We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Head Hotel Masham

Save
Share
Kings Head Hotel Market Place, Masham HG4 4EF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21/08/12 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kings Head Hotel Masham
Updated 21/08/12 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Kings Head Hotel at Masham is one of our much-loved properties. Expect home-from-home comfort, a warm welcome, great hospitality, and full hotel service. Set in the heart of beautiful North Yorkshire, this 18th-century Georgian inn has a prominent position overlooking Yorkshire’s largest market square in the historic market town of Masham. It’s a perfect place to stay when exploring this stunning part of the country.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
179Reviews3Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 28
  • 15
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynne C wrote a review Nov 2021
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
visited for a pub lunch. Food was excellent, good quality and varied menu. staff very friendly and obliging. only issue may be dogs in all parts of food area. love dogs but tricky at times walking around.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day! If you ever need anything else from the team, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day! Kind regards .Kings head team
Read more
Sbbiggy wrote a review Nov 2021
Market Harborough, UK40 contributions43 helpful votes
The King's Head is a good hotel in a great location for anyone wanting to visit the local area. It is situated right in the centre of Masham with ample parking a very short distance away in the market square. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the decor in the communal areas is good. The room we had was in an annex which meant a short walk to and from the hotel but the room itself was clean and warm. The bathroom was on the small side but ok and the shower was a good size but showed signs of mould. Meals in the restaurant were adequate but the big problem here is the lack of staff. This is in no way a criticism of the manageress who was very helpful and friendly in what must be really difficult circumstances for her. On two days a week the restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner and even breakfast was proving difficult. On occasions the service was very slow both at breakfast and dinner and the hotel owners really need to step up and address this problem. The staffing problem is made worse by the fact that this hotel is extremely popular both with residents and non-residents. This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting to visit the two local breweries in the town or explore the local area. There is good walking directly from the hotel and the Visitors Centre is only a short walk away where they can provide maps for walkers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us We really appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind regards Jo and team Kings
Read more
Lochs wrote a review Nov 2021
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom216 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 3 night on a B & B basis. Our room was suitable for someone disabled, therefore, was spacious and large. It was in the rear courtyard, which has numerous individual annexe rooms of different sizes. Dinner was delicious. Look out for the Supper Club, with a fixed price for 2 or 3 courses. Items avaiable are marked SC on Menu. Due to staff shortages, the Dining Room was closed for dinner on Wed/Thur evening. Good idea to book elsewhere, as all guests will have to find alternative dining options. (Highly recommend the White Bear. 7 min walk from hotel). The public areas are beautifully decorated, as are the refurbished bedrooms. Staff were all brilliant, especially Gay at Breakfast, Mandy and the Manager (sorry no name). Only negatives.: no drawer storage in room. Used sofa to lay out underwear etc. As always seems to be the case - no shelving in bathroom, to store toilet/make up bags. For benefit of maintaining new carpets in good condition, a mat inside entrance doors would be a good idea. Most people are walkers and.come in with muddy shoes. Masham is a lovely wee town. Few shops and large square for parking...Honesty Box..£1. Market a disappointment...3 stalls only. Overall, a great stay. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day! We look forward to your next visit, take i will pass your comments onto the team Kind regards Kings head team
Read more
Carolyn H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for 3 nights during half term week, Masham is a beautiful little village, the hotel is situated right on the market square which was ideal for parking and there were some lovely small shops and other drinking establishments just across the square, The river is approximately 10 mins walk away too. Stayed in one of the court yard rooms, which was lovely with an excellent shower. We ate in the bar area due to having our little 'bat' dog (as Gaye liked to call him) with us, it was absolutely fine, and Elvis thought so especially as the dog treats were in there too (yum yum!) All the staff where very friendly and helpful.....well done team 'King!'
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback about your recent visit. Take care! Kind regards Kings head team
Read more
Alan C wrote a review Nov 2021
Masham, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Great pub - but poor service - don’t expect too much !!!! Too many pubs using excuses for their performance. This has been going on too long , a big company like greene king can do better than this. !!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Kings Head Hotel Masham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Alan C, your feedback is extremely disappointing, and I'd really like to speak to you to discuss it further. Please can you get in touch when you have a spare moment location-email Kind regards Kings head team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMasham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kings Head Hotel Masham
Which popular attractions are close to Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Nearby attractions include Church of St Mary the Virgin (0.09 km), Bah Humbugs Sweet Shop (0.07 km), and Joneva Specialist Confectionery and Fine Foods (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vennell's Restaurant, Old Station Cafe Bistro, and Harry's Traditional Fish and Chips.
Is Kings Head Hotel Masham located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Masham.
Are pets allowed at Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kings Head Hotel Masham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Marmion Tower (4.7 km).
Is Kings Head Hotel Masham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.