We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lupela Lodge Lady Grey

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lupela Lodge Lady Grey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Start your review of Lupela Lodge Lady Grey
 Click to rate
Tweespruit, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a magical place tucked away in the mountains, i wouldn't recommend a car but rather a suv as the road can get bad if it rains. The Farm is absolutely beautiful the river is clean and well kept lots of fishing spots, unfortunately i didn't catch anything but had a few bites, I would recommend Lupela to any...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 214julianf
Lupela, Manager at Lupela Lodge Lady Grey, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. In the next two months the road is going to be upgraded to make it suitable for all vehicles. Due to the drought of 4 years roads did deteriorate as you do need moisture to fix roads. Lots of small fish in the rivers and will definitely be the spot to fish if good rains...

Cape Town, Plattekloof
Reviewed 26 February 2017

If only the road was a bit easier to negotiate. Not advisable in wet conditions. Otherwise a beautiful place with a wonderful and peaceful setting. We stayed, 3 adults, in a cottage with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, what luxury out there in the furthers corner of the mountain area. Our dinner, requested at short notice, deserves 5 stars. One...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 901helgak
Parys
Reviewed 22 January 2017

A lovely place for a weekend but not an overnighter since its quite far out of Lady Grey and on a long dirt road, but other wise a lovely clean huge comfortable farm house with stunning views!! Would love to stay for a longer time ...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 616lizac
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

What a fantastic setting!! We had thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the unit was clean and comfortable with everything you need!! Denise was very hospitable and ensured all our needs were catered for. We will definitely stay there again if we're in the area!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanChubb
Lady Grey, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I thought I knew all the beautiful spots in the area but when arriving at Lupela with a group of friends from Johannesburg and Bahrain, my breath was literally taken away. The views of the mountains and river were awesome and the accommodation comfortable and homey, a true home away from home. The owners went the extra mile and were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElmarieKretsenger
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

It really is a terrible road to get there, about 5km gravel road that is almost too bad to drive in a regular car. The silo is a very unique place to stay. There are heaters in the rooms, but the bathroom is icy cold. The bed is very noisy, we woke up everytime the other moved. Also had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chantellevdbijl
LupelaLodge, Owner at Lupela Lodge Lady Grey, responded to this review

Hallo Chantelle, thank you for your review. Due to the drought and the waiting list for a bulldozer we were not able to work on the road as we would have wish to. As you know gravel roads in our country do not get any help from local authorities although we have to pay property or land tax as it...

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The rooms are beautiful with a bathroom in each one There is a fireplace in the lounge The scenery is awesome from the veranda The owners friendly and helpful Will certainly go there again s awesome from the veranda You can also go and see the vultures We wil certainly go there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 235kara
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 December 2015

this is not the first trip but the first stay at the river lodge It is very comfortable and very clean in an idyllic spot on the river The horrific drought has meant that there is no fishing until the drought is broken and if I have a criticism it is that this should mentioned

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chriscA9368BA
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Must admit we had a shock at the 5 km driveway - beautiful views but rough ride! However the lodge was great - clean sheets, comfy beds and a view to make anyone relax! Dinner was supplied by Denise (don't know how she did it so quickly) and was delicious - 3 courses delivered to us right on time. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
LupelaLodge, Owner at Lupela Lodge Lady Grey, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are in the process of fixing the road for a smoother ride.

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2015

One recommendation would be to have gauze screens at the windows and doors to control the influx of insects at night into the house. A plus was the fire place outside on the ground. It made a wonderful "kuier plek".

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P3191HOjohns
LupelaLodge, Owner at Lupela Lodge Lady Grey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the road will be made better for a smoother ride.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Lupela Lodge Lady Grey

Address: R58 Grey Street, Lady Grey 9755, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Lady Grey
Price Range: R652 - R705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lupela Lodge Lady Grey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lupela Lodge Lady Grey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lupela Lodge Lady Grey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the lodge which consisted of 5 rooms all with bathrooms - and the living are was huge - ideal for small groups.”
858shirleyl, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The upper floor of the silo are a bit flimsy.”
JohanWouter, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The river cottage looked amazing”
maria963, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“For a couple, choose the "Silo" - an old silo that has been wonderful done with a bedroom mid-level, and en-suite bathroom (just a shower, no bath).”
Wolery, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Lodge if you have a large party otherwise the smaller accommodation is good, but if you have a disability you must advise your host as one of the suites has a spiral staircase which may not be suitable for the eldely or disabled.”
christinewindsorsmit, 20 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5