We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Waterfall Farm JP58, Lydenburg 1120 South Africa
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
travelup.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20/06/30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 27 in Lydenburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Elegant, romantic, exclusive.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
102Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 26
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stone wrote a review 12 Jun
5 contributions
Amazing rooms with gorgeous views of a stream from your room! A bath so big you can swim in it and beds kept warm with electric blankets. Completely lovely. The drive to the Hotel is a bit rough, but driving slowly you should be fine!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
mqry52 wrote a review Feb 2022
Bellshill, United Kingdom23 contributions9 helpful votes
Stunning place set by the river in the mountain's accommodation 5star as advertised boutique hotel with great restaurant and fantastic food well kept with a golf course and spa facilities with friendly staff nothing too much for them would certainly recommend a visit well worth it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Shane V wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
Perfect weekend getaway. Accommodation is spacious, luxurious and private. Beautiful detached 7 suites built amongst lush tall trees with soft stream of water soothing sounds. Dinner was superb and flavours matched fine dining experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Shane v wrote a review Aug 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa10 contributions6 helpful votes
A truly beautiful boutique hotel and perfect couple getaway . Hotel nestled amongst the tall lush trees with the soothing sound of streaming water in the background . Accomodation allowed for openness yet privacy. Dinner of oxtail with creamy mash was delicious and definitely fine dining . Worth a revisit. Only drawback is the terrible potholes in route to the hotel but worth dodging those potholes to find a peace tranquility of note
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Marnus T wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
The suites are large, beautiful and modern. The gardens and the facilities are stunning. Great service from staff (even changed my car’s two flat tires). Highly recommend. Perfect for romantic breakaway and to disconnect (there was limited mobile reception in the rooms but free wifi at the restaurant and pool)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Monia Tait, General Manager at Akabeko Boutique Hotel
Responded 05 Jan 2021
Good Day Mr Terblache, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Marthinus wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
I have called numerous times to the cell phone numbers provided on the website and have sent an email. I had to call again twice this morning on both numbers. I wanted to book a room for 4 nights at 4500.00 per night and had a request to bring our 19 year old house trained four legged child. No response to the email 12 hours later and a blatend no to my request over the phone. Terrible
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Monia Tait, General Manager at Akabeko Boutique Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Hi Marthinus, We appologise for the delay in response, as you contacted on a public holiday we had no response to your email. We unfortunately do not allow animals at Akabeko Boutique Hotel. We do hope you found suitable accommofation elsewhere. Have a blessed Festive Season. Regards, Akabeko Team
Read more
kaderfam wrote a review Sep 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa20 contributions11 helpful votes
we had a very relaxing stay. the suites are stunning, with wrap around windows. the outside deck is idyllic, with views of a stream, lush trees, and shrubs. the suite & the surroundings are very private, and peaceful. service from Thabo, and his team were outstanding. they went the extra mile. we had a problem with our shower, and it was tended to very swiftly. Food was great as well. Only negative I have, is that the quality of the towels are worn and the spa treatment was average. other than that an excellent place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Marylou K wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa68 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful setting and buildings which blend perfectly into the surroundings. Service from Kennedy was excellent and friendly. Delicious food, desserts and good coffee. Golf course was a fun 9 holes. Worth a day trip from Lydenberg.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Nonkie wrote a review Mar 2020
Gauteng, South Africa5 contributions
My partner and I, enjoyed our weekend here. The room was breathtaking, private, spacious and beyond what we expected. The staff and owners were pleasant and friendly. I did forget to pack for the chilly nights, fortunately the fireplace kept us warm and cozy. It was definitely worth the drive, the best kept jewel for couples looking for some quiet time away from the city and little ones ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our Room 2, was very private!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Keith Brown wrote a review Feb 2020
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Having travelled 7 times to South Africa in the last decade and stayed at a variety of hotels, lodges, and country estates, we thought we had had the very best of the best until the 7 days we spent at Akebeko. The moment we arrived the writing was on the wall that this was indeed a very special place located just outside of Lindbergh. You would expect luxurious rooms at 5 star hotels, but a suite the size of a large apartment? The photographs barely do justice to the quality of those suites, all built with stone from the land they stand and in the most idyllic surroundings. The extensive gardens, lawns, shrubberies, rockeries, including the river in which they are set, are simply stunning, all immaculately kept. It was unique in finding the kind of tranquillity that we had only previously found when in the bush in Safari camps, but with all that greenery and lushness! It was so reminiscent of the Isles of Scotland, but with some sun of course! This area of South Africa, which is within easy reach of the Panorama, is truly breathtaking. The hotel is owned and ran by two of the friendliest people we have ever met, husband and wife team George and Rodica. From the first evening sat having our dinner to our last, a week later, we had been treated as genuine family members. We enjoyed the most sumptuous of food and quality wines; we could not have been made more welcome. I even ate the fish? And I very rarely eat fish; such was the quality and the presentation! George and Rodica live nearby the hotel and take guests for game drives on their own land. A very special location on that drive that can only be gotten to by a 4x4 and a sturdy set of steps built by George and his team was the waterfall with its naturally formed lido. A scene that looked like something out of the deepest Amazon! All totally natural as only nature can create something so sublime to the eye and soul! The water is natural spring and is totally safe to drink and to, dare I say relax in! There is no need to ask will we be returning any time soon, Akebeko has left a permanent mark in our hearts as did George and Rodica and we cannot thank them enough for sharing their dream with us; few hoteliers have been more generous to us than they were, what an experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaLydenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Akabeko Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Shoe (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Akabeko Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jam Jar Lounge, FiXation coffee shop, and Ocean Basket Lydenburg.
Does Akabeko Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Akabeko Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Akabeko Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Lydenburg.
Does Akabeko Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.