We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Save
Share
2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Traveluro
ZenHotels.com
US$251
View deal
eDreams
Priceline
getaroom.com
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (132)
Pool & Beach (32)
Room & Suite (18)

About

#1 of 2 in Salt Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This Jewel of the North Coast is located in Salt Rock on the North Coast Of KwaZulu-Natal, this 4 star luxury boutique hotel has an Exceptional positon only 100 metres away from the beach which has direct access. Sip a cocktail in our 25m lap outdoor swimming pool parallel to the beach while watching the dolphins and wales playing in the surf. Our Western and Thai Asian infused Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can have a meal or a barbeque overlooking the ocean. Canelands Beach Club and Spa is 25 minutes away from King Shaka International Airport and is on the doorstep of all the major golf courses.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
235Reviews4Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 66
  • 27
  • 14
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carl M wrote a review 24 Jun
4 contributions
We were lucky enough to find ourselves staying here at the Canelands Beach Club, while traveling around S. Africa. I use the word 'lucky', as we weren't even supposed to be staying here at all and only ended up in this area as we needed a PCR test for our onward travel to Zanzibar. Well, we couldn't have been more happy with our stay, it really is a lovely hotel, right on an amazing beach, but what separated this from the rest was easily the hospitality, helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Oh, and the breakfast was by FAR the best we had on our entire month-long honeymoon also. If you're considering staying here at the Canelands, don't hesitate, you won't be let down. To all the staff, Wendy, Nk, and everyone else who made our stop-over so pleasant, thank you again. Hope you're back up and fully running again after all the storm damage! Maybe we'll see you again someday. Best from Ireland, Carl & Laura :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Great views of the beach in the 2nd floor rooms facing the ocean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
JF_Leandri wrote a review May 2022
Puteaux, France108 contributions33 helpful votes
This is a nice hotel right on the beach. We had a a suite which was massive with tons of cabinets and a beautiful view. The hotel could do with a bit more upkeep and attention to details, especially for a place that aims for luxury. Note that only suites have an ocean view, other rooms not sure, but probably no view as such. Parking is small so you might end up parking outside. Restaurant is OK but not great.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Mike wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Had an great stay where the accommodation and customer service was excellent. Beautiful view from our room and service was great. There had been a small issue with our booking but when I contacted the hotel they went above and beyond to address the issue and I have to especially thank Wendy who was superb and made sure we had an excellent stay. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
DotcomLondon wrote a review Feb 2022
London45 contributions10 helpful votes
We made a booking for Canelands in January 2002. A week before the trip, Canelands cancelled my booking claiming a booking.com system error and overbooking. This was not truthful, as we had confirmed dinner and other details in the 6 weeks leading up to the stay. I had also seen availability on their own system at time of booking. It turned out they accepted a wedding booking for the full establishment and sought to eject problematic bookings. They made feeble attempts to book us in at nearby hotels which we did not accept. Eventually, 2 days before our flights, they managed to secure a resolution by booking us in at Beverly Hills in Umhlanga at industry rates.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Liesel R wrote a review Jan 2022
Kempton Park, South Africa124 contributions33 helpful votes
We stopped for a quick bite but stayed as the environment and service especially from Mimi was so amazing , the cocktails and food was to die for and a swim in their stunning pool overlooking the ocean and hearing the breaking waves. This is paradise. Thank you Mimi for making us feel so welcome , we will be back soon. Loved it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jeanne P wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Canelands Beach Club and Spa is a 10 room gem in the heart of Salt Rock. This boutique hotel scores 10/10 on every front. Impeccable service, stunning views, delicious food and more. We can’t wait to return to our new favorite spot!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Macvicar, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Dear Guest Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are so pleased that we provided you with impeccable service, stunning views and fantastic food. I will print this out for all the staff to see and we look forward to your return. Take care Christine Macvicar
Read more
Pieter_Cronje wrote a review Sep 2021
Centurion, South Africa117 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
A long awaited peaceful and restful breakaway weekend turn into anything but that Positives: Friendly and accomodating staff. (They changed our booking when South Africa went into lockdown level 3 without any hesitation), Great view. Spacious room. Nice breakfast. Free parking (with some difficulty). Well trained Spa personel. Negatives: Noisy. No consideration for guests. This place is to small to host weddings and birthdays without it impeding on the restfull atmospheer guests are hoping for. No WiFi in the room 4 tv channels of poor quality. A huge lack of maitenance. The place is becomming dated and is in serious need of an overall fix. Lock, doors, lights, paint etc etc Overall, very disapointing. Wish I can have this weekend back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Find out before the time if there are any events planned. It it really very noisy and guests are...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Macvicar, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Responded 05 Oct 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for your constructive review. We are in the process of restoring all mentioned above but this unfortunately will take some time due to Covid having a impact on us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Take care
Read more
Nat2016 wrote a review Dec 2020
Durban, South Africa25 contributions4 helpful votes
Breakfast was delicious and fresh! Even homemade bread for toast. Excellent service from Suran, our waiter. Phums, the chef, created delicious meals for each of us. The view from this hotel is incredible! The hotel is literally 'on' the beach! We saw a whale out at sea and have seen dolphins surfing the waves on previous visits.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Macvicar, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Responded 25 Dec 2020
Dear Guest We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday breakfast with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and we will make sure that the dolphins are here to welcome you again and that you have the brilliant service and delicious meals you had. Take care Christine Macvicar
Read more
G I wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
We arranged a birthday brunch at Canelands. Such a beautiful setting overlooking the beach across a sparkling pool. Our meals were delicious with excellent service from Suran. He went the extra mile to make the occasion special.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Macvicar, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Responded 24 Dec 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for the amazing review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday brunch at Canelands and that the food was delicious with excellent service for Suren. We look forward to welcoming you back. Take care Christine Macvicar
Read more
Mostert585 wrote a review Nov 2020
Pretoria, South Africa63 contributions14 helpful votes
We didn't stay in the hotel, but visited the restaurant at the pool deck only. We arrived too late for breakfast and too early for lunch. The friendly staff nevertheless accommodated us since the restaurant was empty - we could order breakfast. The food was good, but standard fare. We expected a little more from such an exquisite venue. The view is magnificent and the ambience had a classy yet outdoors touch to it. The prices are reasonable and offer good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Macvicar, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your constructive response. We have lost a lot of business due to Covid therefore have protocols in place and all our inhouse guests had left for the beach. We normally would only accommodate breakfast up to 11h00 and are already prepping for lunch and dinner and therefore due to the uncertain times we are living in at the moment with the hospitality industry taking a bad knock we accommodated you for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back. Take care Christine Macvicar
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
canelands beach club hotel salt rock
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalSalt Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Granny's Pool (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Siggi's German Restaurant & Pub, Ray's Kitchen, and Pangeli Poke Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Canelands Beach Club and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Salt Rock.
Are pets allowed at Canelands Beach Club and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Canelands Beach Club and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.