We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pendleberry Grove Holidays

261 Chris Hani Drive, Bela Bela 0480 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 5 cottages in Bela Bela
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Privately owned self catering chalets. Fully equipped kitchen. DSTV (Easyview package). Sleep up to 8 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
12Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kaju wrote a review Jan 2021
Bela Bela, South Africa3 contributions
Had a nice time ,and the place was good with social distance between the units. The braai area was conveniently in front of the unit. The unit had DStv and kept us entertained and also the swimming pool
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shivani wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a weekend with our family to this Unit 18 through the Owner Raeesa Wahab. We had paid her a deposit to secure the place and an additional R1400 as she said she could get us discounted entry bands for the Warmbaths resort. When we arrived my husband payed the balance and sent proof of payment as the money had not cleared in her account yet due to it being different banks. The unit door lock was broken. And when we entered the place it smelled stuffy. Which we just thought just needed to be aired out. But then we saw that the floors were dirty as well. We smelled the bedding and this also did not smell clean at all. We opened the oven and the grill was the most disgusting thing ever. We called raeesa and she said that the place was cleaned but she will come have a look. We were already mopping and cleaning when she came there. So she was aware that we weren't lying. She watched us while we cleaned. That night we slept in the cars as we couldn't find another place to stay as they were all booked. We are aware that it's not a five star place but the least we expected was a neat and clean place. The next day we left in the morning and Raeesa told us that she will refund us for the night we didn't stay there and for the bands as she was sorry for the condition of the place. Up till today we have not received anything. She has lied to us continuously that the money is paid and we have been patient with her. She tells us that the guy who was supposed to get us the bands is the one messing around. But what about the accommodation refund. So we are now done being patient. RAEESA WAHAB WE DEALTH ONLY WITH YOU SO IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY NOT THE OTHER GUYS. WE DEPOSITED THE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT NOT THE OTHER GUYS. Basically if you thinking about booking UNIT 18 PENDLEBERRY GROVE PLEASE DON'T. YOU WILL BE BOOKING A DISGUSTING PLACE THROUGH A TERRIBLE HUMAN BEING.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ash wrote a review Mar 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions3 helpful votes
Raeesa owes me a refund for 1 nights accommodation, and armbands for 7 people. She told me that she could arrange the armbands for the resort at a discount price, when we arrived, she could not produce the armbands, so she said that she would do a transfer back into my account immediately. It has been 3 months of lies, and still no refund? The accommodation itself is another story completely, I raised my issues with Raeesa, who shifted the blame to the tourism department. The accommodation was definitely not what I remember, I visited this place before, on 2 other occasions. But it's like this place has not been maintained for at least 5-7 years. My family had to clean the kitchen and bathrooms. We had to go buy detergents and cleaning agents. The toilet was leaking, cockroaches ants and bugs, linen was not changed. Eventually my family decided to sleep in their cars. So I called Raeesa on the 1st night, she said that she was sorry and I informed her that we cannot stay in these conditions. She agreed to a full refund for the 2nd night. Becareful everyone, she has told me so many lies, I starting to believe that she is a scammer. First I was told, the account is blocked at capitec, then, suddenly she needs to transfer once she gets paid month end, then her husband will do the transfer......... On and on and on..... I was very patient with her. If you have been scammed by Raeesa or her family, please come forward, I would like to open a case against her.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Avid Traveller wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Broken sliding door lock which we had to fix on arrival. Place was dirty and smelly. Filthy, dirty kitchen cupboards. Oven rack was caked with old grease stains. The owner, Raeesa, promised to send someone to clean. This never happened. Linen did not look clean, we ended up sleeping in our cars and told her we would be leaving at the first sign of daylight so we expected a refund for the second night which she agreed to. She also agreed to refund us for the access bands to warmbaths resort. Cockroaches, insects and other creepy crawlies crawled out the couch and other cupboards in the evening. A power failure also meant we were in darkness that night We ended up sleeping in our cars. A very uncomfortable, restless night indeed. Needless to say we have to date not received ANY refund. Raeesa the owner claims to have made the payment but when we requested proof of payment her account was suddenly frozen and she had excuse after excuse about why she couldn't sort it out. Raeesa if you take money from people for a service you DO NOT provide it is called THEFT. People do not book unit 18. You will be gravely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lerato glory wrote a review Jan 2020
17 contributions1 helpful vote
Me and friends we were very happy There place is very neat and clean. Rooms are spacious. At reception there were so helpful I don't have problem recommending people to visit pendleberry. And it was not so full kids managed to play on the trampoline. It was hot 🔥 we only went to pool around 6
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kaju wrote a review Nov 2019
Bela Bela, South Africa3 contributions
Rooms was clean and our braai area was very close to the unit and children enjoyed the park and swimming and kids area. Our rooms were cleaned on our requests we had opportunity to visit the forever resort which was a walking distance and also we visiting several game drives around Bela Bela.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: choose the stand alone unit is always the best for us
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Safiyya K wrote a review Mar 2018
Vereeniging, South Africa12 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked at Pendleberry Grove during the peak season in December. We booked for 10 nights. It was awesome. There was a full time maid that was very caring and was friendly. The place is spectacular. There's a pool on the premises that's accessible 24/7. The kids loved it. The unit was very neat & spacious. It was the best 10 days ever !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Its a self catering unit...not a hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marion A wrote a review Jan 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa40 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here in January 2017. Very disappointing. This place needs a desperate upgrade. Our chalet was booked through the resort which is graded 3 star...not at all 3 star. Our lounge suite was more like those at a hospital waiting room....We had to ask to get it changed as it was very uncomfortable. The crockery, cutlery needed a wash and the pots definitely need to be scrubbed. Thank goodness we took our own pots....even the oven door in our chalet was broken. The place needs to be fumigated as there are lots of cockroaches (even babies), and lots of flies, etc. In 3 days we went through a full can of insecticide. For the price we paid at this establishment we will definitely not return. We have just returned from Emerald River Resort which I will review separately. Comparing these 2 establishments which are 3 star....River Resort in my opinion should be 5 Star compared to Pendleberry. The only Plus about this place is the location...opposite & within walking distance to Forever Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Can't comment....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from PGHolidays, General Manager at Pendleberry Grove Holidays
Responded 30 Jan 2017
It always saddens the owners of the units to get a negative review. Kindly let me know in which unit you stayed so that we can approach the owner to upgrade his unit. Regards pendleberry@pendleberry.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sebastian Harrison wrote a review Apr 2016
Pretoria, South Africa45 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We booked through the tourist board in bela bela very helpful. Pendleberry Grove was awful. Room had broken handles, blinds smelt bad, lipstick on the walls. The facilities putt putt not working,volleyball net broken I do not recommend this venue. There is a lot of work needs to be done in the whole park sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from PGHolidays, Manager at Pendleberry Grove Holidays
Responded 23 Aug 2016
All units are privately owned and unit 93 (at that stage) did not rent out through Pendleberry Grove Holidays Pty Ltd and therefore did not fall under our 3 Star Tourism Grading. Regretfully private rentals bad reviews effect us terribly but unfortunately there is no legal action that we can take, apart from appealing to owners to keep units clean and well maintained. The new owner of this unit is offering you a free night's accommodation when unit is available. This is to compensate you for the terrible experience you had. Please look at our website the premium unit is the upgraded unit 93. Please e-mail pendleberry@pendleberry.co.za if you wish to take up this offer. Sarie Turner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ierfaan wrote a review Feb 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution11 helpful votes
Not good for a family with kids...Nothing working, but a trampoline and poor kids must queue to jump. Pool green and look like a swamp. Owners will tell you to use Warmbaths across the road, but forget you must pay daily entry fee. Chalets small and bothered. More than one person and you cannot move.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bela Bela area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,556 - R 2,595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergBela Bela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENDLEBERRY GROVE HOLIDAYS - Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (Bela Bela, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pendleberry Grove Holidays
Which popular attractions are close to Pendleberry Grove Holidays?
Nearby attractions include De Wildt Shingwedzi Cheetah Ranch (0.8 km) and Sondela Rehab Centre Bela Bela (0.7 km).
Which room amenities are available at Pendleberry Grove Holidays?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Pendleberry Grove Holidays?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tacoma Spur Steak Ranch, Chip-Inn, and Agri Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pendleberry Grove Holidays?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.