We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Traveller (380)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Our quality accommodation in Lake Tekapo is situated in a central position in the village, close to local shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern, clean and most have excellent views over Lake Tekapo and the surrounding mountains. Located just 3 hours from Christchurch and 3 and a half hours from Queenstown, it’s a fantastic accessible stop on your journey, or the perfect getaway for a worry-free weekend. For the more adventurous, activities include boating, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and horse trekking. If you’re looking for a more relaxed pace, the views of the lake offer a constant vista to enjoy the world-class cafes and restaurants, as well as the local hot springs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
HOTEL CLASS
746Reviews
400Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 373
  • 284
  • 67
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were a bit disappointed in this hotel. It is conveniently situated along the lake; however, no longer has a view. There is construction immediately in front of the hotel (new observatory and another hotel) that blocks the views. Rooms lack air and mattress/pillows are not
Read more
Response from DebbieH3648, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. We are excited about the growth of our town and the new developments. While we no longer have the unobstucted views of the lake that we once enjoyed we have always maintained that the best views are from the edge of the lake which is only a short stroll from us. We wish you safe travels.
Read more
A lovely situation, but with lake views now much restricted due to a new hostel, and current building work on a new observatory in front of the motel spoiling what would otherwise be a perfect position. I understand that the room descriptions are going to be updated to reflect
Read more
Response from DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. We do have two types of rooms available. One is a studio unit and the other is Family suite. Our family suite has a fully equipped kitchen with table and chairs. We wish you safe travels. Kind Regards
Read more
Nothing was too much effort and we were given some good dinner recommendations. Everything was clean tidy and well presented. . A shame the new building is compromising some of the views. I would happily return.
Read more
Response from DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. Tekapo is a small village undergoing huge change due to increased visitor numbers and unfortunately along with that comes construction. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Read more
Could not fault this motel. Well equipped, friendly owners, and it once had a pristine view which, unfortunately, has been spoilt by a construction project that has been wished on the village by the council. Very glad we chose to stay here, so lovely to sit on the balcony
Read more
Response from DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Angela Thank you for your review we really appreciate the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Rhonda
Read more
Disappointed that we paid for a lake view and found that half of the view is blocked by the construction of a new building between the hotel and the lake. The room was clean and well presented but expensive for what you got.
Read more
Response from DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Responded 23 Jan 2019
Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are sorry that you were not happy with the view of the lake from your room. We believe the best view of the lake is at the lakes edge...a few minutes walk from us.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Kitchen
So-called "lake-view", which we weren't advised before+after check-in
PreviousNext
12345641
Hi, The studios ground level have queen and single Studios upstairs have queen and queen sofabed Family units have queen in master bedroom and single and sofabed in second bedroom. Deluxe Family unit has queen in master and two singles in 2nd bedroom
0 votes
Show all answers
Check out time is 10:00 am. You are welcome to store your luggage with us.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, is car parking free?
yes!
0 votes
Show all answers
We stayed here as a couple and a 12 yr old in a downstairs room. It had one main room with a double bed, single bed, couch and kettle all in the same room. It depends on how you intend to spend your holiday I guess, if you are looking for a place to sleep and shower then yes this would be suitable but if you intended to spend quite some time in the room then it may be a little small ( there maybe bigger rooms, Im not sure) There were no cooking facilities in our room so bear that in mind if you intend to self cater.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is 1 night enough? How many nights did you stay?
I stayed 2 nights, which I found was enough, but if you are skiing, you would probably stay longer
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Bring your own pillow"
"Try and get a room with a view. Tekapo is spectacular!"
"There is no lift, choose a room on the ground floor if you have bulky cases to carry"
"I would think upstairs would have the best view but you need to carry your cases up the stairs."
"Second floor for sure and ask for lake view!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake tekapo scenic hotel lake tekapohotel lake tekapo scenic
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictLake Tekapo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing