We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winchelsea Lodge

Save
Share
The Lodge at Winchelsea, Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/03/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Winchelsea Lodge
Updated 21/03/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Always Book direct for the best rates. Winchelsea Lodge is only 10 minutes from Hastings and offers guests the perfect base to explore Hastings, Battle and Rye. Ideally located in the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with lots of free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks on our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes a Full English breakfast. Our English restaurant is open for full service 6 days a week until 9pm. We offer a wide range of fresh local produce. Our Sunday Roast is constantly refreshed. Our vegetarian staff keep us on our toes with regard to vegetarian dishes. After 5pm on a Sunday we allow the kitchen staff Sunday evenings off which we hope you will forgive.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Archery
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
489Reviews6Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 227
  • 151
  • 67
  • 27
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AndyDM2017 wrote a review 17 Jun
London, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
Fabulous destination with fantastic staff, making for a very relaxing break. Very clean rooms and communal areas. COVID guidelines being followed making you feel safe. Ideal base for visiting the Sussex and Kent tourist areas.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
travel_ju_ju wrote a review 08 Jun
London, United Kingdom179 contributions38 helpful votes
It is not the first time we are staying over at Winchelsea lodge but it’s always been a good stay. We were very warmly welcomed and our stay was truly amazing. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Wanted to say special thank you to Matt B. for looking after us at Spikes restaurant. Service was outstanding and food was absolutely delish. Definitely recommend to stay over here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LDN_welltravelled wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom295 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
Lodge We requested a cool quiet room with a fan. We got the room closest to the bar and road with a dual aspect effect from the traffic wizzing past from front to back. No fan. The rear window was locked, as it would have opened directly on top of the bins. An orange light reflected off a van in the car park and a security light, floodlighting our room through a window with no blind. Once the bar closed the fun really started- with a large party preceding to sit up until 0130 in the outdoor bar area, further broadcasting their conversation to all other residents. This property is 4 stars. We could see a collection of mugs, some expired capsules of long life milk that curdled in the tea and a kettle full of limescale. No spoons to extract tea bags. Bathrooms aren’t the best: Toiletries are basic. Hand gel and shower gel bolted to the wall. The light above the mirror has been smashed, the bare exposed bulb flickers on and off. The mirror is appointed above the towel rail rather than the sink, making it impossible to shave or use. The shower was possibly the highlight. Each room has a power shower, probably twice as noisy as a car. You can hear almost all the showers from adjoining rooms. Beware the mosquitos! There are no measures to deter these, no coils or sprays but they are present in great numbers... we were both bitten. There is an external wall feature inside the walls. This isn’t original stone work or a thing of beauty but rather a modern brick wall that looks unfinished and unplastered. Besides poor noise insulation meaning we could hear every word of our neighbours conversation, the walls are unclean, with the texture accumulating dirt and impossible to redecorate or deep clean. Bedding for the most part was clean- although beds sadly lumpy. Towels were threadbare. Covid restrictions almost non existent. Breakfast buffet was served by staff but none of these staff wore masks either at the buffet or in the kitchen area. We didn’t see any staff wearing masks during our stay- there was a crazy situation where guests wearing masks had to instruct staff without to serve their food for them!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you aren’t sensitive to noise, dust, mosquitos or Covid good spot for you to stay
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Stillwell, Owner at Winchelsea Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr I-Want-To-Leave-A-Public-Review-But-Keep-My-Name-Anonymous, Everyone enjoys a creative writing exercise, but you have exaggerated to the point of absurdity. Your photos clearly show you stayed in Room 3, a family room. There are three family rooms at The Lodge, Room 1, Room 3 and Room 12. Room 12 was already booked long in advance before your booking, and of Room 1 and Room 3 your room is further from the bar, further from the road, and further from the outdoor seating area. There are four rooms closer to the bar than Room 3 ( 1, 2, 1G and 2G) so by definition you certainly were not closest to the bar. At no point during your stay did you request a fan, or you would have been provided one; we have enough to provide multiple fans to each guest. We place these in rooms as default from July to September, but they are always available on request in case hot weather strikes in May(or earlier in the year), as it did during your stay. I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by guests having a good time in the outdoor seating area of our bar/restaurant whilst you sulked in your room, but it's good to know at least everyone else was enjoying themselves. Finally a simple, accurate statement in your review; this property is 4 stars. An accreditation judged and provided independently, not by our own judgement, although we do hold ourselves to that standard. Yes we do provide mugs and a kettle in the rooms. We also provide teaspoons, however it is possible one of our housekeepers missed them in your room, an egregious error I'm sure but everyone is human. Perhaps if you'd deigned to ask we could have swiftly provided you with teaspoons? Or did you suspect we actually don't have them on site? Let me reassure you; we do, as I'm sure you would've seen at breakfast. An interesting proposal; long life milk, and yet expired. We do provide long life milk capsules in the room, I just checked the box and they will expire in 2023, although I'm sure none of the ones from this box will still be in rooms in 2 months time, let alone 2 years. Indeed it's very unfortunate the light fitting in Room 3 was broken the night before your stay and we did not have an immediate replacement, but it has now been fixed I'm glad to say. Yes, every upstairs room has a power shower, guests often comment on how glad they are to have a very hot and very powerful shower at The Lodge every time they stay, without fail. Twice as noisy as a car? Really? Even for you that is an extreme exaggeration. They aren't silent by any means, and we certainly intend to update them as soon as we can afford to...did you know the hotel industry has been losing money every month for over a year? Funny what a pandemic will do. Hand gel and shower gel are also complimentary, yes! They are provided in dispensers, which has been the industry standard for around 10 years now and saves a tremendous amount of plastic waste from discarded individual soaps & gels. Mosquitoes are a complaint I've never had before, in the two years owning & running this business, so this one puzzles me. I've genuinely never even had a comment about mosquitoes before at The Lodge, nor been bitten by any, so we've never had the need to deter them...are you sure you didn't manage to bring them with you? Sounds ridiculous I know, but then so does much of your review... The brick walls are original, and are a feature. They're kept clean / hygienic with our fogging procedures. Mattresses are brand new as of last month, so there are no lumps I can assure you (and anyone reading this!). Covid restrictions are not always visible, so allow me to explain ours to you; all of our staff are regularly tested for Covid (twice weekly), even those who are fully vaccinated. We have multiple members of staff who have health conditions which exempt them from wearing masks including myself; I have a serious lung condition and an exemption from my doctor. Fortunately these health conditions also have made staff eligible for vaccination, so most are fully vaccinated. Masks are required in public areas except exemptions, but not in areas where members of the public do not go. If you really think our chef/kitchen staff should have been working in a mask I suggest you try cooking yourself dinner one evening with a mask on, and then imagine yourself in a commercial kitchen with 10 times the heat. Of course, you have accidentally noted one of our restrictions; staff have to serve you your food rather than operating a buffet, for everyone's safety. We do try to minimise the way in which Covid regulations restrict our guests from enjoying their stay, but we feel we succeed in this without compromising on safety. I can confirm for you we have never had a single case of Covid amongst our staff, or as far as we know amongst guests, and we are proud of that.
Read more
dijami18 wrote a review May 2021
Derby, United Kingdom27 contributions4 helpful votes
Hidden gem near Rye The owner and staff were all so lovely , very friendly and helpful. Breakfast which was all included was fantastic Evening meal was superb ...the fish and chips with best mushy peas ever ! Surrounding countryside beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 6 countryside views beautiful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
IanElliott wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom139 contributions62 helpful votes
Avoid like the plague!. Tried to make a Smartbox booking. They were incredibly rude and totally unwilling to honour the offer. The owner could have been Basil Fawlty’s grumpier brother. One can only presume that the service there would reflect the very poor attitude of him and his staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Stillwell, Owner at Winchelsea Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Ian. It's a little disingenuous to leave a negative review when you have never been to our hotel or restaurant. I understand it can be frustrating to be told we have no availability for your booking, however that is often the case when trying to book last minute in a very busy period. Smartbox (and other such as Red Letter Days / Buy A Gift) vouchers do not entitle you to stay at a particular hotel or eat at a particular restaurant, they can be used at many hotels or restaurants on whatever days they have available, if they have availability. The only person who was rude was yourself, to my staff, so I'm sorry we had to be blunt when you couldn't understand there was no availability, but your review is completely inaccurate. Perhaps we should be glad we had no availability and you didn't actually stay with us, given your attitude to simply being told there was no availability to use your voucher with us when you wanted to.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at winchelsea hotel winchelsea, winchelsea hotel east sussex, winchelsea motel east sussex
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexRyeWinchelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Winchelsea Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Storymaster's Tales Interactive Theatre (3.7 km), St. Thomas the Martyr (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Parish Church (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Winchelsea Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rye Waterworks Micropub, Knoops, and The Horse & Cart Inn.
Is Winchelsea Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Winchelsea.
Are there any historical sites close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Parish Church (3.8 km), Mermaid Street (3.8 km), and Lamb House (3.8 km).
Is Winchelsea Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.