We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Maclear EcoLodge

Save
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good35%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
18
13
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
18
13
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba shackbeautiful place to staynice foodrooms are basicinstructordivechillprojectcharityactivitiesparadiselodgelakemalawifansnorkeling
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only and was really disappointed. The rooms and bathrooms were tiny, bed linen smelt like it had been washed in the lake! The food was very basic and not particularly cooked well either. Bar was not stocked well, they...More

Thank MrsJones2016
Response from Ecolodge_Team, Manager at Cape Maclear EcoLodgeResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Mrs Jones, Thank you for your review. We regret you didn’t like our place. Malawi has serious electricity supply problems. We were running the generator for several hours to offer you power. Because of a technical problem we didn’t have electricity for one hour....More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

If you so stay here, ask for rooms 1-5. My room had no view. Staff was pleasant and food was very good. Seems to be managed very well. Beds are comfortable... no electricity, and will not take small bills or credit cards. No electricity for...More

Thank maltravel
Response from Ecolodge_Team, Manager at Cape Maclear EcoLodgeResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry about the electricity problems. We depend on the local electrical company and is not very reliable. We normally accept small bills and credit cards.

Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is certainly not a shack but a beautiful place to stay even if you don't dive! Welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Nice food and good value. Beautiful surroundings on the edge of the Lake. Ideal for lazy people like me and those who dived...More

Thank William T
Response from Ecolodge_Team, Manager at Cape Maclear EcoLodgeResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found Cape Maclear as charming as it was in the 80s.

Reviewed 5 September 2017

I like to support this lodge because it's linked to an environmental project that seems (based on a 5 minute tour) to be doing good work - volunteers/staff at the eco garden over the road were really enthusiastic. It's also quieter than some other Cape...More

1  Thank rarereviewer2015
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My partner and I stayed and dove with these guys for a week. No regrets. Dave was very accommodating and we felt at home. He gave us the best price in Cape Maclear for our dive package. He is also a great guide and diver....More

Thank Carolyn R
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cape Maclear EcoLodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Some rooms face the Lake, ground and first floor, others near restaurant in main block. Renovating one..."
Read review
"First floor rooms have the best view"
Read review
"Some have better views than others. The new building that is under construction will probably have great..."
Read review
"Get a room on the front. The views are really nice! And go dive at Baker's oven or the shipwreck..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing