We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Agoda.comUS$38*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$38*
Great Deal
US$42*
US$44*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I am from National tours, a tour company in durban and we stayed at the cabanas with a group of people in the last week of March 2017. The service was excellent and the staff, from management to the cleaners, were helpful, effecient, courteous and always available to assist with minimum fuss. The entire week's stay was seamless and enjoyable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cohen G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Elephant Springs Hotel and Cabanas on the 21-23 April 2017 , and I would like to say that my experience from Day one was extremely bad. 1. First Room that was allocated to us , the bathroom had stains on the bath tub , and bath sinks , carperts were old and dirty 2 We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manu_Baboo3
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff was very good bt the hotel is a mess it realy needs a serious renovation. We were in Room 8 in the hotel the room had a very bad moisty smell like i ws closed for a vry long time, the paint on the walls was wearing off , the door cuddn't close lock properly the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brasley
Johannesburg
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We arrived on Friday and we were warmly welcomed by two staff members who were at the reception. The room was more than adequate and the view was nice. The same Friday we ordered dinner because we were hungry and the chef went all out because we really enjoyed our meal, complement to the chef and to the lady who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanp262
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The rooms and staff need a serious upgrade. The hotel should be closed down to upgrade the conditions of the rooms. The house rules not being followed and no receptions to assist. My kids were excited to get home and found the place as the most horrible place anyone can stay at considering the price of R2,875 per night ....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mali T
Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The hotel is situated well in tow and you can see that it had great potential to be a very good hotel in the area. generally the atmosphere is relaxing but the rooms needs a bit of attention. the staff in general try to go an extra mile to make you feel at home. in general the stay wasn't what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normantshikonelo
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Norman. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had expected and will pass your feedback on to management.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas ??? The staff is really on the ball,... but I could clearly experience that the managers and executive members,are out of touch with what is happening.AND are NOT interested. We booked ourselves ( 2 adults,2 kids ) in for a 6 day stay, but decided the day of arrival to change this in to three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 259marcvogels
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and kindly invite you to get in touch with us via e-mail to further investigate your feedback. Please send your letter to elephantsprings@southofafrica.com

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is by far the most horrible hotel one could ever stay in. The rooms smell horrible - cleaners use a dirty mop to clean the mat, when my husband and I asked why, they said the vacuum has been broken for a while now. The linens are dirty and were not changed when we asked why, we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank srmabiletsa
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We take note of your feedback and have passed this on to senior management for investigation. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience.

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The pictures on the website are deceiving. When we got there we checked into our room.The first thing you are welcomed with is a very damp smell on the hotel corridor then when you walk inside the room you get another horrible damp smell. It was my husbands birthday and i made the booking and i felt terrible , the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ndivho M
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback has been passed on to management for further investigation.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The photos do not reflect the true condition of this place at all. It's a filthy stinking mess of a hotel. No standards or pride. A rip-off. No travel site with any values should allow a hotel like this to advertise on their site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelF6185HC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We are very confident in our online representation and are sorry to hear that our hotel was not to your taste.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
17.3 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
302 reviews
11.6 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#17 of 48 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
4.2 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 48 in Bela Bela
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 48 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
23.3 km away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
41 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range: R313 - R1 554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Swimming pool view”
allanp262, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother, just a crap hotel”
srmabiletsa, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not go there at all.”
michaelF6185HC, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not recommend this place at all.”
LataniFi, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$38* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$42
Expedia.comUS$44
TripAdvisorUS$38
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates