We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

170 reviews
Save
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (20)
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beach club”(12 reviews)
“sea facing room”(6 reviews)
“boutique hotel”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (170)Write a Review
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
74
35
17
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
74
35
17
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubsea facing roomboutique hotellong poolbottle of champagneopen planlarge balconysmall hotelbeachfront locationfloor to ceiling windowsleaving friendsseparate dressing roomlate flight homefull lengthasked howrose petalsthe general manager
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 138 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Wonderful chill out hotel with great restaurant and exciting food. Great opportunities for walks along the beach. The rooms are really well doubled glazed but even so cannot keep out the sound of the magnificent ocean so a nights sleep is not guaranteed ! Didn't...More

Thank Yvonne P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you don’t like the sound of the sea don’t stay here! Sea view room spacious and spotless with large balcony very comfortable. Indian Ocean waves fascinating and dolphin spotting a must. Staff very attentive and with a late flight home provided a late check...More

1  Thank jackieemillis
Response from CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and SpaResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guest Thank you for our wonderful review. We look foward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Christine Macvicar

Reviewed 3 January 2018

This was our second stay, perfect for a few nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. Personal, convenient location for Durban but peaceful by the beach and local shopping at Ballitto. Super king bed, very comfortable room, beach side is great with a balcony, Loungers. It...More

Thank Barbara G
Response from CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and SpaResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Guest Thanks so much for the positive review about our rooms, staff and breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back a third time. Take care Christine Macvicar

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Extremely expensive hotel with only a few ocean view rooms. We booked over a year in advance and were stuck in a room with a parking lot view that we were told was an upgrade. We discovered what that meant when we went to the...More

1  Thank Jdhertz
Response from CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and SpaResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest As discussed with you please due to the popular demand of our Seafacing Rooms booked well over a year in advance you need to speak to your Tour Operator who booked the rooms you stayed in. We did in fact upgrade you from...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. 5th time I stayed here and this was the worst. Night club next door. Could not sleep till 3am due to music. Then the hotel had a private function Saturday and we were not accommodated for dinner and had to leave. Could not...More

Thank anotherlash
Response from CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and SpaResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Guest As discussed with you and your wife I am really sorry that you were not happy with your second stay with us after giving you a reduced rate when you booked last minute on Friday evening. We were hosting a prominent and high...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345628
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$227 - US$389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$227 - US$389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (20)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jonathan S
6 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Christine M | Property representative |
Dear Guest Staying with us a night does not give you the right to judge me or the hotel or my staff. Kind regards Christine Macvicar
0
Votes
happycamper789
5 July 2015|
Answer
Response from CanelandsBeachClub | Property representative |
Dear Guest I unfortunately do not have interleading rooms but we can accommodate little children on mattresses in your room. We only charge children under 12 50% for breakfast Take care Christine
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Sea facing room"
Read review
"Beach facing"
Read review
"top left suite!"
Read review
"Sea-facing rooms are the BEST!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing