Twiga Safari Lodge

Twiga Safari Lodge

Traveller (191)
Room & Suite (50)
Spacious dining area
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#3 of 11 lodges in Murchison Falls National Park
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Twiga Safari Lodge aims at providing clients with comfortable accommodation in the serene and relaxing environment of Uganda’s wildlife. On site, guests are able see some monkeys and various birds freely moving through the grounds of the lodge. Additionally, Twiga Safari lodge provides a scenic vantage point for viewing Uganda’s wildlife lounging in the river during the day and grazing on land at night around the lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Sun deck
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming

Location

Mubako-Paraa, Murchison Falls National Park Uganda
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
92Reviews0Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sarahkampala wrote a review Oct 2020
Kampala, Uganda
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 2 nights with my husband and 2 couple friends at Twiga. The food was divine, the service welcoming and the rooms very comfortable.You are joyfully immersed in the wild and the beauty of nature. All staff were in masks and attentive to covid protocols. Hippos moved freely around the compound at night and the staff were available at every turn to ensure our safety as we moved to our tented rooms. I loved the extra touch of waking up to a tray of tea, coffee and cookies on our private balcony before breakfst. I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tica T wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at the beginning of our safari at Twiga. Our stay was wonderful! We were the only guests at the time. I’d say sadly because it shows how the tourism industry is being affected by the pandemic, but the staff made us feel very special. The second night they even set up our dinner by the fire and it was just wonderful. Food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The day we went on an early game drive they had breakfast ready super early for us. Our room (tent) was very spacious and comfortable. They use solar power, so there are no outlets in the room, we had several portable charges and flash lights with us but they weren’t really needed. Bed was super confortable and the mosquito net highly appreciated. Also, the wifi does not reach the rooms, but who needs wifi in the middle of nowhere. They do have stable wifi in the lobby/dining area. The room had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Hippos were roaming around our tent at night, so to go out at dinner and back someone had to escort us, but the many different nature sounds at night were just amazing. The view of the Nile definitely makes it even more special!

I’d say what threw me off at this lodge was that our driver/guide had to eat separately from us per their policy. That really bothered me the first night but then we asked if he could join us for drinks and that was ok. I don’t get the policy, even if the driver’s food is different or whatever the reason it makes absolutely no sense to me…
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watch out for hippos and do not leave the room by yourself at night!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emmanuel Rukeeba wrote a review Mar 2021
Kampala, Uganda
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great experience, the staff were fantastic. The chef surprised us every time with excellent starters, and wonderfully prepared meals. The rooms allow you to experience the outdoor feel with a tent and well integrated with a modern experience. The staff were courteous and always made sure we were safe and well catered too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob Khan wrote a review Mar 2023
Kampala, Uganda
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Twiga Safari Lodge was another enchanting experience.

Situated on the banks of the great river Nile, the lodge offers a great many magical experiences. The cottages very close to the Nile, you can see from the cottage balconies the hippos come out to graze in the evenings and the crocodiles basking in the sun during the day.

The cottages are themselves a pleasure to reside in. They are spacious, with ample sitting arrangements and beds a pleasure to sleep in.

The bathrooms are spacious too with a steady supply of both warm and cold water. The showers spray water at the perfect pressure. There is a good range of toiletries, from toothpastes to lotions at ones disposal.

On arrival at the lodge, we were cordially welcomed by a very competent staff, with a cold and refreshing cocktail juice, which was very soothing after a hot and dusty drive.

The meals were another wow effect. The chef outdid himself with the lunch and dinner buffets and not to mention the exquisite goat and chicken barbecue that was served at dinner. Breakfast was also a fantastic spread of goodies.

There is also a good and big enough pool at the lodge catering for the guests recreation.

The camp fire get together was also fun and an activity to look forward to for the purpose of mingling and exchange of tourism ideas.

Twiga Safari Lodge is one place I would never hesitate to recommend to anybody planning to visit Murchison National Park or even just a getaway for a relaxation time
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Mosquito repellents if you are intending to sit on the cottage balcony at night or partake on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lena T wrote a review Jul 2022
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by the team at Twiga Safari Lodge. The lodge itself is charming with a beautiful reception/ dining area which overlooks the Nile. Sunsets are to die for here. The accommodation is a high end tent/lodge with very stylish touches. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom quite roomy. Our beds were turned down each night with the nets carefully placed. The whole team was extremely helpful and friendly. I must mention the chef who wowed us with his creations every evening. Each dish was so delicious and impeccably presented. I can safely say I have had the best food ever in Uganda! I felt very sad to leave as I would have liked to stay longer and lounge by the pool for a few days. The close proximity to the Murchison falls and game drive were a big plus. Highly highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t stay anywhere else!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeje Mugagga wrote a review May 2022
Kampala, Uganda
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I and my wife had so much fun in the 3 nights we stayed at this lodge. I prefer the style of this lodge to the older lodges in the park. Very clean rooms and friendly staff that always called us by name. Indeed the staff was the highlight of the lodge, very good people, and wonderful manager. The lodge rooms are located close to the river bank, so we got to see the Hippos come out and graze just around the rooms, also crocodiles swimming close by. The facility is located very close to the park gate, great if you want to go for game drive or boat ride. Overall it was a great experience and we plan to return sometime in the near future.

The only things we didn't like was the limited options for meals, but again we were there during low season. The Chef was responsible enough to come and explain to us the challenges of having all the food during low season and we appreciated that. Also the place is very hot, and the rooms were very hot, but they'd cool during the night. They also placed fans in the rooms which helped alot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lots of Hippos and Crocodiles living near the rooms close to the river bank, great choise if you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippa wrote a review Jun 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 nights in a spacious well appointed tent overlooking the river - what a spectacular view. There are fans in the room and it is safe to leave your tent window flaps up so that the breeze comes through. Hearing Hippo grazing next to the tent at night was very exciting.

The service from Charles, Saddam & Doreen as well as all the behind the scenes staff was attentive and friendly. The food was very tasty and the idea of lighting a camp fire at night when the weather is so warm seemed a little crazy to me but it added to the overall atmosphere of the dining area so well.

On one of the evenings the staff set a table for the 2 of us under the stars next to the fire for dinner which was a very nice touch. Once you are done dinner you are escorted back to your tent by Staff so that you do not accidently run into a Hipo along the path.

We enjoyed the boat trip to the Murchison Falls suggested & arranged by Charles. If you are able to go to the top of the falls by road this was definitely a highlight to see the massive force of water from the top.

The only drawback is the lack of credit card facilities which we were not made aware of at the time of booking which is something the lodge should inform guests of prior to arrival.

I would recommend Twiga Lodge to anyone interested in visiting Murcheson Falls & the Parks - Go there you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The last room overlooking the river has an amazing view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Enock Mugoya, General Manager at Twiga Safari Lodge
Responded 03 Jul 2022
Hello Philippa, Thank you for staying at Twiga Safari Lodge. We are glad that you had good time with us. It was a pleasure hosting you. It was unfortunate that we experienced technical difficulties with our card machine during your stay with us. However, the issue was resolved. We thank you once again for visiting us and we you will visit us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard B wrote a review Feb 2024
Solihull
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A granddaughter was doing the final year of an International Development course in Kampala; my wife and I had worked in the country 1965-70 and my elder son, now living in Canada, was born there. We had to meet up in the country.
We stayed 3 nights here and loved every minute. The location is perfect with wonderful views of perhaps the most historic river in the world and as well situated as any to explore the park, take a boat to the Falls (take a seat on the left side) and drive to the top of the Falls (50 mins).
It is a small lodge with 8 separate thatched 'tent- huts' on the slope down to the river. Hippos and, we understand, crocs, come ashore at night so one is escorted when going up or down in the dark. There is a nice small pool, a lovely terrace where a log fire can be lit in the evenings and an attractive restaurant and bar. Best of all Twiga has, a charming, quietly efficient, always helpful, staff. For a small lodge the menu choices are amazing with, usually, the chance to enjoy a local option. We wish we had had longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We were 'on the road' by 6.30 am (animals move less as the day warms), so leave the Falls until...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika wrote a review Jan 2023
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the place is awesome but this only is not enough to make a stay unforgettable. We paid USD 320.00 per night including fullboard and we really missed attentive and welcoming service and the little extras which make a stay lovable. All the people there tried to do their best but somehow a good soul and manager was missing. The team was not really a team and basic knowledge of how to do service not there. I would love to train all of the for a month and to set up a guidline of operational standards. We stayed there for three nights from 30.12. until 02.01.2023. On New Year's eve there was no little surprise prepared at all. We spent the evening with an Ugandan family of 6 and another German couple sitting in the lounge. We did not expect much but at least a glass of sparkling wine or anything else at 0.00h to welcome the new year. Nothing happened. We all found this a bit disappointing. On top there was a lot of noise from the village nearby until early morning and it continued the next night also until 4am. This really reduced the magic of the place and we will surely not choose it again. I can highly recommend to the directors not only to invest in the plot and properety but also in the training and development of the people. It is never the peoples fault when the good soul of a place is missing and things do not work out well. It is a matter of investing, training and developing people to give their best at any time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: On New Year's Eve and other special days of the year they have to come up with some surprising...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne B wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the first lodge on our safari and gorilla trek. What a way to start! The rooms were spectacular with a large deck with a view to die for! The sounds of the hippos at night were wonderful and one day we came home to monkeys climbing on our deck and the top of our tented room. Service was great. We were walked to and from our rooms for safety. The indoor/outdoor dining room was breathtaking and there is a pool so bring bathing suits! The four course meals and custom made omelets were deliciously out of this world. The dining experience was truly 5 star. The staff was helpful, lovely, kind and always at the ready to answer any question and take care of our needs. A beautiful experience which I highly recommend! And I must add that Uganda as a country is a wonderful place to visit. The people are friendly and welcoming and the children are so beautiful with gorgeous smiles. A beautiful cultural experience!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Richard B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Solihull53 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were 'on the road' by 6.30 am (animals move less as the day warms), so leave the Falls until after lunch. Clothes washing takes a day "
Read full review
eileen S wrote a tip Nov 2023
Baldwin, New York45 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You are very near Hippos and we had a few come visit under our elevated tent during the night!"
Read full review
Bob Khan wrote a tip Mar 2023
Kampala, Uganda24 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mosquito repellents if you are intending to sit on the cottage balcony at night or partake on the camp fire get together."
Read full review
Monika wrote a tip Jan 2023
58 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"On New Year's Eve and other special days of the year they have to come up with some surprising services for their guests "
Read full review
Lena T wrote a tip Jul 2022
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom62 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay anywhere else!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Murchison Falls National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
R 6,957 - R 6,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaWestern RegionMurchison Falls National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TWIGA SAFARI LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda)

Frequently Asked Questions about Twiga Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Twiga Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Dream Balloons Uganda (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Twiga Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Twiga Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Twiga Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Twiga Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Murchison Falls National Park HotelsMurchison Falls National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Twiga Safari Lodge
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire