True North West Coast

101 Beach Way Street Sandy Point Beach Estate, St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7390 South Africa
Traveller (25)
Dining (4)
View from Room (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 4 apartments in St. Helena Bay
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
True North is the retreat you've been needing without even knowing it. It's the place you go to get away from the city life. The place you go to for silence and solitude where you can hear the waves breaking and take in the scents of the fresh ocean air. One thing is certain when you visit True North, you'll leave finding your true north. The luxury apartments with private entrances and secured parking can accommodate 2 adults. Each apartment is also equipped with DSTV, Wi-Fi and an alarm system. The open-plan kitchenettes are fully equipped with a bar fridge, microwave, Air fryer, kettle, electric egg boiler, cutlery, and crockery for catering of light meals. High-end linen dons the beds and luxury towels hang in the bathrooms, as well as beach towels. Complimentary tea, coffee, and sugar is provided. A Nespresso coffee machine is available for all guests should you prefer to bring along your own pods. True North has a fully installed solar system.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Adults only
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German
12Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jan W wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackboys, United Kingdom201 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Peaceful, quiet, clean, bright, spacious room, well equipped, with private balcony. You couldn't get nearer to the sea than this. Great hosts warm and friendly on site if you need anything. Private gated estate. Highly recommend and we will return :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Wonderful stay overlooking the ocean with the sea lapping at your feet - literally :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ulf130 wrote a review May 2021
Tulbagh, South Africa143 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We again stayed and Tertia and Matt's tranquil guesthouse - 1st line and views from each room to die for!
The rooms are well appointed and spacious.
Great plus is the private balcony with uninterrupted sea-views.
We enjoyed our breakfast with a unforgettable view!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: any of the rooms is a good choice!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary wrote a review Jan 2021
St. Helena Bay, South Africa28 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent four nights at True North as part of a quick getaway on the West Coast.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the hosts very accommodating. Highly recommended!
Well located with easy access.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Binty12 wrote a review Apr 2023
Cape Town210 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We read some reviews before we booked to stay here and they were great, so we were surprised that this guesthouse misses the mark. The hosts are very nice and the decor is well done, but the bathrooms are so tiny that the sink and mirror are basically on top of the loo, and the bathroom has a little concertina door, so there is not much privacy if that kind of thing worries you. It really felt like they had squashed three apartments upstairs when there should have been two.
We could hear people talking or snoring in the other rooms so felt we had to be very quiet, and there is nowhere nice outside to sit. There is no braai area as such, and what there is is out back by the cars. There is seating on the balcony of the room, but otherwise you would have to sit actually on the beach to be outside, as the sea-facing area of the property downstairs is for the owners use.
There are no places nearby to walk to for food or drinks, so it's not a location to be in should you wish to walk everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tertia Vogler, Owner at True North West Coast
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hi Binty we do regret you have experienced this with us. We are always looking to improve our service to our guests and are very proud of our high standards of service. It is such a pity that you never mentioned your dissatisfaction to us during your stay. We believe in transparency and therefore I am proud to say that the description, photos and what our establishment offers is truthful on all the platforms that we advertise. One of our goals is to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and would want to return. It saddens us that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abeeda wrote a review Dec 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a self catering apartment. It's a room, with a chair, small 'kitchen' without any stove just a microwave and an airfryer. My office has more utensils! The bathroom is so tiny that you knock yourself all the time. Hotel rooms have more space. This is the most misleading description of a self catering apartment. We had to leave after our breakfast of coffee and toast each day to get space. There was nothing else to prepare a breakfast with. Yes, it's quiet and has a rocky sea view ...so what? The photo's are deceiving. The tv was a joke! We didn't even switch it on. We couldn't wait to leave after 6 nights! We had to stick it out because there was going to be no refund.

Do your research.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't be deceived by the pictures.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tertia Vogler, Owner at True North West Coast
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hi Abeeda, we honestly thought that you and your family were enjoying yourself. The comfort and happiness of our guests really matters to us. We were shattered to read about your experience and that you made no mention of it during our regular check-ins during your stay. It is very sad that you could not experience the beauty, comfort and relaxing atmosphere that 98% of our guest experience. If you mentioned your unhappiness from the time you arrived we would have gladly refunded you. Being transparent and honest about our establishment and what we offer is one of our core values as well as the happiness of our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sascha S wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
True North has the most beautiful view I’ve ever seen! If you’re looking for a little piece of heaven book yourself into this self-catering unit. It had everything I needed and more! Tertia is a superhost, and the staff are wonderful. Thank you for this special experience!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Location was perfect. Beautiful decorated and cozy place with great sea views and excellent host.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristi wrote a review Nov 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa124 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
True North West Coast is the retreat you’ve been needing without even knowing it. It’s the place you go to get away from the city life. The place you go to for silence and solitude where you can hear the waves breaking and take in the scents of the fresh ocean air. True North West Coast is a home away from home, where you’re getting so much more than a guesthouse, but a sanctuary where your hosts, Matt & Tertia, are like friends you’ve slipped away to visit.

We visited True North in St. Helena Bay for what ended up being an incredibly special weekend, filled with moments we wouldn’t have experienced anywhere else.

Whether you’re sitting on the balcony, waiting for the sunset with a glass of bubbles in your hand; or relaxing on the bed with your eyes closed. True North is going to relax your soul in ways you have never felt before.

Matt & Tertia are hosts that give everything to their guests. They have the most amazing optional breakfast and platters, where you don’t need to leave your room to experience fresh seafood from the ocean. Of course, if you’re looking to explore St. Helena Bay, you can have a beer at De Palm, enjoy breakfast at Die See Kombuis, and indulge in seafood at Alegria or at Oppikaai at the harbour.

Take the breather you need. Leave the little ones at home and take off to a weekend on the west coast. You’ll find secluded beaches with sunsets that pictures don’t do justice of, and you’ll find oceans so clear you can spot whales, jellyfish and seals.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GingerB wrote a review Jul 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa37 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So I've already shared some pictures on Instagram, but one last review is definitely in order.

We arrived around 14h00 on Friday, 5 June and was showed to our room by the lovely Tertia.
The room was absolutely stunning. I have a soft spot for clean, white furniture, large open windows and cool blue tones in the decor; and boy did I fall in love with this little place.
The room has a lovely heater and winter linen on the bed (which is totally amazing). They have additional warm blankets in the cupboard, which came in handy for a movie on the couch (lovely couch too by the way).
The views from the rooms are spectacular! I can't wait to go back during the summer months.
I don't even want to start with the breakfasts, because then I am sorely reminded that I am not there anymore... These were made with so much love and attention to detail. They use fresh micro greens and edible flowers - this is just to die for.
We went for walks on the beach / rocks - litterally right on the doorstep.

The peace and tranquility that True North West Coast has to offer is something I have yet to feel somewhere else... The hosts, Tertia & Matt are such lovely people. I can totally see myself enjoying a meal with them in the future.

We asked for some recommendations for restaurants around the area and in Langebaan for when we drive back to Cape Town; as usual Tertia was all over it and her recommendations were 5 star places.

We will definitely be back - very soon!

Bianca & Riano
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces40930260235 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel around for weekends and I must say True North is our favorite getaway place. The rooms are beautifull, super clean and the self catering unit has everything you need and more. From the moment you walk in you feel welcome and at home. The Nespresso machine in the room was an added bonus!
Well be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ulf130 wrote a review Aug 2018
Tulbagh, South Africa143 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tertia & Matt are PERFECT hosts:
even before we arrived they were very helpful with tips about the area and reserved a nice table at a local restaurant.
Their welcome was great and can be proud of their gem.
The rooms are very spacious and have excellent seaviews - we even slept with the large sliding window open to enjoy the sound of the waves.
The breakfast offered was devine and could not have been better in a 5-star guesthouse.
While it was winter, the room was sufficiently heated and extra blankets were provided - so were towels on request ( we stayed 3 nights).
Instant hot water in the shower and kitchenette - sufficient crockery and cutlery.
Even DSTV with extra foreign channels was provided - we watched 'BVN', Dutch television.

We will certainly be back at this well maintained and excellent guest house.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: all three rooms are GREAT!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sascha S wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location was perfect. Beautiful decorated and cozy place with great sea views and excellent host."
Read full review
Abeeda wrote a tip Dec 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be deceived by the pictures."
Read full review
Ulf130 wrote a tip May 2021
Tulbagh, South Africa143 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"any of the rooms is a good choice!"
Read full review
Jan W wrote a tip Feb 2020
Blackboys, United Kingdom201 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wonderful stay overlooking the ocean with the sea lapping at your feet - literally :)"
Read full review
Ulf130 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Tulbagh, South Africa143 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all three rooms are GREAT!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Helena Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,016 - R 1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalitySt. Helena Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRUE NORTH WEST COAST - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (St. Helena Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about True North West Coast
Which popular attractions are close to True North West Coast?
Nearby attractions include Stompneus Point Lighthouse (3.4 km), Shelley Bay Beach (3.4 km), and Vasco Da Gama Statue (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at True North West Coast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at True North West Coast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at True North West Coast?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at True North West Coast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to True North West Coast?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Palm Restaurant & Bar, JP's Grill & Bistro, and St Helena Nursery Coffee Shop.
Is True North West Coast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of St. Helena Bay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at True North West Coast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Afrikaans.
Does True North West Coast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.