We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Maclear EcoLodge

Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (4)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the beautiful shores of Lake Malawi National Park, Cape Maclear EcoLodge is the only fully Malawian run and operated lodge. Come visit us, to kayak, dive with our professional diving team, snorkel, have nice boatrides on the lake or stay in one of our lovely rooms. Our green and lush garden is a very relaxing place and our staff always welcomes you with a smile!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Lilongwe Intl Airport116 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
43Reviews
117Photos
1Q+A
4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 15
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cape Maclear is very nice, but we wouldn't recommend this place to enjoy it. It could absolutely be nice with more care. Our room was awful. Right next to the kitchen and very loud. Staff sit directly outside the window (which has to be open as no A/C) talking loudly,to the
Read more
+6
I had a great first lake water dive with Eco. Mahaer was so lovely. An incredible person to introduce me back into diving after a year. He was so friendly and helpful. I had a few moment underwater, problems with my weights and BC as I forgot what to do and he stayed with me to
Read more
Stayed here with a school group working on volunteering projects for a week and we had a campsite set up at the back of the lodge. We had a great stay! The views of the lake are gorgeous and early morning with a coffee and lake view were a treat. The food was great and
Read more
We stayed here for one night only and was really disappointed. The rooms and bathrooms were tiny, bed linen smelt like it had been washed in the lake! The food was very basic and not particularly cooked well either. Bar was not stocked well, they could not even offer a tonic
Read more
Response from Ecolodge_Team, Manager at Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Responded 13 Feb 2018
Dear Mrs Jones, Thank you for your review. We regret you didn’t like our place. Malawi has serious electricity supply problems. We were running the generator for several hours to offer you power. Because of a technical problem we didn’t have electricity for one hour. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Food is in general very basic in Malawi, but our menu is one of the most diverse ones in Cape Maclear and people normally like our food, but we understand not everyone will like it. The price for a room with air conditioning in Cape Maclear is around a 50% cheaper than any other place. We are always trying to improve and will keep working to offer better services in the future. We are sorry for not having fullfill your expectations and will work to improve for the future.
Read more
If you so stay here, ask for rooms 1-5. My room had no view. Staff was pleasant and food was very good. Seems to be managed very well. Beds are comfortable... no electricity, and will not take small bills or credit cards. No electricity for most of stay.
Read more
Response from Ecolodge_Team, Manager at Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Responded 16 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the electricity problems. We depend on the local electrical company and is not very reliable. We normally accept small bills and credit cards.
Read more
Previous
1234568
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
uitzicht van ons terras, op een aap die de afvalbak had gevonden.....
uitzicht tijdens de hike met gids
PreviousNext
1234
"Some rooms face the Lake, ground and first floor, others near restaurant in main block. Renovating one building at present (October 2017)"
"First floor rooms have the best view"
"Some have better views than others. The new building that is under construction will probably have great views especially on the top floor."
"Get a room on the front. The views are really nice! And go dive at Baker's oven or the shipwreck. Adventure guaranteed!"
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalawiLake Malawi National ParkCape Maclear
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing