. They ensured I had a perfect overall experience. Elmer and Melvin kept me supplied with new and yummy drinks. Love that Dirty Banana!!! Jose took such good care of me and made sure I didn’t want for anything. Thank you for the yummy cookie ice cream!! Estella was wonderfully sweet and kept me in total comfort the whole stay. Barry made sure everyone was happy, well cared for, and had great music all the time. Loved the blues nights and I appreciate all the information to help my future transition to being an Ex Pat in Belize. I look forward to showing this piece of paradise to my son when he is older and I appreciate the sweet birthday send off. This was an amazing girls trip and I appreciate being treated just as special as the couples visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Loose, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Also, for naming those who made your stay a success. We will share and they will be grateful for your praise! We sure hope you have a great new year and truly appreciate this review!!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$454 - US$546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st. george`s caye hotel st. george`s caye, st georges caye hotel
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesSt. George's Caye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St. George's Caye Resort
What are some of the property amenities at St. George's Caye Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at St. George's Caye Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at St. George's Caye Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St. George's Caye Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does St. George's Caye Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, St. George's Caye Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does St. George's Caye Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, St. George's Caye Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is St. George's Caye Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of St. George's Caye.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St. George's Caye Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does St. George's Caye Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.