We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
D184 Cathkin Park, Winterton 3340 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (81)
Pool & Beach (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cayley Lodge
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 20 in Winterton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cayley Lodge is located in the central Drakensberg, overlooking the Cathkin Peak and Champagne Castle ranges. The Bell Park Dam lies within easy access from the resort grounds, providing both a wonderful view as well being the center of many of the leisure activities. Our on-site staff will help make every bit of your holiday as comfortable as possible and you can find them at reception. We also have the following facilities on the property: Daily at Cayley mini shop open daily Steam Café coffee shop open daily Bell and Whistle bar/restaurant open daily
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Golf course
Mini golf
Fishing
Table tennis
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
182Reviews9Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 69
  • 33
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
abusufyaan wrote a review May 2022
Durban, South Africa32 contributions16 helpful votes
The road to the resort reminds you that the best destinations are at the end of difficult routes... it's just that KZN road department is not repairing the potholes on the roads. It's not so bad just take it easy Check in is a breeze, a welcome breeze after a hot ride We had chalet 24, one of the recently revamped chalets. Very neat, very warmly decorated. The views of the Drakensburg mountains are magnificent The manager Derek is really a wonderful guy and a great asset to the resort. Since the last time I was there (2016), there are notable changes and improvements. The road to the dam is easily accessible with any vehicle whereas it used to only be accessible with raised (high ground clearance) vehicles. The water sports are a great attraction Well done to Derek and the team
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take the Cayley Mountain Resort farm house if you can afford to
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Abusufyaan, Thank you for staying with us and we must admit, it's not very often that we receive such detailed reviews, as a result, we appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience with us.🙂 We are sure this will come in handy for fellow holidaymakers who are considering visiting our resort. In taking great care of our resort, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable environment and we are glad that was reflected in your holiday experience with us. It is great to see how much you enjoyed our hospitality and the many activities we offer at the resort. We are truly grateful for your feedback as we use this information to evaluate our performance so we can make the necessary improvements. Thanks for trusting us with your stay and we hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again for another wonderful stay in the future. Regards, Cayley Lodge
Read more
Farrarmere wrote a review May 2022
Somerset West, South Africa99 contributions20 helpful votes
Must be ne of the best views in the Drakensburg. The lodges are well appointed and the grandkids had a ball. The inflatable water park at R 50 per head kept the occupied for hours. I had a few niggling criticisms after our visit which the resort responded to immediately. Most impressive. The road could be challenging in a low vehicle. The restaurant is typical pub food but my stuffed trout was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms have a clear view of the Drakensburg. Check with venue
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 10 May 2022
Hi Farrarmere, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you liked the overall service and hospitality. The Drakensberg region does not have the easiest roads as the area itself is very remote and we understand the last kilometers of the gravel road are in a state and we have appealed to our local municipality to assist in at least grading the road. We are also re-designing our menu in hopes of improving our offerings and adding more options that guests can enjoy. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Regards, Cayley Lodge
Read more
Marlene V wrote a review May 2022
Prince Alfred Hamlet, South Africa46 contributions31 helpful votes
We had a 3 bedoom unit on the cliff edge with the greatest view over the dam. The unit itself will be refurbished shortly, so there were signs of wear and tear. In a few months all units will have splashpools and outside braais so it will be even better for families. The road to the lodge is very bad. I would suggest a vehicle with higher ground clearance to handle the potholes. The sight boards to the lodge needs attention but Google maps takes you there easily. Remember to buy all your supplies on route. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 04 May 2022
Hi 5marlenev, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Guest feedback is really important to us as it helps to improve our offering. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a pleasant stay overall and indeed, the refurbishments sure are something to look out for😍 ! We are aware of the pesky state of the access road and have communicated it with the local municipality in the hopes of getting it repaired - regrettably no luck yet 😥. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon for another memorable holiday! -Cayley Mountain Resort
Read more
Jodi M wrote a review Apr 2022
Camperdown, South Africa3 contributions
We visited Cayley to celebrate our recent engagement and anniversary. Emails are unattended to - I had a note on my booking which was unacknowledged, I sent an email which was unacknowledged and when calling to follow up on whether they had received my email, I was assured all was in order - only to arrive to the polar opposite of what was requested. Most importantly - the restaurant needs serious attention. We waited over an hour for starters (for two) and ran out of time for mains due to the kitchen closing. The few staff that they have are scrambling to keep the resort together. We saw atleast two parties get up and cancel orders due to the slow service at half occupancy. Needless to mention that we returned from the restaurant to no hot water in our unit (this was corrected by night patrol but happened two days in a row). Ansen, thank you for seeing to our concerns - you were the only person that seemed to be concerned about customer service. Disappointing return after our visit in 2016 and in severe need of more staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Go to the other place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Hi Jodi, thank you so much for sharing your candid review with us and for bringing the above to our attention as it helps us better our service going forward. We apologise that certain elements did not meet your expectations, however it has been addressed with resort management. This past Easter weekend was peak season for us which saw a much larger turnout than was anticipated - especially in the restaurant kitchen which ran at full capacity. We are however looking into hiring more kitchen staff to help relieve this issue. The hot water issue has also since been addressed. We hope that this has not deterred you from visiting us again. We trust that your next stay at our wonderful mountain resort will be exceptional 😊.
Read more
Nash G wrote a review Apr 2022
New Delhi54 contributions15 helpful votes
We booked for 5 days with 2 kids; checked after 2 days.. So what was bad: - reception was glad to see us go - no reaction why we left early without requesting for a refund - location is remote and no other restaurants within 20 k ; their own restaurant is pathetic servicing rotten and expired food - accommodation / chalet quality is average with good views but poorly done bathrooms with a stale smell - water park is not maintained and water stale… What was good.. - views are good overlooking a nice dam.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 08 Apr 2022
Hi NGExplorer, thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. While we are glad you enjoyed the views at the resort, we are extremely sorry that your experience was not up to par. We assure you that we work tirelessly to ensure that our resort is well kept, cleaned, and up to standard. Our room service team is generally very attentive to guests’ needs and prepares the room thoroughly for upcoming guests Even though certain areas of the resort-like the waterpark may seem aged, they are regularly maintained. We hope you had brought your concerns or dissatisfaction to us while staying at the resort as we would have been happy to assist in making your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Drakensberg is a very remote area with very few amenities nearby for most resorts in the region. Nevertheless, this does not excuse the poor service provided at the restaurant, and again we hope you had reported this to Management for prompt action. Even so, we will be addressing your feedback with our Management for attention. Again, we thank you for your feedback we strive to make the necessary improvements, so your next stay with us is a wonderful holiday. Regards, Cayley Lodge .
Read more
Kerry M wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked a family weekend getaway for my folks 50th Wedding anniversary. They were put into 32b and the rest of us Unit 48. My folks unit was very noisy overlooking the car park and the basketball court. People made noise way past 10pm at night. Awful weekend for them. Unit 48 our Jacuzzi spa did not heat up. Otherwise it was peaceful at unit 48, the resort has great facilities for kids. Rooms are clean and very new and modern furnishings. The beds very comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Hi Skinny, Thank you very much for the feedback, we are honored to have been a place of celebration for your parent's anniversary, we apologies for the inconveniences caused to your family during your stay. We urge guest to please report all maintenance issues to the maintenance team so these issues may be addressed promptly.
Read more
Michelle N wrote a review Feb 2022
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa20 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Wow, Awesome!!! Cayley Lodge is a great getaway. We booked out for a family of 8. Very clean and neat. Modern setting. Very spacious and private. We had a unit overlooking the dam. Great View. Friendly cleaning staff. . Loved the canoe and boat ride. The two guys working out there are super great fun people. Lots of activities for all ages. Indoors and outdoors. ( The road is full of potholes for about 200m only) not as exaggerated. Once inside it is beautiful and worth every second. Well done to the Owners. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 08 Feb 2022
Hi Micjkzn2, Thank you very much for the positive beautiful review of our resort, your endorsement is highly appreciated. We absolutely love that your family had a blast whilst visiting us. Looking forward to many more holidays with us.😉
Read more
Jerone G wrote a review Jan 2022
Bryanston, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family really enjoyed the waterpark obstacle course until we discovered all of the Geese poop on it which looks like the size of dog poop. I really had to dig deep to ignore the smells of the Geese poop on the floating platform, during my entire stay this was not cleaned up and we had to try and avoid the brown poop water floating on the mats as well as the actual poop. This is a pity as I would have gone back just for this course and the fun that could be had if it was just kept clean and inviting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 03 Feb 2022
Hi JeroneG4, Thank you for visiting our resort and we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We do apologize for all the problems you encountered at the waterpark, we will address this with the team to ensure that the obstacle course and the overall waterpark area are assessed to ensure it is clean and ready for our guests to enjoy without issues. We hope this has not deterred you from visiting our resort as this is definitely not reflective of the experience we strive to create for our guests. We appreciate your feedback as we use this information to evaluate our performance so we can improve and offer the best experience to our guests. Regards, Cayley Lodge
Read more
Wayne and Mari K wrote a review Jan 2022
Midrand, South Africa216 contributions44 helpful votes
we stayed in a self catering 8 sleeper unit. Luckily we were not 8 people as it really is a three bedroom unit fit for only six adults. The views were really spectacular and the place is clean and very pretty. Sadly the units don’t have a private patio or outside area like most self catering units and we didn’t feel like we had much privacy. We had to keep bedroom curtains closed despite the beautiful views and surroundings as there were people playing soccer on the lawn right outside our windows. There is an indoor braai but it is right by the curtain which we were scared to burn. The location is five star and the staff are really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The road near the lodge has many large potholes so drive carefully.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beekman Group, Owner at Cayley Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Hi Wayne, thank you for your sharing your review with us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the beautiful mountain views while at the resort. However, we regret to learn that you had a couple of concerns that had made your stay a little uncomfortable. We hope you had expressed this to us while onsite, so we could try to make your stay a lot more comfortable. Please also note that our 8 Sleeper units sleep a maximum of 6 Adults and 2 children (on sleeper couches). Nevertheless, we have noted all your comments and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us as we use this information to evaluate our performance so can improve service and our offering. Thank you for staying with us and we ​hope we get the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Cayley Lodge
Read more
Hoosend wrote a review Dec 2021
Durban, South Africa6 contributions11 helpful votes
Very disappointed with the resort. To start off with, the metal waste bins in the toilet were broken. Soap was only supplied in one shower. On Monday evening, while my daughter was asleep, i heard strange sounds above the dining room table. There is a wooden feature above it- (logs lined up). The sound grew louder and i eventually carried my daughter out of the lounge into the bedroom. The next morning, there was animal droppings all over the dining room floor and tablet. Our food was messed with droppings of some kind. We advised the cleaner the next morning promptly, who cleaned up. This occurred again on Tuesday night. On Wednesday afternoon, Bats flew out of the feature and circle the room . Bat droppings were again seen on Thursday. I informed the receptionist who subsequently advised me that the clear had never mentioned this to them. I wrote an email to the manager asking him to please contact me ASAP to view the unit. I asked to see the manager but he was out. i left a message for him, to date he did not contact me. Pretty much a don't care attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDrakensberg RegionWinterton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cayley Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cayley Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Ushaka Horse Trails (3.0 km), Cathkin Equestrian Center (6.1 km), and Tree Tops School Forest School (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cayley Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cayley Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cayley Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cayley Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cayley Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valley Bakery, The Drakensberg Chocolate Memories, and Scrumpy Jacks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cayley Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cayley Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Cayley Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.