We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (255)
Pool & Beach (69)
Room & Suite (53)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Hidden Gem
Centrally Located
60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 250
  • 16
  • 2
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a beautifully set out group of four individual villas in gardens leading down to a lovely beach. Our villa had a view of the ocean, the first thing we saw when we pulled the curtains each morning. The pool is great, and there is an attached Mexican restaurant on the
Read more
We were there in October, thus in low season. The bungalows are beautiful and very cosy; nothing to complain about. They are spacious and have a very nice bathroom. But, do not get too much mislead by the pictures!!! They are only real in high season. In low season, the bar is
Read more
Response from PlayaCieloResort, Front Office Manager at Playa Cielo
Responded 13 Nov 2018
Hello, We are very sorry to hear about your experience in our hotel. However, we would like to clarify that our website says that the restaurant is closed from Sep 18th, and it says what's included in breakfast, and in the same size as the rest of the text. The safe was not broken, we explain to you how to open it with the key. It's important to say that during Sep & Oct most of the businesses (restaurants and hotels) are closed due to rains and bad weather, but our guests can still enjoy the lower rates in our accommodation.
Read more
We come to Playa Cielo every year! It is true beach living. Between the gorgeous villas and Habeneros for Mexican food right on the beach, you can’t beat it. I hate giving away my secrets but I figure all the amazing sunsets I posted on Instagram already gave it away! Imagine
Read more
We had two couples and stayed in the family size room. It was perfect. Great rooms with a common living space with a kitchen. The outdoor showers were beuno! The staff is wonderful and food delicious!
Read more
I’m sadly surprised for the lack of communication regarding the payment methods available to pay the hotel: since they DO accept PayPal and mayor credit cards for the reservation fee, the balance must be on cash... I’ve no issues with such a policy IF it’s previously
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementPlaya Cielo
Your beachfront villa awaits
Photo provided by managementPlaya Cielo
Enter to your private villa
Photo provided by managementPlaya Cielo
Photo provided by managementPlaya Cielo
Your beautiful kingsized canopy bed
Best Sunsets EVER....
How rainy is the Green season?
Not sure, we go in January or February (dry season).
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes you can. We are centrally located in town, so there are some places that are 5 minutes walk, but Santa Teresa is very spread out (that is part of its beauty) and hence you would need some sort of vehicle to get around, it can be with an ATV, an awesome way to get around here! The cost is about $50 per day. Regards
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, Santa Teresa is fantastic. Definitely not cheap so very much like Europe or actually a bit more expensive. 20e for a breakfast. There is a french restaurant Brisas del Mar on the hill that is charming and excellent. Playa Cielo is an unfriendly hotel, snobbish I would say. Situated perfect at the beach though that's it. Drakebay was the place we were after and its 10 times better and more comfortable in every aspect than Santa Teresa though don't misunderstand, Santa Teresa is wonderful as well... You need to rent a car in CR if you don't want trouble. We were also in Montezuma and that was between the two above. Very nice at Horizontes de Montesuma. A trip to tortuga island is much recommended! Bring swimming shoes... Good Luck.
0 votes
Hi, One week would be fantastic because there are so many things you can do from here! You can spend a day driving your quads to Montezuma, spend another day hiking in Cabo Blanco, spend another day doing a morning surfing lesson and in the afternoon do a horseback riding trip. You can also spend a morning doing a canopy tour in Mal Pais. So one week would be great given you hae your arrival and departure day as not complete days :) Thanks Roni
0 votes
Show all answers
"The rooms are all nice"
"Casa3has best ocean view"
"We stayed in the Butterfly Room and it was nice. Very private."
"El Tucan had the best ocean view but easily seen by the restaurant. The villa next to it has less ocean view but more privacy"
"We had a secluded room facing the beach with no other villas blocking, we loved it!"
US$198 - US$494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
playa cielo hotel santa teresa
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasSanta Teresa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing