Punta del Mar

Punta del Mar

Calle Antigua Panamericana Norte KM 105, Mancora Peru
area social
Traveller (145)
atardecer visto desde puerta habitacion
Room & Suite (28)
Ceviche mixtos.
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#20 of 40 hotels in Mancora
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Punta del Mar is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Mancora, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Punta Del Mar Hotel provide air conditioning and a minibar, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

In addition, while staying at Punta Del Mar Hotel guests have access to room service, currency exchange, and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a pool and free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Punta del Mar.

While visiting Mancora, you may want to try some falafel at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Angela's place.

Enjoy your stay in Mancora!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Car park
Hot bath
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Snack bar
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Classic

Location

Calle Antigua Panamericana Norte KM 105, Mancora Peru
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Talara Airport
54.2 km
See all flights
112Reviews14Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 47
  • 19
  • 11
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
goodis2007 wrote a review Jun 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really loved this hotel. We had booked a junior suite which we were under the impression had a bath which my husband prefers. In fact there is just a walk in shower. We were shown a superior double (with bath!) and decided to change. It was obviously smaller with less storage but had a lovely large balcony with table, chairs sun beds and parasol. We thoroughly enjoyed making good use of this. The room was comfortable and quiet.
We thoroughly enjoyed the food. Great variety, good quality and piping hot.The service in the restaurant was excellent but you had no feeling of business or being rushed.
All staff throughout the hotel were professional and efficient but also warm and friendly.
I enjoyed the pool. Not heated as is the norm at this time of year but by late morning the sun had warmed it up enough to be pleasant. The sun beds are comfortable and sturdy-no tipping up if you sit on the wrong bit! They are closely packed but this is because there are so many of them and means you can always get one at any time. Around the hotel there are plenty of places to sit wether you want sun or shade. The air conditioned lounge by the pool was a great place to cool off while still feeling the holiday vibe.
The evening entertainment was a highlight for us. The best we’ve experienced for a long time. The presence of the tireless hotel entertainment staff to facilitate and encourage certainly helped. The “Strictly Soul” guy on Sunday was exceptional.
From check in to check out we had a great experience and left feeling relaxed and restored. We would definitely love to return some day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mariposita_pdx wrote a review Mar 2008
Portland, Oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiance and I spent four nights from March 4-7at Punta del Mar, which is located a couple of kilometers down a dirt road, south of Mancora. It's not easy to find, but it is definitely worth checking it out if you're going to be in the area. We paid about $55 a night for a "deluxe" room that was on the second floor facing the beach, with a nice balcony and hammock, and large tub. We thought it was going to be a jacuzzi tub, but it didn't have any jets -- it was just large enough for two people. I felt like it was definitely worth the price and much nicer than the other cheap hostels in Mancora.

Our room was cleaned daily, there was great water pressure in the shower, and we never ran out of hot water once. There was a nice ceiling fan in the room, as well as a small TV hooked up to DirecTV, which we didn't have to pay extra for. The sheets were clean, and I felt like they did a really good job keeping our room and the property neat, tidy and clean. There was a bit of a bug problem, but only due to the fact that there was a small space between the bottom of the front door and the floor, and Mancora has a beetle problem. These large beetles come out en masse at night, and if you touch them or try to move them, they will spray you with a strange-smelling scent that's hard to wash off. The room wasn't infested with these beetles, by any means, but we did catch a couple of them sneaking in under the door at night, and solved that problem by putting a towel in front of the door at night to block the gap.

The hotel pool was not too chlorine-y, was really clean, and was a nice, warm temperature. There was a hot tub area on the side of the pool that confused us because while it looked like a hot tub (it was round, had seats and jets in the walls), it didn't seem to be any warmer than the pool and it was connected to the rest of the pool so the water would mix anyway. I think the pool was built as an infinity pool (the kind that has water flowing over the edge so it looks like the water just ends, instead of there being a pool wall), but the water level was low and so water wasn't flowing over the side like it should have been.

The staff was extremely friendly, although I don't think they spoke much English. We speak Spanish (so I can't evaluate the staff's English very well), but we were the only non-Latino people at the hotel, which was pretty full. I think they cater mostly to Peruvians.

The hotel has a restaurant, but after we ate dinner and breakfast there, it was quickly apparent why there were so few diners at the restaurant. The food is overpriced and not very good, although it's certainly edible. A better bet is to go to one of the neighboring hotels in Las Pocitas, many of which have fabulous restaurants, or else go into Mancora to eat. If you do go into Mancora, do yourself a favor and pay one of the moto-taxi drivers 3 soles (about $1 currently) to take you into Mancora. There are always moto-taxi drivers passing along the dirt road in front of the hotel, so it's easy to flag one down. Walking along the beach from Las Pocitas to Mancora isn't a good idea -- we found this out when we tried to do it and ended up having to walk through the water several times due to high water, and then ran into the local fishery where the boats are docked, and there was no real easy way to get through it and to the other side of the beach. Closer to Mancora the beach is full of litter and dead animals (we saw a couple of blue-footed boobies that had expired), and just generally smells bad. In other words, it's not a pleasant walk and is not recommended.

The beach in front of Punta del Mar was pretty clean, although it was somewhat rocky so we had to be careful where we swam and look out for rocks. There weren't many people on the beach, probably because most people go to Mancora where the beach isn't so rocky.

If you stay at Punta del Mar, get the deluxe room, which is only about $10 or $15 more than the standard room. The standard rooms are located right next to the pool and don't have balconies or large tubs. They're also right in front of some large speakers that blast American 80's music until about 9 or 10pm, so the more expensive rooms are quieter, too, due to their better location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2008
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Normen_11 wrote a review Mar 2011
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner stayed for a week at Punta del Mar together with his family. The place is beautifull! The first evening I got to experience the beautifull and romantic sunset of Punta del Mar. Absolutely amazing! The beach was great and the waves were quite rough, but I like a challenge! Nothing is like a swim and a workout at the same time! The room was simple, nice and very cheap. A small balcony with a hammock. Every day I laid in the hammock with a cold beer in my hand, and just watched the sea with the fishing boats passing by. And not to forget the sunsets,,, Again truly amazing! A very quiet place for absolute relaxation. It`s very close to the small village Mancora, where you can buy whatever you need. We go back in December 2011! Can`t wait! And by the way, the chef of Punta del Mar makes the best hamburgers!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KennelEightyFive wrote a review Apr 2014
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel as part of a groupon offer. This was not a good deal. The breakfast was spartan and the rooms were not made up to an adequate standard (sand still on floors). The hotel seems to skimp on everything, including toiletries. Not a good hotel if you want to make this your pad e.g. a honey moon. Acceptable if you just need a bed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdminP, Manager at Punta del Mar
Responded 16 Apr 2014
Thank you for your time, the feedback is always very welcomed to improve our service. As Punta del Mar has new management since April 2013, I would really appreciate if you give us more information about the dates you stayed in 2013 because we haven't worked with Groupon in our management time. We also invite you to check the 2 types of bedrooms we offer in front of the beach for couples: $50 & $65 USA dollars per night per couple including breakfast. We include toiletries in the second type only. I will await for your kind information, thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula294305 wrote a review May 2011
Santiago, Chile
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the hotel was terrible, we were a group of 5 staying in a bedroom for 6. The beds were very uncomfortable, the service was awful. We were very dissapointed to find out that other places for only a bit more were incredibly beautiful and comfortable. We had to ask for house keeping because they always "thought" that we didn't want the room cleaned. We were there for the tsunami alert in March and the owner left a 16 year old kid in charge and left. We stayed for 10 days, the first 3 were for a Carnival weekend so the breakfast that was included in the price was decent, but the rest of the days, only having 2 more rooms ocuppied, the service was notoriously defficient and poor. (we ended up having breakfast at another place the rest of the stay¨)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brookycookie wrote a review May 2011
Charleston, South Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a suite in this hotel, we were impressed as soon as we arrived in the room. After spending sometime at the pool we got back into the room to have a shower and we found that the bed was wet because there were leaking everywhere, all the water was dropping from the ceiling, we informed this to reception and they sent a guy to move the bed a bit far from the leaks and she also brought some containers for the leaks, no apology at all. Next day we checked out and they didn´t talk about it at all even I said I wasn`t very happy with my stay they didn´t say anything at all. What we plan to be a nice romantic break was a disaster trying to sleep while the whole rooms was leaking! I would never come back and I wouldn´t recommend this hotel at all!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SilverLlama wrote a review Jan 2011
Lima, Peru
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Punta del Mar over New Years holiday and were very disappointed because many Trip Advisor reviews were good. Our room was very basic - poor lighting, only one night stand reading lamp, no table, no chairs, Direct TV only work sporatically, no waste basket in the room, very poor mattress, etc. The bathroom was not cleaned properly and we were given only two thin bath towels.
The breakfast included in the rate was poor and the menu for other meals a joke. No towels were available at the pool and there were no lounge chairs on the beach which is a standard for many hotels in Mancora.
A positive is the location on a nice part of Las Positas beach and not far from the pueblo Mancora.
If you are looking for a 3 star hostal, this is it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam R wrote a review Feb 2020
Asheville, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in the midst of a month-long vacation to Peru when I stumbled upon this place in week three. I had been to Lima, Cusco, and Arequipa. I was beaten. I had planned a trip to the beach in Mancora, but, upon arrival the main drag was trash. I had booked a bad hostel right outside of the main strip. I quickly went to the web to find a more peaceful location. I booked with Punta Del Mar and was not disappointed. This is basically a private resort (about 15 or 16 rooms in all). The restaurant and bar are good enough to never leave. If you want to grab something different to eat you can hire one of the many tuk-tuk drivers to take you into town for 5 soles. There really is no reason to leave though. Beautiful location, beach, workers, and service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beware of mosquitos (these are basically open are hotel rooms).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sanchis E wrote a review Nov 2018
Paris, France
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It has been a total nightmare because of the unprofesional behavior of Patricia, the adminsitrator of the hostel. First, she booked the wrong room (one of them downstair with no privacy because everyone on the beach or on the terrace can see you on the room, which can be a problem when you are a young lady). Because of that when we arrived we spent 2h checking on their website which room were available because Patricia didn't care about finding a true solution and she even blamed us and said it was our fault. Finally we had to change of room twice and we spent our two last day in a dirty and noisy room next to some bulding work. When we left we asked for a little discount to compensate our bad experience, of course they refused and again Patricia was so unprofesional and even disrespectful with us because we were asking for a little discount. So please when you have a nice hotel be sur to employ profesional and decent employee. Because of Patricia it was a nightmare and apparently the manager and the owner James (you can find him on Airbnb) ofhe hostel didn't care.
To sump up the good point of the hotel is the location but the staff (above all Patricia) is not profesional and even disrespectful (only Patricia). The rooms on the beach (ocean view) are ok but the one on the main bulding in front of the pool are terrible and very expensive for what it is. One last advice : the food is awful, the fish and seafood are frozen and really bad and even the cocktails are not good (we tried the mojito and I even found some rice in my glass, so it definitly was the cherry on the cake).In 1 month we visited 11 hostels in Peru and it was the worst..
DON'T GO THERE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SeanDay, Manager at Punta del Mar
Responded 05 Nov 2018
Thank you for your comment. We have tried to provide you with a good customer service and we are sorry to hear that it wasnt a good experience. In regards of your reservation, in the e-mail you requested the room: “Asunción”, which Patricia booked for you, this room is in the first floor with terrace as it shows in the description and photos in the web. When you arrived you didnt like the room because you said that in France that is called ground floor and not 1st floor as we called in Peru. Because you insisted to be moved to the second floor with balcony and being a long weekend holiday (day of the death), we offered you 2 nights in one room and 2 nights in another room due to the low availability, and we informed you that the second room would be noisy the 3rd night from 2 to 5pm due to construction work next to it and we asked you if you agree with the change and you accepted happily. The day you have to change room, we explained you the need to wait for the check-in time to clean the room and you said that you wanted to leave your luggage only while we clean it. About the food, we work with fresh products and we have very good comments from other customers, while we understand that it wasnt a good experience for you, we always try to improve our service. We gave you a discount of 40 soles and not charged for the late check out. Hope you keep enjoying your stay in Peru. All the best for you. Mr. James Delaney is currently abroad. Nils Gutierrez Manager on duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma V wrote a review Feb 2017
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy and well presented. The food at the pool bar was really tasty. We had cocktails at the bar which were really nice. On our last day we managed to see whales whilst we were laid sunbathing by the pool. It's was an awesome experience!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from AdminP
lima
Buenos días, Gracias por escribirnos. Por favor solicitar cotización al email publicado indicando fecha de viaje. Saludos.
Sara Q asked a question Oct 2022
Aceptan mascota?
Mirella294313 asked a question Nov 2017
Lima, Peru185 contributions64 helpful votes
precios de los platos de comida en el restaurante. por favor !
Answer from Mirella294313
Lima, Peru185 contributions64 helpful votes
Gracias
Cinthia1983 asked a question Jul 2017
Buenos Aires, Argentina39 contributions7 helpful votes
QUe tipo de desayuno ofrecen? tienen frutas?
Sam R wrote a tip Feb 2020
Asheville, North Carolina54 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of mosquitos (these are basically open are hotel rooms)."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mancora area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
punta del mar hotel mancora, punta del mar mancora
LOCATION
PeruPiura RegionMancora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUNTA DEL MAR - Hotel Reviews (Mancora, Peru)

Frequently Asked Questions about Punta del Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Punta del Mar?
Nearby attractions include Playa Vichayito (4.3 km), Las Pocitas Beach (0.6 km), and Playa Mancora (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Punta del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Punta del Mar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Punta del Mar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Punta del Mar?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Punta del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Garden Máncora, Pokego, and Yuka-mancora.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Punta del Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Punta del Mar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Punta del Mar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Mancora HotelsMancora Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MancoraHotels near Punta del Mar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire