We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (6)
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (6)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good41%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Lupela has views that only God could have created. Here is piece, tranquility and quietness, a presence of how great our Creator is. Cottages is build for optimum view and equipped to make your stay stress free. Beautiful walks along the river that runs through the property, mountain biking for the fit and brave.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Location
Full view
Getting there
Moshoeshoe Intl Airport159 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
12
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
10
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Outstanding getaway on a working farm overlooking the Karnmelk river. Recommended for trout fisher people or merely for stress release. It is not Sandton - it is much better. Beautiful surrounds, friendly hosts and a roaring fire.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pkretz312594
Reviewed 22 August 2018

It’s terrible, I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone. I got charged for not even staying there. The place does not even look as advertised. The rooms are not of a hotel standard, it’s just waist of money in my opinion.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vnkai718868
Response from Lupela, Owner at Lupela LodgeResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Thank you for the review. Cancellations within 12 hours of your booked date will result in no refunds. You never stayed in the accommodation so you could not establish the standard of accommodation. Regards Management

Reviewed 18 January 2018

The accommodation was really clean. It was so peaceful, wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the Silo. It was a great experience. If I could change one thing it would be to add a double bed to the room. Other than this...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank layt0nn
Response from Lupela, Manager at Lupela LodgeResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. The two single beds can be made up into a king size bed on request. We will in future make the bed into a king size and change it to single...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Lupela Lodge is a quiet and very scenic spot on a working farm and nature reserve in rugged terrain. Our host Denise was very welcoming. We stayed in the main cottage (family of four), which is spacious and very comfortable. Rooms were serviced promptly and...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank arthurchapman2018
Response from LupelaLodge, Manager at Lupela LodgeResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We had a great time at the lodge, staying in the silo. It's a really magical place. The wildlife on the land was amazing and the drive into the lodge was incredible. Thanks so much for the beautiful accommodation and the dogs were lovely too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 320lindsayp
Response from Lupela, Manager at Lupela LodgeResponded 29 November 2017

Hallo thank you for the review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as the beautiful views and nature.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lupela Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We had the lodge which consisted of 5 rooms all with bathrooms - and the living are was huge - ideal for..."
858shirleyl
18 Nov 2015
Read review
"The upper floor of the silo are a bit flimsy."
JohanWouter
19 Oct 2015
Read review
"The river cottage looked amazing"
maria963
06 Oct 2015
Read review
"For a couple, choose the "Silo" - an old silo that has been wonderful done with a bedroom..."
Wolery
02 Jan 2015
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeLady Grey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing