Watergate Resort Unawatuna

Watergate Resort Unawatuna

Yaddehimulla Road Devala Road, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Traveller (91)
Вид из номера
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#23 of 56 hotels in Unawatuna
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Newly open on beach resort. Very close to most beatifull places in Galle
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Sun umbrellas
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy

Location

Yaddehimulla Road Devala Road, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Koggala Airport
10.7 km
See all flights
Mawella Lagoon Airport
49.3 km
See all flights
55Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 8
  • 2
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate B wrote a review Feb 2020
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a 5 to 8 minute walk from the busier beach end of the road, making it a quiet hotel which we really appreciated. The sunset from the hotel is wonderful and you can see Galle Lighthouse in the distance.

All of the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The rooms are well kept and housekeeping come every day, even if you ask in the evening. All rooms have A/C and a mini fridge, you are also provided with 2 bottles of water each day. There are tea and coffee making facilities. There's a good shower, with toiletries available if needed.

There is fresh fruit and juice , pancakes, cereal and English breakfast with eggs of your choosing each day. A couple of days an Sri Lankan breakfast was offered.

There are tuk tuks nearly always just outside the hotel, prices in Unawatuna and Galle are much higher here than other locations in SL. To get to Galle is 500 to 600 rupees, the lowest we found was 400. To Mirissa is 4000 but you'll be able to get back for 1500.

There is a small pool with an outside bar looking over the sea. There are plenty of sunbeds and the pool is often quiet during the day.

The only comment I would have is that the pool could be a little cleaner. It's by no means terrible and I still used the pool happily. The last couple of days the water did look a little murky compared to the previous 12 days, but the staff were aware and trying to rectify the problem.

All in all an excellent stay for a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramidu Abeygunawardene, Owner at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 01 Mar 2020
Dear guest first of all thank you very much for your lovely comments,we really appreciate that you have spend your valuable time to review and make us strong and believe in what we do at best.yes in Unawatuna tuk tuks are very costly. now we have introduced south Indian and a bit of Italian for the Breakfast to give more variety. regarding pool I would like to tender my apologies.(may be one of the off days for the pool attendant ) just joking.we are delighted that you'll had a wonderful time and mostly enjoyed the hospitality of water gate.if you wish to come to Unawatuna you are welcome to our hotel.thank you and regards. Team Watergate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigina M wrote a review Feb 2023
Kuwait
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came to spend 3 nights at this hotel and ended up spending 9 instead , as we simply fell in love with it.
Stunning view -for sunset lovers, very quiet for light sleepers and what was very important for me,they have blackout curtains.
Another thing which was amazing about this hotel, we never had any insects in the room, even tho bathroom window is more like a little fence than a window. It has uncovered gaps which made me worried knowing how reach is the fauna here. (See the picture attached ) But we didn’t have even mosquitoes!!!!!!
Bathroom is broad and very good looking, room has a little fridge and very convenient lights switchers inbuilt into the nightstands.
Stairs are always clean and plants are everywhere. Even in the bathroom.
Hotel is far from the busy area, if you a pedestrian there are tuktuks available outside during the day time. Night time you will need to walk in the dark a little bit. If you rent a bike , there is plenty of space just next to the reception and night time security will keep an eye on it.
Staff and managers are very kind and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
briandmad wrote a review Apr 2020
Stafford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we have stayed at Watergate, this time for 8 nights. Once again we were made very welcome and John, the new General Manager is doing an excellent job.The rooms are kept very clean and have great views of the sea and evening sunset.The breakfast is always of high quality, and cooked to order.The pool is kept spotlessly clean and we also occasionally used sun beds right on the beach at their sister hotel.We are already planning our third visit in 2021
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ramidu Abeygunawardene, Owner at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 14 Apr 2020
Greetings Dear Briandmad we are delighted that you had a wonderful time at WaterGate .mainly thank you for sparing your valuable time to make some ones life happier. definitely i will convey the message to my team.as a manager me and my team did what we suppose to do at best.its my priority my guest are well looked after and feel homely. end of the day its makes our job looks easier when do things in the right direction .yes we are planing to do some changes now since its a lean period because of the crises.we are with minimum staff relaid new tiles in the pool,planning to have a restaurant and few rooms on roof top. before you make a booking please send a mail will give you a special deal.we love to have you in our property.once again thank you very much and stay home safe,god bless you.liver pool got to wait for few more months to get hold of the trophy Love and regards john may
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jp.Williams wrote a review Dec 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic hotel with a great seaview and best
sunset ever seen before .
Staffs are very friendly and helpful , 10 mins walk from the town, nice swimming pool abs little bar , highly recommended it , you can make you own breakfast as wellD it’s just perfect .
thank you !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayne W wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are the most beautiful souls!! So happy to help abd accommodate!!!
We had the best breakfast only complaint we could not eat it all!!!
I had the best tastiest dahl!!! My husband had beautiful full English!!
So clean! Beautiful pool !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Of the beaten track but only a 200 yards!! Well worth a visit even just for the food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte B wrote a review Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately I only have negative things to say about the hotel. I had originally booked to stay here for 5 nights but ended up checking out after 2.

Upon checking in, the first thing I noticed was a gun on the table by the pool. I have no idea what the gun was for or what type it was, however, it looked real and it made me and my boyfriend feel extremely uncomfortable.

The staff in the hotel didn’t seem to have any customer service training. There were lots of staff around but they didn’t seem to be doing their jobs. They were more interested in watching the tv or staring at us which again made us feel very uncomfortable.

If WiFi is a priority for you, do not expect to use it here as it is basically non existent all over the hotel. Despite asking reception to look into the problem it didn’t get resolved.

The pool is fairly nice and the rooms are fairly nice and modern. Our room didn’t get cleaned for the three days we were there and we had a problem with our bed sheets smelling like sick.

The 4 star rating is very deceiving, you would expect this hotel to be new and modern. However, there are clearly better options in the area so do not waste your money or time going here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Water Gate Reso... U, General Manager at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 22 Jan 2018
Thanks for being with us. We extremely sorry, which you had face trouble in our premises. We don't have any idea about any gun on the table. second thing we are newly open hotel and staff are newly recruited for the position as trainee, cause of shortage of manpower. So sorry for your uncomfortable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanHobs wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed one night. The location isn't the absolute best, in terms of getting to the beach, but its not too far (around 8-10 mins walk) and there are tuk-tuks outside.
The hotel was quiet when we stayed here and few guests. The sea view rooms have nice balconies and a great view of the crashing waves, against the rocks. So its a nice spot to sit out and listen and see the ocean.
I was impressed with how clean they kept the place. There wasnt a thing out of place and the rooms and main areas were immaculate.
Staff were pleasant and the manager assisted us with our food requests and dietary requirements for the breakfast.
There were a few things that were not that great with the breakfast. We got some avocado and it was really about gone off, but they still served it, with most of it being brown and bad inside.
The other thing I found surprising, was that in the bathroom, there is a opening for the window, but with only angled wooden slats going across. So noone could see it or anything, but there was not netting or glass and so mosquito's, insects or anything could get in. Which is weird and a small detail that should be taken care of.
Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and can recommend for something away from the hustle and bustle.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RamiduA2, Manager at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Greetings Thank you for the comments and we do apologize for the avocado incident.some times(serving avocado is very tricky)avocados are well ripe and look off color,dark black spots here and there.off ones are smelly which you cannot use. by saying this I am not running away from your problem,yes we could have avoided serving it to the guest. Regarding the opening there is a ventilation procedure maintain by the architecture by keeping some wooden opening panels which will maintain the ordure from the bathrooms and fresh air to go in.by doing so we are giving insects and mosquito's a chance to go in, which is not encouraged at all.thank you for your constructive complain which i have informed my directors.but apart from few hassles we are very glad that you enjoyed our stay and hospitality. definitely as a organization we minimize our mistakes and change for better tomorrow.thank you for taking your valuable time for your lovely comments.regards Team Watergate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DottyHampshire wrote a review Mar 2019
Dodanduwa, Sri Lanka
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our initial impression was good. However on check in the front desk manager asked where we were going after Unawatuna. When we told him hikkaduwa, he frowned saying it’s not very nice there & that we should stay at unawatuna, but couldn’t explain why, this we didn’t feel was very professional. We booked a platinum room, which in our opinion was “ok” but certainly not platinum standard! The fridge was on the floor, mini bar was all extras & the bedside rug was a bath mat!! The complimentary tea & coffee was literally 1 tea, coffee, milk & sugar per person, again not a platinum service. There is building work going on around the pool & the workmen start work at 8am until late, there was no mention of this at time of booking. We enquired at front desk the cost of a taxi to get to hikkaduwa. In conversation the front desk manager suggested we go by tuk tuk, but we weren’t keen as we had a lot of luggage, & may be a tight squeeze. The manager turned to my husband & said “yes & you are fat”!!! When shown our surprise by his RUDE comment there was no apology.
Also the lady who works in the back office is very unfriendly & unwelcoming, just giving out orders while guests were trying to eat breakfast. The check out was unpleasant, they just took our money & that was it....no, thank you for staying with us, was everything ok.....nothing!!
Thankfully we only stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
We are so glad we weren’t put off by the hikkaduwa comments as it is absolutely beautiful here & the staff could teach the staff at watergate how to welcome their guests!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RamiduA2, Director of Sales at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 27 Jun 2019
Dear Dotty We thoroughly go through your opinions and we will use them for future developments. We always do our best to make positive changes for our guest comfort and convenience. We have already have done lot of operational and amenity improvements including the amazing sunset viewing deck at poolside. We believe your comments help us to make our resort more comfortable, memorable and convenient place for future guests. We have almost achieved it. Your can verify that with recent reviews. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deanna Loos wrote a review Jan 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Water Gate Resort & Spa
Unawatuna
DO NOT GO TO WATERGATE RESORT UNAWATUNA!!!
645122244
I am Sri Lankan born and am on holiday in Sri Lanka from Melb Australia. We booked in to stay at the Water Gate Resort from 8th Jan-13th Jan 2019. We stayed there for 2 nights, there were Sand Flies and Mosquitos in the room which kept biting us. Room Service brought a plug in and put it in our room, but that did not stop them. The Pillows were hard as Rocks!! They did not have any other softer pillows to offer us. The Hotel staff were very nice and did what they could to help us. There is only Al A Carte food available. However, into my holiday at the Water Gate, I received a call from Australia to say that my mum was very ill and I needed to fly back urgently to Melb. So I contacted Booking.com who were just amazing and explained to them what was happening. They called the General Manager of the Hotel Gimhan Silva and asked him if he could waive the charges for the other 3 days, and the reply was a prompt NO. Booking.com gave me his mobile number and asked me to call him and that he might oblige. I called him and I broke down and cried explaining my situation. But he still stood his groun and refused my request. If he had said it in a manner that those in the hospitality industry are thought to profess, it would have been a consolation to me, but his arrogance was awful and I wondered whether I was really talking to a fellow citizen of my country. In fact I have read a few reviews about him that guests have uploaded that are not too appealing. Nastiness is not an ingredient in any industry, and it should not be so in the hospitality industry either. But if you really need to know what nastiness is just hop along to Water Gate and its General Manager.
I will be writing to the Management of the Hotel as they should know the caliber of the people they employ.

Personally I would not advise my friends in Australia to ever visit Water Gate unless they need to have a show of arrogance supplied by its General Manager

Deanna Loos Melb Australia.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from namalkodithuwakku, Public Relations Manager at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 14 Jan 2019
We like to hear from guests, but we don't accept such stories. According to your driver, you found a low standard, cheaper place around and tried to move without paying. Until we stop you at the gate from security, you were satisfied with our service and were friendly with us. It's really unfortunate to reveal this to public. Even the guests were upset on your abusive behavior to our staff. We have video footage on this incident and already reported to booking,com about guest misconduct. Water Gate Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mfjreview wrote a review Feb 2018
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the hotel was great and fully equipped at a very reasonable price. it's well-located, just a few mins walk to the beach and the town. the manager and the rest of the staff were super friendly and very helpful. the rooms are spacious with great views and the pool is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Water Gate Reso... U, General Manager at Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Responded 09 Feb 2018
Thanks for your valuable comments regarding our hotel and staff.we much appreciate to welcome on your next trip which organize with us on your next vacation. Thanks again and God bless you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KKchester asked a question Feb 2019
Chester, United Kingdom38 contributions10 helpful votes
H,i Do you provide pool towels ?
Answer from Tal B
Perth, Australia43 contributions22 helpful votes
Yes they do
Jayne W wrote a tip Jan 2024
20 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Of the beaten track but only a 200 yards!! Well worth a visit even just for the food"
Read full review
DCermelli wrote a tip Aug 2018
The Hague, The Netherlands252 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 12 is best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Unawatuna area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,221 - R 2,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Water Gate Resort & Spa
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WATERGATE RESORT UNAWATUNA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Which popular attractions are close to Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Nearby attractions include Sk Swarnakala (0.4 km) and Silk Route Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Gelato, Wasantha’s Sri Lanka Cuisine, and Sea Waves Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Watergate Resort Unawatuna have airport transportation?
Yes, Watergate Resort Unawatuna offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Watergate Resort Unawatuna?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (3.6 km), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (3.0 km), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (3.2 km).
Is Watergate Resort Unawatuna accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Unawatuna HotelsUnawatuna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UnawatunaHotels near Watergate Resort Unawatuna
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire