We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thumbi View Lodge

Save
Traveller (123)
Pool & Beach (18)
Room & Suite (17)
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“thumbi island”(16 reviews)
“fire pit”(3 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (158)Write a Review
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
112
35
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
112
35
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthumbi islandrest and relaxationfire pitfelt like homemain villagepizza nightshower curtainlovely place to staythe location is perfectfriendly ownersdive centrefish braairent kayaksreasonable ratesfantastic foodswimming poolcomfortable rooms
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay at Thumbi View but stopped in for drinks after a lazy walk on the beach. Bartenders are very friendly and it's easy to while the hours away people watching on the outside couches. There is a pool, firepit and many options for...More

Thank Madame_Trey
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Thumbi View Lodge is the best place to stay at Cape Maclear. We stayed here a couple of weekends in October and November, and we can definitely say that it felt like home. Noleen and Chris are very hospitable and friendly, they will make sure...More

Thank KarlijnvD
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. Friendly staff and owners. Great value for money accomodation and food/drinks. This accomodation is quite budget with quite small rooms and the power in Malawi is on and off constantly so we didn't always have a fan etc. (Although...More

Thank Cherrypoppie
Response from Travelfirst1, Owner at Thumbi View LodgeResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you kindly for the review We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we have finished the solar installation in the front section and where your room is we now have lights and fans even when there is no power. The rest of the...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Clean lakeside view room and I had a very powerful shower with reliable warm water and good mosquito nets to keep you protected. The power for me wasn't an issue other than it preventing the fan at night as it was very hot! I really...More

Thank charliedd2017
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I booked via their own online booking site instead of booking.com, which would definitely have been the better choice, since when I arrived they told me, that they only have a private room for that night and are booked out for the rest. My booking...More

Thank Julia S
Response from Travelfirst1, Owner at Thumbi View LodgeResponded 30 October 2017

Hello and thank you for the review, we deeply regret that you felt so let down. However there is also a different side to what happened. We never told you that we received your booking too late. I receiving your booking REQUEST right after you...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345631
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$11 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$11 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (123)
Pool & Beach (18)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MandyBruckner
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Travelfirst1 | Property representative |
Hello. Yes there are steps everywhere. Not hundreds but at least 3 to all rooms, restaurant as well as the bar. Transfers are 130$ one way and en-suite rooms are 55$ with breakfast included. Please email me should you... More
0
Votes
SabrinaCanada
25 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Travelfirst1 | Property representative |
Hi. Yes you can easily. We do have space, do you have our email address? Let me know if you want a room or dorm. Thank you
0
Votes
lusich
16 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Travelfirst1 | Property representative |
Hello. Yes we have space.
2
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"ask for a lake side room, beautiful room and quiet , best choice"
Read review
"Try to get the seaside, other rooms are behind if you want to see to lake"
Read review
"Do not book the rooms in the back, outside the compound with no views or hot water."
Read review
"After a humanitarian project in the rural areas around Malawi this could be the best place to wind down and..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing