We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mgoza Lodge

Jumia TravelUS$100*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mgoza Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Mgoza Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Location: The lodge is part of a string of accommodation options that line the lake shore. but don't think resorts and beach loungers - they are all small and unobtrusive. You'll need a handle on your car to get there, as its bumpy and unpaved for the last part, but it's clearly signposted. This one has parking just before the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglishTripHead
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an African lodge, not a hotel, so things you would take for granted in a European hotel, you cannot expect to find. The rooms are clean but basic, the plumbing is mostly reliable, there are fans but no AC, the mosquito nets are in good repair and the bed we had was large and very comfortable. But we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was visiting my son in Chipata, Zambia and we were able to easily get a transfer from the mckechnie border to the location. Once there it was 100% relaxation! The food was excellent and the wait staff very courteous. The view of the lake never gets old. For those of you who want a more active day, there wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denice D
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love Cape Mclear so much that I don't want others to find it and make it too touristy. It is such a hidden gem and you can relax with the right amount of fun. Grab a boat and go out to the island where you can snorkel around and then watch the fish eagles. Take a sunset cruise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located 15m from the water line. Huts are very clean and comfortable. Huts design is fabulous. Food is good enough and maybe the best for this region. Vast grass area in front of the huts. Fronting magnetic local activities that you can watch for hours. All huts fronting the lake. Welcoming hospitality by Allen and the stuff. Boat tours you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gadi1951
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mgoza Lodge is located in Cape Maclean on the shore of Lake Malawi It is in the centre of Chembe village It has a lovely garden and the rustic huts while basic are charming The staff are extremely friendly and helpful Each morning you wake up to birdsong and the local women going to the lake to do their washing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seamus H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

6 of us stayed in the cottage which had 2 bunks and 2 single beds. Very comfy and beautiful setting with a friendly welcome. The kitchen at the lodge serves all meals. We recommend the French bread for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattshort93
Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

This was a return visit for me - my first being in 1998 when I paid 50p for a very basic room. :) The room was large and comfortable. The bed was massive with nice sheets and a large, intact mosquito net. The food was not as good as we expected given the rave reviews but we were perhaps spoilt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth22
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We spent 3 days and 2 nights in the family room at Mgoza lodge. The lodge is situated right on the Lake shore has a beautiful garden and swimming pool. The family room is actually 2 adjoining chalets - each with it's own en suite bathroom (the children's chalet has a bath/shower and adults have just a shower). Bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColleenSholto
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Although the staff are very friendly and the view is out of this world, my experience was one of disappointment. I booked in advance as I was travelling alone and have never been there before. As I arrived I was given a choice of three rooms I can stay in as it was off-peak season. On the day I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maresa K
Alan J, Owner at Mgoza Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Maresa I very rarely respond to reviews however in your case I feel compelled to reply as your claims of being overcharged are completely inaccurate and make no sense at all. First I happy to see you enjoyed the food and thought highly of our team.all our rooms are different which is why you were offered the choice of...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Maclear
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.7 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
134 reviews
24.8 km away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
Cape Maclear EcoLodge
#6 of 19 in Cape Maclear
34 reviews
1.0 km away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#12 of 19 in Cape Maclear
22 reviews
0.8 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Mgoza Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mgoza Lodge is a small lodge located on the beach at Cape Maclear, the rooms are all en-suite and facing the lake. There is a large area shaded by trees in front of the rooms for you to relax and enjoy the views of the islands and the sunset.We also have a Bar and restaurant, serving a great variety of dishes from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mgoza Lodge

Address: Chembe Village Road, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Price Range: R1 220 - R1 313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mgoza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mgoza Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mgoza Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a flashlight!”
EnglishTripHead, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“They're really simple room and not too fancy, but you won't be in them much because the view is so stunning.”
andreafM8803EV, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“It's remote and hard to get to without a car but a bus service is available motorcycle taxis can be used by those much younger than me”
  • Sunset taken from my room door
686seamush, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great family room arrangement”
ColleenSholto, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are really nice and spacious”
M1432BDbills, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$100* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates