Blue Ocean

Blue Ocean

Prolongacion Centro Veraniego s/n Hospedaje Blue Ocean, Mancora 20851 Peru
Traveller (70)
La vista desde la habitación del segundo piso... El jardín es la playa.
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 20 lodges in Mancora
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Prolongacion Centro Veraniego s/n Hospedaje Blue Ocean, Mancora 20851 Peru
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Talara Airport
55.9 km
See all flights
63Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 8
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marcus T wrote a review Jan 2022
London8 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marlen and Marco were there to greet us and welcome us with a cold drink and some good food. The room was great, with a balcony looking out to sea.
Unfotunately, they only had a room available for one night as we came here over New Year, which is the busiest time of the year and the start of the school holidays. We were unaware of that heading up to Mancora, and found out the hard way that most most of Lima heads up there for New Year's Eve.
After spending one night at Blue Ocean we had to leave and find other acommodation as they were already fully booked. This didn't work out too well for us, and on our third day in Mancora, we were ready to head south in search of another town and hotel.
Marlen and Marco then offered to make us up a room in the staff area. The transformation from store room to bedroom was amazing, and we ended up staying for an additional 4 nights.
The food was great, the beer was cold, the company was exceptional. And because of this, we stayed for longer than anticipated.
The sunset from the roof terrace is the perfect way to start your evening, and a beer and cerviche is the perfect way to end the day. Cheers to you both. An unforgettable trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlen Nuñez florian, Inhaber at Blue Ocean
Responded 07 Apr 2022
Hello Marcus and Meghan, thank you so much for your nice review. We are so happy that we found a solution for you and could spend an unforgettable New Year 21/22 with you. We hope to welcome you next time you are traveling South America. Muchos saludos, Marlen and Marco and the whole team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hugo wrote a review Jul 2022
Arequipa, Peru40 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marlen was really helpful since I booked the room. The room was fantastic. I enjoyed the beach in front of the hotel all the days I stayed there. The hotel is near everything: Stores, restaurants, touristic places. I really liked the gammocks, but the room was really comfortable. For sure I will rerurn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bjheckbert@gmail.com wrote a review Feb 2019
Halifax, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are pretty much seasoned travellers and found Blue Ocean to exceed our expectations. Marlen and her team provide a nice oasis within their property for all to relax and enjoy the fun of the beach, while offering a secluded place to be free of the busy beach life down the beach. The beach bar was great with good food served. Thank you Blue Ocean!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Splash out for the second floor with balconies.you will enjoy wonderful sunsets.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Propietario at Blue Ocean
Responded 06 Apr 2019
My dears, thank you so much for your lovely comment. We are so happy to learnt you to know, we ejoyed your company very much. Thanks to guests like you we love so much what we do for a living. We wish you all the best and send you kind regards to Canada. Marlen and Marco and the whole team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ToniFinland wrote a review Dec 2019
Helsinki, Finland136 contributions85 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I spend 6 days in here. There weren't too many other customers so it was peaceful and quiet. The location is great. It is enough far away from the Mancora beach were all action is. Easy 5-10 minutes walk to the Mancora beach and the culinary center of Mancora.

They arranged an airport pick up which was really nice.

During my stay there weren't any member of staff who spoke English and time to time it was hard to get things in order. I am ashamed that my Spanish is so bad. But in the field of tourism some basic English skills wouldn't be a bad idea. Probably the owner (older gentleman) could have speaken English and help me out but he was concentrated to drink beer and listening to music from his portable speaker.

The young lady working in the beach bar was maybe the worst customer server that I have met. She didn't speak a word. She didn't greet, she didn't say You are welcome when she brought food or drink. Not asking do you want one more bear or something else. No wonder that there weren't any other customer than me in many days. Who wants to come to bar/restaurant like that.

There are many lovely dogs on the property. They are nice and playfull and really like people. And of course there are dog poop. I accidentally stepped on poop so be careful when walking in the property, especially night time.

My room was nice and super clean. The shower did not have good pressure so make sure to take time for taking a shower. The cleaning lady who also served breakfast was super nice and always smiling. She was the opposite of the beach bar lady.

If you pay your stay with a credit card the receptionist creats an account to a service called Tab. It is a third part payment service and the receptionist add your email, telephone number, credit card details and take a photo of you for the Tab. This is not a good thing at all because you really don't know where your personal details are going.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Owner at Blue Ocean
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Toni We are so sorry, that your stay did not work out as planned. Your partner did not join you during your stay in Mancora, we are really sorry that you had no other person to talk to. Our new staff member at the bar was a little shy, and as you did not speak a word of Spanish, she did not know how to talk to you. Of course you could have talked to Marco, the owner of the place, he is very good in English and very open to our guests. But you preferred to observe him only in his private life and telling everybody in the internet. We would like to mention that our credit card system is very safe, its an application called Tab Business who is operating world wide. Instead of giving a pin code or a signature, you take a selfie, which is not saved on our devise. Kind regards, Marlen and Marco.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeppe Ø wrote a review May 2018
13 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place simply blew our minds. I have been waiting to write this review till the very end of our long journey through south america. The reason behind this is, that blue ocean was so perfect i wanted to wait and see if there was a place that could top. there wasn't. In all of our travels in south america (which is quite a lot) have we never felt more welcome than we did here at Marlenes and Marcos place. Do yourself a favor and spend time here if you visit Mancora. Blue ocean also has the perfect location. Perfect people, perfect location, perfect experience. What more can you want?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Propietario at Blue Ocean
Responded 12 May 2018
Dear Jeppe and Alma, you just made our day. We don't know what to say, thank you a 1000 times for your this incredible review. We really had the perfect week together, with good people and good vibes. We will always remember you, hope to see you again one day. Muchos saludos, Marlen y Marco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eire l wrote a review Jan 2018
Ireland7 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
At the the end of a busy holiday backpacking Peru we wanted somewhere just to switch off and relax. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The owners Marlen and Marco made us feel like family from the minute we arrived and couldn't have done enough for us. The location was perfect. Nice quite beach area and a 5min walk to the town. They put on a great home made pizza night which was fab. On our last night Marco cooked fresh fish on an open fire on the sand we all sat around eating and telling stories about our different cultures. We tried all the food in the restaurant which was top class. Everything about our stay was perfect would highly recommend. Hope to be back some day much love from Ireland
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Inhaber at Blue Ocean
Responded 02 Feb 2018
My dear William and Claire, thank you so much for your nice review, we had such an amazing time together. Guests like you make our hotel so special, you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. Thank you so much for choosing us. We wish you all the best,hope to see you again some day. Muchos saludos, Marlen and Marco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom19 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, super friendly staff, very relaxing experience! Sleeping by the sea and hearing the waves is just the best. The breakfast was delicious!
The only "minus" point was that they don't change the towels everyday (because they are eco-friendly) but just ask and there is no problem! :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you need new towels, just ask as they might now change them every day :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Owner at Blue Ocean
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Hello, thank you so much for your honest review. We are so glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay and understand, why we don't change towels and sheets every day. We live in the desert, and water is a very limited good. Kind regards, Marlen and Marco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marieke01 wrote a review Feb 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands21 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights at Blue Ocean and it was terrific! Thanks to Marco and Marlén, the welcoming owners. They are great people and they know how to take good care of their guests. We had so much fun with all staff. The food was excellent: Marco is a great cook! (the squid ceviche was the best we ever had!) Breakfast was very good as well. Their beach bar is the best in town! We had a room on the upper floor with a beautiful ocean view. The bed was super comfortable and the room was big and clean. All in all very good quality for the price. We felt so much at home at Blue Ocean that we actually did not want to leave! Thank you so much Marco and Marlén, all the best to you and we hope to come back one day!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Propietario at Blue Ocean
Responded 12 May 2018
Dear Marieke, thank you a thousand times for your kind review. We had such a great time together, thank you for a lot of fun, interesting conersations and and unforgettable birthday party. We hope we can welcome you on your next trip to Southamerica and cook and eat again together. Muchos saludos, Marlen y Marco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ad0uad0u wrote a review Dec 2017
Helsinki, Finland6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ended up not being able to travel to Peru on a quite short notice. Although we did't end up staying at the Blue Ocean, we found the service heart-warming and professional from beginning to the end. The staff really helped us a lot!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Inhaber at Blue Ocean
Responded 21 Jan 2018
Dear guest Thank you very much for leaving a comment about our service. Of course we were very sorry that you were not able to travel to our lovely country. We wish you all the best, maybe you can postpone your travel. Muchos saludos, Marlen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rickenmarjon wrote a review Sept 2017
Europe19 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Blue Ocean Hospedaje in Mancora is the kind of place you hope to find when arriving somewhere unknown. We extended our stay with three nights and were sad to leave after a week.

The location at the beach on the quiet and relaxed northern side of Mancora is perfect. Each evening we enjoyed the sunset at the beachbar with on some evenings whales breaching in the distance. They serve cold beers and very tastefull cocktails. The children loved playing in the waves, competing at the soccertable or watching the flames of the campfire.

It is obvious that the owners Marlen and Marco have many years of experience in the hotelbusiness. They know how to make you feel at home. The rooms are cleaned every day, the beds and sheets are comfortable and a mosquito net is provided.

The food they serve is absolutely delicious and at a good price. Marco is a great chef and enjoys using his woodoven for pizzas, tender bistek or fresh fish. The breakfast is nice and plentifull with daily fresh bread of good quality (integral and ciabatta among others).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarlenLuzern, Inhaber at Blue Ocean
Responded 25 Sept 2017
Dear Rick and Marjon, thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review about our hospedaje. It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests, with a lot of nice conversations, lovely food and spectacular sunsets. We wish you all the best on your further trip around the world - veel groeten en bedankt, Marlen and Marco
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Melissa wrote a tip Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom19 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need new towels, just ask as they might now change them every day :)"
Read full review
Bjheckbert@gmail.com wrote a tip Feb 2019
Halifax, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Splash out for the second floor with balconies.you will enjoy wonderful sunsets."
Read full review
thompsontravis wrote a tip Mar 2017
Ukiah, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The views from the 2nd floor rooms are pretty sweet..."
Read full review
Jessica D wrote a tip Feb 2017
Lima, Peru16 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All of the rooms are good rooms."
Read full review
Johannes H wrote a tip Aug 2016
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book rooms at upper floor with nice view at the sea"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mancora area.
PRICE RANGE
R 853 - R 1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PeruPiura RegionMancora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLUE OCEAN - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Mancora, Peru)

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Ocean
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Ocean?
Nearby attractions include Uñas Koketas Studio (0.4 km) and Kashi Artesanías (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Ocean?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Ocean?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Ocean?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Ocean?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restolounge Suites del Mar, Pizzeria Trattoria El Italiano, and Cevicheria Los Delfines.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Ocean?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blue Ocean?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Does Blue Ocean have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Mancora HotelsMancora Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MancoraHotels near Blue Ocean
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire