We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oystercatcher Lodge

Erf 5397 First Avenue, St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7382 South Africa
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (4)


#1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay

See why so many travellers make Oystercatcher Lodge their guest house of choice when visiting St. Helena Bay. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Oystercatcher Lodge offer a refrigerator, extra long beds, and a seating area.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including outdoor furniture and a sun terrace. Guests of Oystercatcher Lodge are also welcome to enjoy a pool and a lounge, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

While in St. Helena Bay, you may want to check out the nearby pub Sunfish Restaurant.

Best of all, Oystercatcher Lodge makes it easy to experience some great St. Helena Bay attractions like Vasco Da Gama Statue, which is a popular .

At Oystercatcher Lodge, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to St. Helena Bay.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Snack bar
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
217Reviews2Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 17
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Abel wrote a review Jan 2020
Bloubergstrand, South Africa310 contributions34 helpful votes
This was a walk in as I was urgently looking for accommodation for the night and discovered this beautiful lodge by accident. I had the most friendly reception from the owners and immediately felt at home. They had one room left and was immediately available. The room was in prestine condition especially taking into account I had not booked in advanced. All rooms have great views of the ocean and one can watch the whales and dolfins from the comfort of your room or the lounge area. The property is in a secured area so there are kilometers of safe strolls on the beach. In the mornings a great breakfast is prepared by the owners and was very tasty. I was sad to leave and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Response from Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Abel Many thanks for taking the time to do such a lovely review after your stay at the Oystercatcher. We are delighted that you found us and thank you for all the beautiful photos you took during your stay and shared with us. We do hope you will plan a return visit in the close future. Warm regards Sue and Luc
Read more
Brian A wrote a review Dec 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions22 helpful votes
After travelling 1861km my wife and I were tired but that soon changed. On arrival we received a warm friendly welcome from both the owners Luc & Sue. Luc immediately gave us an informative mini tour around the “Bay” whilst we stood near the sparkling swimming pool looking out at the ocean, absolutely breathtaking to experience. Our room, looking out at the ocean only meters away, with its crisp white linen, was neat, clean and very homely. The bathroom towels are soft and fresh, just the way we like it. Breakfast is outstanding, the Swiss bread is to die for. Luc knows what he is doing in the kitchen and Sue’s baking & service ethic can’t be beaten. The overall experience at the Oystercatcher Lodge deserves a 7 star rating. Thank you Luc & Sue for making our stay a memorable
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
JeanB wrote a review Nov 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa69 contributions12 helpful votes
This was our third visit and for the friends who came with us, a first. The standard remains close to perfection, Luc and Sue are such super hosts and are to be commended on what they do. Thank you for a wonderful visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Response from Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge
Responded 24 Nov 2019
Dear Jean and Alan Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Always wonderful to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Sue and Luc
Read more
gavinh378 wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
We were welcomed by owners Luc and Sue and made to feel at home the minute we arrived. Our room opened out onto the dunes with the beach a few metres away. Stunning views of the sea and we were able to see the sun rise and set as the lodge is located on the northern tip of Shelley point. Breakfast was great - Luc makes a mean omelette. Highly recommended to anyone looking for value and wanting to take a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Located within the Shelley Point complex, security is no problem
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Response from Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge
Responded 05 Sep 2019
Dear Gavin Thank you for your lovely review on Booking.com. We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary celebration at the Oystercatcher Lodge. We do hope you will return again sometime in the close future. Warm regards Sue and Luc
Read more
klokkie wrote a review May 2019
Appia SS 7, Italy109 contributions
We stayed 2 nights in room 4. Sue was a lovely host, very friendly and accomodating. The views are amazing and so is the beach walks. There is so many shells to look for and pickup. Restaurants is close driving distance is limited unfortunately, or formal ones. The hotel have a Cattlebaron with great decor and food, but the reservations system and service is not up to standard. We ate in one night with a cheese board and wine on the verandah with the sea roaring in our ears. We took a day trip to Port Own and had a late lunch at Russels on the Port, excellent quality and setting. There is also a beer brewery and boat trips. I would recommend this lodge for anybody whoe want a break from city life and to relax with seaviews even from your bathroom. Breakfast is included and there
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Response from Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge
Responded 21 May 2019
Dear Antoinette Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Oystercatcher and that your anniversary celebration was so special.. I am sorry that you did not have a great experience at the local hotel but hopefully they will have improved if you visit again. Warm regards Sue
Read more
US$61 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalitySt. Helena Bay
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing