We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mgoza Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mgoza Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Mgoza Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

6 of us stayed in the cottage which had 2 bunks and 2 single beds. Very comfy and beautiful setting with a friendly welcome. The kitchen at the lodge serves all meals. We recommend the French bread for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattshort93
Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a return visit for me - my first being in 1998 when I paid 50p for a very basic room. :) The room was large and comfortable. The bed was massive with nice sheets and a large, intact mosquito net. The food was not as good as we expected given the rave reviews but we were perhaps spoilt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth22
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We spent 3 days and 2 nights in the family room at Mgoza lodge. The lodge is situated right on the Lake shore has a beautiful garden and swimming pool. The family room is actually 2 adjoining chalets - each with it's own en suite bathroom (the children's chalet has a bath/shower and adults have just a shower). Bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColleenSholto
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Although the staff are very friendly and the view is out of this world, my experience was one of disappointment. I booked in advance as I was travelling alone and have never been there before. As I arrived I was given a choice of three rooms I can stay in as it was off-peak season. On the day I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maresa K
Alan J, Owner at Mgoza Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Maresa I very rarely respond to reviews however in your case I feel compelled to reply as your claims of being overcharged are completely inaccurate and make no sense at all. First I happy to see you enjoyed the food and thought highly of our team.all our rooms are different which is why you were offered the choice of...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Mgoza Lodge is the nicest place along the beach in Cape Maclear; the food is very good and the lawn in front of the chalets is a nice place to relax. The rooms are great with the biggest beds!! And lovely big fluffy towels, warm showers and solar lights in case of a power cut.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0nkeygrrl
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mgoza for two nights out of our six night stay in Cape Maclear and I wish we had stayed there the whole time! The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. Staff are friendly and eager to help with anything. Alan is an excellent manager and makes a real effort to speak to his customers and answer any questions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank its_caitie
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Mgoza Lodge is located right on the lake in the heart of Cape Maclear. It has a great selection of rooms, all of which are at a wonderful price point for what you get. The staff is extremely friendly and the way the contracts are set up, you won't get numerous vendors trying to sell you stuff. However, they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my brother and sister whilst we did out advanced and rescue scuba diving courses. It's a brilliant wee lodge! Brilliant location, Brilliant food and Brilliant staff. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamieMelrose
leeds
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The lodge is situated directly on the sandy beach front of Lake Malawi. It is easily the most attractive lodge on this part of the lake with thatched roof cottages facing lawned gardens with shady trees and a small pool. Our room was a cottage right at the end of the row of rooms, offering more privacy and a larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LS13
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We know Cape Maclear well from many years of travelling there. Mgoza is definitely the best reasonably priced accommodation there. The owner is extra-ordinary in his care of guests and staff alike. the staff obviously love and respect him enormously and give excellent service to all. The food is excellent and we agree that they serve probably the best burgers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.7 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
130 reviews
24.8 km away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
1.0 km away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#13 of 19 in Cape Maclear
20 reviews
0.8 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Mgoza Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mgoza Lodge is a small lodge located on the beach at Cape Maclear, the rooms are all en-suite and facing the lake. There is a large area shaded by trees in front of the rooms for you to relax and enjoy the views of the islands and the sunset.We also have a Bar and restaurant, serving a great variety of dishes from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mgoza Lodge

Address: Chembe Village Road, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Price Range: R816 - R1 039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mgoza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mgoza Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mgoza Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great family room arrangement”
ColleenSholto, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are really nice and spacious”
M1432BDbills, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant is a good option”
Felipecampbell, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best sunbathing and chill area”
776fionas, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are the nicest, though most expensive too”
  • View from A-frame huts looking to the Lake
  • The fronts of the A-frame huts facing out to the lake
dbhettle, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5