The Greyhound Hotel

The Greyhound Hotel

Our room
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Carshalton
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Looking for a place to stay in Carshalton? Then look no further than The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel, a romantic hotel that brings the best of Carshalton to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service, express check-in and check-out, and outdoor furniture. In addition, guests can enjoy breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for an Asian restaurant, consider a visit to Blue Bengal, Chopstick House, or Indian Oasis, which are all conveniently located a short distance from The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel.

If you’re looking for something to do, The Grove Park (0.1 mi), Little Holland House (0.7 mi), and Carshalton Water Tower (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel as you experience everything Carshalton has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2 High Street, Carshalton SM5 3PE England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Heathrow Airport
23.4 km
See all flights
London City Airport
21.2 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles673 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Greyhound Hotel garners praise for its impeccably clean and comfortable accommodations, featuring modern bathrooms and thoughtful touches, though some guests have noted the lighting and Wi-Fi could be improved. The on-site amenities and excellent food often receive compliments, as does the exceptional service, with staff members recognized for their friendliness and efficiency. While the hotel's vibrant pub atmosphere is a highlight, visitors also enjoy the tranquility of their rooms. Nestled in a scenic location, the Greyhound Hotel's value for money receives mixed reviews.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
673Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 403
  • 152
  • 57
  • 32
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Debe s S wrote a review Jan 2022
Falmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at the Greyhound on New Year’s Eve and what a little find. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had our little dog with us and as we booked a dog friendly room we were amazed that the room was spotless and had a spotless dog bed and dog bowl waiting for us. We had room service which was quick and delicious. Shower was powerful and bathroom was modern and spotless. The breakfast in the morning was a fantastic. We had the full English and cooked to perfection with great quality produce. We were also directed to the buffet table which had a great selection of continental cheeses, ham, fruit and pastries which again were all good quality and fresh. Again the staff were friendly and brought a bowl for our dog and some dog biscuits. Opposite the hotel is Carshalton ponds which has lovely dog walks. We will definitely be stopping here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greyhound Hotel, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Debe S S, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Greyhound Hotel! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jacquie Freeman wrote a review Sept 2021
Braunton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very good price and ideal for us visiting family . Plenty of free parking on site . The staff very helpful and friendly, the process for check in was quick and easy . The room was good size , clean and the bathroom had a good shower and nice quality products should you need them . The breakfast was included in the price and was lovely, there was fruit , yogurt, cold meats , cheeses , pastries and breads , toast and cereal and juices if you would like before your main breakfast. We had full English it was lovely, bacon cooked as we like it , very nice staff in restaurant and very attentive. You can pre- book the restaurant if you would like an evening meal too . The location is pretty and although it is a pub / restaurant it wasn’t noisy . We would definitely stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Paul T wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very pleasant hotel. Location is lovely.

The service from all of the staff was very good. Callum is an absolute credit to the hospitality industry and this hotel in particular. Callum took the booking on the telephone and took the time to understand our particular needs as we were staying with Young teenagers. When we arrived he was In reception and couldn’t of made us feel more welcome.

Unfortunately these days it is rare to find individuals who clearly takes such pride and are so professional at running and establishment. We will definitely return as he went beyond good service to make our stay very relaxed.

Because of work and travelling a lot I stay in hotels many times, rarely write reviews, but when an individual shows such professionalism and care it deserves recognition.

Thank you so much Callum.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Youngs Pubs, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 09 May 2022
Dear Paul Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Colum is delighted with your feedback and we as a team are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to stay at The Greyhound hotel. Have a great day, Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fylpo wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival we were told to register in with NHS app but we dont have it and we were not willing to download it. The hostess told us we shall provide the name and phone number in order to be able to sit. Our names are a bit challenging to understand (foreign origin) so we offered to write it down for her, but she got really agitated and rude upon this, and she said we are not allowed to write anything and she has to type the names in the computer straight away. Of course she struggled with the names, got my wife’s name wrong because i could see what she was typing and I had to spell my name out for her after all. We were not given menus to see and have questions about it, she said we have to use an app to order. Thats ok if it is because of covid but after we sat we could see another 3 couples sitting with menus getting the order taken at their tables. I wanted to wash my hands so went around to find the toilet but got confused and asked a woman to guide me and another customer who was also confused (he ended up going into the kitchen) where to washrooms were. She instead of saying where it was, pointed out the sign on the door looking at us like idiots who cant read. Very polite indeed.
My wife advised that the ladies toilet does not even have soap so people have to wash hands with alcoholic hand gel.
The waitress brought the drinks on a tray but refused to serve it (again I saw her serving drinks to at least 3 other tables and another waitress serving drinks with no tray at all!!!) and told us to remove it from the tray. Why?? They already touched the glass when they put them on the tray, I am sure they did not fly there by themselves.
Our food arrived with no cutlery, she immediately realised (brownie point here) the cutlery arrived in a bucket, uncovered (sorry but during covid and according how diligent the hostess was to follow safe rules). Quiet unacceptable hygienic standard.
15 pounds for a simple burger and another 15 ish for fish and chips, we got a teaspoon of ketchup each in a plastic container (probably enough for one piece of potato). For this price I would imagine getting more than just McDonalds style frozen chips but its ok with me if everything else is fine. However it wasnt. My fish was soaking in oil. I squeezed out approximately two soup spoons of oil from the batter, the fish was soggy and bland. No salt at all on it before frying. The mushy peas the same, very bland, no seasoning whatsoever. I would still eat it adding salt and tartar but I have found bones in the fish what I was not advised about, how could I as noone was there to help with the menu. At least not for us but for others.
We wanted to let the waitress know but she was not around. She went to all other tables to ask how they were apart from us. I put the plate on the side to make them realise something was wrong (since I could not get attention) but when she passed by she saw the plate and could not care less.
Outrageous that we pay in advance for something we have not received yet. And pay tips in advance? Hm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon H wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The cost of the rooms is a little expensive when what you are really paying for is a room above a pub!
Having said that the staff are very friendly and hospitable.
The food in the restaurant however is shocking. Really bland tasting, staff didn’t know about allergies to dishes, and to be honest, unless you want a burger and chips, forget anything else.
The rest of the food on the menu was over priced and an extremely big let down.
Such a shame as we booked a table for a family reunion after all this time.
A discount or offer on our inedible dinners may ha e gone somewhere, but to be charged full price for two uneaten main corse meals is taking the piss!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greyhound Hotel, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Dear John Thank you for your review, please would you be so kind at to email us your feedback direct to , greyhound@youngs.co.uk and we will respond to you directly, Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lara C wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I came in for a drink on a Monday evening with 2 friends. We were taken to the table by a host, who was quite abrupt and who told us to download the app, which we did - happily. We then ordered a round on the app, which was fine and arrived in a reasonable time. We then ordered some food and were eating this when the following happened. We had been sitting for about half an hour when another group sat down at the table across from us. My boyfriend and I recognised two of the members of the group as ex colleagues and so exchanged pleasantries with them (we said hello and asked how each other was to be exact) and then continued on with our evening. About 20 mins later a man (hilariously wearing a mask which was not over his nose, and at other points in the evening wearing his mask on his chin) came over to ask the other table to move, as the ladies had been speaking to one another and that we obviously knew each other. We all conceded that we did know each other and then tried to say that we hadn’t arranged this, and that we just said hello. This was met with quite a lot of aggression, and the man told the other party that if they were unhappy with the situation that they needed to leave. They had ordered food so obviously weren’t going to leave, and so moved tables. Both tables were left feeling very embarrassed, which was completely unnecessary. Had this been suggested in a less aggressive way then this could have been such a minor event in the evening. We then made an order on the app that didn’t arrive for at least 15 mins,the order was for for one pint of lager. When our friends ordered another round that did arrive, we very politely asked if they had a pint of fosters for our table waiting. Eventually we showed the lady our receipt, who up until that point repeatedly just stated that they just hadn’t received our order and who made no effort to wait while we found our receipt when we initially reported the issue. When we showed the receipt and we were told the drink would be coming we received a long winded explanation of how the app work and why they might not come through... but no apology. I’m not sure if the aggression/apathy towards us was due to our age. Our group of four are all around 25, and the colleagues that we said hello to are a little younger. It’s such a shame as we usually have a great experience here. We are all young professionals, and usually happy to spend our money here as it’s not cheap, but we usually like the atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a relaxing weekend stay away in a nice room and decided to stay at the hotel based on the lovely pictures of the standard double on the website. However when we got there it became clear that the pictures we saw of a standard double were misleading. These pictures seem to be of their premium rooms of which there are only two and are of a totally different standard to the one we were given. The room was comfortable and clean, and if we were going to the area anyway we would have happily stayed here, but I wouldn’t have travelled to Carshalton especially to go here. Having driven a baby and all our stuff across London we felt we had no choice but to stay the night, but I did have the feeling that I had been cheated. We were told that they had had similar complaints before but the website hasn’t changed so this doesn’t seem to be just a mistake on their part. The staff were nice and service was good. But in general the weekend was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greyhound Hotel, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Dear Anna Thank you for your feedback, I have emailed you directly with a response after you emailed us directly regarding our website and the room type that is offered for the 2 night staycation deal. Please feel free to email us directly forif you have any further queries regarding your stay with us, Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lulu wrote a review Oct 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for Sunday roast with 3 other family members was really disappointed with the roast dinners today . The food came out cold three of us sent it back forth person didn’t mind cold food. Table staff helpful they replaced the three meals but what’s on the plates is odd a weird selection of veg and something I had no idea what it was with I think mushroom in it. Potatoes awful tasted liked pre cooked and warmed up not crispy at all such a disappointment as I have eaten here several times before I actually asked if it was under new management and it isn’t also pudding portions half the size they use to be but just as dear. Will not be returning Which is a shame in such difficult times .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
neclemen wrote a review May 2024
Launceston, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic hotel - lovely room, quiet, comfortable and really well appointed. The pub/restaurant is great with good food and to add to that there is a lovely outside eating area. One of the best uk hotels I’ve stayed in and very reasonably priced for somewhere 25 mins from Victoria
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 17 May 2024
Dear neclemen, Thank you for the wonderful review.It is so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our rooms, food and found us good value for money. Its so nice to hear great feedback which we have shared with our staff.It is a great compliment to hear that that we are one of the best hotels that you have stay in in England. We certainly hope to welcome you back for another visit to the Greyhound in the future. Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jane w wrote a review Sept 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We went on a Saturday evening for dinner with family. My family enjoyed the food but to be honest my mushroom/chicken risotto was very bland. The drinks are so expensive, I paid £10 for a glass of white wine and I had to take my sons lager back as it was so flat and tasted like the the bottom of the barrel, but they were very obliging and changed it but never took it off the bill. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and some of the staff had the attitude of self importance. We had an enjoyable evening with family but we won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greyhound Hotel, General Manager at The Greyhound Hotel
Responded 05 Oct 2021
Thank you Jane W for the review after your recent dining experience with us at The Greyhound. We are glad that your issue with the pint of lager was resolved and you got a fresh pint. We are sorry to hear that you wont return but we would like you to email us direct ,so we can find out from you what we can do to change the atmosphere in our pub/dining room and what we can do regarding training our team better. Our email address is greyhound@youngs.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you, Kind Regards The Greyhound Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Palag
Perth, Australia66 contributions69 helpful votes
Well there are ground floor rooms - I don’t think there are lifts but I do know there are disabled rooms - my friend has a fall and was moved to one on the ground floor but I think it had a bath not a shower but was very suitable for her as a lot of grab rails etc . I would email the hotel and ask . They are a great team there and was so helpful when my friend needed to be moved to a suitable room. I didn’t find it noisy but I was in the main hotel
Answer from Colum & Anne Marie
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Our car park is free and you don’t need to reserve a space, Kind Regards Anne Marie McCarthy
Answer from Em131313
London, United Kingdom5,352 contributions266 helpful votes
It’s about a 10 minute drive, although could take longer if traffic is bad. You’ll be able to find both locations on google maps to see.
Answer from Colum & Anne Marie
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Hi , Please can you call us direct on 0208 6471511 and we can assist you with your query Kind Regards Anne Marie Mccarthy
Jackie D wrote a tip 15 Jul
Welshpool, United Kingdom45 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location opposite ponds, walking distance to two railway stations, regular buses. About 1 hour from London on public transport."
Read full review
Laurine151214 wrote a tip 11 Jul
Norwich, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This Hotel is so convenient for the Royal Marsden Hospital always so helpful and friendly, the Boutique rooms overlooking the pond "
Read full review
David M wrote a tip Jun 2024
Lisburn, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are good public transport connections."
Read full review
Jane W wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is free parking available and it’s opposite a pretty pond"
Read full review
151Mike151 wrote a tip May 2024
Devizes, United Kingdom851 contributions168 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Research this historic location and seek out those of interest, many are on the `doorstep` of the greyhound."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carshalton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,422 - R 2,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyCarshalton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREYHOUND HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Carshalton, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Greyhound Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Greyhound Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Grove Park (0.2 km), Windsor Castle Pub (0.4 km), and Honeywood Museum (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Greyhound Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Greyhound Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Greyhound Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Greyhound Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Greyhound Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Sun, Dotty's Teahouse Carshalton, and The Hope.
Is The Greyhound Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Carshalton.
Are pets allowed at The Greyhound Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Greyhound Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shirley Windmill (7.6 km), 2 Willow Road (1.5 km), and RAF Kenley (6.2 km).
Is The Greyhound Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Carshalton HotelsCarshalton Hotel DealsHotels near The Greyhound Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire