Tranquility Guest House

Tranquility Guest House

Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (19)
Breakfast
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 6 guest houses in Fish Hoek
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tranquility, a Cape cod-style mountain retreat filled with light and laughter affords soaring views over False Bay and surrounding mountains. Whether you awake to extraordinary sunrises, eat delicious food, linger by the fireside, walk to the beach or relax in the Jacuzzi, Tranquility has it all... Oh, we forgot to mention superb breakfasts, fresh flowers, fine linen, free Wireless internet access and warm South African hospitality. Tranquility is situated just 40 km's south of Cape Town and nestles between two mountains and two oceans along the False Bay coast. Surrounded by beautiful beaches and nature reserves, Tranquility is centrally disposed to Cape Town's tourist attractions and the quaint villages of Muizenberg, Kalk Bay, Simonstown, Scarborough, Kommetjie, Noordhoek and Hout Bay as well as the Constantia vineyards and Cape Point. Come away and smell the salt in the air, feel the sand between your toes and breathe in the fresh mountain air ... simply perfection!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

25 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Cape Town Intl Airport
25.6 km
See all flights
220Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Peter & Judith S wrote a review Jan 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We always expect home from home. Oh dear! our experience was better than home.
So many personal touches, done with love, thought and affection.
We now have a new family and look forward to seeing them again soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dampfire wrote a review Nov 2013
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This really is the best place in cape town to stay. The Tranquility family was so comforting and the service we received was stellar. They even tied my tie for a trash the dress session we had! We stay at the guest house for our honeymoon from Pittsburgh, PA for 8 nights. The property is beautiful, our romance room was everything we could have asked for. Comfy beds, cleaned every day, gorgeous views from our small deck, and cant forget the candy, fruit and special beer treats on arrival!
This place is much more than a bed and breakfast. Sure it's a little far from downtown and the waterfront but very little of all you will want to see from cape town is near the city center. Get location with a small town and beach near by...you could hop on the train if you wanted too.
It was fun every morning sitting at the super big breakfast table talking to all the international travelers. Breakfast was delicious, we had both cold and hot items daily. Yogurt fruit (guava was really good) honey breads and cant forget about the signature muffins that I stole extra of daily.
Can't forget about rosie, the cutiest and well behaved dog I've ever seen (well minus riot our dog of course!) and she was always waiting for us in the evening and ready to play after our breakfasts.
We really wish we allocated more time to spend more time there as we could have stay for two weeks no problem in this house.
God Bless!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doug N wrote a review Mar 2013
Barrington, Rhode Island, Usa2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the setting to the service, Tranquility was an ideal location for two days and nights of Cape Point exploring. The owners and other guests were friendly and engaging, while also respectful of your privacy. Built high on a cliff, overlooking False Bay, the guest house offers stunning views and an environment that maximizes a sense of relaxation. Hiking is accessible. The breakfasts are superb. I'm looking forward to going back someday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Allan T wrote a review Jan 2013
Zinkwazi Beach, South Africa13 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked for three nights but ended up staying five as we so enjoyed the hospitality. The family took great care of us and made us feel so very welcome. The views from the room we were in are fantastic. Only negative no fridge in room. We certainly will recommend this guest house
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TranquilityGH, Owner at Tranquility Guest House
Responded 01 Feb 2013
Thank you for your review - we so appreciate your response. We especially thank you for pointing out for us our lack of fridges in the rooms - as of 2nd February 2013, all rooms at Tranquility Guest House have a fridge. We LOVED having you, and look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Friend_of_Leo wrote a review Dec 2009
Edinburgh, United Kingdom17 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There are not many places that bring a tear to your eye as you drag yourself away but Tranquility Guest House did that to me.
The house itself is so beautifully and thoughtfully decorated , the hospitality is equivilant to going to stay with the most wonderful relatives you could ever be so lucky to have and Rosie the dog is lucky to still be having a warm Christmas as she was very close to being packed in our bags!
Thank you so so so much for the most wonderful stay - we shall most certainly be bcak and hope that you may find yourselves in Edinburgh to come to Leo's Beanery!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PandA1706 wrote a review Nov 2009
Stockholm5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Tranquility is a beautiful wooden house built in interesting contemporary architecture and climbing the top row of a hill on the outskirts of Fish hoek, Cape Peninsula. On the right is False bay, in front is Fish Hoek and to the left is the valley leading over to the Atlantic side of the Cape. The road description given to us took us straight to the house, some 2 km from the centre of Fish hoek. We arrived in stormy weather with rain pouring down and clothes soaked. On arrival, we where given such a warm welcome that any previous challenges where quickly forgotten over a nice cup of tea.

The owners had this house built some 13 years ago and it is designed to serve both as a family home and guest house with four guest rooms, some with private entrances. This is not your ordinary B & B, the owners are simply passionate about making your stay perfect in every detail and as a whole. The interior design is stylish, welcoming and well thought out, and with fresh local flowers everywhere. Rooms are well equipped, with private baths & showers and WiFi Internet access. Don't miss the guide written by the owners, including the section with local animals that can be spotted on the hill, from your window! Our room was very comfortable with a small balcony and panorama windows overlooking False bay, the valley and even a glimps of the Atlantic on the other side of the Peninsula!

We asked for help with finding & booking a good restaurant for dinner. We ended up in a great sea food restaurant in nearby Kalk harbour, and at a perfect table for two.

The breakfast was deliciously home-cooked and plentiful, combining an English style cooked breakfast with South African specialties. On departure, we asked about the road to our next venue; we where promptly given free guiding and several really good sightseeing & activities advice that kept us busy all day.

The Tranquility is a very good base for exploring the whole peninsula, or as in our case, a great place to spend the night when on a longer trip. If we would have known all this in advance we would have changed plans and stayed more nights here! We are writing this from a huge and luxurious room devoid of any personality and are longing back to the Tranquility!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caz769 wrote a review Mar 2009
Oxford, United Kingdom299 contributions116 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If I could tell you it was horrible I would just so that we could keep this lovely home to ourselves. I cannot recommend this enough. From the moment we arrived to our sad departure just 2 nights later, Gill and Desiree (didn't get to meet Ron he was away) couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with a cup of tea and home made muffins when we arrived and it just got better. Rosie the dog was there to greet us and was a constant friend always happy to play throw the stick, and maybe bring it back.

Breakfast, absolutely superb. A social occasion for all of us to chat over where we'd been, where we were going and what to see.

The room. Well, that was a highlight of our tour. The Romantic Suite was certainly that. During the day there is a panoramic view from mountains to sea and at night to watch the sparkling lights of the town, what more can I say. The bed was so comfortable as well, made it hard to get out of in the morning. To have a view from the loo, an experience and a half. The bath with candles and home made soaps was also a lovely touch.

This was the start of a 3 week holiday to South Africa and I cannot think of a better way to start it. Thank you for your patience in directing us to places and sorry for getting you to repeat on a few occasions. (we always argue over which way we thought we were told to go). We got everywhere and if you want to eat well then you have to go to Harbour House round the next bay, food and service was excellent.

If you are ever in the area this is the place to stay, don't go anywhere else, not too far from Capetown in case you didn't manage to get up Table Mountain and close to Boulders (penguins) and Cape Point. There is a lot more to see and we missed our walk up to Elsie's peak with Rosie but that will have to wait for another time.

Unfortunatly the Jacuzzi was out of action due to power restrictions but we could have had the water heated and had a soak if we had wanted to. Decided that we would do our bit and not use it this time. I'm sure it would have been lovely.

I could go on for ever about this place, it was just perfect. Thank you for making our holiday perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tcuk1 wrote a review Mar 2009
uk1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly/helpful hosts, spotless rooms, great sea views and fab breakfasts. Perfect for visiting Cape Point and the penquins at Boulders Beach. Not very many restuarants around (although the ones we found were good) so just make sure you plan your day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pejayHolmfirthUK wrote a review Feb 2009
Holmfirth UK20 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can only echo the views of others about this excellent guesthouse. Ron, Gill (and Rosie the Border Collie) really do make you welcome from the moment you arrive. The rooms are wonderful - airy, spacious and with great views. We were upgraded to a room with a sea view when we arrived and I would recommend one of these as the views are stupendous.

And as for breakfasts, this was the best of all the places we stayed in the month we were in SA. There was a different theme each day and we even had a chance to sample some traditional Khoisan fare. There is a very comfortable lounge which you are welcome to use and a small but perfectly formed garden area with seating out back - with direct access to the hillside where tortoises and porcupines roam.

I cannot recommend Tranquility Guesthouse more highly. Try it for yourself!

Pejay Holmfirth UK
Read more
Date of stay: January 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura A wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’re just back from a thoroughly wonderful stay at Tranquility. We knew we’d arrived at a special place when greeted with fresh fruit, chocolate and Jan’s friendly welcome. The luxurious linens, comfortable beds, tasteful furnishings, well-equipped kitchenette, delicious breakfast and gorgeous views exceeded all expectations! We also had the use of the common areas of the house and loved sitting in the living room and looking over the bay. On New Year’s Eve, we were even treated to a complimentary bottle of bubbly! Thank you Bonnie and Jan, we’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jan Vat, Owner at Tranquility Guest House
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Thanks very much for taking time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Don van der Riet wrote a tip Nov 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best views, clean, friendly, etc, etc"
Read full review
Gerry S wrote a tip Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Rose Room is the one with it's own kitchenette, and is on the same lower level as the main part of the guesthouse."
Read full review
InkySA wrote a tip Sept 2018
Germiston, South Africa17 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms have good views. We stayed in the Loft - the best room - but you have to be able to climb stairs comfortably"
Read full review
Guy G wrote a tip Dec 2017
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Rose Room as amazing but they all looked great"
Read full review
Tiger49 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Bronschhofen, Switzerland233 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Rose Room on the main floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fish Hoek area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownFish Hoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRANQUILITY GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Fish Hoek, South Africa)

Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire