We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vista Ballena Hotel

Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (35)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Vista Ballena hotel, perched in the hills of Costa Rica's wild southern coast, is more than a tropical resort. Here, in the world's most ecologically diverse setting, you will discover nature's hidden treasures and sustenance for the soul. Our 20 room hotel is set high among the mountainous jungles of Costa Ballena. Enjoy exquisite views of the “Whale’s Tail” sandbar as it extends into the warm ocean waters and witness humpback whales cresting as they pass. Surrounded by lush rainforest and pristine coral-lined beaches, Vista Ballena is a place of solace and discovery in an otherwise untouched land. Paradise after all, is not just a destination, it is what stirs inside us when we set our eyes on the sublime wonders and wisdom of the natural world.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room service
Spa
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
212Reviews
233Photos
3Q+A
30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 57
  • 19
  • 14
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed at this hotel in 2018 for 10 days and this month for another 5 nights. It is a very nice hotel. There was no change at the hotel staff during the past year. Same friendly faces, and they all recognized me. Simba was also there and kept me company during dinners.
Read more
Sunset perfect, drinks not so good. We tried pina colada and daiquiri , both of them really bad, with an aftertaste .. not recommend them . Swimming pool looks beautiful and you can pay 20 dollar to enjoy of it
Read more
Response from K5215MXinfo, Manager at Vista Ballena Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Cristiecas, Please come back and we will give you a free Piña Colada and daiquiri so you can try our great cocktails. Thank you Franco Bolivar Hotel Manager Vista Ballena Hotel
Read more
We booked this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica hoping for a nice night in a more luxury hotel. While the pool and bar area were lovely, with great views, the rooms were just meh. They were pretty outdated, and the wifi barely worked, but they were clean. Although this
Read more
Response from K5215MXinfo, Manager at Vista Ballena Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear hdhughes, We have one of the best views in Uvita, our wifi is for free and as you know, in the tropics we rely on our cable company, we try our best to give you a good free wifi service. Our rooms are very comfortable and very clean, we have updated our rooms as well. Thank you Franco Bolivar Hotel Manager Vista Ballena Hotel
Read more
This is a beautiful hotel with incredible sunsets and views of the whales tail at Ballena. The restaurant and bar are very delightful and the staff wonderful. There are several 4+ star restaurant in the area.
Read more
Response from K5215MXinfo, Manager at Vista Ballena Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Randy, Thank you very much for your comments and please come back to enjoy our Costa Rican Hospitality. Franco Bolivar Hotel Manager Vista Ballena Hotel
Read more
0 Stars. Horrible service. Stay away from this property. They run a scam. I booked this hotel in August 2018 for the Envision festival which occurs in February and they had 3 standard rooms available at that time. I booked and paid in full and got confirmation and guarantee. The
Read more
Response from K5215MXinfo, Manager at Vista Ballena Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Dhirajoberoi, You never stay at Vista Ballena so you cannot measure our services and also we never charged you for any services. I am sorry you feel this way but Envision Festival contract the Whole hotel for a year before every year during the Festival. Thank you Franco Bolivar Hotel manager Vista Ballena Hotel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementVista Ballena Hotel
PreviousNext
1234568
Will they arrange local transportation for you if you don't have a car?
Dear Customer, Yes we will provide tranportations a a Cost from the international airport or one of our domestic airports in the country. Thank you Franco Bolivar Hotel Manager Vista Ballena Hotel
1 vote
Show all answers
Good afternoon! Don´t worry, the road is a little steep, but nothing to worry about at all.
0 votes
"don't stay here"
"All rooms have balconies with stellar views of the rainforest and ocean."
"best views"
"All rooms have a wonderful view"
"View from every room! Nice firm beds"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$162 - US$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
whales & dolphins ecolodge hotel uvitawhales and dolphins ecolodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Whales and Dolphins
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasUvita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing