Apollon Windmill Hotel

Apollon Windmill Hotel

Traveller (201)
Doppelzimmer mit Schlafcouch
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#24 of 56 hotels in Kos Town
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Within 1500 meters from the center of Kos town and just 200 meters from Lambi beach lays our newly renovated Hotel Apollon Windmill, 100 meters further from Apollon Hotel. Under modern construction it is consisted of 70 rooms in total, out of which, 41 are deluxe doubles and 29 are deluxe junior suites. It is located in an ideal environment, surrounded by lush greenery; the Hotel provides Reception and bar at the central building as well as an external adult and kids pool. All rooms are equipped with Satellite TV, safety box, refrigerator and air condition unit. Wifi access is provided free of charge at the lobby area and on additional charge in the rooms. Our guests are welcome to utilize the tennis and basketball courts which are located at Apollon Hotel, just a hundred meters from Windmill. Lunch & dinner are provided in the restaurant hall of Apollon Hotel. For those seeking a la carte options, our Ulivo Italian a la carte is daily available (prior reservation required).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Car hire
Baggage storage
Parking
Public wifi
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Czech and 7 more

Location

Lambi, Kos Town 85300 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Kos Airport
20.9 km
See all flights
Kalymnos Island National Airport
30.6 km
See all flights
131Reviews8Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 38
  • 11
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Megan H wrote a review Sept 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner had a lovely stay at this hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned every day and very comfortable.
Couldnt fault the food, we stayed all inclusive- brilliant choice for breakfast (cooked, continental, lots of pastries, cakes, fresh fruit and something a little different every morning)
They had pizza slices out mid morning which we enjoyed with a cocktail whilst laying around the pool. For lunch we had to walk along a pretty path to the sister hotel. Again great choice and every lunchtime offered something different, desserts were delicious.
For most teatimes they had a theme or a dish made up on the side along with the buffet selection, 1 evening they hand made Gyros which were really tasty and another night was burgers and chips. Plenty of selection if you love seafood, Tuesday evening we enjoyed crispy squid, octopus with pasta, prawns and mussels.
We definitely never went hungry!
The swimming pool was cold but refreshing on a hot day, the cleaners done a great job of washing all the sun beds down every morning and keeping the poolside spotless.

We hired bicycles for our weeks stay, they are cheap about 3 euros per day each and meant we could cycle to the main town/marina 1.8km away, which is really easy on a bike and everywhere is super flat.
The main town is really pretty with all the boats and definitely worth visiting.

Would definitely return to this hotel for a relaxing and enjoyable break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miltiadis Zoidis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Windmill Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2021
Dear Megan, Thank you very much for choosing Apollon Hotels for your vacations this season. We were glad to having you with us and hope to having you back in the near future. Kind Regards from Kos, See you soon again! Miltiadis Zoidis Hotels General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony G wrote a review Sept 2022
21 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from the appollon windmill after 5 nights all Incusiv,
here is my feedback.

It's around a 15 to 20 min walk into kos
A lot quicker by bike so a nice walk

The all inclusive is only selected drinks only including 3 cocktails, beer, fruit juice, fizzy drinks, other wise they are around 7 euros each and snacks vary from pizza to sausage rolls, and sandwiches, if you want any sandwiches making up which do not have cheese or at all different you need to ask the day before.

The hotel is split into 2, the appollon and the appollon windmill, you have breakfast at the windmill then lunch and evening meal in the appollon. Iys less than a 5 mins walk. The food is brilliant.

Breakfast the lady will make pancakes, omelette and fried eggs on top off everything else that is out. Lunch we had a few times and they're is so much to choose from the evening meal the same but a different cuisine everyday I can't have dairy or rapeseed oil and I had no issues whatsoever. You get 1 night in their Italian restaurant and when you book your evening you must choose your meal, we had a misunderstanding and didn't know bit they sorted it.....honestly the Italian night was incredible

The windmill is the much quiter hotel of the 2, very few children at all I would not recommend this for children above 1.

There is no entertainment at all, we ended up retreating to our room with Netflix on our tablets as we were exhausted from a busy day.

All In all we had 5 nights and 6 days of relaxation at the Hotel and as long as you are wanting to switch off and relax, it's a very good hotel, rooms are clean and nearly every room at the windmill is good

You can walk to the beach near the aqua blu spa for the sunset which is incredible and the beach is about 10 mins away

For what we paid we definitely got our monies worth. Also note the jet2 rep does not attend this hotel. You get picked up with jet2 from the appollon.

If you are a couple, 2 friends or just need to switch off I highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is parking for bikes and cars if you hire them Don't pay more than 5 euros for a bike for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
daria k wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Apollon Windmill is a small quiet hotel adjacent to the Apollon Hotel. If you value peace, choose this hotel, if you want entertainment and animation, choose the main part of the Apollon hotel. Breakfasts are served in the Apollon Windmill hotel, lunch and dinner in Apollon, 100-200 m away (crossing the street or the garden connecting both hotels). Breakfasts tasty, repetitive but varied, lunches, in my opinion, varied but not very tasty, but the dinner is delicious (every evening a different theme, Greek / Italian / Mexican / international / Chinese / gala dinner and regional cuisine). The hotel is situated about 4-5 minutes from the beach and about 20 minutes from the center of Kos. The hotel is clean, pleasant. what's most wonderful about this hotel is Zaneta, a very nice, smiling girl who makes the most delicious drinks and thanks to whom every evening by the pool was a wonderful end to the day
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miltiadis Zoidis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Windmill Hotel
Responded 07 Sept 2021
Dear Daria, Thank you very much for choosing Apollon Hotels for your vacations this season. We were glad to having you with us and hope to having you back in the near future. Kind Regards from Kos, See you soon again! Miltiadis Zoidis Hotels General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoshTC89 wrote a review Jul 2021
Watford, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Before I say what went wrong, the hotel is a really nice, recently refurbished building in a good setting/location. On check in we received a voucher for a days free bike hire and we really enjoyed using this to explore Kos Town. The food is at a good standard but the hotels website has many lies on it and I think it is important to highlight these. I have attached a screenshot of the facilities from their website.

Adult Pool - The main reason we booked the Apollon Windmill was we were hoping for a nice, relaxing vibe, away from children. When they say “Adult Pool”, the management of the hotel means that it is the one pool that adults and children share. At times the pool is so full of children that there is no space to have a swim so pick your times to swim carefully. Their own trip adviser descriptions also states that they have adults and kids pool (screenshot attached for this too)

Main Bar and Pool Bar - these are detailed as two individual bars but are in fact the opposite side of the same bar, with one being inside and one being outside. Both these bars are manned by the same one member of staff and as a result there is regularly a large queue.

Evening Entertainment - we have not seen this in our first three nights here. We have now been informed that it takes place in the sister hotel and that this hotel does not have any evening entertainment of its own. No entertainment schedule has been shared with us.

This hotel offers no single supplement for a solo traveller but we decided to pay the difference as we were really keen on a hotel with an Adult Pool. We expected a family hotel with an Adult section somewhere in the hotel but this does not exist.

Having raised this with the management team, we were offered a spa treatment or extending our all inclusive past 11pm. I expressed my concerns with the offers that the manager made as I felt that the premium we paid for an adult only pool was not fulfilled at all. I feel that the right way to manage the situation is an apology for the incorrect information on their website and a partial refund, but the manager and owners were not interested in offering either of these.

We won’t let this ruin our stay, but it means we are spending more time out of the hotel than we’d maybe have liked to at an All Inclusive.

I will edit and update this review upon checkout in three days time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Miltiadis Zoidis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Windmill Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Dear Josh, Thank you very much for choosing Apollon Hotels to be the destination of your vacations this summer. We would also like to thank you for your review and for your understanding, because due to the special circumstances our operation had to be modified. It was a pleasure having you here with us and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future. Warm regards, Miltiadis Zoidis Hotels General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate K wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is very well run, clean, spacious, food is good.
The staff deserve a special mention:
- restaurant crew are always full of smiles and helpful.
- Zaneta who works at the bar is super friendly, chatty and always knows exactly what drink you want to order before you even get to the bar. Friendly, giving extra attention to people. She Keeps the area well kept and does quite a good job at making sure people don’t go into the pool after it’s closed. When you get to the hotel I suggest you find her and make friends with her, your stay will be better for it! She made our holiday stay even more pleasant. 😎
- the massage place also deserves a mention: Vicky and her daughter are a pair of two clued up ladies when it comes to massages. You’ll get an analysis of what needs attention in your body and how to fix it. 😀 time well spent! I’ve been going for massages for 20years and only she bothered to explain to me what I need to fix and how plus I got a lesson in anatomy! They really go the far extra mile. Stop by and make an appointment!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angella W wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Personally I don’t like big hotels and that’s why me and my
friends made a good choice staying there last August. Apollon Windmill was the
perfect place for us as it’s nicely decorated, quite cameral, very neat
and tidy, well-prepared, with delicious breakfast (avocado sandwiches were
mouth-watering) as well as the staff was very friendly and professional.
Żaneta, the barmaid, is the most sociable person we met during our stay in
Kos :)
Moreover, the hotel is like newly-built, it’s a pleasure to sunbathe at
the swimming pool which is clean and has new sunbeds. Go there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan C wrote a review Aug 2022
Castleford, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Apollon Windmill is an oasis just off the main road, 25 minutes walk from Kos town. The beach is a short walk away , where a popular beach bar, Mylos beach, can be found. We were greeted by very pleasant and helpful reception staff. Our room was very clean, modern and had all the facilities we required. Situated on the ground floor, a short distance from the pool, we had a large terrace with table , chairs and sun loungers. The only improvement here would be the addition of maybe a small screen on the very low wall, as there is no privacy from neighbouring rooms.
Breakfast was served on site, and was very relaxed, plenty of choice, but as mentioned by guests before, the eggs were cold. Lunch and dinner was in the main hotel, a short walk away, where it was much busier and at times the staff struggled to keep up with plate clearing and provision of cutlery. The food was varied, of good quality, and hot.
Set in beautiful gardens, the hotel is situated in a peaceful location. Any negative comments do not detract from the holiday, we had a wonderful time and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leonidas Platellas, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Windmill Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Dear Alan C, It always makes us happy listening that guests will happily return to our Hotel in the future! We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions of Apollon Hotel, and please rest assured that we have noted down your advice on improving ourselves. Hope to see you again soon, Leonidas Platellas Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wim W wrote a review Oct 2023
Amersfoort, The Netherlands5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is really a beautiful hotel. With very nice personel, nice rooms, good food, and a nice pool with enough beds around the pool. On a 1,8 km distance from the centre of Kos so hire a bike for 4 euro's a day and you are in the centre in 10 minutes driving. The only pitty is that people smoke in the outside breakfast area also during breakfast time and near the pool. And off course this will be done everywhere, also when you go to the shore or take a lunch or diner in the city, but it's just a pitty that because of the fact that this is a resonable bigger hotel this is happening a lot. You see people who are not smoking having their breakfast inside and people who are smoking having breakfast outside in the better area. It would be an improvement of the hotel if they would not alowe people to smoke during breakfast time in the breakfast area. Ps you only have breakfast in this location lunch and diner you have at the Appolon Hotel (1 minute walk away trough the garden) if you have all inclusive
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcin O wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice mid size hotel, built/restored in modern style, I like it. Rooms are quite comfortable (could be more muted) very clean as room service was present everyday. Generally all hotel area was very clean and well maintained.
Only advice, more grass on hotel's backyard.

Meals were very good, varied, I think everyone could find somthing for himself.

Hotel is located very near of Kos city, it is huge advantage, you can go there by foot or by bike (what I recommended), By bike you can sightsee the city during one/two days. For longer trips it is better to rent a car.
There are two main beaches near to hotel (northen and easten) both very nice and clean, northen less crowdy I think.

Staff were very nice, smiling, helpful and friendly.
Warm greetings for best one of them, Zaneta bartender who was very friendly and tried to make your stay plesant not only with very delicious drinks but also nice conversations. Sometimes she knew what you want to order in advance.
Thanks Zaneta.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liz R wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this 48 hours before we left on a b&b basis, so we hadn't done a lot of research. The hotel, room and pool are extremely clean. The pool area is wonderful, the water is a great temperature and lots of sun beds and the atmosphere is very calm and friendly among both the guests and the staff.

We had a triple room overlooking the pool. The much needed air conditioning was really good. It was pretty basic but had a kettle, decent shower, fridge and daily cleaning. The beds were fairly narrow and for me, rather hard mattresses.

The location of the hotel isn't great. There are none of the nice Greek tavernas around that I had hoped for. But we probably should have gone further south. The area around the hotel is quite rough. You can walk into Kos Town in about 25 mins. A lot of people rent bikes and there is a cycle track into town. There's also a bus every 45 mins or so, and a taxi costs 8 euros. There is a local beach bar a few mins from the hotel but it's very pricey and when we went the service was poor.

The breakfast is very basic but the coffee and omelettes were ok.

We found the food and drink at the hotel expensive but we found prices in general much higher than we were used to for the Greek Islands. We hadn't been to Kos before and not sure whether the price increase is across all islands, we were in Crete last year and it was about half the cost to eat out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
luce44 asked a question Jun 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom45 contributions9 helpful votes
Is the A la Carte restaurant open please & are you able to use as part of all inclusive?
Answer from Anouk V
Ghent, Belgium41 contributions18 helpful votes
Hello, the à la carte restaurant is open, yes. You can use it once for free, inclusive in the all inclusive price. We had tapas as a starter, mushroom soup, salad bar (salmon, ham, Caesar salad, cheese, vegetables,…), risotto (very good), then pasta/pizza and a small desert. It was really delicious! If you want to go more than once, it’s possible but then you’ll have to pay.
paul c asked a question Nov 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom13 contributions51 helpful votes
Hi their has this hotel got a gym ? Thanks
Answer from General Manager
Kós, Greece2 helpful votes
Dear Paul kalispera from Kos, Yes we have.
s&p asked a question Dec 2021
Mesen, Belgium125 contributions38 helpful votes
Wat is de afstand naar de luchthaven aub?
Answer from Will v
Harderwijk, The Netherlands19 contributions20 helpful votes
Helaas kan ik daar geen antwoord op geven. De bedden waren echter goed. Appolon Windmill is recentelijk helemaal vernieuwd en de kwaliteit van het meubilair is goed. Je moet wel voor het Windmill gedeelte booken, Appolon zelf is wat ouder. Gr. Will
Allan B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go 'all inclusive' Its not worth it (very restrictive menu for food and drink). Drinks by pool are very good and not overly expensive."
Read full review
Dorota E wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good localisation, foot distance to the charming harbour."
Read full review
lauraheartmark wrote a tip Sept 2023
glasgow137 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxi services unreliable and be aware of free bike hire voucher expiry"
Read full review
willeke e wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fijn dat je geen plekje mag veroveren voor de handoeken... deze worden weg gehaald "
Read full review
Chris wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very lovely not crowded and was clean and beautiful "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kos Town area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,471 - R 3,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceSouth AegeanDodecaneseKósKos Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APOLLON WINDMILL HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Kos Town, Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about Apollon Windmill Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Artemis Heaven Beach Bar (0.9 km), Mylos Beach Bar Kos (0.4 km), and Lambi Beach (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coco Beach, Plaza Beach Restaurant, and Stavlisio Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apollon Windmill Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Japanese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Apollon Windmill Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa Romana Kos (2.4 km), Western Archaeological Zone (2.3 km), and mosque lotzias (2.0 km).
Does Apollon Windmill Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Apollon Windmill Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kos Town HotelsKos Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kos TownHotels near Apollon Windmill Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire