We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mabalingwe Nature Reserve

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Mabalingwe Nature Reserve
 Click to rate
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been visiting mabalingwe for 28 years. We visited during the first week in may and I have never been so disappointed. The chalet was absolutely filthy on arrival. The linen in the loft on the beds that my kids were supposed to sleep in had not been changed. On closer inspection the one mattress and duvet was completely...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dalemello426south
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi dalemello426south. Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Mabalingwe. We appreciate all feedback and would have welcomed the opportunity to address any additional concerns you had while you stayed with us. We were under the impression that you were satisfied after we attended to your requests. At...

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was perfect, the unit, the game viewing, entertainment was good, game drives were interesting.Went on a afternoon game drive with Heinz which was great. If you are going to mabalingwe do not miss out on the tuesday evening Moms night off at the restaurant really good food and service at a great price. Ken & Jane smith

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holms14
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Ken & Jane (holms14). Thank you for a perfect 5/5 rating and all the valuable feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Tuesday evening Mom’s Night Off dinner and Hein’s game drive. We hope you visit us again soon for another fabulous break.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Re-vamped facility, the roads are not the greatest, the actual campsite is serviced, clean considering that they are tents on stilts, communal kitchen that could be awkward if you don't book out the entire campsite that sleeps 10. Great bushveld experience if you are willing to "rough" it a bit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Mario. Thank you for the review. We have noted and value your feedback. The Kalahari Tent Camp offers guests rustic accommodation in the very heart of the bushveld - Perfect for someone who wants to bask in the unspoilt views of the mountains and beyond. It is well-suited for the more adventurous nature–loving explorer and we are glad to...

Pretoria
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed in one of their famous guest houses. Larger set-up, private and secluded with its own splash pool. 4 bedrooms each with its own bathroom. An excellent braai lapa and plenty of under roof parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dsmiff
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Dsmiff. Thank you for the great review and 4/5 rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a chance to visit our Kalahari Oasis Bush Pub during your stay! If not, there’s always a next time :)

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We have been to Leopards Haven a couple of times now and each time the lodge has exceeded our expectations. It is the essence of the Bush. Very rustic with stunning views. You can hear the lions roar in the morning and evenings, that's if you are listening. Plenty room for all guests, so you don't feel like you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Had an amazing weekend away saw a lot of wild animals and loved the little pub, The hot pools were great. Just disappointed about the way they handled the horse accident, But in overall it was a wonderful weekend and great experience, Will go back for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charmainegizelle2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We had such an enjoyable and perfect getaway at Mabalingwe (Ingwe camp) for our honeymoon. It really is a little haven away from everything. The room (studio chalet) was beautiful and clean, equipped with full kitchen, bath/shower, state of the art TV and a beautiful balcony equipped with a built-in braai. The view is breathtaking as well. We were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambii
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Lambii. Congratulations on your marriage. Thank you for your fantastic review and 5/5 rating. We are glad to hear that you had a perfect honeymoon and an enjoyable experience staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities offered and the beautiful view. It’s always great to spot animals when you go on the sunset drives. We...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

There's rustic and then there's dirty, my family and I were so disappointed when we arrived to this camp to stompies lying around, old maps left on the floor and broken appliances in the kitchen. The pictures on their website are absolutely misleading. Initially management refused to do anything and simply said we cannot help and we don't do refunds....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melanie v
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi Melanie. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your feedback is important to us and all comments have been noted. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time with us, but we’re pleased to advise that the Bush Camps (and the restaurant, shop and game drives, etc,) are now under new ownership and...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We were invite by friends and had the most amazing time with them. The animals is well looked. Game drive is a must. Staff service was excellent. The cottage we stayed in was self service and was need and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 528jayjayk
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi 528jayjayk. Thank you for the lovely review and 4/5 rating. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing weekend away with us. The game drive is a definite must and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We are pleased that our staff and rooms exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We had two burglaries in three days! On both occasions the properties were broken into through small bathroom windows at night while people were sleeping in the rooms. There is no air conditioning so very difficult to sleep with windows closed in the heat.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AF072013
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Hi AF072013. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry that you had a terrible experience. Unfortunately, we only have control over the specific accommodation entities we are responsible for within the greater Mabalingwe, such as the share block (timeshare) chalets and bush camps, and are unable to address issues relating to other entities that are...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (147)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
34.9 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
305 reviews
24.0 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#10 of 51 in Bela Bela
58 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
106 reviews
0.7 km away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
77 reviews
16.3 km away
Mabula Game Lodge
Mabula Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mabalingwe Nature Reserve

Address: R516 Rooiberg Road, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabalingwe Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mabalingwe Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabalingwe Nature Reserve Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mabalingwe Nature Reserve staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mabalingwe Nature Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet reserve had a lovely relaxed weekend”
charmainegizelle2015, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at Ingwe camp, studio chalet (40)..”
Lambii, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try Kubu Camp”
Myretooi, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Kubu Camp or Phiri Camp , overlooking the Kubu Dam has Hippos and Croc's”
Dharmesh108, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a timeshare unit in Kubu or Phiri camp.”
572stuartp, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates