We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Horses Lodge

Save
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wine cellar”(13 reviews)
“sterkfontein dam”(29 reviews)
“zebra room”(6 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (166)Write a Review
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
139
12
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
139
12
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarsterkfontein damzebra roomromantic dinnereach mealtreated like royaltybreathtaking viewsstaff were exceptionalhidden gemblew us awayoff the beaten trackstar stayleft us feelingpersonal chefkoi pondcompliments to the chefperfect destination
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to Wild Horses Lodge with my wife for her 50th birthday this weekend. Had I known what was to await us I wouldn't have stayed for just one night. Firstly, when booking you have a variety of options to choose from to make...More

Thank MTMOD-AAT
Response from WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

The lodge motto is " the pleasure is yours ". Trish & I believe in this & it is always " our pleasure" when we have wonderful guests like you & your wife. We look forward to your future visits!!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place! Astonishing views, good food and wines - and very friendly staff. A very nice bar/wine cellar and the outdoor seating is lovely. Also the pool is nice. I can really recommend this wonderful place!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L8616IJdanielh
Response from WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our staff really appreciate your feedback. We do hope to see you again.

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Absolutely stunning location lookng over the reservoir, Charming friendly hosts and wonderful evening meal. Bed was very comfortable. Wished we had longer to enjoy ourselves but it was just an overnight stay. Only negative was breakfast ws a bit disappointing.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 415rosej
Response from WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 9 January 2018

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. The chef will be most disappointed as he takes grate pride in his meals & tries to cater for all tastes. We hope that you will be back & that you will enjoy all...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

Location: Perfect for a quiet getaway, for relaxation Room: Excellent ! Food (Chef): Supper - Excellent ! , Breakfast -Excellent ! Experience Driving to the Guest Lodge: Felt like I was the only person that mattered. Since I was driving late at night on a...More

Thank valeriebb2018
Response from WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 6 January 2018

We are so happy that we could make your stay with us a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 December 2017

What a relaxing way to spend a long weekend before our family member flew back to UK! We had booked two suites: first floor Zebra Suite for us, with an elderly family member in the ground-floor Sunrise Suite. We were warmly welcomed by Jennifer and...More

Thank Robert M
Response from WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 6 January 2018

We are always so happy to see returning guests. We are always looking for ways to make our guest's stay as pleasurable as possible. We are so glad that you enjoyed our new addition of patios on all our rooms.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345632
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$300 - US$342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$300 - US$342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Yvette B
8 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jules_G31 | Reviewed this property |
Hi It depends what you are looking for. There are only 4 rooms at the lodge, which means it is very private and secluded. Every room also has a double bed as opposed to twin beds. The seclusion means that the getaway... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The rooms with a view over the dam are highly recommended!!"
Read review
"They all should be the same as the one I had booked, excellent view from all sides of the lodge"
Read review
"Zebra and Sunrise have best lake views, but even Sunset, which has a mountain view, now has a newly-built..."
Read review
"Try get a lake facing room, views are spectacular"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing