Kisiwa On The Beach

Kisiwa On The Beach

Traveller (1377)
Panorama of the Bahari Grand Beachfront Villa at Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
360
Panoramas (17)
Pool & Beach (232)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 24 hotels in Paje
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Kisiwa On The Beach is nestled in an idyllic setting right on the powdery beaches of Zanzibar's East coast, surrounded by palm trees and crystal blue waters, the location is world-renowned for the tranquil, idyllic and intimate getaways. This is an all villa luxury boutique resort nestled in the charming village of Paje, only 60 min drive from Zanzibar Airport. The location gives the best opportunities for exciting activities that are environmentally friendly, quite bonding and ideal for families. Kisiwa prides itself with 22 spacious villas, Bembe Restaurant, Poa Bar and Lounge, Blossom Spa and My-My Boutique. Please note that a mandatory Gala Dinner fee of 115 USD per person will apply for the dates of 25th and 31st Dec, children from age 6 – 15 will be charged 50% of the fee. We do provide a complimentary baby cot for children under 2, children aged 3 – 5 stay for free if sharing an existing bed with their parents. Children aged 6 - 15 are charged USD 98 per night for extra beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Swahili

Location

Paje Beach, Paje 72110 Tanzania
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Kisauni Airport
35.3 km
See all flights
Dar Es Salaam Intl Airport
75.8 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles828 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Kisiwa On The Beach is often celebrated for its serene environment, with guests frequently commending the hotel's tranquil villas and lush gardens. The amenities, including a picturesque pool, spa, and various dining options, are consistently lauded, as is the hotel's cleanliness, from the spotless rooms to the well-kept grounds. While rooms are praised for their comfort and exclusivity, some visitors mention occasional issues with amenities and service response. The staff's friendliness and professionalism are well-regarded, although service delays have been noted. Travelers appreciate the peaceful location by the beach, even as some consider the pricing for drinks and additional services on the steep side.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
828Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 707
  • 82
  • 17
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cotraveler82 wrote a review Sept 2020
Denver, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 4 nights here to relax and enjoy Paje. Service was impeccable throughout. I was on a half board rate which included breakfast and dinner. All of the meals were excellent and varied - the best food I had during my Tanzania visit. Service from Cornel in the dining room was especially good as he began to learn my preferences duing my stay. I was in a beach view villa (I believe it was #2), which was well appointed. Housekeeping staff was very unobtrusive and made sure to clean your room/perform turn down service when you were out of the room, rather than coming in when you were obviously there. I appreciated that.

Pool and beach area were very relaxing and peaceful. I spent many an afternoon just enjoying the sunshine and a Kilimanjaro by the pool.

I noted that another review indicated wifi difficulties, and I think our stays may have overlapped. I did experience less than one day without wifi, but I was using my cell phone data, so it didn't inconvenience me. The manager did check in with me to see if it was working when it came back up and I didn't experience further issues, so I do believe it's been resolved.

Although the occupancy is low due to the current worldwide situation, service and amenities have not been sacrificed based on my experience. Rest assured, your reservation should not be subsequently cancelled as I experienced with numerous other hotels on the island after originally confirming my reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa on The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 08 Sept 2020
Dear Cotraveler82, Thank you for such a comprehensive review. It is a delight to hear that you had an exceptional experience indulging with the ambiance and aura around our pristine and beautiful beach. Our Team is also thrilled to hear that you had an extraordinary stay with us and you enjoyed all the signature services. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcome you back to Kisiwa On The Beach. Thank you. Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Skroh13 wrote a review Aug 2021
Argonay, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a great time at Kisiwa On the Beach. The location is perfect, on an unspoiled beach, with the whitest sand we have ever seen, giving to the water beautiful colors for an amazing view that you can never get enough watching.
We were staying in a beach front mini villa that we can only recommend if your budget allows, as it gives this sense of literally living on the beach while being in the confort of a large space.
The food is also great, much better than in 5 star beach hotels that we have seen before, probably thanks to the fact that the number of rooms is relatively small (22 if I remember correctly). Most of it feels like is homemade, and the combination of starter buffet and main dish cooked on demand is very pleasant.
But what really made the difference here is the team: they are beyond being customer-oriented or even dedicated, they are truly caring. This showed particularly in the way they were taking care of our kids (1.5 and 5.5 year old): they would do anything for us and them, and our elder daughter was even often disappearing to go spend time with them (to our embarrassment as we thought she would disturb their work)
Net, it totally blew our expectations, and while I can understand it is rated 4 stars (not much would be missing for a higher rating though I am sure), I can tell you for sure that it will give you more than any « standard » 5 stars in almost every aspects, because there is heart here.
All the best to the Kisiwa team!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Chose beach front villa 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kisiwa house, Owner at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Dear Sarah, We are absolutely blown away by your kindness and warm words in this review. Hosting you and your family at Kisiwa On The Beach was a huge pleasure and we are glad to have not only met but exceeded your expectations! Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday here and for highly recommending us to the travel world. This gives us the synergy and drive to keep on striving to always make our guests feel at home. Please pass our warm regards to Cedric and we will be delighted to host you again With warmest wishes, Joab and the Team at Kisiwa on The Beach
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
CDebs wrote a review Feb 2021
Paris, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been our 9th journey (!) at Kisiwa on the Beach. If we keep on coming back, it is because we found the best deal for relaxing vacation under the sun. You'll check the pristine beach and turquoise waters on the pictures, but we can add to this public information a few insights that are not immediately visible on Booking.com.

This boutique hotel is well designed so that it never feels crowded, ever. The chef is talented and plays with seafood, traditional Zanzibar dishes, but also delicious French pastries (kudos for the crepes) flawlessly. The whole team is always dedicated and their smiles warm up the atmosphere all the time. The general manager Jerry orchestrates the whole thing with a lot of discipline, so that after 9 journeys here, we only feel the place is more maintained and more comfortable than ever before.

Our dilemma is to share all this with you because the team deserves it... or to keep it to ourselves, to avoid being crowded out next year !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa on The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 08 Feb 2021
Dear CDebs, Wau!! Thank you for sharing such beautiful feedback. We are glad and smiling as we read your fascinating review mentioning the goodness of our hotel your experience during your stay with us. A record of nine (9) stays is a leading record in the history of the hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and for the opportunities you have given us to serve you during your stays. Our staff are always delighted every time you are at Kisiwa On The Beach. Personally I feel appreciated together with the staff who served you, we are honored to have had that opportunity. I will share with all the staff your feedback. We never closed the door behind you when you left because we are all waiting for your return visit to Kisiwa On The Beach with a warm welcome. Pass our warm regards to your family and friends. Kind Regard, Jerry Omogi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skidude wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved Kisiwa on the beach. Our villa was beautiful with a king size bed, sitting area inside, a lovely bathroom with separate shower and bath tub and 2 sinks as well as an outdoor terrace in front. There is air conditioning, a ceiling fan mosquito nets, a fridge and a TV. Most the villas seem similar with the only difference being how far you are from the beach and the ones closest to the beach are a bit bigger.

The beach is lovely with soft powdery sand and warm water. Swimming is great at high tide and at low tide you can walk out about 1km which was interesting. We walked into Paje for lunch which is about 10 minutes. You can also walk to jambiani in the other direction, but there were not as many restaurants. The beach in front of Kisiwa was quite quiet and we did not have any problems with the kite surfers when swimming. We really liked Paje better than Nungwi. It's not nearly as built up or busy but had just the right amount of services and restaurants for us.

Breakfast and dinner were included and buffet style with an a la carte choice of main dishes at dinner. The food was very good with an excellent number of choices for vegetarians. It's a good idea to tell them up front you are vegeterian because it seemed like they made extra choices for us.

The ground and swimming pool are lovely with many different places to relax - on the beach, by the pool, in the bar or in front of your room.

The staff were all lovely. They all greeted us when we arrived and introduced themselves. They were very helpful and Rose found me a paper clip to change my SIM card, they also got me a needle to remove a sliver and helped me clean my shoes when I got some grease on them. Omar was our server for the first few days and spent some time answering our questions and being very helpful. Everyone was fantastic, but I can't remember all their names.

We highly recommend kisiwa on the beach as a great place to stay and excellent value for Monday.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All the villas are amazing just a question of distance to the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julius Kamau GM Kisiwa On The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 25 Nov 2022
Dear scottmC872cEN, The management and staff at Kisiwa would like to thank you so much for finding time off your schedule to share a quintessential Kisiwa Experience. It is always motivating when all the attention to details we have done is well noted and appreciated by our discerning. We have noted you are keen when selecting your holiday destination from the location, your quality and selection of your meals, the way you were welcomed and served, the grounds and the pool to the amenities and facilities provided in our quality accommodation. The team prides in service provision that surpasses our guests expectations. The management and the founders of our properties are keen and did take a lot of time and attention to small and little details when selecting the location and design of the resort. Yes, indeed we are glad when we reached out to you before your arrival you did share your details on dietary preferences and this made our service to you easier and more customized. Looking forward to see you again, At your service, Julius Kariuki Kamau. General Manager and Team Leader. Kisiwa On The Beach - Luxury Villas and Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mazzaxa2016 wrote a review Feb 2020
France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the hotel by walking on the beach as we were not satisfied with what we had initially booked.
The welcoming, the service, the quality of the food, the peace, the aircon in our beautiful guest house, it was all simply as we like it. Uncomplicated, clean premises, very friendly staff, a very well organised hotel who in addition of the good level of service were seen to be respectful of the customer. Well done!
So we will book again next year, the kite surf school right next door with also very good people for teaching and cool service when rising or launching your kite. The winds were in the light side, so do bring your 17 if you come over. Very pretty spot, not crowded, we went everyday! Loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa o, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 01 Mar 2020
Dear Mazzaxa2016, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Kisiwa On The Beach, your feedback review and for the time taken to share your experience and for the positive mention about our staff, the food and services. We pride ourselves of quality as we make it open from check-in that our ultimate goal as a team is to make our guests enjoy every single moment of their stay; giving memorable experience we are glad you enjoyed. It will be a grate honor to see you come back to Kisiwa On The Beach on your next visit to Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Jerry Omogi. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick J wrote a review Feb 2020
Chester, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 10 nights at end of Jan, beginning of Feb
Had one of the Grand beach villas, which had more than enough space, and were a few metres from the pool, restaurant & beach, with a great view from the room.
Good things :
On the beach, good beach security, friendly & tentative staff,immaculately maintained rooms ground & pool, high tide area of beach was cleared of seaweed every day, hotel next door to kitesurf station, comfy bed, mosi net on bed, regular supply of bottled water, free WiFi was fine for browsing & social media etc, veg served with food was nicely cooked and most of the food was really good as well, drink variety & quality was pretty good considering it is a Muslim country, with some welcome un-alcoholic options.
Things to be aware of :
The electric plugs are UK type, so no adapters for UK guests though would be required for euro/us ones, the hotel is a good walk along the beach to other cafes/hotels, so only really good to visit in the day, lunches menu lacked an option to get a quick sandwich etc, drinks were same as UK hotel/restaurant prices, The tide can go out quite far and reef shoes might be preferable for a paddle at low tide, hotel was 1/2-3/4 full when we stayed so getting a sun lounger on beach or round pool was not a problem, Don't plan on spending time on the beach after sunset, hotel has a 7% surcharge for credit & debit cards when settling the bill though there is a 5% surcharge on cards in Paje anyway

What would make it better :
Fan or aircon in bathroom, daily top up of toiletries, more generous "happy hour", knowledge of evening meal options so you don't eat the same at lunch, remote controls available in gym for TV & aircon (we went once in the morning, so may not be the case later in day)

The above improvements are pretty minor, as would love to return & probably would pay the extra for the beach view villas
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa o, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Nick, Jambo!! We are delighted to know that your stay was beautiful and you enjoyed our services. I want to say thank you "Asante sana" for choosing to stay with us at Kisiwa On The Beach, your feedback review and for the time taken to share your experience with us. I will definitely share your wonderful feedback with all the staff and on the areas that needs improvement and special attention, we will definitely look in to them and give them attention needed to bring about the desired difference. Thank you and I will be so happy to open our door again to welcome you back at Kisiwa On The Beach on your next visit to Zanzibar. Kind regards, Jerry Omogi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna M wrote a review Aug 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome place. Very well kept resort that offers real intimacy. It is build in such a way that you feel like the only ones in paradise.

The staff is very caring and professional. We also really appreciated the fact that the manager came to visit us every evening during dinner to ask whether everything is to our liking and whetherwe need anything for the next day.

The rooms were very clean and has everything one would need (large bed with mosquito net, coffee, tea, fridge, tv, hair dryer, safe, shampoo, douche gel and other toiletries). They were cleaned in the morning and in the evening for sun down (at which time were also presented with cookies and a Swahili proverb). The garden has the most amazing plants and is very well cared for. If you are lucky, you can see some apes on the realms of the garden. The swimming pool is big and very clean (and without too much chlorine). The beach just in front of it is breathtaking, quiet, and there is a guard looking over your belongings at all times when you are on one of the comfy lounges. The beach water was very warm (26°). And there is a good Kite surfing place just close by but it doesn't bother the quiteness. The common spaces are also beautifully decorated with flowers from the garden. All in Zanzibar style arquitecture (with beautiful doors).

Breakfast and dinner were amazing. You could choose between Swahili style dishes and European ones. All very well cooked. Servers were very carying. (There are black crow birds next to the eating area, but they are harmless, they don't come close and are fascinating to see.) If you want to eat somewhere else or visit local stores, you can just go along the beach and find other places. The hotel also offers excursions. It also has a librbary, shop, spa and a gym. It has a bar that is well stocked and which has a delicious cocktail of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julius Kamau GM Kisiwa On The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Dear Anna M, Greetings from Kisiwa On The Beach or "the Intimate paradise" like you have you named us. Our gratitude extends further as we read more into your review, you did notice quite some interesting details of our Kisiwa's luxury villas and quality professional services offered to you during your stay. It is indeed factual that we do offer unmatched personalized, customized attention to each of our esteemed guests as our deliberate plan. The resort style is modeled to target the discerning guests who is looking for a intimate, idyllic and tranquil location and with quality faculties. The manager and the team is glad and appreciates your kind remarks for and on behalf of the friendly professional team. Exceeding your expectations was and will always be our top priority. Our location at Paje Beach was selected after a lot of consideration from the fine soft white sands, the unique rare calmness with selected non-motorized sports like kite surfing. Our chef has appreciated your recommendations of his wide splendid selection on his cyclic menus and we will always have the authentic Zanzibari-Swahili fusion cuisine as one of the options. We look forward to welcome you and treat you to a tailor made experience at Kisiwa. At your service, Julius Kamau General Manager Kisiwa On The Beach-Luxury Villas and Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nutellala wrote a review Feb 2020
Sausalito, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so glad I found this place. I was originally booked for 6 nights down the beach at B4 Beach Club but checked out after the first night because of the loud music until 5am and excessive bathroom bugs. Kisiwa was entirely the opposite. From the minute I walked on the property, all of the staff were exceptionally outgoing, friendly and seemed genuinely happy.

Kisiwa has a great vibe- all around. The villa itself was quiet, clean and spacious and they keep the grounds in pristine conditions as well. I would highly recommend- especially if you are there on a kitesurfing trip, as this beach is a great spot there are several good schools within a 5 min walk on the beach from the hotel.

Can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa o, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 01 Mar 2020
Dear Nutellala, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Kisiwa On The Beach, your feedback review and for the time taken to share your experience. You have just put your comments perfectly with the positive mentions and we are glad you were happy with our services. We are so delighted by your recommendations. Our doors will always be open to welcome you back again any time you visit Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Jerry Omogi. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STick220 wrote a review Oct 2022
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kisiwa is perfect in every way. We stayed for five nights following a safari in Kenya and it was a lovely ending to our trip. The staff are all so friendly and always helpful; the welcome they give on arrival is very special. The location is nice and quiet, it is around a 30 minute walk from the local town of Paje with several nice places to stop on the way. I guess this end of Zanzibar is less busy than the North. There is direct access to the beach from Kisiwa, we had some great walks along the water’s edge. The food is all great with plenty of choice, the kitchen looks spotless. Our villa was amazing, the bed was so comfy; we liked how the staff came around each evening to turn the bed down and put the mosquito net down (we never encountered any mosquitoes during our visit). The surroundings are really nice and the staff are constantly tending to the grounds. There’s hundreds of lovely things I haven’t mentioned in this review; I can’t recommend Kisiwa highly enough and wouldn’t hesitate to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julius Kamau GM Kisiwa On The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 05 Oct 2022
Dear STick220, The management and staff at Kisiwa On the Beach are very humbled by your "Totally Amazing" review on the TripAdvisor, we value our guests; feedback and get even more motivated to know we exceeded your expectations. Our resort is rated the cleanest in the areas by our esteemed guests and you did explain the small details it is amazing that you noted with a distinction the difference. We pride ourselves on the time, care and attention we take for our villas and even more important the grounds which include the white beach sand with splendid varieties of loacl and exotic flowers and plants.The special welcome we accord each and every guests is a hallmark of not only our resort but both the units of the Kisiwa Hotels and Resorts. Looking forward to welcome you back, At your service, Julius K. Kamau, General manager,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Feb 2021
London, England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at this restaurant are the best in Zanzibar.

The buffet is very expensive at Western prices - but I can't fault the food. Despite the fact this restaurant was much further away from where I was staying than other restaurants nearby, I have to say, I was more than happy to walk the extra mile to come here.

Staff are very pleasant and friendly. The manager often came over to our table to ask if we needed anything and to let him know if there are any issues (there weren't).

The restaurant looks out onto the beach and visitors can enjoy a nice breeze coming in from the nearby ocean.

Yes they charge Western prices, but you also get a Western-style service, in terms of speed, customer service and fine dining.

Food has always been delivered on time (a rarity for Zanzibar) and even now I still dream of their buffet.

There is a 4% additional charge for anyone paying by card - but this is quite common in Paje.

I'd for sure go here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kisiwa on The Beach, General Manager at Kisiwa On The Beach
Responded 08 Feb 2021
Dear Janine J, Your visit created the best moments for us at Kisiwa On The Beach to offer our services. You made it possible for us to serve you and for that reason, I say "asante sana" for choosing our hotel. We pride ourselves for having a great team who are determined to make our guest's stay memorable. I will definitely share your feedback with all our staff who were at your service. Thank you for all the positive mentions. Your return visit to Kisiwa On The Beach will be so much anticipated as it will grant us another opportunity to offer our services. Our doors remain open. Kind Regards Jerry Omogi General Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Claus W
1 contribution
Our family had booked half board and the food was varied, super fresh and tasty and always well prepared by the talent team in the kitchen.
David S asked a question Oct 2023
Radcliffe, United Kingdom31 contributions18 helpful votes
Is it possible to upgrade to full board or all inclusive
MRNORWOOD asked a question Feb 2021
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom37 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi we are looking to book Can you tell me is there lagoon to swim and snorkel even a low tide here ?
Answer from Adelle C
London22 contributions19 helpful votes
We used mosquito spray and the wrist bands and they seemed very effective.
dickiej wrote a tip 07 Jul
Guildford, United Kingdom112 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s easy to walk both to Paje (left) as well as Jambiani (right) during the day for drinks or shopping during the day."
Read full review
Nguyen Y wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is big and with view on the beach! "
Read full review
Armel O wrote a tip Jun 2024
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do it!!"
Read full review
Carlos P wrote a tip Jun 2024
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wonderful quiet place to get away from the buzz and noise of daily life!"
Read full review
모닝 굿 wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paje area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,951 - R 7,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandPaje
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KISIWA ON THE BEACH - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Paje, Tanzania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kisiwa On The Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Kisiwa On The Beach?
Nearby attractions include Paje Beach (0.7 km), Maalum (0.5 km), and Hushop (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kisiwa On The Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kisiwa On The Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kisiwa On The Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kisiwa On The Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kisiwa On The Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr. Kahawa, Kijiji Restaurant, and Lecker Lecker Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kisiwa On The Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kisiwa On The Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, Kisiwa On The Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kisiwa On The Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Swahili.
Does Kisiwa On The Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Kisiwa On The Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Paje HotelsPaje Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Paje
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire