Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon

Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon

Traveller (8900)
Panorama at the Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
360
Panoramas (20)
Water Bungalow
Room & Suite (905)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Ellaidhoo Island
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Dive into blue waters hiding shipwrecks and mysteries, explore an exclusive house reef a few steps away from your room, discover glass-clear shallows with coral kingdoms, indulge in sand bank picnics and Balinese spa experiences, or simply watch the ocean collide with sunset at the bar. Whether you seek an unforgettable dive holiday or a romantic island escape, your untold story is about to begin at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Squash
Tennis court
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hindi, Indonesian and 3 more

Location

Ellaidhoo Island 20252
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Male Intl Airport
67.6 km
See all flights
Villa Intl Airport
60.9 km
See all flights
4,114Reviews686Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,975
  • 781
  • 204
  • 86
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mint61 wrote a review Jan 2020
Taunton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely week here, the food is wonderful, there was plenty to choose from and hand Hygiene so you are not going to become ill. They even had Marmite!

The staff are excellent and they worked extremely hard to make everything really nice for us.

Our Beach bungalow which was very comfortable and everything you could really hope for.

The transfer is about 1 and a half hours by boat . The last boat leaves the island at 3.00pm. So take care when booking your flights Male is not worth seeing and the airport is terrible and very expensive.

The hotel has a large shallow pool which is spotlessly clean and there are towels provided although not many sun loungers and there is not much shade. the sun is very strong and you will burn in about 15 minutes so be careful and use high factor sun screen.

For a high end hotel the drinks are disappointing the local spirits are really cheap and not very nice. The beer is very good and the wine is ok.

The sea life is outstanding and the main reason we choose this place . You will see turtles, sharks, rays, octopus and all manner of fish. Take mask and fins. They are about 50 dollars in the shop. The current can be strong and there are no life guards. Life jackets in the rooms

My feedback to the hotel is that is using too much plastic. We had 10 or more water bottles per day. Tiny shampoos etc. There must be a mountain of plastic being used. Need to do something with the badminton, volleyball and football pick all look a little unloved.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. We thank you for choosing Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon as your holiday destination. Our deepest gratitude for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind words to all our cinnamon ambassadors. Rest assured, your compliments will be shared among the entire team. Furthermore, we appreciate your feedback on areas you felt could use improvement . Your comments are noted and will certainly be taken on board, as we continuously strive hard to manage the use of plastic in the island. Till we meet again, we wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wander561892 wrote a review Mar 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first time to the Maldives and it certainly surpassed all expectations.
A beautiful island. We loved that it was small and not too busy. We all snorkeled and being not all strong swimmers didn't matter if you stayed inside the defence wall. A truly relaxing holiday just what we needed.
We stayed in a beach bungalow. It was magic to step straight out onto the sand and crystal clear waters.
The beach bungalows were amazing and we loved the outside bathrooms. They were cleaned every day and rooms were turned and beach towels replaced every evening. All toiletries were included and restocked as needed including toothbrush n toothpaste and shaving items.
The whole island was well kept and fumigated each evening against mosquitoes.
The food fantastic with plenty of variety and choice so always something for everyone. We did upgrade to premium all inclusive which gave us a wider range of drinks, cocktails etc.
The thing that made the holiday extra special was the staff. They could not do enough for you. They remembered your drinks and had them waiting. They wouldn't let you lift a finger the whole stay.
While we were there my partner and children had schemes with the staff and arranged the most romantic beach proposal. The staff set it all up (see pic) ready for sunset. I did have some names but unfortunately have lost them and would hate to get them wrong but a really special thank you to the Elliadhoo staff you made our time there even more wonderful.
Oh and we loved the speedboat transfer especially as we left during sunrise and saw dolphins.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. We want to express how wonderful it was to welcome you in our charming island. It is of great delight to hear that we have exceeded your expectation. Your feedback and warm words of appreciation is more than enough for us, to be reminded to continuously strive hard for excellence. Rest assured that your compliments will be shared among the entire team. We look forward to sharing more wonderful memories with you on your next holiday to the Maldives. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomadic_Giraffe wrote a review Jan 2021
Shropshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from this amazing, relaxing, welcoming and truly wonderful island resort. Having to cancel a pre planned trip to Gambia we found this last minute holiday available through TUI so booked a couple of weeks before departing so we could celebrate NYE. From the moment we landed, everything was faultless and well organised. On arriving to the island we were met by friendly and happy staff, offered juice and warm towels and in relation to Covid, had our temperature taken along with the sanitisation of our luggage and informed we could remove our face masks if we wished. I felt extremely comfortable and safe with all precautions being taken. (Temps taken daily, sanitisation regime is excellent, gloves mandatory in the dining areas and by the end of the holiday masks were too )
Our room was fabulous, we booked a beach bungalow (336) with a perfect view of the sea, a good sized terrace for sitting out and a private sandy area for our sun loungers. What is nice is that the bungalows are not situated too close together so you have privacy when relaxing on the terrace. Rooms were spacious, modern and extremely clean, loved the outside bathrooms too, our house keeper worked very hard and cleaned to a very high standard consistently and was thoughtful in that he kept us topped up with coffee and milk so we never ran out as we like our coffee, it was this attention to detail that makes all the difference - just a shame we didn’t catch his name as he is definitely worth mentioning.
Staff are amazing, far too many to personally mention but they all work very hard and nothing is too much trouble, they are happy, friendly and genuinely care about us having a good time, the hotel manager, food and beverage manager and customer relations staff always made an effort to speak with us which is a great touch.
We booked all inclusive for food and drink and were pretty impressed, food was amazing, great and wide selection of absolutely everything, the favourites for us were the curries and Indian breads - this chef was awesome, again never caught his name but his food was some of the best we’ve had, fresh, tasty and flavoursome and had us wanting to go back for more! I also loved the salad bar and the soups, really delicious. A really special touch was being presented a gorgeous chocolate cake for our anniversary- it was superb! As for drinks, completely faultless, plenty of selection and a good variety of cocktails, all well made, alcoholic and tasty so we drank many and enjoyed them in both of the bars.
Overall this was a relaxing chilled out holiday where for 10 days we did little or nothing, we didn’t dive or snorkel we just immersed ourselves in the beautiful surroundings, taking barefooted walks in the gorgeous sunshine, listening to waves crashing, palms swaying and nothing else, for us this really was paradise found and everyone at the Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon played their part to make this happen for us and for that we thankyou!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Team, Other at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 17 Jan 2021
Dear Helen, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. We thank you for choosing Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon as your holiday destination. It brings us great happiness to know that you enjoyed an exceptional holiday here. Your kind words will certainly be shared among the entire team and thank you for considering us, as a paradise found. It has been a great pleasure serving you and we look forward to be of service to you again. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah W wrote a review Aug 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my daughter visited Ellaidhoo by cinnamon, from the very start we was greeted by the whole island, every single person was so kind caring smiley and thoughtful, we were treated like queens the whole time we were there, loved chatting to everyone , the diving centre are just superb at what they do we really loved snorkelling diving and canoeing, all the guys were so lovely. And they are with you every step of the way, specially as I got slightly scared! The kitchen staff are the funniest and always remembered what your favourite is, and the chef is outstanding at what he does such perfection with every single meal! The food was unreal!! Our beach bungalow was perfectly clean so a high standard, everybody was just so happy to see us everyday, and the manager is a angel, we burnt pretty bad and without his suggestion of the pure aloe Vera plant he had some given to us! Such a friendly and sweet man, my daughter had a birthday out there they made a cake and sang to her it was just utterly lovely if every one of them, the two sweet ladies in the spa, the treatments are really something the ladies are so professional and have the most calming voices. Not forgetting chalani peiris and a sweet other lady whom name escapes me where so so helpful and incredibly sweet, we miss everyone so much, the whole island is just stunning I will be back as soon as possible!!
Every person always kept social distancing and protective masks we felt ever so safe, everything was being cleaned constantly, most relaxing holiday we have ever had the pleasure of having. Xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Team, Other at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear Sarah, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience and review, "Most wonderful island on Earth!" on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. Upon reading your fantastic 5* review of the hotel, we are delighted to hear all the wonderful experiences you had during your stay. We thank you for choosing Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon as your holiday destination and it has been our privilege to serve you in every possible way that we can. The entire team thanks you for your kind words of appreciation. We would definitely be thrilled to welcome you again for more fantastic memories of a lifetime. We wish you good luck & all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judd 46 wrote a review Jan 2020
Barnsley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a week here all inclusive with TUI for my wife’s 50th birthday, we flew with ethiad from Manchester at 8.20pm to Abu Dhabi, we then flew to Male landing at 2pm the following afternoon, the next transfer to the island was by speedboat with a 3 hour wait which was disappointing after the 2 flights, you can pay for a sea plane and I would consider this next time. The boat took 1 1/2 hours which meant we arrived on the island at 6.30pm.....it’s a long time travelling ! From home to hotel 24 hours !
On arrival we were given a warm welcome and soon forgot about such a long journey.
The island is very traditional and if you like snorkelling it is one of the best places I have ever been, there are large sea defense walls all around which are unsightly but they are to protect the island and it’s fantastic reef. Snorkelling outside the walls is fantastic but you have to be careful with the sometimes strong currents. All the staff are fantastic, with our all inclusive package we stayed in a garden view room which was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was outside and again spotless. The drinks include a draught lager called Lion, local spirits and choice of wines al of which were very good, our food was served in the central restaurant and had plenty of choice from the buffet style, you do have to use the same table each sitting which did seem a bit strange and canteen style.
There are quite a few excursions to pick from and we took the night fishing for two hours which was fantastic.
To sum this up it’s a fantastic place and I am so glad we picked this lovely place to stay and as I said it’s a long way but just remember you are on a small island in the Indian Ocean with great white sand beaches, good food, spotless accommodation, the best Spa and massage centre, it really is a different kind of holiday to the norm but the Maldives is one to tick off the bucket list.
So thank you Ellaidhoo for an amazing time and making my wife’s birthday one we will never forget !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The water bungalows are excellent as are the beach view bungalows.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences here on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. We thank you for your recommendation. Review as such, is very important to us. With this in mind, we know that we are on the right track to ensure guest satisfaction during their stay. It has been a joy to be a part of your wife's birthday celebration. We hope to see you again on your next visit. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
horejah n wrote a review Oct 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my best friend spent a week at Ellaidhoo and from the moment we stepped onto the island to the moment we left we was soo looked after. It felt very safe on arrival all our luggage was sprayed our temperature was taken which gave me piece of mind in the current climate. At check in they have drinks waiting for you and the whole process was very easy, they even gave us a personalised water flask to use during our stay. We were then taken to our room and on the way they gave us a tour of the island which was very helpful.
We had a beach bungalow which I think was perfect the beach and sea on your doorstep. The rooms were cleaned everyday and on my best friends birthday they decorated her bed which was lovely and also on our departure our room was decorated this was such a lovely and personal touch.
The facilities at this resort were all amazing from the diving centre which gave us a beginners lesson into diving to the spa. We had a 60min Balinese massage which was absolutely amazing and definitely a must if you visit this island.
Let’s move onto the food, I am a very fussy Eater and I don’t really like fish however I found myself eating more fish than I probably ever have. The food at this resort was absolutely amazing and I have no complaints whatsoever. Compliments to the chefs and restaurant staff who do really look after you!
The excursions are limited at the moment due to COVID however we did the ones available which were fishing and dolphin safari. I have never been fishing and wasn’t really interested but after our first excursion I fell in love with fishing and we booked another fishing trip, this was again due to the staff and how fun and helpful they made it.
The sunset cruise was again just beautiful and we were soo looked after again with cocktails and a pick nick which we didn’t expect.
I wish I could add more photos to show how amazing this place is, but it would only let me select 10.
A special shout out to our pool guy Kamal who also looked after us soo well we had flowers and decorations on our sun beds for when we wanted to use it.
And a very big thank you to all the staff apologies I didn’t get everyone’s names but every single one of you made this a trip of a lifetime.

I could go on and on About how amazing this trip was I would highly recommend visiting Ellaidhoo and I for one cannot wait to book this holiday again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Team, Other at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 03 Oct 2020
Dear Horejah, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience and review, "The Perfect Holiday!" on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. Wow! we felt elated to hear that we have exceeded your expectation. Feedback as yours, is a great indication that we are on the right track in providing quality service to all our valued customers. Your compliments to our cinnamon ambassadors are highly appreciated. Rest assured that your warm words of appreciation shall be shared among the entire team. We look forward to sharing more wonderful memories with you on your next holiday to the Maldives. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason - Kevin wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a completely perfect holiday in a fantastic, well run and covid safe hotel.
All the staff in the hotel are friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough to make your holiday special. We want to mention Reeshan and Shaffiu especially who worked so hard. Reeshan looked after our room exceptionally well, it was sanitised and cleaned every day with fresh beach towels whenever we wanted them. Shaffiu was our waiter in the dining room and we got to know him well during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for him and made sure all our food and drinks needs were met. He gave us a great insight into the Maldivian way of life too. Keep up with the guitar and singing Shafiu - we will look out for you on "Maldives Has Got Talent". Thanks so much to Toriq who helped Reesahm, to Marlon the GMr, Russell the F&B Manager and Adrienne who made sure we were able to get a Covid test without any problems. We felt really Covid safe with temperature checks every day and masks/gloves round the buffet. The food in the restaurant is great - plenty of variety and fresh with 5 cooks cooking stir fries, pasta, making up salads to your own specification and fresh naan breads etc. Perfect. The beach on the island is paradise with sun beds dotted around to use. The coral reef is just seconds from your sunbed and the snorkelling is exceptional. Millions of tropical fish, rays, sharks and colourful coral all around you in warm, clear sea. All in all a perfect, paradise holiday. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Team, Other at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Dear Jason & Kevin, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We appreciate you for sharing your experiences here on Trip Advisor based on your recent visit. Wow! We could not contain our happiness reading your heartfelt & genuine 5* review. To ensure guest satisfaction during their stay, we do our absolute best to exceed their expectation and fulfill each and every guest request. Our deepest gratitude for acknowledging our cinnamon ambassadors whom you have met along the way. Your compliments will certainly keep them motivated and inspire them to continuously strive for excellence. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vineet Umaria wrote a review Mar 2020
Mumbai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this place for our honeymoon back in 2017. Here goes:

The Property: Very hospitable and polite staff, we chose to take up the beachfront facing room (Room: 301). The cottage was exquisite and huge, specially loved the outdoor bath. The room opened straight to the ocean and had one the perfect views for sunsets. Right next to our room was the snorkelling booking place which was very helpful as we could just get out our room on the beach and pick up snorkelling equipment and dive in to the ocean. The property also has a very decent pool right by the bar which was perfect for basking in the sun and sip on some beverages before lunch while dipping into the pool. The restaurant was also very closely located to our rooms wherein they booked us a permanent table.

Staff: As mentioned, the staff is extremely hospitable and friendly. Specially the chefs at the restaurant. Since my wife is fully vegetarian, the chef offered to making exclusive vegetarian meals for her (for brekky, lunch and dinner). They even made egg less desserts for her, which we thought was great service. The bar staff is also extremely friendly and chatty.

All in all, this is a great place if you're looking for a romantic getaway, or even just some time away with your loved one where one can just layabout for a few days and rejuvenate with a slightly higher budget.

Tip: Take the sea plane instead of the speed boat from Male airport to the island if you want a bit more of an adventure, it will cost a bit more but will be worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear Vineet, A fantastic day from the sunny side of life! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience and review, "Tranquillity for Couples" on Trip Advisor. We are honored that you have chosen Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon as your honeymoon destination and thank you for recommending the hotel and its services. Our hearts are filled with utmost gratitude for your warm words of appreciation among the staff whom you have met along the way. It has been a great pleasure serving you and we look forward to be of service to you again. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank wrote a review Feb 2020
Stamford, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon is a large resort on a small island in the the North Ari Atoll. The island is completely occupied by the resort. I choose this resort because it is reputed to have the best “house reef” in the Maldives. My wife and I love to snorkel in coral reefs and this reef is truly spectacular. While in the water we were constantly surrounded by beautiful, colorful fish. And because the Maldives take such good care of their reefs, the fish grow to larger sizes than in most other reefs around the world. The Ellaidhoo appeals to serious divers. They rent all the necessary equipment and also offer classes for beginners. You can dive right off the beach into a deep wall dive. They also offer many excursions by boat to spectacular nearby dive sites. Even though I am a certified open-water diver I was completely satisfied snorkeling with my wife. In addition to seeing many gorgeous and rare species of coral fish we saw sharks, rays, turtles, and eels.

We had a large unit right on the beach. The reef completely surrounds the island so everyone staying there can walk out their door onto the reef, put in their fins, mask, and snorkel, and be swimming along the reef in two minutes. Some of the units are set back behind the beachfront bungalows so they will not see the sun set over the water and will need three minutes to be swimming in the sea. Those are available at a lower cost. There are also over-the-water bungalows, with a higher price tag of course.

The food was okay, but nothing special for a resort. I suppose it is challenging to get any kind of quality and variety of food on such a small, very remote island. If you are willing to spend more money there are more luxurious resorts in the Maldives. However, for us the Ellaidhoo was already a splurge, but worth it. We certainly enjoyed ourselves and recommend it for those who love to dive or snorkel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a Bunagalow with a view of the sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Frank, Warm Greetings from Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon! Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We are honoured to receive such level of recommendation. We are overwhelmed to know that you mesmerized with the House reef’s beauty. It has been a great pleasure serving you and we look forward to being of service to you again. We wish you good luck and all the very best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
majubu wrote a review Jan 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd visit to Ellaidhoo the 1st being in May 2013 when my review was titled OMG so I would like to think I know what I'm writing about. This Island is paradise no more and we will never return. We were told by reception on our arrival that we were being giving a lovely room 215 due to this being our 3rd visit. This was not so, our room was very tired with plaster falling off the walls, stains on the floor and a toilet that was broken. The broken toilet was sorted along with the shower head that was also broken, our room not the island had numerous power cuts in the two weeks we were there and the kettle also had to be replaced. The room next door to ours was being refurbished and the island was not full so why put return guest in a room that was not acceptable or fit for purpose. We paid a lot of money over £6,000. On a positive note our room boy was 1st class and nothing was too much trouble for him in fact we became good friends his name was Shiadh Ahmed and he is a credit to the Island.
In the dinning room we were given a table that was ours for the duration of our holiday it was at the front of the dinning room near the food stations which was not a problem for us. The issue we had was our waiter whose name I can't remember every meal time he either forgot our drinks or they arrived after we had finished our meal. When we go on holiday we like to get to know the people who are looking after us and have a chat, this was not the case he was very aloof and not welcoming. On the days he was not working and we had a different waiter our experience in the dinning room was very different and it was a pleasure to go and eat.
The bar staff in my opinion are more interested in serving the senior staff rather than the paying customer which to my way of thinking is very wrong. It was much easier to get your own drink from the bar than wait to be served. On 1 particular occasion we sat down after our evening meal having a chat when I realised I had left something in the room so went to get it which took approx.10 mins my husband still had not been served by the time I returned. This is not the island we visited in 2013 or 2017.
It rained a awful lot will we were there the worst December on record. All the cushions for the chairs were left outside to get soaking wet so there was never any where to sit to have a drink after your meal. Why is it so hard to remove them? It would also save the island a lot of money in the long run and the cushions would not have to be replaced as often.

In conclusion this Island is more about money making than taking care of its guest who have paid a lot of money to get there. We will not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellaidhoo_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review following your stay and for your continuous patronage to the brand. We are truly saddened to have read your review. We regret to know that you were disappointed with your stay. Please accept our humble apology for all the inconveniences that you have experience whilst your stay. However, assistance to enhance your stay offered for room change but was refused by you. Furthermore, please note that your feedback is greatly appreciated. Feedback such as yours can help us identify which areas we need to improve and focus on. In order to enhance guest experience during their stay, your comments pertaining to our service lapses are noted and will certainly be taken on board as areas of improvement. Should your return to the Maldives, we wish you a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Maldives😍🏝
Brighton, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, either 412 or 413 as the sun sets right in the middle of them. Best place is in the pool though. Enjoy
Answer from Maldives😍🏝
Brighton, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes to both questions
Answer from Gerald S
Reading, United Kingdom7 contributions
Ellaidhoo is a small island I will agree, however, the side of the island where it is best to snorkel has a varied amount of sea life, as I said in my post we were there for 9 nights but I never got tired of looking at the fish between the barrier and the reef drop off. Enjoy, we did!
Yoyo Y wrote a tip 21 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"🥰🥰🥰🥰We love this place too much👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻, we have a nice vacation here, nice lunch and nice dinner, nice view from our water bunglow"
Read full review
DocHoliday222 wrote a tip 20 Jun
Cheltenham, United Kingdom60 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of the different types of ‘all inclusive’ Things are VERY expensive if not AI - a bounty bar costs £5 for example."
Read full review
Victor K wrote a tip 19 Jun
Hong Kong, China570 contributions171 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a Sunset facing water villa"
Read full review
Mark P wrote a tip 15 Jun
Halifax, United Kingdom19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This place is elegant and relaxed- no need to pack loads of shoes as the whole island is sand and decking so barefoot and relaxed is the way"
Read full review
M1ghtyM1tch wrote a tip 12 Jun
London, United Kingdom60 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"June is fantastic value. We did water bungalow with AI and thought it was great value. Definitely go diving - very professional and an incredible experience."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ellaidhoo Island area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,315 - R 11,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chaaya reef ellaidhoo hotel north ari atoll, chaaya reef ellaidhoo resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollNorth Ari AtollEllaidhoo Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELLAIDHOO MALDIVES BY CINNAMON - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Ellaidhoo Island)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
What are some of the property amenities at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jahaz, Jing, and Malamathi Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon have airport transportation?
Yes, Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Ellaidhoo Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Tamil, Sinhala, and Nepali.
Does Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire